Denon Auto EQ/Manual setting - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-23-2006, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Erock1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Denon AVR-987 and have 2 questions:

1: After running the auto setup & EQ and saving the settings. If you then go into the speaker settings(ie: size, crossover & channel level) and change these manually, are the saved EQ settings from when you first ran the auto setup (ie Audessy, Flat, etc.) still applied along with the manually changed settings or are the EQ settings effectively cancelled?

2: The manual indicates that before running the auto setup your subwoofer should be on, low pass filter off and sub volume set 1/2 way up. I was wondering if most agree with this and set their sub volume 1/2 way up before running setup? BTW: I have a Klipsh Sub-12 subwoofer.

TIA,
Eric
Erock1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-23-2006, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
louthewiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn U.S.A.
Posts: 4,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
1-yes

2-yes
louthewiz is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-23-2006, 10:13 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Erock1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by louthewiz View Post

1-yes

Thanks Lou and sorry if I'm a bit dense but is your answer yes to #1,

Yes, the EQ settings from auto setup are still applied after manual adjustment

or

Yes, when you manually make adjustment, the EQ settings are no longer applied?

Eric
Erock1 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-24-2006, 07:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
jedi.night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erock1 View Post

Thanks Lou and sorry if I'm a bit dense but is your answer yes to #1,

Yes, the EQ settings from auto setup are still applied after manual adjustment

or

Yes, when you manually make adjustment, the EQ settings are no longer applied?

Eric

I was thinking the same thing....

I believe, but I could be wrong, that they are still applied.
jedi.night is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-02-2007, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
methcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: lbc
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm pretty sure that those settings are changable and you still retain what you haven't changed from the auto setup...

does anyone know if you can also alter the "flat, or normal" room eq settings? for some reason, on my 2805, the room eq tries to boost my 120hz by over 9db. i'd like to just turn down where it really tries to boost, but i didn't want to have to try to transfer all of its other fixed into the manual eq. (it's especially hard beacause it doesn't measure at exactly the same frequencies in manual vs auto room).

Waiting For Neural Implants.
methcat is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-02-2007, 09:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin12586's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 4,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
If you set your sub half way up, don't you lose headroom?
Kevin12586 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-03-2007, 08:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin12586 View Post

If you set your sub half way up, don't you lose headroom?

No. It is simply an attenuator on the input. If your other settings are correct, it will not affect headroom at all.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-03-2007, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin12586's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 4,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thanks Kal, I was just curious. This is the first time I have heard to set the sub to 1/2, usually I read to set it to 1/3, set the receiver to -5 and go from there.
Kevin12586 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-03-2007, 06:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nick250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erock1 View Post

Yes, the EQ settings from auto setup are still applied after manual adjustment
or

Yes, when you manually make adjustment, the EQ settings are no longer applied?

Eric

When you make manual changes to speaker size, crossover etc. after running auto EQ, the changes you make are saved as the default, but the EQ settings Audyssey made remains. The usual recommendation after Audyssey does it's thing is to go in and change all your speakers to small, cross them over at 80Hz, make sure the LFE is crossed over at 120Hz. This are the common settings, but may vary depending on what speakers and sub you have.

For more info read this FAQ that Chris from Audyssey wrote. Post 143.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...45#post7969145

Nick
Nick250 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off