Denon Auto EQ/Manual setting - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > Denon Auto EQ/Manual setting

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Erock1's Avatar Erock1
06:29 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 9
12-23-2006 | Posts: 200
Joined: Jul 2005
I have the Denon AVR-987 and have 2 questions:

1: After running the auto setup & EQ and saving the settings. If you then go into the speaker settings(ie: size, crossover & channel level) and change these manually, are the saved EQ settings from when you first ran the auto setup (ie Audessy, Flat, etc.) still applied along with the manually changed settings or are the EQ settings effectively cancelled?

2: The manual indicates that before running the auto setup your subwoofer should be on, low pass filter off and sub volume set 1/2 way up. I was wondering if most agree with this and set their sub volume 1/2 way up before running setup? BTW: I have a Klipsh Sub-12 subwoofer.

TIA,
Eric
louthewiz's Avatar louthewiz
09:03 PM Liked: 12
post #2 of 9
12-23-2006 | Posts: 4,081
Joined: Oct 2003
1-yes

2-yes
Erock1's Avatar Erock1
11:13 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 9
12-23-2006 | Posts: 200
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by louthewiz View Post

1-yes

Thanks Lou and sorry if I'm a bit dense but is your answer yes to #1,

Yes, the EQ settings from auto setup are still applied after manual adjustment

or

Yes, when you manually make adjustment, the EQ settings are no longer applied?

Eric
jedi.night's Avatar jedi.night
08:23 AM Liked: 10
post #4 of 9
12-24-2006 | Posts: 581
Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erock1 View Post

Thanks Lou and sorry if I'm a bit dense but is your answer yes to #1,

Yes, the EQ settings from auto setup are still applied after manual adjustment

or

Yes, when you manually make adjustment, the EQ settings are no longer applied?

Eric

I was thinking the same thing....

I believe, but I could be wrong, that they are still applied.
methcat's Avatar methcat
04:21 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 9
03-02-2007 | Posts: 203
Joined: May 2006
i'm pretty sure that those settings are changable and you still retain what you haven't changed from the auto setup...

does anyone know if you can also alter the "flat, or normal" room eq settings? for some reason, on my 2805, the room eq tries to boost my 120hz by over 9db. i'd like to just turn down where it really tries to boost, but i didn't want to have to try to transfer all of its other fixed into the manual eq. (it's especially hard beacause it doesn't measure at exactly the same frequencies in manual vs auto room).
Kevin12586's Avatar Kevin12586
10:59 PM Liked: 17
post #6 of 9
03-02-2007 | Posts: 4,059
Joined: Feb 2005
If you set your sub half way up, don't you lose headroom?
Kal Rubinson's Avatar Kal Rubinson
09:13 AM Liked: 142
post #7 of 9
03-03-2007 | Posts: 28,494
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin12586 View Post

If you set your sub half way up, don't you lose headroom?

No. It is simply an attenuator on the input. If your other settings are correct, it will not affect headroom at all.
Kevin12586's Avatar Kevin12586
11:21 AM Liked: 17
post #8 of 9
03-03-2007 | Posts: 4,059
Joined: Feb 2005
Thanks Kal, I was just curious. This is the first time I have heard to set the sub to 1/2, usually I read to set it to 1/3, set the receiver to -5 and go from there.
Nick250's Avatar Nick250
07:57 PM Liked: 10
post #9 of 9
03-03-2007 | Posts: 955
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erock1 View Post

Yes, the EQ settings from auto setup are still applied after manual adjustment
or

Yes, when you manually make adjustment, the EQ settings are no longer applied?

Eric

When you make manual changes to speaker size, crossover etc. after running auto EQ, the changes you make are saved as the default, but the EQ settings Audyssey made remains. The usual recommendation after Audyssey does it's thing is to go in and change all your speakers to small, cross them over at 80Hz, make sure the LFE is crossed over at 120Hz. This are the common settings, but may vary depending on what speakers and sub you have.

For more info read this FAQ that Chris from Audyssey wrote. Post 143.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...45#post7969145

Nick
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3