Rotel Owner's Thread - Page 45 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1321 of 1326 Old 12-17-2014, 02:45 PM
Member
 
jimfrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mount Pearl, NL, Canada
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Would a DAC help with this problem? The Apple TV has optical output and it seems to me if the signal is converted to analog first, then this dropout should be eliminated. Just a thought! I'm no expert but someone on here will likely know.
jimfrench is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1322 of 1326 Old 12-17-2014, 04:31 PM
Member
 
Brownstone322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Old Dominion
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimfrench View Post
Would a DAC help with this problem? The Apple TV has optical output and it seems to me if the signal is converted to analog first, then this dropout should be eliminated. Just a thought! I'm no expert but someone on here will likely know.
You make a good point, and I am considering that as well. It would seem superfluous to me to use an external DAC when my preamp already has a DAC, but, yes, that would probably solve the problem.

That said, I'd still prefer to keep the signal digital so that, if I choose, I can take advantage of bass management and DPLII entirely in the digital domain with a single digital-to-analog conversion at the end.
Brownstone322 is online now  
post #1323 of 1326 Old 12-17-2014, 06:47 PM
Member
 
KaliKid2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brownstone322 View Post
I need some help regarding my RSP-1570 A/V preamp, which I bought in 2009. Thanks in advance.

Short Version

The RSP-1570 clips the first couple seconds off audio that comes in via HDMI. Not a new problem. Was there ever a firmware fix for this? How do I know what firmware I have? If there is a remedy, how do I get and load the firmware? I have never performed any kind of update on the unit, and I do not know how.

Background

I've known about this issue for years, but I almost always used an analog input for my Oppo disc player, so it never really mattered. The exception would be when I played DVD/Blu-ray, which I do input via HDMI, but then the first few seconds of audio are irrelevant -- it's usually the sound for the initial menus screen.

However ... for the past year, I have painstakingly re-imported my digital music library in lossless format (ALAC), and now, with the help of an Apple TV device, I stream audio from a MacBook Pro to my audio system using AirPlay. It's very cool; the Mac is now my primary audio source. But this also means the clipped intros on audio via HDMI have morphed from no big deal to a very big deal.

That's the whole story. Can anyone help me? Thanks again.
Hi, it seems like we have similar systems.

I have the 1572 and have the same problem playing music on my Oppo.

I have my Apple TV going HDMI into my Oppo. I have an HDMI connection and an analog connection from my Oppo to the 1572.
So when I play CDs, or stream Pandora from the Oppo, I use the analog output on the Oppo and the cut-out of the first few seconds is gone. The rare occasion i watch a movie on the Apple tv or a disc, i use the HDMI connection.

To play music from JRiver on my iMac, I don't use airplay. I use the USB out from the iMAC, to the USB in on the Oppo to use the Oppo DAC. Then I use the analog connection from the Oppo to the 1572 and there is no cut-out.

You can check your firmware version and any updates here...
http://www.bwgroupsupport.com/download/software

B&W 802 Diamonds | ASWCM12 sub | Rotel RSP-1572 pre-amp | Rotel RMB-1585 amp (bi-amping the 802 Diamonds) | Oppo BDP-105 | Samsung UN60H7150 | SurgeX QX515 Surge Suppressor/Power Conditioner | Audioquest Cinnamon HMDI, Ethernet, & USB A/B cables | Tributaries Type 6 Speaker Cables | Tributaries Series 6 Analog Interconnects | Acoustimac DMD-422 acoustic panels.
KaliKid2013 is offline  
post #1324 of 1326 Old Yesterday, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Brownstone322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Old Dominion
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaliKid2013 View Post
Hi, it seems like we have similar systems.
You're being generous. My speakers are B&W 700-series, and my disc player is a BDP-83. Same basic philosophy, though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaliKid2013 View Post
I have the 1572 and have the same problem playing music on my Oppo.
This is a bad sign for me. If the 1572 has the same problem, then I really don't think a firmware update on the 1570 is going to help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaliKid2013 View Post
I have my Apple TV going HDMI into my Oppo. I have an HDMI connection and an analog connection from my Oppo to the 1572.
Ah, you're using the DACs in the disc player rather than the preamp. I don't have a 105 (would be nice), so I don't have digital inputs for the disc player. It's a good alternative, though, and -- shocker! -- the 105's DACs don't have digital-handshake problems. (For me it'd be less expensive to use an external DAC, as someone suggested above, but I really don't want to.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaliKid2013 View Post
To play music from JRiver on my iMac, I don't use airplay. I use the USB out from the iMAC, to the USB in on the Oppo to use the Oppo DAC. Then I use the analog connection from the Oppo to the 1572 and there is no cut-out.
That's a physical USB connection, right? I've never used JRiver; is it AirPlay compliant? I very much prefer wireless streaming for this particular application, partly because I can run the show from across the room, and partly because it'd be a pain to physically slave my laptop to my audio system. How is it that you can conveniently connect an iMac to your system? That just wouldn't work for me.
Brownstone322 is online now  
post #1325 of 1326 Old Yesterday, 06:52 PM
Member
 
KaliKid2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brownstone322 View Post
You're being generous. My speakers are B&W 700-series, and my disc player is a BDP-83. Same basic philosophy, though.



