"Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779) - Page 2485 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #74521 of 74531 Unread Today, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
Before getting to Audyssey, if it were me I'd want to know why my sub was humming and to fix it. The sub shouldn't hum so something must be wrong. Is it a loud hum? Is it mains frequency? A ground loop? What?

Second, if you are setting up to use 75dB test tones (the first stage that Audyssey asks for) the sound coming from the sub when Audyssey pings it should be relatively quiet, not cat-terrifying loud. This also suggests a problem somewhere. I assume you did adjust the sub so the reading is ~75dB, as Audyssey requires?

Only when you have fixed any problems with the sub is it worthwhile to figure out the Audyssey calibration IMO.

Thanks for the reply. I don't know know how to quantify how loud the hum is. It's not loud but it's clearly audible I'd say.

I don't know what "mains frequency" is so I couldn't really answer that. Don't know if it's a ground loop either.

I didn't see anything anywhere suggesting setting the sub to 75 db. I was just following the onscreen prompts for audyssey.

I agree that I need to fix any problems before calibrating, I just don't know if there are problems or if I just have something set incorrectly. Should my sub amp be set at 180 Hz when running Audyssey? I called Denon and they didn't seem to be able to give me a definitive answer either...

I did read through the links in your signature but there is a whole lot of info there to digest and could very well have overlooked something or just done something wrong...

Last edited by MNnative; Today at 12:32 PM.
MNnative is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #74522 of 74531 Unread Today, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Are you sure that's 180Hz, or is it 180 degrees (phase)? If it's the latter, leave it at 0 for now. If it's the former, and it's the crossover setting, you should set it as high as it can go.
Soulburner is online now  
post #74523 of 74531 Unread Today, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 8,458
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3511 Post(s)
Liked: 1217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
I see this all the time when trying to post in this thread and have reported it without much help.

The only way I've found around it is to make sure I quote someone before replying...probably doesn't help when editing the FAQ though.
This thread is unique on that aspect (Database error).

There are three solutions that I know of:

1. Like you said; quote another post.
2. At the page's bottom, last post, @ left; click on 'Reply'.
3. Just post like normal by typing your post in the large white dedicated space, and when done, don't click on 'Submit Reply' but on 'Preview Post';
then you can submit your post.

Those three tricks work.

* But the main thing is this: You have to remember (I never do myself). ...And if you don't remember, and that you post normally, without quoting, and click on 'Submit Reply' (and not on 'Reply' first), you are going to end up with that 'Database error' and your post is gone for good.
So, if you make the mistake of not using one of them three solutions above, and that you worked real hard on a post with lots of good info and scientific measurements and theories for over an hour and up to four hours; too bad, your hard work is gone.

It gets me all the time, I can never remember to post differently here in this Audyssey thread.
And the reason is very easy to understand why; it's because we are used to post normally everywhere else, and we just do the same here.
For this reason this thread is the one I experienced the most frustration over time. ...And I tried to stay away if I can help it, but it's not always easy to remember and also when you like to reply to a post.

It was asked before if there should be an official Audyssey thread Part Two, because this one was so humongous.
Perhaps that was the right solution ....

P.S. When Keith wants to add to the FAQ, he probably click on 'Edit'. ...Then 'Save'.
He'll have to check another route if he ends up with a 'Database error'. ...Check if 'Preview Post' is an option when editing before saving.
* [I just checked, and it's not an option; but 'Edit' and 'Save' always works fine for me]. ...And there is also 'Go Advanced'; that might help...

Last edited by NorthSky; Today at 12:55 PM. Reason: Postcript
NorthSky is online now  
post #74524 of 74531 Unread Today, 12:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Are you sure that's 180Hz, or is it 180 degrees (phase)? If it's the latter, leave it at 0 for now. If it's the former, and it's the crossover setting, you should set it as high as it can go.
Hz, for sure. I'm rerunning Audyssey now with the setting at 180 Hz and the volume on the sub at about 25%. No explosions of noise yet...
MNnative is online now  
post #74525 of 74531 Unread Today, 02:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 21,124
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3435 Post(s)
Liked: 2730
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNnative View Post
Thanks for the reply. I don't know know how to quantify how loud the hum is. It's not loud but it's clearly audible I'd say.
Can you hear it from where you normally sit, or just when you put your ear near the driver?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MNnative View Post
I don't know what "mains frequency" is so I couldn't really answer that. Don't know if it's a ground loop either.
Mains in the USA is 60Hz. This is what 60Hz sounds like:


Quote:
Originally Posted by MNnative View Post
I didn't see anything anywhere suggesting setting the sub to 75 db. I was just following the onscreen prompts for audyssey.
It is one of the first on-screen prompts - you have to set the sub level to 75dB. Do you have an older AVR? What version of Audyssey do you have? If your version of Audyssey doesn't prompt you to set the sub at 60Hz, download a free SPL meter for your phone and use that to get it close to 75dB using the volume knob on the sub. Do this before running Audyssey.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MNnative View Post
I agree that I need to fix any problems before calibrating, I just don't know if there are problems or if I just have something set incorrectly. Should my sub amp be set at 180 Hz when running Audyssey? I called Denon and they didn't seem to be able to give me a definitive answer either...
What does the legend under that sub control say? You need to set the sub crossover to its highest setting, so that it doesn't fight with the crossover in the AVR. This is covered fully in the FAQ and 101. They are essential reading.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MNnative View Post
I did read through the links in your signature but there is a whole lot of info there to digest and could very well have overlooked something or just done something wrong...
Follow the step by step guide in the 101. You need to do each step to ensure a good calibration.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #74526 of 74531 Unread Today, 02:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The hum from the sub was audible from the listening position. It became audible when I pushed the Hz. knob beyond about 60 Hz. Evidently the hum was a ground loop issue, I eliminated the ground prong from the sub amp with an adapter and the hum went away.

