Rotel Owner's Thread - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 1315 Old 02-29-2008, 07:24 PM
Member
 
freeworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased an RX-1052 to replace a dead NAD 7400. The Rotel unit sounds beautiful, and I auditioned it in the store A/B with a new comparable NAD. Now that I've had the unit home for a while (It's driving a pair of Jamo Concert VII speakers), I find that the bass is not as deep as with the 7400. My system has been down for a while waiting for this new unit, so my ear is not fresh, but I just find there's not as much low end. I also find myself turning the volume way up on the Rotel, whereas I never had to have the NAD up very high to get things going very loud. Is all of this my imagination, or does anyone else have experience/opinion about this. The only other difference is that my system is now in a much smaller room -- which I thought would only accentuate the bass response.
freeworld is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 1315 Old 02-29-2008, 08:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeaNile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chadds Ford, PA
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'm thinking of adding the 1075 to my HT system, I currently have a Yammy RXV 2500 and B&W DM 603 S speakers all around. Is having the rxv2500 overkill as a pre or is there something else out there that would suit this system better, like offering HDMI technology.

Any opinions or feedback welcomed.

JK
SeaNile is offline  
post #393 of 1315 Old 03-01-2008, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
mahdlokg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeaNile View Post

I'm thinking of adding the 1075 to my HT system, I currently have a Yammy RXV 2500 and B&W DM 603 S speakers all around. Is having the rxv2500 overkill as a pre or is there something else out there that would suit this system better, like offering HDMI technology.

Any opinions or feedback welcomed.

JK

It certainly wouldn't be overkill. It would be a noticable improvement, with the understanding that you are aware that it will take a few days for the 1075 to break in. The Yamaha will provide you a good base to move toward separates, until you decide to make the move to something with more updated connections (HDMI). Many people on the forums here are using their AVR as a pre/pro.
mahdlokg is offline  
post #394 of 1315 Old 03-01-2008, 07:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
SeaNile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chadds Ford, PA
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahdlokg View Post

It certainly wouldn't be overkill. It would be a noticable improvement, with the understanding that you are aware that it will take a few days for the 1075 to break in. The Yamaha will provide you a good base to move toward separates, until you decide to make the move to something with more updated connections (HDMI). Many people on the forums here are using their AVR as a pre/pro.

What I am trying to do is make steps towards upgrading and eventually getting a pre that would have HDMI . Maybe even selling my current Yammi for something with less power (since I will have the Rotel) but offers HDMI connections. Or, is there a better route to go, maybe with just a sound processor pre and then the rotel amp?

Thanks for the help.

--JK
SeaNile is offline  
post #395 of 1315 Old 03-01-2008, 08:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
mahdlokg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeaNile View Post

What I am trying to do is make steps towards upgrading and eventually getting a pre that would have HDMI . Maybe even selling my current Yammi for something with less power (since I will have the Rotel) but offers HDMI connections. Or, is there a better route to go, maybe with just a sound processor pre and then the rotel amp?

Thanks for the help.

--JK

Well, the better route is what works best for you. If you are anxious to get something with HDMI 1.3a (which there is much to choose from now), then by all means get something new. I was just suggesting if you are not unhappy with the way you have things hooked up now, you could use your Yammy for the short run. I am having to make the same decision myself. I've narrowed the receiver choices down to the Marantz SR7002 or SR8002. I'm also looking at the Integra DTC-9.8 pre/pro. Also, depending on your budget, all the major receiver makers have some good deals out there: Yammy, Pioneer, Marantz, Onkyo. I've checked best prices on all these. Most have a good model available for around 1000.00 or less. In the case of Pio and Yammy, considerably less.
mahdlokg is offline  
post #396 of 1315 Old 03-04-2008, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
yngdiego's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Jose
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last week I sent an email to Rotel asking if there were any new class-D amps on the horizon. Today I got a response:

"Thanks for your email. At this time, Rotel has no plans to release new Class D amplifiers."

I don't know how forthcoming Rotel is with future products, but it sounds like we shouldn't be expecting any new models in the near future. I was specifically asking about the new THX certified ICEpower modules and if we could expect to see them in new amps this year.

