"Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779) - Page 2413 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #72361 of 72388 Old 09-09-2014, 03:48 PM
Member
 
Spottedfeather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
You can, but you shouldn't have to. Audyssey will adjust the levels of each speaker separately so that they all match.

Also, if you can, I HIGHLY recommend getting a receiver with XT32 as it is vastly superior to the other versions of Audyssey.
I DO need to adjust the levels of each speaker separately. I hear more out of my right side than my left side. So the left side speakers need to be louder.
Spottedfeather is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #72362 of 72388 Old 09-09-2014, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
I DO need to adjust the levels of each speaker separately. I hear more out of my right side than my left side. So the left side speakers need to be louder.

Sorry, I didn't realize you meant your actual hearing for each ear. When you said sides, I thought speakers. Either way, you can, so you will be fine.
zeus33 is online now  
post #72363 of 72388 Old 09-10-2014, 05:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,922
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1431 Post(s)
Liked: 1711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
Ah. It had me a bit confused. Perhaps I should explain more. I hear slightly more out of my right side than my left side. What I was worried about was that the sound after running Audyssey would be off balance and appear to come more from the right side.
So long as you had the mic at the MLP for position 1, Audyssey should take care of that by adjusting the trims. Audyssey is pretty good at getting the trims levels and distances right. If you find that it is unbalanced after running Audyssey, we really ought to troubleshoot that, but it is fine to adjust the trim on one of the speakers a little if you wish - it won’t impact the calibration filters at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
I'm wanting to get Audyssey so that I can smooth out the dynamic range of DTS audio tracks. I don't like the dynamic range. I need Audyssey for the dialogue normalization/dynamic volume. But the manual for the receiver that I'm interested in says that if you change settings after running Audyssey, you won't be able to use dynamic volume.
That is not correct. Denon manuals are notorious for being difficult to interpret. As in the example in your original post, what they say isn't always what they mean.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
So, you're saying that if I run Audyssey and use dialogue normalization/dynamic volume, I will be able to adjust the volume of the individual speakers so that I can get balanced sound ?
Yes - you can adjust the trims to your hearts content and Audyssey will still run properly. HST, you shouldn’t really need to adjust the trims, but a couple of dB won't do any harm.
twain250 likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #72364 of 72388 Old 09-15-2014, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bigham16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I picked up my new Marantz 7009 last Thursday and got to hook it up over the weekend. Kbarnes and Mogorf you guys will find this very interesting, DEQ now sounds great!!! Every thing sounds even, the surrounds, 4 ceiling speakers , and subs sound great unlike with the 4520. The center channel is much more clear on all content and I didn't have to bump it up dB or two.

The other very strange thing is the 7009 said my subs were way to high. When level matching they are above in the red. The 4520 never said they were too high as I had them match at about 71 dB (through Audyessy) because of all the bass DEQ gave (I ran Audyessy a number of times on the 4520 all with the same results). But even before I had the 4520 I had level matched each sub to 75 dB with an SLP meter.

Not sure why the 7009 would have produced very different results but I am now a fan of DEQ.

To further test things, I moved the 4520 downstairs to see how Audyssey and DEQ would sound on my 3.1 setup in my living room. Living room is large, open concept with very high ceiling. Thought maybe the 4520 just didn't like my mediaroom but then thought why would the 7009 produce better results than the 4520? Anyway, after running Audyssey and applying DEQ the bass is still too powerfull just like the mediaroom.

Any ideas as to why the two different resutls between the 7009 and 4520? Could my mic for calibration been bad on the 4520? Thought it was interesting and wanted to pass along.



______________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bigham16 is offline  
post #72365 of 72388 Old 09-15-2014, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Bad mic, different positions - any number of things. The point is when you get it right Audyssey Reference DEQ is always better than no DEQ.

Gary J
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gary J is offline  
post #72366 of 72388 Old 09-15-2014, 08:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,351
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
The mic for those two units is interchangeable so have you tried switching mics?
batpig is online now  
post #72367 of 72388 Old 09-15-2014, 08:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bigham16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 43
No, but I just thought about that while I was typing. Will give it go next time I get a chance. Thanks for the idea.

Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
The mic for those two units is interchangeable so have you tried switching mics?



______________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bigham16 is offline  
post #72368 of 72388 Old 09-15-2014, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigham16 View Post
No, but I just thought about that while I was typing. Will give it go next time I get a chance. Thanks for the idea.
Hi Bigham,

After swapping the mics as bp suggests, you may also do a factory reset on the 4520 and run Audyssey again.

P.S. Glad to hear you're a fan of DEQ, after all.

Cheers, Feri


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mogorf is offline  
post #72369 of 72388 Old 09-15-2014, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bigham16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Will do and thanks!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mogorf View Post
Hi Bigham,

After swapping the mics as bp suggests, you may also do a factory reset on the 4520 and run Audyssey again.

