"Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779) - Page 14 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 74414 Old 11-27-2007, 02:11 PM
Member
 
daron73m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix ,Az
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Assuming that those are reliable numbers, I would suggest that the OP cross the CF-3s at 50-60Hz and the C5 at 80Hz.

Ok thanks Kal..I emailed klipsch tech guy and he is about right on with your recommendations...heres his email response...

Thanks for writing. The auto-setup of receivers frequently gets this wrong.



I recommend using either 80 Hz, which is the THX recommended frequency, or 20 Hz above the speaker's -3 db down point, whichever is greater. Here is an example from your system



CF3 is down -3 db at 35 Hz per it's spec sheet. We want to cross it over up where the response is still flat so 35 + 20 = 55, we'll use 60 Hz. It can easily handle this frequency but it still will send about 1 ½ octaves to the sub IF this speaker is set to SMALL setting on the setup controls.



KSF-C5 surround is -3 db at 63 Hz. 63 +20 is pretty close to 80 so use that. This cuts 2 octaves of bass from the surrounds, rerouting it to the sub. This cleans up the sound of the surrounds because they won't be trying to play notes they can't handle. It also will give them much more power handling capability because the powerful bass is limited.



The crossover on the sub should be rotated fully clockwise. We do not want it's filter to operate at all, basically we're telling the sub to play whatever the receiver sends you'. The sub will be playing the .1 part of the soundtrack (Low Frequency Effects) and any of the bass that has been stri



I recommend going through all this setup, THEN trigger your auto setup with this portion of speaker setup SWITCHED OFF. Otherwise the first thing the receiver will do is to reset to the previous faulty parameters. You can use the optimizer to set distance, level, and eq, but don't trust it to do the setup. Usually you can toggle which features you wish the optimizer to run. See your receiver's manual for more details.







Michael Colter

Klipsch Heritage and Pro Audio Specialist

Home Audio / Theatre Technical Support
daron73m is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 74414 Old 11-27-2007, 03:47 PM
Sy-
Senior Member
 
Sy-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I asked this in the Denon AVR-2808ci thread but they suggested I ask here instead:

I have a question for those of you who have configured your system with the audyssey eq system. After I ran the setup i checked my settings and it is crossing my fronts at 120, my rears at 150, and my center at 120, then it says LFE at 80. Does this mean that the sub out is only outputting 0-80hz? and the fronts are outputting 120hz+? If so does that mean there is a hole on my setup between 80-120hz?

Thanks for any help!
Sy- is offline  
post #393 of 74414 Old 11-27-2007, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
jedi.night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sy- View Post

I asked this in the Denon AVR-2808ci thread but they suggested I ask here instead:

I have a question for those of you who have configured your system with the audyssey eq system. After I ran the setup i checked my settings and it is crossing my fronts at 120, my rears at 150, and my center at 120, then it says LFE at 80. Does this mean that the sub out is only outputting 0-80hz? and the fronts are outputting 120hz+? If so does that mean there is a hole on my setup between 80-120hz?

Thanks for any help!

no, the LFE channel ranges from 120hz down and from what I understand that's where the available FRQ's can be used for movie out put. It just means than any LFE on a DVD below 80hz is sent to the sub, but in your case because the mains are crossed much higher, your sub will still get that bass as well.

you can manually adjust the LFE setting up to 120hz if you just want to be sure of it...there isn't much of an LFE signal from 80 to 120hz...and you will be getting all of that bass from the sub anyway because of the response of your mains.
jedi.night is offline  
post #394 of 74414 Old 11-29-2007, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
techtvman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Des Monies, Iowa
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what is the best way to calibrate with audyssey where the main listening position is a person on a bed?

would it be bad if i were to set the mic on the bed in 8 different positions or is that just as bad as holding it in your hand which i know one should not do.

-- TechTVMan

My Setup
techtvman is offline  
post #395 of 74414 Old 11-29-2007, 04:04 PM
Member
 
Kreator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its hard to tell exactly, but from this interview:
http://www.listenup.com/content/part...g.07.page2.php
it looks like the new Denon pre/pro will have the same capabilites as SEQ. At least Talmadge speaks about 32 listening positions measurement and more filters...
Might be worth waiting for, although $7000 sticker price is scary.
Kreator is offline  
post #396 of 74414 Old 11-29-2007, 04:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by techtvman View Post

what is the best way to calibrate with audyssey where the main listening position is a person on a bed?