This is a bad sign for me. If the 1572 has the same problem, then I really don't think a firmware update on the 1570 is going to help.



Ah, you're using the DACs in the disc player rather than the preamp. I don't have a 105 (would be nice), so I don't have digital inputs for the disc player. It's a good alternative, though, and -- shocker! -- the 105's DACs don't have digital-handshake problems. (For me it'd be less expensive to use an external DAC, as someone suggested above, but I really don't want to.)



That's a physical USB connection, right? I've never used JRiver; is it AirPlay compliant? I very much prefer wireless streaming for this particular application, partly because I can run the show from across the room, and partly because it'd be a pain to physically slave my laptop to my audio system. How is it that you can conveniently connect an iMac to your system? That just wouldn't work for me.
Hi,
JRiver is like iTunes, only much better. You can also use JRiver to rip files in any common format. ITunes won't play FLAC files, JRiver will. There is a forum here for JRiver, very versatile and does WAY more than I use it for.

I never used the DAC on the Rotel, it uses a different input jack, not a standard USB A/B cable. Yes, it is a physical connection from the iMac to the Oppo.

I thnk if you use AirPlay, you might be losing some audio quality, but I couldn't say for sure, I would think wired would be better than WIFI.

I think the Rotel problem has been around for a while, definitely annoying. If you google it, you will see this has been a problem for a while, one would think after all this time they would have found a solution.

B&W 802 Diamonds | ASWCM12 sub | Rotel RSP-1572 pre-amp | Rotel RMB-1585 amp (bi-amping the 802 Diamonds) | Oppo BDP-105 | Samsung UN60H7150 | SurgeX QX515 Surge Suppressor/Power Conditioner | Audioquest Cinnamon HMDI, Ethernet, & USB A/B cables | Tributaries Type 6 Speaker Cables | Tributaries Series 6 Analog Interconnects | Acoustimac DMD-422 acoustic panels.
KaliKid2013 is offline  
post #1326 of 1326 Old Today, 10:20 AM
Member
 
Brownstone322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Old Dominion
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaliKid2013 View Post
JRiver is like iTunes, only much better. You can also use JRiver to rip files in any common format. ITunes won't play FLAC files, JRiver will.
I know iTunes/iGadgets don't play FLAC, but that doesn't matter to me. FLAC doesn't do anything ALAC doesn't, and they're both gonna be around longer than we will.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaliKid2013 View Post
I never used the DAC on the Rotel, it uses a different input jack, not a standard USB A/B cable. Yes, it is a physical connection from the iMac to the Oppo.
Our Rotels have coax/optical/HDMI inputs. Few A/V preamps or receivers have a USB DAC input for two-channel audio, but some do. Ironically, Rotel's own RC-1570 stereo preamp and RA-1570 integrated amp both have USB digital inputs. Maybe their next A/V preamp will too. (Oughtta be commonplace if you ask me, but on one ever asks me.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaliKid2013 View Post
I thnk if you use AirPlay, you might be losing some audio quality, but I couldn't say for sure, I would think wired would be better than WIFI.
Nah, no issue there. A bitstream is a bitstream. Your DAC doesn't know or care whether it's coming from cable or through the air. The only technical issue with my wireless setup (and I don't like splitting theoretical hairs) is that Apple TV is designed for audio associated with video, so it sends out 48/16 rather than 44.1/16. An Airport Express would send bit-perfect 44.1/16 via optical. I highly doubt there's any practical (meaning audible) difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaliKid2013 View Post
I think the Rotel problem has been around for a while, definitely annoying. If you google it, you will see this has been a problem for a while, one would think after all this time they would have found a solution.
Very annoying. It makes me wonder if their newer two-channel products I mentioned above have the same problem. They have a better chance of working correctly, I think, because they don't have to interpret so many different digital bitstreams -- they'd just be looking for two-channel audio, as do your BDP-105's inputs.
Brownstone322 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Rotel , Rotel Rsx 1562 , Rotel Rsx 1550 Home Theater Receiver , Rotel Rsp 976 Surround Sound Preamplifier Processor

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off