"Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779) - Page 195 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5821 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
browerjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 1,994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I need a 3.5mm extension cable for the audyssey mic that comes with my Onkyo 606. The mic is a mono plug, however the only extension cables I can find on Monoprice.com are stereo. Am I going to have a problem if I extend with a stereo cable?

XBL GT: DMBFiredancer
browerjs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5822 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 07:35 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,073
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by browerjs View Post

I need a 3.5mm extension cable for the audyssey mic that comes with my Onkyo 606. The mic is a mono plug, however the only extension cables I can find on Monoprice.com are stereo. Am I going to have a problem if I extend with a stereo cable?

It should still work.
pepar is online now  
post #5823 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 07:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,468
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by browerjs View Post

I need a 3.5mm extension cable for the audyssey mic that comes with my Onkyo 606. The mic is a mono plug, however the only extension cables I can find on Monoprice.com are stereo. Am I going to have a problem if I extend with a stereo cable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

It should still work.

Right. You will just have an audiophile tweak: a bi-wired microphone.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #5824 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
StimpsonJCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I finally had everything setup the way I wanted it with the crossovers @ 80Hz and the LPF for the LFE at 120HZ. And my sub (Outlaw LFM-1c - 10 inch driver) is bottoming out on really low frequency peaks. Like in the opening scene in Serenity (HD DVD) or one of the scenes in I am legend (Blu-ray).

I can stop it by lowering the level for the sub channel, but it is hard to find the right level to keep the punch in normal bass without causing the problem with the really low stuff.

If I restore the original settings from the Auto setup and use the dynamic volume on evening it still sounds decent and doesn't bottom out on those scenes. But I no longer have the crossovers (It sets the mains and rears to large) and it doesn't sound as good overall.

Is this just the limitation of having a 10" $400 sub? I did the Auto setup with the gain at 12:00.
StimpsonJCat is offline  
post #5825 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 08:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Will the new Denon 2809 have MultEQ XT (US version)?? Yes, Denon website says it will but I want to double check here.

Nevermind, lots of info posted on it...please ignore question

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #5826 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 09:06 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,073
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Right. You will just have an audiophile tweak: a bi-wired microphone.

Yeah, but those extra conductors are just along for the ride as the "ring-tip-sleeve" of the extension will only be carrying a signal on tip-and-sleeve. But you knew that.
pepar is online now  
post #5827 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
warlord260's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: kent,wa.
Posts: 1,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StimpsonJCat View Post

.

Is this just the limitation of having a 10" $400 sub? I did the Auto setup with the gain at 12:00.

yes it is.
sorry to have to tell you that
warlord260 is offline  
post #5828 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
StimpsonJCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord260 View Post

yes it is.
sorry to have to tell you that

I figured as much. It could also be the terrible location of the sub. Until I get into a house I think I'll have to deal with some compromises. I was just hoping there was some way to keep it from overdriving the sub at the low end while keeping the it rocking above there.

Of course I'll eventually upgrade to a bigger/better sub..
StimpsonJCat is offline  
post #5829 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 11:13 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,073
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by StimpsonJCat View Post

I figured as much. It could also be the terrible location of the sub. Until I get into a house I think I'll have to deal with some compromises. I was just hoping there was some way to keep it from overdriving the sub at the low end while keeping the it rocking above there.

Of course I'll eventually upgrade to a bigger/better sub..

Hate to suggest the bass tone control, but with that might you take enough off to stop the bottoming and still be pleasing sounding. You might as well give it a try; it's free.
pepar is online now  
post #5830 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 03:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:


Of course I'll eventually upgrade to a bigger/better sub..

Sorry for the OT but for $400, you can have monster sub sound with a DIY build

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #5831 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by StimpsonJCat View Post

Is this just the limitation of having a 10" $400 sub? I did the Auto setup with the gain at 12:00.

Unless the sub is defective I would not give up on Audyssey EQ just yet. I have a $200 sub in a bedroom that is just fine at normal listening levels and more. Find the FAQ posted on recent pages, run again and post the settings results. Assuming the sub is OK we'll badger Chris until he gets you straightened out.
Gary J is online now  
post #5832 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 04:16 PM
Member
 
kdmello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a TX-NR905 recently I would like to know if Audyssey will do its measurements while sitting on the sofa and also on the floor when the mike is placed at ear level on the floor and sofa. If it can do the measurements is it advisable.
kdmello is offline  
post #5833 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 05:05 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,073
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdmello View Post

I purchased a TX-NR905 recently I would like to know if Audyssey will do its measurements while sitting on the sofa and also on the floor when the mike is placed at ear level on the floor and sofa. If it can do the measurements is it advisable.