The receiver is new, I just received it a couple days ago. It is a Denon AVRS900W. I didn't see any prompt regarding sub volume calibration at all in the Audyssey calibration process. I'm not even sure how I'd adjust the sub volume prior to running Audyssey?

The sub control knob shows 40 Hz-180 Hz. I set it it at full, 180 Hz. prior to running Audyssey and didn't get the crazy loud blast the second time around. I turned the gain down to about 25% or the 9 o'clock position during this calibration. I believe I did everything correctly as asked by the onscreen prompts, I can review your 101 tutorial and double check. Like I mentioned, I didn't adjust the sub DB at any point other than to set the gain knob at about 25%
MNnative is online now  
post #74527 of 74531 Unread Today, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 8,429
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1172 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNnative View Post
The hum from the sub was audible from the listening position. It became audible when I pushed the Hz. knob beyond about 60 Hz. Evidently the hum was a ground loop issue, I eliminated the ground prong from the sub amp with an adapter and the hum went away.
Disconnecting a ground prong is a serious safety hazard. If a short happens in your sub, you could be directly exposed to 120Volts, which usually is lethal.

There are two common causes of 60Hz hum (and many less common): mismatched power phasing and poorly grounded CATV connections. From your description, I suspect the first.

Most US homes have two phases of incoming power. My guess is that your hum is caused by connecting your A/V equipment and subwoofer to separate outlets, each powered by a different phase. If that's the case, the easiest solution is to plug them both into the same power strip so that only one power phase is involved. Otherwise you'll have to test all of your power outlets to find out which is which phase.

Selden

Marantz SR7009+MM9000/Atmos 7.1.4 (FH+TM:DefTech PM1000)/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is online now  
post #74528 of 74531 Unread Today, 03:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Disconnecting a ground prong is a serious safety hazard. If a short happens in your sub, you could be directly exposed to 120Volts, which usually is lethal.

There are two common causes of 60Hz hum (and many less common): mismatched power phasing and poorly grounded CATV connections. From your description, I suspect the first.

Most US homes have two phases of incoming power. My guess is that your hum is caused by connecting your A/V equipment and subwoofer to separate outlets, each powered by a different phase. If that's the case, the easiest solution is to plug them both into the same power strip so that only one power phase is involved. Otherwise you'll have to test all of your power outlets to find out which is which phase.
Both are connected to the same outlet via a power strip. The hum is there until I add the adapter to the sub which eliminates the ground plug.
MNnative is online now  
post #74529 of 74531 Unread Today, 03:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNnative View Post
Both are connected to the same outlet via a power strip. The hum is there until I add the adapter to the sub which eliminates the ground plug.
Have you tried replacing the sub's RCA cable to test if there is a problem with the cable? Did the sub have a hum prior to installing the new AVR?

ggsantafe is online now  
post #74530 of 74531 Unread Today, 04:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggsantafe View Post
Have you tried replacing the sub's RCA cable to test if there is a problem with the cable? Did the sub have a hum prior to installing the new AVR?
I did try a different cable. I just pulled apart a composite cable and tried each leg. Same result.

Yes, it hummed with my old receiver as well now that I think of it. I guess that's why it was plugged in to the ground eliminator. I broke down my old system, moved and just set up in the new house with a new receiver as my old Denon AVR590 HDMI board went out.

Maybe the problem lies in my sub/amp setup? I built the sub, it's a BFM Tuba HT with 15" dayton inside. Attached to a plate amp via speaker wires. An RCA cable connects the amp to the receiver running between the white (L) input and the Subwoofer PreOut (1) on the receiver.
MNnative is online now  
post #74531 of 74531 Unread Today, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Most US homes have two phases of incoming power. My guess is that your hum is caused by connecting your A/V equipment and subwoofer to separate outlets, each powered by a different phase. If that's the case, the easiest solution is to plug them both into the same power strip so that only one power phase is involved. Otherwise you'll have to test all of your power outlets to find out which is which phase.
This wouldn't apply to equipment plugged into different outlets that are on the same circuit, right? My basement has 3 outlets but they are all connected together. I replaced the first one with a GFCI outlet and when you test it, all three outlets lose power.

Since I plan on having a 2nd sub, it should be okay to use whatever outlet is most convenient right?
Soulburner is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Receivers Amplifiers , Kef Kht1005 2se 5 1 Subwoofer Satellite System With C4 Subwoofer Gloss White , 5 6 7 1 7 2 Or 8 1 8 2 One Or Two Subwoofer Compatible 16 Banana Post 2 Rca Speaker Wall Plate For H
Gear in this thread - Kht1005 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off