If he is sitting up, follow the usual directions. If he is lying down, ???????

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #397 of 74414 Old 11-29-2007, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kluken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post

Tonight while doing some listening tests, I could definitely hear sound from the sub at 120 that I could not hear when set at 80. However, the tones that were audible at that setting made voices sound very tubby and unnatural. Now it could be just a poor 5.1 broadcast signal, but is was bad enough for me to change the LFE to 80, because otherwise it was just too distracting.

As far as Audessy as a whole, I can't decide what to do with it. It definitely makes a more seamless soundfield al around. But it does make the high end on my center channel sound was to pronounced. So much so that it is fatiguing. Pixar films are great for testing your front soundstage because they move characters from left to center to right often. With Audessy on, it was painfully obvious that the center stood out and was EQ'd very differently. Maybe I could use Cinema EQ to help with that, but I thought Audessy is supposed to roll off the high end. This is my first AVR with Audessy, but so far it has been a mixed bag. I am going to rerun the setup tonight when there is no background noise and see how it goes. If the EQ on my center could be a little more flat, I would be happy enough to keep it on.

Also, I think I will see if turning my sub to mid volume makes a difference during setup, and then adjust the gain afterward.

I did a 6 posisiotn EQ with my Denon 4308CI and was very pleased, btu did noticed the center to be a bit high on the high, voices were alomst a bit raspy, I enabeld CinemaEQ and it seems to smooth it out a tad, enough to be less obvious.
kluken is offline  
post #398 of 74414 Old 11-29-2007, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
techtvman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Des Monies, Iowa
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

If he is sitting up, follow the usual directions. If he is lying down, ???????

yeah lying down is more of what its going to be 2 pillow head high

-- TechTVMan

My Setup
techtvman is offline  
post #399 of 74414 Old 11-30-2007, 09:33 AM
Member
 
DeoreDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alabamastan
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I set my my TX-SR605 with the Audyssey. It's replacing a Marantz SR6200 because of space issues in the cabinet that my wife wants. In the past I have set up my system with a SPL meter.

Not sure if the difference is the receiver or the audyssey setup but the Marantz was much more musical with two channel audio. Maybe I'm used to the room colorations and the specific timbre of my speakers. Music does seem brighter but I guess I prefer a warmer tone with my music.

For HT I really really like the setup. The setup is definitly clearer/cleaner sounding to my ears and imaging seems much improved. I'm going to have to give it a big A+ in my HT setup but a big C- for my two channel music setup.
DeoreDX is offline  
post #400 of 74414 Old 11-30-2007, 01:23 PM
Newbie
 
Betwixt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any information or rumour as to when there will be an updated Audyssey Sound Equalizer (ie stand-alone unit), perhaps with their Dynamic EQ which is available on some recent receivers?
Terry
Betwixt is offline  
post #401 of 74414 Old 11-30-2007, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Randybes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Betwixt View Post

Is there any information or rumour as to when there will be an updated Audyssey Sound Equalizer (ie stand-alone unit), perhaps with their Dynamic EQ which is available on some recent receivers?
Terry

They can't add Dynamic EQ to the current one-not sure about a new stand alone unit.
Randybes is offline  
post #402 of 74414 Old 12-02-2007, 08:17 PM
Newbie
 
ecarfar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posted this on another thread but thought someone here might know the answer to it. I followed all the directions, plugged in the mic and Audyssey doesn't come up at all. I reset the receiver a few times and DON'T have a pair of headphones attached. Any idea why Audyssey doesn't pop on when I plug in the mic?
ecarfar is offline  
post #403 of 74414 Old 12-03-2007, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Zen Traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 406
On my Denon AVR 4806 I have to push the "Setup" button on the remote to get to Audyssey.
Zen Traveler is offline  
post #404 of 74414 Old 12-03-2007, 09:50 AM
Newbie
 
ecarfar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Traveler View Post

On my Denon AVR 4806 I have to push the "Setup" button on the remote to get to Audyssey.