So I'll probably be looking seriously at Wyred4sound since they have a wider range of ICEpower amps.
yngdiego is offline  
post #397 of 1315 Old 03-04-2008, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VarmintCong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My receiver is a Yamaha V793, which is a DD 5.1 receiver from 1998.

I'm thinking of rather than getting a new HDMI 1.3 receiver, just getting something with 5.1 analog inputs like a Rotel RSX 1055, and combining it with a Panasonic BD50, which can decode all the lossless audio formats and send it to the Rotel via analog.

Any flaw in this thinking, will I miss out on anything without HDMI 1.3 in my receiver?
VarmintCong is offline  
post #398 of 1315 Old 03-04-2008, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
yngdiego's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Jose
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VarmintCong View Post

My receiver is a Yamaha V793, which is a DD 5.1 receiver from 1998.

I'm thinking of rather than getting a new HDMI 1.3 receiver, just getting something with 5.1 analog inputs like a Rotel RSX 1055, and combining it with a Panasonic BD50, which can decode all the lossless audio formats and send it to the Rotel via analog.

Any flaw in this thinking, will I miss out on anything without HDMI 1.3 in my receiver?

Generally analog inputs do not get any of the DSP processing in many receivers. Room correction, EQ, and or soundfield processing could all be bypassed by going this route. A better route would be to get a receiver that has HDMI, possibly lacking the new CODECs, and having the BD50 send PCM audio via HDMI. This would allow you to get all the DSP processing, but would have more AVR options since it wouldn't have to decode HBR audio.
yngdiego is offline  
post #399 of 1315 Old 03-04-2008, 12:51 PM
Member
 
freeworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone here comment on the volume control on the 1052? It looks like the max on the scale is 90. With reasonably efficient speakers, I find myself getting the volume up into the 50s and 60s before it gets "loud". On other systems I've had (same speakers), I never had the volume control up to more than 1/2 (and that was VERY LOUD), which I would assume would equate to 45 on the Rotel. Is this just the way the Rotel works, or do I possibly have something going wrong?
freeworld is offline  
post #400 of 1315 Old 03-04-2008, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeworld View Post

Can anyone here comment on the volume control on the 1052? It looks like the max on the scale is 90. With reasonably efficient speakers, I find myself getting the volume up into the 50s and 60s before it gets "loud". On other systems I've had (same speakers), I never had the volume control up to more than 1/2 (and that was VERY LOUD), which I would assume would equate to 45 on the Rotel. Is this just the way the Rotel works, or do I possibly have something going wrong?

Not sure on the 1052 but in the rsx1056 there is a setting where you can limit/set the max volume.I'm assuming the 1052 also has this feature.just check your settings.
rocky1 is offline  
post #401 of 1315 Old 03-04-2008, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jonomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeworld View Post

Can anyone here comment on the volume control on the 1052? It looks like the max on the scale is 90. With reasonably efficient speakers, I find myself getting the volume up into the 50s and 60s before it gets "loud". On other systems I've had (same speakers), I never had the volume control up to more than 1/2 (and that was VERY LOUD), which I would assume would equate to 45 on the Rotel. Is this just the way the Rotel works, or do I possibly have something going wrong?

Different volume knobs have different amounts of gain associated with each "level". For some CDs, I have to lower the volume almost to the bottom and it is still very loud! For other CDs, I have to increase the volume quite a bit. Different sources supply different voltage levels to the preamp section, so this can cause what you are experiencing. Don't worry about it.
Jonomega is offline  
post #402 of 1315 Old 03-05-2008, 07:43 AM
Member
 
freeworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post

Not sure on the 1052 but in the rsx1056 there is a setting where you can limit/set the max volume.I'm assuming the 1052 also has this feature.just check your settings.

Yes, the 1052 has that feature as well.
freeworld is offline  
post #403 of 1315 Old 03-05-2008, 07:46 AM
Member
 
freeworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonomega View Post

Different volume knobs have different amounts of gain associated with each "level". For some CDs, I have to lower the volume almost to the bottom and it is still very loud! For other CDs, I have to increase the volume quite a bit. Different sources supply different voltage levels to the preamp section, so this can cause what you are experiencing. Don't worry about it.