The 905 will be sitting on the sofa and floor, or your listeners/viewers will be sitting on the sofa and floor and you want to take measurements there?
pepar is online now  
post #5834 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 05:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,468
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

The 905 will be sitting on the sofa and floor, or your listeners/viewers will be sitting on the sofa and floor and you want to take measurements there?

No. The 905 is in the rack but, somehow, Audyssey is on the floor.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #5835 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdmello View Post

I purchased a TX-NR905 recently I would like to know if Audyssey will do its measurements while sitting on the sofa and also on the floor when the mike is placed at ear level on the floor and sofa. If it can do the measurements is it advisable.

It is advisable to read through this post and let Audyssey take measurements with the mic at positions 1 through 6 as indicated.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...95421&page=191
After that, it is then advisable for you to sit on the sofa and/or floor and experience audio nirvana.

to each his own...
slogun is offline  
post #5836 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 07:33 PM
Member
 
kdmello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

No. The 905 is in the rack but, somehow, Audyssey is on the floor.

The 905 is sitting in a cabinet cooking itself in its own heat. Audyssey measurements will be taken at ear height on the couch and the floor. As the ear heights are different would audyssey work?
kdmello is offline  
post #5837 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 07:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,468
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdmello View Post

The 905 is sitting in a cabinet cooking itself in its own heat. Audyssey measurements will be taken at ear height on the couch and the floor. As the ear heights are different would audyssey work?

I think that Chris will have to answer you about the measurement approach. In all the situations I know, the mic positions are in approximately the same vertical position, allowing for mild differences in seat levels. Whether you should do that or use mic positions for the floor-seat I do not know.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #5838 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 08:40 PM
Member
 
guy86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an Onkyo 805 and some Klipsch speakers. I am not using surround back speakers and was wondering about bi-amping the speakers. The audyssey always sets my main speakers to Full Band. I put the crossover to 60 manually, but sometimes I left it at Full Band. Can I keep it at Full Band, or will it ruin the speakers with them being Bi-amped? From the manual, it looks like all I do is run a set of wires to each terminal on the speakers, remove the jumper, and connect them to the Front terminal and Surround back terminal, and set it to bi-amp in the menu correct?

Also with audyssey, it sets my speakers at -9 or more each, is that normal? If I change my crossover manually, like what I do with the front speakers, does it change what audyssey did? Thanks!
guy86 is offline  
post #5839 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 09:01 PM
Member
 
vtsteevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the Denon AVR-1909 this weekend and have been browsing this thread while setting up Audyssey.

I completely disabled the crossover dial on the sub and ran Audyssey. It nailed the distance down to a few inches and the db chanel adjustments are all very close to each other. Here are the crossover frequency results:

Al speakers set to small
Front: 200 HZ
Center: 120 HZ
Surround: 100 HZ
LFE: 80 HZ


My questions are:
1. What is the relationship between the crossover frequencies for the LFE vs all the other chanels? Since LFE is at 80 HZ, everything below 80 will go to the sub for all speakers?. If this is the case, why are the fronts all the way at 200, center at 100, and surrounds at 100? Edit: I think I've found the answer to this in http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=5555 So each channel gets its own crossover?
2. Why did Audyssey set the fronts all the way to 200? Seems a bit high.
3. Should I bump LFE to 120 HZ per recomendation of section IV "post calibration" of the guide in this thread?


Thanks!