No, with this unit, all you have to do is plug in the mic and it should recognize it. I called Onkyo a few mnutes ago and (after an hour hold) they didn't suggest anything new so I decided to return it to Amazon and get a new one.
ecarfar is offline  
post #405 of 74414 Old 12-04-2007, 09:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there a full (and current) list of Audyssey Pro installers available anywhere?
bfdtv is offline  
post #406 of 74414 Old 12-13-2007, 09:06 AM
Member
 
malikarshad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a question about the subwoofer subsonic filter setting before doing Audyssey calibartion.
I've posted this question in the
Integra 9.8 thread also as I own 9.8 and was unsure what's the appropriate thread to post this question.

I have a SVS PB12-Plus/2 subsonic filter set at 25Hz.
So should i set the filter to bypass before Audyssey setup? or i can leave it on at 25Hz.
I have the crossover disabled on the sub.
malikarshad is offline  
post #407 of 74414 Old 12-13-2007, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fyzziks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Altadena, CA
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by malikarshad View Post

I have a question about the subwoofer subsonic filter setting before doing Audyssey calibartion.
I've posted this question in the
Integra 9.8 thread also as I own 9.8 and was unsure what's the appropriate thread to post this question.

I have a SVS PB12-Plus/2 subsonic filter set at 25Hz.
So should i set the filter to bypass before Audyssey setup? or i can leave it on at 25Hz.
I have the crossover disabled on the sub.

I think Chris from Audyssey has suggested in the past that you should leave subwoofer response-correction filters on while you run Audyssey. Basically, Audyssey will see your sub with whatever frequency and phase response it has, whether that is due directly to the amp+speaker only or amp+speaker+filter.

People have successfully gotten Audyssey calibration either way, but if you bypass your subsonic filter during calibration, Audyssey might use some of its limited resources to try to correct the response below 25 Hz, which would be a waste, since you want to filter those frequencies out anyway.
fyzziks is offline  
post #408 of 74414 Old 12-13-2007, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
mraub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
From what I'm reading here, even if I go in and manually set my mains and center as "small" and set a crossover point, Audyssey will ignore this when I run it. Though I like what Audyssey did, it called my Polk LSi 9's full band speakers and presumably sends them the full bass signal, which worries me a bit since these are not what I'd consider full range speakers (2-4" woofers and a tweeter).

If this is so, does anyone know of a way to force or fool Audyssey to call a speaker small rather than full range?

I guess I can hook up the Velodyne SMS-1 and set a crossover point and adjust the bass after Audyssey has done its thing, but I'd prefer to avoid that complexity since I have no complaints about the bass, just fear of damaging the speakers.

MIKE

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.
--H. L. Mencken
mraub is offline  
post #409 of 74414 Old 12-13-2007, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fyzziks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Altadena, CA
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mraub View Post

From what I'm reading here, even if I go in and manually set my mains and center as "small" and set a crossover point, Audyssey will ignore this when I run it. Though I like what Audyssey did, it called my Polk LSi 9's full band speakers and presumably sends them the full bass signal, which worries me a bit since these are not what I'd consider full range speakers (2-4" woofers and a tweeter).

If this is so, does anyone know of a way to force or fool Audyssey to call a speaker small rather than full range?

I guess I can hook up the Velodyne SMS-1 and set a crossover point and adjust the bass after Audyssey has done its thing, but I'd prefer to avoid that complexity since I have no complaints about the bass, just fear of damaging the speakers.


After you run Audyssey, you can change any speaker to small and set the crossover to whatever you think is appropriate - nominally 80Hz, but higher if necessary. The Audyssey filters will still be applied in the frequency region above your new crossover, and all the bass will be sent to your sub. You can also adjust levels or distances if you need to, without disturbing the Audyssey filtering.
fyzziks is offline  
post #410 of 74414 Old 12-13-2007, 03:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
mraub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I know I can do this, but if I set a crossover after Audyssey has done its equalization, then its not going to be equalized below the crossover point. I want Audyssey to set a crossover point for the mains during its equalization process and can't figure how to force it to do that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fyzziks View Post

After you run Audyssey, you can change any speaker to small and set the crossover to whatever you think is appropriate - nominally 80Hz, but higher if necessary. The Audyssey filters will still be applied in the frequency region above your new crossover, and all the bass will be sent to your sub. You can also adjust levels or distances if you need to, without disturbing the Audyssey filtering.


