"Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779) - Page 586 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17551 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dewd View Post

I like these discussions. I think a few more days reading this thread and I will be able to take (and pass) the professor's course at USC.


I know you were joking, but I'd bet that the course is waaaaay more "computationally demanding" than anything we have seen posted here.
kjgarrison is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17552 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 05:24 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

I know you were joking, but I'd bet that the course is waaaaay more "computationally demanding" than anything we have seen posted here.

And probably all . . Greek, too.
pepar is offline  
post #17553 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 05:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
counsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Look what I found on eBay...

http://cgi.ebay.com/Audyssey-MultEQ-...d=p3286.c0.m14

Never argue with an idiot; they drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Counsil Basement HT
counsil is offline  
post #17554 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Brucemck2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Will the outboard Pro unit properly equalize/integrate two (or more) subs?

Is there something unique/different about the multiple sub routines in the outboard sub only AS-EQ1 unit?
Brucemck2 is offline  
post #17555 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 07:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,384
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigon View Post

I understand. I will probably test both methods.

How about my other question. How should I set the sub volume? Individually to 75 Db or with equal gain up to 75 Db?

Thanks for you help.

Not sure. It would seem that you can just set the two equal and let Audyssey do the rest.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #17556 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 07:24 PM
Member
 
Myron_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can Audyssey be turned on for playback of Compact Discs? I have a PS3 and Onkyo 607 and it turns off when playing CD's.
Myron_H is offline  
post #17557 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audyssey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brucemck2 View Post

Will the outboard Pro unit properly equalize/integrate two (or more) subs?

Is there something unique/different about the multiple sub routines in the outboard sub only AS-EQ1 unit?

Hi Bruce,

I assume you mean the Audyssey Sub Equalizer. Yes, it will properly equalize and integrate two subwoofers. The core algorithm is the same as in the AS-EQ1. The Sub Equalizer is intended for the installer market and requires the separate Audyssey Pro installer kit. It can also support two zones (two subs in different rooms).

Chris

Join me for Audyssey Tech Talk on Facebook here.
Follow me @ChrisAudyssey on Twitter here.
audyssey is offline  
post #17558 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audyssey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myron_H View Post

Can Audyssey be turned on for playback of Compact Discs? I have a PS3 and Onkyo 607 and it turns off when playing CD's.

Hi Myron,

No, we don't support these antiquated two-channel formats Sorry, couldn't resist...
This must be an input setting in the Onkyo for that source that you need to change.

Chris

Join me for Audyssey Tech Talk on Facebook here.
Follow me @ChrisAudyssey on Twitter here.
audyssey is offline  
post #17559 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 07:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
counsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by counsil View Post

Look what I found on eBay...

http://cgi.ebay.com/Audyssey-MultEQ-...d=p3286.c0.m14

The price has already gone up appx $100 since I posted this (and hit count has roughly doubled). I wonder why?

Never argue with an idiot; they drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Counsil Basement HT
counsil is offline  
post #17560 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 07:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Brucemck2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by audyssey View Post

I assume you mean the Audyssey Sub Equalizer.

Apologies for being unclear. I'm asking whether the eight channel Sound Equalizer does as good a job integrating multiple subs in a single room as the AS-EQ1 does?
Brucemck2 is offline  
post #17561 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audyssey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brucemck2 View Post

Apologies for being unclear. I'm asking whether the eight channel Sound Equalizer does as good a job integrating multiple subs in a single room as the AS-EQ1 does?

The Sound Equalizer doesn't yet have the firmware to integrate multiple subs. It is intended for 5.1 + 2.0 or 7.1 systems.

Chris

Join me for Audyssey Tech Talk on Facebook here.
Follow me @ChrisAudyssey on Twitter here.
audyssey is offline  
post #17562 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myron_H View Post

Can Audyssey be turned on for playback of Compact Discs? I have a PS3 and Onkyo 607 and it turns off when playing CD's.

What's your setting on the PS3 for "Audio CD Output Frequency"? The PS3 can upsample CDs to 176.4kHz, which might cause Audyssey to be bypassed on your receiver.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #17563 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 08:42 PM
Member
 
Myron_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

What's your setting on the PS3 for "Audio CD Output Frequency"? The PS3 can upsample CDs to 176.4kHz, which might cause Audyssey to be bypassed on your receiver.