Understand the input voltage issue, but nothing else has changed on my system other than the 1052. I'm just surprised that with the same inputs and same speakers, that the control has to be up so high. I guess that's just the way this Rotel product is
freeworld is offline  
post #404 of 1315 Old 03-05-2008, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
kiwi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Freeworld wrote

Can anyone here comment on the volume control on the 1052? It looks like the max on the scale is 90. With reasonably efficient speakers, I find myself getting the volume up into the 50s and 60s before it gets "loud". On other systems I've had (same speakers), I never had the volume control up to more than 1/2 (and that was VERY LOUD), which I would assume would equate to 45 on the Rotel. Is this just the way the Rotel works, or do I possibly have something going wrong?

Did you check the options menu that has volume at startup and max volume. I think the max is 100. If you change it to 100 from 90 that would be about the asme volume as you had before when you turned it up about half,around 50.
kiwi2000 is offline  
post #405 of 1315 Old 03-05-2008, 01:26 PM
Member
 
freeworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwi2000 View Post

Did you check the options menu that has volume at startup and max volume. I think the max is 100. If you change it to 100 from 90 that would be about the asme volume as you had before when you turned it up about half,around 50.


I did look at the menus. It allows you to adjust the "max" volume, but only down from the system max of 90.
freeworld is offline  
post #406 of 1315 Old 03-05-2008, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you check what you speaker levels(db) are at.Maybe you have them to low.If you raise the levels maybe thats what your looking for.
rocky1 is offline  
post #407 of 1315 Old 03-06-2008, 07:44 AM
Member
 
freeworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post

Did you check what you speaker levels(db) are at.Maybe you have them to low.If you raise the levels maybe thats what your looking for.

I'm not familiar with this. There is no adjustment on the speakers themselves. Are you saying there are other menus on the Rotel unit that I may not have accessed? Let me know how to get there and I'll give it a try.
freeworld is offline  
post #408 of 1315 Old 03-06-2008, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeworld View Post

I'm not familiar with this. There is no adjustment on the speakers themselves. Are you saying there are other menus on the Rotel unit that I may not have accessed? Let me know how to get there and I'll give it a try.

Actually i dont know if yours has this.I know the av receivers do.Being that yous is a stereo rec. it may not.
rocky1 is offline  
post #409 of 1315 Old 03-06-2008, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
VarmintCong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What do you guys think of this:

Rotel RSX-1056 receiver

vs

Rotel RMB-1066 + older mid-range AVR (5.1 analog only).

I'm curious if the Rotel receiver will sound better, even if both setups are Rotel amps?
VarmintCong is offline  
post #410 of 1315 Old 03-06-2008, 06:28 PM
Member
 
freeworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post

Actually i dont know if yours has this.I know the av receivers do.Being that yous is a stereo rec. it may not.

That would make sense since with an AV receiver you have to balance the levels of the different speaker groups. With stereo you can only hope that right and left are at equal volume Come to think about it, this unit doesn't even have a balance control on it
freeworld is offline  
post #411 of 1315 Old 03-07-2008, 07:09 AM
Member
 
freeworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems like Rotel tuners have an unusual FM antenna input. It looks like a normal 75ohm connector, but it has a cone (instead of a pin) in the middle, kind of like a BNC connector. Does anyone know of a source for a larger/better FM dipole (or other) antenna with this unique connection? The only ones I can find have a standard 75ohm connector, or flat leads (that can easily be converted to standard 75ohm).
freeworld is offline  
post #412 of 1315 Old 03-09-2008, 08:58 PM
Newbie
 
Livestrong211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been enjoying an RC-1082 pre-amp, RCD-1072 cd player, and RB-1072 amp hooked up to CM1's (borrowing from the store, my black 805s should be here this week) and they sound UNREAL. I am now an unbelievably happy Rotel owner, and I can't wait to hear what the 805s do to the sound.
Livestrong211 is offline  
post #413 of 1315 Old 03-09-2008, 09:05 PM
Member
 
spyderx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Livestrong211 View Post

I have been enjoying an RC-1082 pre-amp, RCD-1072 cd player, and RB-1072 amp hooked up to CM1's (borrowing from the store, my black 805s should be here this week) and they sound UNREAL. I am now an unbelievably happy Rotel owner, and I can't wait to hear what the 805s do to the sound.