P.S. Glad to hear you're a fan of DEQ, after all.



______________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bigham16 is offline  
post #72370 of 72388 Old 09-15-2014, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
AV_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 39
^^^^^^^^
I would also suggest swapping the microphones, as I had similar observations. I tried the 5-year old mic I got with my first AVR (Onkyo TX-SR876) instead of the 4520 mic and got 'better' results.
My sub level always came out approx. 3dB lower than the mains, when tested with a calibrated REW setup (4520 mic), but its level was spot on when using the 'old' mic.
I have since gone the whole hog and got the Audyssey Pro Kit - that gives even better results, and also confirms that the original 4520 mic was not to be trusted.
The sub level was just the most obvious fault - there were other smaller level discrepancies through the frequency range.

Regards, Mike.
Bigham16 likes this.
AV_mike is offline  
post #72371 of 72388 Old 09-15-2014, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Is it ok to extend the cable on the mic when you have the AVR in another room?

Murray Thompson

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

RapalloAV is offline  
post #72372 of 72388 Old 09-15-2014, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bigham16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I recall seeing an early post that said yes but no more than 20 feet (not sure that is correct). Here is the link that was on the post for the extned cable:

http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/24-6265

Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
Is it ok to extend the cable on the mic when you have the AVR in another room?



______________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bigham16 is offline  
post #72373 of 72388 Old 09-15-2014, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,330
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 611 Post(s)
Liked: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
Is it ok to extend the cable on the mic when you have the AVR in another room?
D.7 in the Audyssey FAQ.

__________________________________________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #72374 of 72388 Old 09-15-2014, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
D.7 in the Audyssey FAQ.
Thanks for that Jerry, never thought that would be in the FAQ page.
I have a stereo extension, what would happen if that was used?

Murray Thompson

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

RapalloAV is offline  
post #72375 of 72388 Old 09-16-2014, 02:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,922
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1431 Post(s)
Liked: 1711
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
Is it ok to extend the cable on the mic when you have the AVR in another room?
Always check the FAQ....

d)7. Can I extend the Audyssey mic cable?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #72376 of 72388 Old 09-16-2014, 12:51 PM
Member
 
pwong888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can anyone recommend the length on the first mic poisition between the mic and the home theather recline seat.
pwong888 is offline  
post #72377 of 72388 Old 09-16-2014, 01:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,922
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1431 Post(s)
Liked: 1711
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwong888 View Post
Can anyone recommend the length on the first mic poisition between the mic and the home theather recline seat.
If you are having to ask that, then you won't have read the Audyssey 101, linked in my sig. I'd advise reading it and following each step to the letter if you are new to Audyssey. This will ensure that you get a great calibration right from the get-go.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #72378 of 72388 Old 09-16-2014, 01:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,922
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1431 Post(s)
Liked: 1711
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
Thanks for that Jerry, never thought that would be in the FAQ page.
I have a stereo extension, what would happen if that was used?
It wouldn’t work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #72379 of 72388 Old 09-17-2014, 04:14 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,713
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Is there a list of the new AVR with XT32?

My humble Cinema
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wse is offline  
post #72380 of 72388 Old 09-17-2014, 05:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,351
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
Is there a list of the new AVR with XT32?
Considering that D&M is the only AVR vendor still fully aligned with Audyssey, it's a pretty easy list. Basically any of the higher end Denon (X4100 and up for the new models) and Marantz (SR7009 and up) AVR models. Both of the new Marantz pre/pros (the AV7702 and the upcoming 8802) have it too.

Onkyo has dropped Audyssey completely, and the other niche vendors (like NAD) who used Audyssey never licensed XT32, only XT.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #72381 of 72388 Old 09-17-2014, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mcallister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This may be somewhere in the thread. But I have an all active Danley 7.1 using active SH100s for side and back surrounds. For some reason every time in run audyssey it sets the back surrounds to 150 Hz and the sides to 80Hz. Since I can't lower the crossover point of the back speakers is my only option just trying to re-run audyssey and hope it sets a lower crossover point?

mcallister is offline  
post #72382 of 72388 Old 09-17-2014, 09:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcallister View Post
This may be somewhere in the thread. But I have an all active Danley 7.1 using active SH100s for side and back surrounds. For some reason every time in run audyssey it sets the back surrounds to 150 Hz and the sides to 80Hz. Since I can't lower the crossover point of the back speakers is my only option just trying to re-run audyssey and hope it sets a lower crossover point?
I would suggest trying to determine why Audyssey is not hearing the low frequencies from the back surrounds. Are they being blocked by the back of the seating, for example? Or are the woofers or associated amps damaged in some way? Another possibility is that room acoustics is causing them to generate nulls in the vicinity of the microphone positions. At any rate, you'll probably need some kind of spectrum analyzer to discover what's happening, like REW.
kbarnes701 likes this.