The PS3 gives me two options: (48kHz) and (44.1/88.2/176.4kHz). I had it on the second option (44.1kHz) which I thought was correct, since it is the CD data rate. But Audyssey turns off. I then tried 48kHz and Audyssey stays on. Is there a way to keep Audyssey turned on with the other data rates? I played a few tracks, and it definitely sounds better now with Audyssey turned ON.
Myron_H is offline  
post #17564 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bluesky636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dewd View Post

I like these discussions. I think a few more days reading this thread and I will be able to take (and pass) the professor's course at USC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

I know you were joking, but I'd bet that the course is waaaaay more "computationally demanding" than anything we have seen posted here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

And probably all . . Greek, too.

I don't know much about FIR filters, but I have two FUR filters that take up a lot of space on my home theater floor. Now if I could just get them to stop snoring during the movie .....

It would be nice if I could store multiple correction curves (No dogs, one for each dog, two dogs) as the frequency response changes quite noticably depending on which one is in the room.
LL
LL
bluesky636 is offline  
post #17565 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by counsil View Post

Look what I found on eBay...

http://cgi.ebay.com/Audyssey-MultEQ-...d=p3286.c0.m14

So Chris, will this work or will a license key have to be purchased to make it work? Can a license key be purchased separately from the hardware?
kjgarrison is offline  
post #17566 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audyssey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

So Chris, will this work or will a license key have to be purchased to make it work? Can a license key be purchased separately from the hardware?

As with all Pro Audyssey kits, a license key is required for each device that is calibrated. The license key is tied to the serial number of the device. Also, the software in this kit is from 3 years ago so one would have to purchase v. 3 to be up-to-date with what Audyssey offers today in the installer program.

Chris

Join me for Audyssey Tech Talk on Facebook here.
Follow me @ChrisAudyssey on Twitter here.
audyssey is offline  
post #17567 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 09:18 PM
Member
 
Nuclear Waste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

The Audyssey sub setting is giving me some problems. I was hoping someone here may have solved something similar, or be an expert on this.

My setup:
Integra DTC-9.8
Emotiva MPS-1 running the 7 non-sub channels (those channels calibrate just fine)
Axiom Epic 80-600 7.1 (so that's an Axiom EP600 sub)

EP600:
Connected to DTC-9.8 using XLR cable
Settings = Phase = 0, Trim = Flat, Crossover = Bypassed.

So here's what happens:
- I have the volume on the EP600 set to where it just kicks in to be audible (this is at maybe 10% of the entire range of the volume control - very, very low)
- When I run Audyssey setup, the DTC-9.8 reports -15.0 dB (that's the max on the 9.8)
- If I turn the volume on the EP600 down just a gazillionth of an inch and re-run Audyssey setup, the sub section of the test becomes no longer audible and reports +12 dB (the other extreme)
- If I turn the volume on the EP600 up just a gazillionth of an inch and retest, I get -15.0 dB again.

Possibilities in my brain:
Sub is too much of a beast for this space?
Volume knob isn't functioning properly? (Unlikely - it does go louder and softer through its entire range except for that lowest 10% or so)
Hopefully it's something else that I'm missing. I hope it's just something stupid.

Any ideas on how I can get this thing set at a good, (not -15.0 dB) level?

Thanks!

Nuke
Nuclear Waste is offline  
post #17568 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 09:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
jlachanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuclear Waste View Post

Sub is too much of a beast for this space?

I doubt it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuclear Waste View Post

Volume knob isn't functioning properly? (Unlikely - it does go louder and softer through its entire range except for that lowest 10% or so)

Possible.

FWIW, I had the EP600 and the amp malfunctioned. I returned the amp for an exchange and got the newer amp version. The newer version 'fixed' the issue with the overly sensitive volume control that you describe.

-------------------------
My build thread
jlachanc is offline  
post #17569 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 09:38 PM
Member
 
Nuclear Waste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlachanc View Post


FWIW, I had the EP600 and the amp malfunctioned. I returned the amp for an exchange and got the newer amp version. The newer version 'fixed' the issue with the overly sensitive volume control that you describe.

Thanks, man. I'll give Axiom a call tomorrow and see if I might be able to swap that out. Just figuring out a possible culprit for this gives me some hope!
Nuclear Waste is offline  
post #17570 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 09:48 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just curious if the Audyssey concept can (or is being) be applied to larger areas such as concert halls or arenas?

I realize room/structure treatments before designing those are most important, but just curious about the technology and modelling.

Mike
Mike_WI is offline  
post #17571 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 09:52 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
jlachanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuclear Waste View Post

Thanks, man. I'll give Axiom a call tomorrow and see if I might be able to swap that out. Just figuring out a possible culprit for this gives me some hope!

Good luck. Not sure how willing they will be to swap out a 'functioning' amp...

-------------------------
My build thread
jlachanc is offline  
post #17572 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 10:09 PM
Member
 
rollerotr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After running MultEQ on my Marantz sr6003, the following settings occur: front and center small, surround large (5.1 system), sub LPF/HPF 180!!

