"Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779) - Page 2413 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #72361 of 72375 Old 09-09-2014, 03:48 PM
Member
 
Spottedfeather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
You can, but you shouldn't have to. Audyssey will adjust the levels of each speaker separately so that they all match.

Also, if you can, I HIGHLY recommend getting a receiver with XT32 as it is vastly superior to the other versions of Audyssey.
I DO need to adjust the levels of each speaker separately. I hear more out of my right side than my left side. So the left side speakers need to be louder.
Spottedfeather is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #72362 of 72375 Old 09-09-2014, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,319
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
I DO need to adjust the levels of each speaker separately. I hear more out of my right side than my left side. So the left side speakers need to be louder.

Sorry, I didn't realize you meant your actual hearing for each ear. When you said sides, I thought speakers. Either way, you can, so you will be fine.
zeus33 is offline  
post #72363 of 72375 Old 09-10-2014, 05:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,774
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1334 Post(s)
Liked: 1664
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
Ah. It had me a bit confused. Perhaps I should explain more. I hear slightly more out of my right side than my left side. What I was worried about was that the sound after running Audyssey would be off balance and appear to come more from the right side.
So long as you had the mic at the MLP for position 1, Audyssey should take care of that by adjusting the trims. Audyssey is pretty good at getting the trims levels and distances right. If you find that it is unbalanced after running Audyssey, we really ought to troubleshoot that, but it is fine to adjust the trim on one of the speakers a little if you wish - it won’t impact the calibration filters at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
I'm wanting to get Audyssey so that I can smooth out the dynamic range of DTS audio tracks. I don't like the dynamic range. I need Audyssey for the dialogue normalization/dynamic volume. But the manual for the receiver that I'm interested in says that if you change settings after running Audyssey, you won't be able to use dynamic volume.
That is not correct. Denon manuals are notorious for being difficult to interpret. As in the example in your original post, what they say isn't always what they mean.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
So, you're saying that if I run Audyssey and use dialogue normalization/dynamic volume, I will be able to adjust the volume of the individual speakers so that I can get balanced sound ?
Yes - you can adjust the trims to your hearts content and Audyssey will still run properly. HST, you shouldn’t really need to adjust the trims, but a couple of dB won't do any harm.
twain250 likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #72364 of 72375 Old Yesterday, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bigham16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I picked up my new Marantz 7009 last Thursday and got to hook it up over the weekend. Kbarnes and Mogorf you guys will find this very interesting, DEQ now sounds great!!! Every thing sounds even, the surrounds, 4 ceiling speakers , and subs sound great unlike with the 4520. The center channel is much more clear on all content and I didn't have to bump it up dB or two.

The other very strange thing is the 7009 said my subs were way to high. When level matching they are above in the red. The 4520 never said they were too high as I had them match at about 71 dB (through Audyessy) because of all the bass DEQ gave (I ran Audyessy a number of times on the 4520 all with the same results). But even before I had the 4520 I had level matched each sub to 75 dB with an SLP meter.

Not sure why the 7009 would have produced very different results but I am now a fan of DEQ.

To further test things, I moved the 4520 downstairs to see how Audyssey and DEQ would sound on my 3.1 setup in my living room. Living room is large, open concept with very high ceiling. Thought maybe the 4520 just didn't like my mediaroom but then thought why would the 7009 produce better results than the 4520? Anyway, after running Audyssey and applying DEQ the bass is still too powerfull just like the mediaroom.

Any ideas as to why the two different resutls between the 7009 and 4520? Could my mic for calibration been bad on the 4520? Thought it was interesting and wanted to pass along.



______________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bigham16 is offline  
post #72365 of 72375 Old Yesterday, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Bad mic, different positions - any number of things. The point is when you get it right Audyssey Reference DEQ is always better than no DEQ.

Gary J
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gary J is offline  
post #72366 of 72375 Old Yesterday, 08:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,277
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 548 Post(s)
Liked: 1190
The mic for those two units is interchangeable so have you tried switching mics?
batpig is offline  
post #72367 of 72375 Old Yesterday, 08:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bigham16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 42
No, but I just thought about that while I was typing. Will give it go next time I get a chance. Thanks for the idea.

Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
The mic for those two units is interchangeable so have you tried switching mics?



______________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bigham16 is offline  
post #72368 of 72375 Old Yesterday, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigham16 View Post
No, but I just thought about that while I was typing. Will give it go next time I get a chance. Thanks for the idea.
Hi Bigham,

After swapping the mics as bp suggests, you may also do a factory reset on the 4520 and run Audyssey again.

P.S. Glad to hear you're a fan of DEQ, after all.

Cheers, Feri


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mogorf is online now  
post #72369 of 72375 Old Yesterday, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bigham16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Will do and thanks!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mogorf View Post
Hi Bigham,

After swapping the mics as bp suggests, you may also do a factory reset on the 4520 and run Audyssey again.

P.S. Glad to hear you're a fan of DEQ, after all.



______________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bigham16 is offline  
post #72370 of 72375 Old Yesterday, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
AV_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 39
^^^^^^^^
I would also suggest swapping the microphones, as I had similar observations. I tried the 5-year old mic I got with my first AVR (Onkyo TX-SR876) instead of the 4520 mic and got 'better' results.
My sub level always came out approx. 3dB lower than the mains, when tested with a calibrated REW setup (4520 mic), but its level was spot on when using the 'old' mic.
I have since gone the whole hog and got the Audyssey Pro Kit - that gives even better results, and also confirms that the original 4520 mic was not to be trusted.
The sub level was just the most obvious fault - there were other smaller level discrepancies through the frequency range.

Regards, Mike.
Bigham16 likes this.
AV_mike is offline  
post #72371 of 72375 Old Yesterday, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Is it ok to extend the cable on the mic when you have the AVR in another room?

Murray Thompson

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

RapalloAV is offline  
post #72372 of 72375 Old Yesterday, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bigham16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I recall seeing an early post that said yes but no more than 20 feet (not sure that is correct). Here is the link that was on the post for the extned cable:

http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/24-6265

Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
Is it ok to extend the cable on the mic when you have the AVR in another room?



______________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bigham16 is offline  
post #72373 of 72375 Old Yesterday, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,308
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 595 Post(s)
Liked: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
Is it ok to extend the cable on the mic when you have the AVR in another room?
D.7 in the Audyssey FAQ.

__________________________________________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #72374 of 72375 Old Yesterday, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
D.7 in the Audyssey FAQ.
Thanks for that Jerry, never thought that would be in the FAQ page.
I have a stereo extension, what would happen if that was used?

Murray Thompson

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

RapalloAV is offline  
post #72375 of 72375 Old Today, 02:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,774
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1334 Post(s)
Liked: 1664
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
Is it ok to extend the cable on the mic when you have the AVR in another room?
Always check the FAQ....

d)7. Can I extend the Audyssey mic cable?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbarnes701 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Receivers Amplifiers , Kef Kht1005 2se 5 1 Subwoofer Satellite System With C4 Subwoofer Gloss White , 5 6 7 1 7 2 Or 8 1 8 2 One Or Two Subwoofer Compatible 16 Banana Post 2 Rca Speaker Wall Plate For H
Gear in this thread - Kht1005 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off