The Speakers are manufactured by EMP

Fronts:
Impedance: 8 Ohms
Frequency Response: 80Hz-20Khz
Sensitivity: 87 db
Crossover Frequency 3000 HZ

Center:
Impedance: 6 Ohms
Frequency Response: 100Hz-20Khz
Sensitivity: 88 db
Crossover Frequency 3000 HZ

Surrounds:
Impedance: 8 Ohms
Frequency Response: 100Hz-20Khz
Sensitivity: 85 db
Crossover Frequency 3000 HZ

Sub:
Impedance: N/A
Frequency Response: 30Hz-20Khz
Sensitivity: N/A
Crossover Frequency 50-150HZ

http://www.emptek.com/html/htp-551t.html
vtsteevo is offline  
post #5840 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 09:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtsteevo View Post


My questions are:
1. What is the relationship between the crossover frequencies for the LFE vs all the other chanels? Since LFE is at 80 HZ, everything below 80 will go to the sub. If this is the case, why are the fronts all the way at 200, center at 100, and surrounds at 100? Does this mean that that the individual crossover settings for each chanel override the LFE crossover? If that's the case, changing the LFE from 80 to 100 will yield no difference in base, correct?

The LFE frequency is not a crossover, it's a low pass filter setting which applies only to the LFE channel on the disc, the .1 channel. It has no effect on the handover between speakers and sub for the other channels. That handover is controlled by the speaker crossover setting. If the crossover for a particular speaker is 200 Hz, everything below 200 Hz for that speaker will be passed to the sub.


Quote:


2. Why did Audyssey set the fronts all the way to 200? Seems a bit high.

Audyssey doesn't set the crossovers, the receiver manufacturer does based on the in room -3 dB frequency reported by Audyssey. Most speaker specifications are based on anechoic measurements and in-room measurements are usually different. Depending on a lot of things they may be better or worse than the speaker's specification. In your case it seems the in-room measurement is worse.

Quote:


3. Should I bump LFE to 120 HZ per recomendation of section IV "post calibration" of the guide in this thread?

Yes. The LFE channel on the disc may contain content which extends up to 120 Hz and that should be the setting for the LFE channel. There's no need for users to change this frequency and lower options should not be offered.
David Aiken is online now  
post #5841 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 10:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audyssey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdmello View Post

The 905 is sitting in a cabinet cooking itself in its own heat. Audyssey measurements will be taken at ear height on the couch and the floor. As the ear heights are different would audyssey work?

How far below the tweeters of the front three channels will the ears be when you sit on the floor? Typically, we don't recommend taking measurements for floor sitters, but it really depends on the speaker setup.

Chris

Chris

Join me for Audyssey Tech Talk on Facebook here.
Follow me @ChrisAudyssey on Twitter here.
audyssey is offline  
post #5842 of 72524 Old 08-19-2008, 11:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have NHT speakers the Fronts response are 33Hz-21KHz crossover 120Hz, Surrounds 80Hz-21KHz crossover 2.2KHz, Surrbacks 85Hz-25KHz crossover 2.2KHz, Center 75Hz-21KHz crossover 2.3KHz and sub response is 25Hz-120Hz. This is what I got with Audyssey when I ran it today. Does this look "OK" thanks for the help. I have the fronts bi-amp.
Front Full band
Center 70Hz
Surround Full band
Surrbacks 90Hz
LPF of LFE 80Hz
Double bass on

jsil is online now  
post #5843 of 72524 Old 08-20-2008, 06:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
jazzbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When would you want to set your front L/R speakers to large? I use two Infinity Beta 40's for the front and when I run Audyssey with my Denon 1909 it's sets them to large. I'm using a sub as well for a 5.1 total. Should I leave them set to large or should I go in and manually set them to small? Everything else seems to be set like I've read is typical.
jazzbass is offline  
post #5844 of 72524 Old 08-20-2008, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
warlord260's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: kent,wa.
Posts: 1,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsil View Post

I have NHT speakers the Fronts response are 33Hz-21KHz crossover 120Hz, Surrounds 80Hz-21KHz crossover 2.2KHz, Surrbacks 85Hz-25KHz crossover 2.2KHz, Center 75Hz-21KHz crossover 2.3KHz and sub response is 25Hz-120Hz. This is what I got with Audyssey when I ran it today. Does this look "OK" thanks for the help. I have the fronts bi-amp.
Front Full band
Center 70Hz
Surround Full band
Surrbacks 90Hz
LPF of LFE 80Hz
Double bass on

doesnt look right to me
i would change all
fronts 60-80hz
center maybe 90- 100hz
surrounds surround backs 100-120 hz
double bass off
but that is just me. wonder how audyssey detected surrounds as full band
something doesnt seem right.
it probably sounds awful. am i correct?
i might even run audyssey again
warlord260 is offline  
post #5845 of 72524 Old 08-20-2008, 06:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
More NOOB questions...

is Audyssey Pro an add on? or does it come with some products?