I WANT to love the CM1, but I don't. I listened to them again this week. They are the perfect size and form-factor for my office...

But, those 805s, they're in another league. I'm sure you'll be thrilled.

That's a great setup.
spyderx is offline  
post #414 of 1315 Old 03-10-2008, 03:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
shadow 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VarmintCong View Post

What do you guys think of this:

Rotel RSX-1056 receiver

vs

Rotel RMB-1066 + older mid-range AVR (5.1 analog only).

I'm curious if the Rotel receiver will sound better, even if both setups are Rotel amps?

How old a receiver? What brand? Doesn't the 1066 amp have less power than the 1056? If so get the 1056 since the pre/pro section on it is the same as that on the 1068 pre/pro, which is better than any under $2K receiver I know of.
shadow 8 is offline  
post #415 of 1315 Old 03-10-2008, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
chunkisagoonie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


How old a receiver? What brand? Doesn't the 1066 amp have less power than the 1056? If so get the 1056 since the pre/pro section on it is the same as that on the 1068 pre/pro, which is better than any under $2K receiver I know of.

But this isn't an apples to oranges comparison, either. The RMB-1066 has a better power transformer than the RSX-1056 (toroidal versus laminated EI). It also has better THD and SNR specs than the RSX-1056's amp section.

However, it's really a wash. Depending on the receiver being used, the preamp section could suffer. So it might actually be better to go with the RSX-1056 after all. Hard to say...
chunkisagoonie is offline  
post #416 of 1315 Old 03-10-2008, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
VarmintCong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow 8 View Post

How old a receiver? What brand? Doesn't the 1066 amp have less power than the 1056? If so get the 1056 since the pre/pro section on it is the same as that on the 1068 pre/pro, which is better than any under $2K receiver I know of.

Something like a 5 year old $1000 Yamaha. Or a new V663 yamaha.

So you're saying pre-processing on a 1056 should be better than a brand new Yamaha with all the latest features?
VarmintCong is offline  
post #417 of 1315 Old 03-11-2008, 09:27 AM
Member
 
freeworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeworld View Post

It seems like Rotel tuners have an unusual FM antenna input. It looks like a normal 75ohm connector, but it has a cone (instead of a pin) in the middle, kind of like a BNC connector. Does anyone know of a source for a larger/better FM dipole (or other) antenna with this unique connection? The only ones I can find have a standard 75ohm connector, or flat leads (that can easily be converted to standard 75ohm).


In case anyone is interested, it turns out the Rotel 75ohm FM connector is European spec, vs. the US version. An electronic parts store carried a converter.
freeworld is offline  
post #418 of 1315 Old 03-11-2008, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TommyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 2,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes that is a EU F connector. I bought my adapter at radio shack.
TommyV is offline  
post #419 of 1315 Old 03-12-2008, 11:19 AM
Member
 
freeworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyV View Post

Yes that is a EU F connector. I bought my adapter at radio shack.

You must have a good Radio Shack. Mine had never even seen anything like that...
freeworld is offline  
post #420 of 1315 Old 03-12-2008, 11:22 AM
Member
 
freeworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With the 1052 being rated at 100W, what Rotel amp would I buy if I wanted to use the pre-out and bi-amp my speakers? There doesn't seem to be another 100W stand-alone Rotel amp to go along with the 1052 amp.

Is there even a way to "bridge" the 1052 amp into mono-mode?
freeworld is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Rotel , Rotel Rsx 1562 , Rotel Rsx 1550 Home Theater Receiver , Rotel Rsp 976 Surround Sound Preamplifier Processor

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off