MIKE

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.
--H. L. Mencken
mraub is offline  
post #411 of 74414 Old 12-13-2007, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
BigPines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mraub View Post

I know I can do this, but if I set a crossover after Audyssey has done its equalization, then its not going to be equalized below the crossover point. I want Audyssey to set a crossover point for the mains during its equalization process and can't figure how to force it to do that.

Based on what Chris Kyriakakis of Audyssey posted in response to one of my questions today, I don't think you have anything to worry about: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post12481407

See my question #4.

As long as we are not talking about the pro version, there should be nothing to worry about. The EQ will still be applied above the high pass filter to correct the speakers/room and the EQ will still be applied below on the sub channel to correct the sub/room. Right?

Mike
BigPines is offline  
post #412 of 74414 Old 12-13-2007, 04:06 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 25,310
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by fyzziks View Post

People have successfully gotten Audyssey calibration either way, but if you bypass your subsonic filter during calibration, Audyssey might use some of its limited resources to try to correct the response below 25 Hz, which would be a waste, since you want to filter those frequencies out anyway.

Why would one want to filter out sound below 25Hz?
pepar is offline  
post #413 of 74414 Old 12-13-2007, 04:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by mraub View Post

I know I can do this, but if I set a crossover after Audyssey has done its equalization, then its not going to be equalized below the crossover point.

???? No. It is equalized below the crossover point but that is irrelelvant since you will have rolled it off with the new LOWER crossover point.

Quote:


I want Audyssey to set a crossover point for the mains during its equalization process and can't figure how to force it to do that.

Pshaw! I want it to print out accurate graphs of the EQ curves. Neither will happen.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #414 of 74414 Old 12-13-2007, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fyzziks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Altadena, CA
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Why would one want to filter out sound below 25Hz?

Don't know, but that's what the OP had; a subsonic filter on his SMS sub set at 25Hz. I just tried to answer the question as posed.
fyzziks is offline  
post #415 of 74414 Old 12-13-2007, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fyzziks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Altadena, CA
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mraub View Post

I know I can do this, but if I set a crossover after Audyssey has done its equalization, then its not going to be equalized below the crossover point. I want Audyssey to set a crossover point for the mains during its equalization process and can't figure how to force it to do that.

Actually the mains will be equalized over their whole range, since Audyssey thought their 3dB point was lower than 80 Hz. The sub is also equalized over its entire range, as I understand it, at least for the non-Pro versions of Audyssey (that's how I interpreted Chris' response, too). So you can set the crossover up to 80Hz or whatever, and not upset Audyssey's EQ both above the crossover (for your mains) and below (for your sub).

If I understand you correctly, what you want is to preset the crossover for your sats, but that is not an option for the current implementation of Audyssey. However, as Chris explained, that's not really so easy for you to do, since we are not talking about speaker performance in theory, or in an anechoic chamber - we are talking about where the acoustic cutoff actually is in your room with your speaker and listening positions, something which can only be gotten by measurement anyway.
fyzziks is offline  
post #416 of 74414 Old 12-13-2007, 05:05 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 25,310
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by fyzziks View Post

Don't know, but that's what the OP had; a subsonic filter on his SMS sub set at 25Hz. I just tried to answer the question as posed.

Sorry, I just found this thread and dutifully read the first few pages and the last few pages. I guess I did not read close enough.

My puzzlement still remains, though, as to why someone would set a "subsonic" filter - - at 25Hz?
pepar is offline  
post #417 of 74414 Old 12-14-2007, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Darin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 5,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

My puzzlement still remains, though, as to why someone would set a "subsonic" filter - - at 25Hz?