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #72383 of 72388 Old 09-18-2014, 04:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,922
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1431 Post(s)
Liked: 1711
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
Is there a list of the new AVR with XT32?
Yes. Denon.

Denon/Marantz is the only mainstream manufacturer still using Audyssey XT32.

Edited to add Marantz.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by kbarnes701; 09-18-2014 at 05:40 AM.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #72384 of 72388 Old 09-18-2014, 04:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,922
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1431 Post(s)
Liked: 1711
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcallister View Post
This may be somewhere in the thread. But I have an all active Danley 7.1 using active SH100s for side and back surrounds. For some reason every time in run audyssey it sets the back surrounds to 150 Hz and the sides to 80Hz. Since I can't lower the crossover point of the back speakers is my only option just trying to re-run audyssey and hope it sets a lower crossover point?
Is the 150Hz crossover causing audible problems? For example, are you able to localise the bass that has been handed over to the subwoofer at ~150Hz? If not, then you can leave them as Audyssey set them, so long as your sub is happy to play at 150Hz, which I'd expect it probably can.

Otherwise, if there are audible issues from a XO so high, I'd lower the XO a bit - maybe to 120Hz. Yes, this will leave a small uncorrected 'hole' in the FR between 150 and 120Hz, but I doubt if this would be in any way audible for rear surround channels and may be a good compromise if leaving them where Audyssey wanted them is causing audible issues.

Why has Audyssey set one pair at 150Hz and the others at 80Hz? Position of the speakers in the room, the inability of the mic to 'see' the rear surrounds as well as it can the sides... there are various possible reasons.

If you care to try again with a new calibration, be sure that the mic position is such that the rear surrounds are easily 'seen' by the mic. If necessary, raise the mic a few inches for a few of the measurements, even if this puts the mic somewhat above the recommended ear level.

Sometimes Audyssey needs a little 'help' to get the best result


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #72385 of 72388 Old 09-18-2014, 05:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
Yes. Denon.

Denon is the only mainstream manufacturer still using Audyssey XT32.
...and Marantz. See the post of bp here.

Cheers, Feri


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by mogorf; 09-18-2014 at 05:33 AM.
mogorf is offline  
post #72386 of 72388 Old 09-18-2014, 05:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,922
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1431 Post(s)
Liked: 1711
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogorf View Post
...and Marantz. See the post of bp here.
Denon and Marantz being the same, essentially, yes.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #72387 of 72388 Old 09-18-2014, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcallister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
I would suggest trying to determine why Audyssey is not hearing the low frequencies from the back surrounds. Are they being blocked by the back of the seating, for example? Or are the woofers or associated amps damaged in some way? Another possibility is that room acoustics is causing them to generate nulls in the vicinity of the microphone positions. At any rate, you'll probably need some kind of spectrum analyzer to discover what's happening, like REW.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
Is the 150Hz crossover causing audible problems? For example, are you able to localise the bass that has been handed over to the subwoofer at ~150Hz? If not, then you can leave them as Audyssey set them, so long as your sub is happy to play at 150Hz, which I'd expect it probably can.

Otherwise, if there are audible issues from a XO so high, I'd lower the XO a bit - maybe to 120Hz. Yes, this will leave a small uncorrected 'hole' in the FR between 150 and 120Hz, but I doubt if this would be in any way audible for rear surround channels and may be a good compromise if leaving them where Audyssey wanted them is causing audible issues.

Why has Audyssey set one pair at 150Hz and the others at 80Hz? Position of the speakers in the room, the inability of the mic to 'see' the rear surrounds as well as it can the sides... there are various possible reasons.

If you care to try again with a new calibration, be sure that the mic position is such that the rear surrounds are easily 'seen' by the mic. If necessary, raise the mic a few inches for a few of the measurements, even if this puts the mic somewhat above the recommended ear level.

Sometimes Audyssey needs a little 'help' to get the best result
Thanks guys! I will see what I can find out and re-run audyssey.

mcallister is offline  
post #72388 of 72388 Old 09-18-2014, 06:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,922
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1431 Post(s)
Liked: 1711
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcallister View Post
Thanks guys! I will see what I can find out and re-run audyssey.
Please report back if the suggestions work, or don't work, so we can add to the body of knowledge contained in the thread. Thanks.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbarnes701 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Receivers Amplifiers , Kef Kht1005 2se 5 1 Subwoofer Satellite System With C4 Subwoofer Gloss White , 5 6 7 1 7 2 Or 8 1 8 2 One Or Two Subwoofer Compatible 16 Banana Post 2 Rca Speaker Wall Plate For H
Gear in this thread - Kht1005 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off