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
post #5846 of 72524 Old 08-20-2008, 06:52 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,073
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord260 View Post

doesnt look right to me
i would change all
fronts 60-80hz
center maybe 90- 100hz
surrounds surround backs 100-120 hz
double bass off
but that is just me. wonder how audyssey detected surrounds as full band
something doesnt seem right.
it probably sounds awful. am i correct?
i might even run audyssey again

Personally, I would only change the LCR speakers and leave the surrounds as set by . . the AVR/pre-pro based on information passed to it by Audyssey. (Chris, PM me your macro for that mouthful. ) And then I would only either set a crossover (from a "detected" LARGE setting) or raise an existing crossover; I would not lower a crossover.

Just my $.02.

- Jeff
pepar is online now  
post #5847 of 72524 Old 08-20-2008, 06:54 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,073
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by penngray View Post

More NOOB questions...

is Audyssey Pro an add on? or does it come with some products?

It is a kit that is purchased from Audyssey consisting of - someone correct me if I'm wrong - the Pro software and an individually calibrated microphone with a custom calibration file. I'm a bit sketchy on this part, but there is a cost for the kit and then, I believe, a fee to register it with a particular AVR/pre-pro.
pepar is online now  
post #5848 of 72524 Old 08-20-2008, 07:05 AM
Senior Member
 
StimpsonJCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

Unless the sub is defective I would not give up on Audyssey EQ just yet. I have a $200 sub in a bedroom that is just fine at normal listening levels and more. Find the FAQ posted on recent pages, run again and post the settings results. Assuming the sub is OK we'll badger Chris until he gets you straightened out.

Last night I switched the phase on the sub to 180 and restored the Auto settings and no longer have the issue. I think it was originally set to 180 and at some point after the auto setup I switched it to 0. I'm just now learning the settings I can adjust after running auto setup and those I shouldn't change without re-running it.

It sounds good now, but when I have time I'll try changing the speaker/crossover settings again and see what happens. At least now I have some scenes to test with which I know bottomed out the sub before. I will probably run the whole auto setup again at some point with the sub phase at 0 (I'll need to pick up a cheap tripod - I borrowed one for the first setup). I think the sub's location is really bad, but I don't really have a choice with this room. Hopefully I'll get into a house soon and have a whole new room to work with. I've learned a lot from this thread and had fun tweaking all the settings to improve the sound (even if my fiance is starting to grow tired of it all )

When I get a chance to start from scratch I'll post the settings.
StimpsonJCat is offline  
post #5849 of 72524 Old 08-20-2008, 08:27 AM
Member
 
vtsteevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Aiken View Post


Audyssey doesn't set the crossovers, the receiver manufacturer does based on the in room -3 dB frequency reported by Audyssey. Most speaker specifications are based on anechoic measurements and in-room measurements are usually different. Depending on a lot of things they may be better or worse than the speaker's specification. In your case it seems the in-room measurement is worse.

It just seems very odd that the receiver set the crossover frequency for the surrounds and center very close to the lowest frequency response of the speakers based on their specs - yet for the front speakers, its way off.


Surrounds and Center can go as low as 100 HZ, and the receiver set those to 100 and 120. The fronts can go to 80 HZ, and the receiver set those to 200

Both the surrounds and the fronts have the exact same 4" woofers, except the fronts have 4 of them while the surrounds have only 2!

I agree with what you are saying about room acoustics, but I would expect it to impact all speakers, not just the fronts. The Distance from surrounds to mic is 8 feet while distance from fronts to mic is 10. I moved all furniture out of the room and put the mic on a tripod for this as well.

I am happy with the sound, but I have nothing to compare it to... this is my first set of speakers/receiver and I want to make sure I didn't get defective speakers. Any help is appreciated.
vtsteevo is offline  
post #5850 of 72524 Old 08-20-2008, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
warlord260 & pepar thanks for your inputs. I'm going to run Audyssey again today and post result.

jsil is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Receivers Amplifiers , Kef Kht1005 2se 5 1 Subwoofer Satellite System With C4 Subwoofer Gloss White , 5 6 7 1 7 2 Or 8 1 8 2 One Or Two Subwoofer Compatible 16 Banana Post 2 Rca Speaker Wall Plate For H
Gear in this thread - Kht1005 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off