It's quite simple... if a sub doesn't have enough headroom below 25hz, you can gain headroom above 25hz by rolling off the lower frequencies. This is particularly necessary on ported subs. If you have a ported sub tuned to x hz, it will unload below that frequency, providing very little output while easily bottoming out. 25hz is not a low tuning frequency at all for a commercial sub. Without filtering below that point, the sub would bottom out so easily that you would have to keep the volume so low that you wouldn't really be utilizing the capabilities it has above that point. Virtually all commercial ported subs filter output below a certain point, based on the tuning frequency of the design. You just may not realize it. It's more apparent on SVS subs because they have variable tuning frequencies via port plugs. So they have to provide adjustable controls to allow you to change the filters based on the tuning frequency you've caused by the presence or absence of the port plugs. The filters in typical non-adjustable subs would be present in the circuitry, but not apparent.

My dual Rythmik Servo sub project (actually quad now, need to update page)
HDM format neutral thanks to the pricing wars of the '07 xmas shopping season :)
Darin is offline  
post #418 of 74414 Old 12-14-2007, 07:19 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 25,310
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darin View Post

It's quite simple... if a sub doesn't have enough headroom below 25hz, you can gain headroom above 25hz by rolling off the lower frequencies. This is particularly necessary on ported subs. If you have a ported sub tuned to x hz, it will unload below that frequency, providing very little output while easily bottoming out. 25hz is not a low tuning frequency at all for a commercial sub. Without filtering below that point, the sub would bottom out so easily that you would have to keep the volume so low that you wouldn't really be utilizing the capabilities it has above that point. Virtually all commercial ported subs filter output below a certain point, based on the tuning frequency of the design. You just may not realize it. It's more apparent on SVS subs because they have variable tuning frequencies via port plugs. So they have to provide adjustable controls to allow you to change the filters based on the tuning frequency you've caused by the presence or absence of the port plugs. The filters in typical non-adjustable subs would be present in the circuitry, but not apparent.

Well, that makes perfect sense. My comment was made out of ignorance as my definition of a subwoofer excludes those that need to be filtered at 25Hz.
pepar is offline  
post #419 of 74414 Old 12-14-2007, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Darin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 5,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, you 'd be surprised at how many do.

My dual Rythmik Servo sub project (actually quad now, need to update page)
HDM format neutral thanks to the pricing wars of the '07 xmas shopping season :)
Darin is offline  
post #420 of 74414 Old 12-14-2007, 03:00 PM
Member
 
jstraw97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First of all, I've just discovered this thread and I'm thrilled that there's a place to discuss Audyssey

I've been having an ongoing problem with Audyssey in my AVR-3808CI receiver. I've updated all firmware in the receiver first of all, and after running Audyssey three separate times, taking 8 measurements each time and using a tripod, I get the most bizarre caluculations from Audyssey. For one thing, the distances it calculates for my speakers are completely bogus. It tells me that my speakers range from 0.0 to 2.5 feet away from the main listening point, when in fact they are approximately 9 feet away. The second thing I noticed immediately was that Audyssey failed to assign crossovers to all my speakers except for my rear surrounds, for which it applied a 60 Hz setting. I'm running two Polk RTi150's (huge floor standing speakers for those that aren't familiar) for fronts, a Polk CSi5 for my center, and two Polk RTi4's for the rear surrounds (in a 5.1 system), and a Polk PSW10 sub.

After running through Audyssey three times, I'm to the point where I'm about to buy a sound level meter and just give up on Audyssey as I fail to see how the results of its calculations are even close to accurate. One thing I should mention is that I have a vaulted ceiling in my living room where my surround system is, and everything I've read says that the Audyssey mic needs to be pointing to the ceiling for accurate results - could this be causing my problem?

If there are any Audyssey experts out there that can point me in the right direction as to what could be going wrong, please help! I've heard great things about Audyssey, so I'm not quite ready to give up on it just yet. Thanks!!
jstraw97 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Receivers Amplifiers , Kef Kht1005 2se 5 1 Subwoofer Satellite System With C4 Subwoofer Gloss White , 5 6 7 1 7 2 Or 8 1 8 2 One Or Two Subwoofer Compatible 16 Banana Post 2 Rca Speaker Wall Plate For H
Gear in this thread - Kht1005 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off