My speakers are 5 matched Tannoy 5" dual concentrics with a published frequency response of 80-22K. The sub is a Quad L-ite 10", 300 WRMS, published frequency of response of 25-95hz!!

Can someone shed some light on how, why, and what this means...and maybe what do do?

Thanks,
Bruce
rollerotr is offline  
post #17573 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 10:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollerotr View Post

After running MultEQ on my Marantz sr6003, the following settings occur: front and center small, surround large (5.1 system), sub LPF/HPF 180!!

My speakers are 5 matched Tannoy 5" dual concentrics with a published frequency response of 80-22K. The sub is a Quad L-ite 10", 300 WRMS, published frequency of response of 25-95hz!!

Can someone shed some light on how, why, and what this means...and maybe what do do?

Thanks,
Bruce

Bruce -

Welcome to AVS.

Have you looked at the post #1 in this thread, especially the FAQ?

Any specific questions?
If your implied question is why does Audyssey not see/suggest full range for your L/R speakers, it is because the sub may handle that area better.

Mike
Mike_WI is offline  
post #17574 of 71778 Old 08-18-2009, 10:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DS-21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollerotr View Post

After running MultEQ on my Marantz sr6003, the following settings occur: front and center small, surround large (5.1 system), sub LPF/HPF 180!!

My speakers are 5 matched Tannoy 5" dual concentrics with a published frequency response of 80-22K. The sub is a Quad L-ite 10", 300 WRMS, published frequency of response of 25-95hz!!

Can someone shed some light on how, why, and what this means...and maybe what do do?

Thanks,
Bruce

Where are your mains and how large is your room? If they're out from the wall, or the room is large, then Audyssey got it right.

The Tannoy Arenas are great little speakers, but there's only so much a 5.25" basket, 4" cone driver can do down low before unacceptable levels of distortion set it.

--
"In many cases there aren’t two sides unless one side is 'reality' and the other is 'nonsense.'" - Phil Plait
Serious Audio Blog 
Multichannel music (and video) urban loft living room system 
DS-21 is offline  
post #17575 of 71778 Old 08-19-2009, 12:15 AM
Member
 
a1bert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluesky636 View Post

Dude, do you have any idea who you are trying to argue with?

Yes, I _did_ notice. I was doubly surprised by the carelessness that Anti-mode was put into "no time domain" category, but further discussion explained how that could happen. He knows his stuff, but there are more than two ways to skin a cat.
a1bert is offline  
post #17576 of 71778 Old 08-19-2009, 12:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myron_H View Post

The PS3 gives me two options: (48kHz) and (44.1/88.2/176.4kHz). I had it on the second option (44.1kHz) which I thought was correct, since it is the CD data rate. But Audyssey turns off. I then tried 48kHz and Audyssey stays on. Is there a way to keep Audyssey turned on with the other data rates? I played a few tracks, and it definitely sounds better now with Audyssey turned ON.

The only thing you can really do, is disable the 176.4kHz output (in the HDMI Audio Setup) from the PS3. The Onkyo doesn't have the horsepower to run Audyssey @ 176.4kHz.
HDTVChallenged is offline  
post #17577 of 71778 Old 08-19-2009, 05:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 141
It's unfortunate that this lack of processing power in receivers is breaking an important feature of HDMI where the source device is supposed to be able to determine automatically the best format to send. In the case of PS3 CD output, 176.4kHz without Audyssey is surely worse than 88.2kHz (or even 44.1) with Audyssey. It's not just a problem for Audyssey-enabled receivers either, although some will automatically downsample and keep the selected processing enabled when they run out of processing power, rather than turn off processing.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #17578 of 71778 Old 08-19-2009, 06:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Brucemck2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by audyssey View Post

The Sound Equalizer doesn't yet have the firmware to integrate multiple subs. It is intended for 5.1 + 2.0 or 7.1 systems.

If I'm running 7.2 any reason to not add an AS-EQ1 downstream from the Sound Equalizer? Or, am I better off simply running the two subs as one mono sub off the Sound Equalizer directly?
Brucemck2 is offline  
post #17579 of 71778 Old 08-19-2009, 06:51 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollerotr View Post

After running MultEQ on my Marantz sr6003, the following settings occur: front and center small, surround large (5.1 system), sub LPF/HPF 180!!

My speakers are 5 matched Tannoy 5" dual concentrics with a published frequency response of 80-22K. The sub is a Quad L-ite 10", 300 WRMS, published frequency of response of 25-95hz!!

Can someone shed some light on how, why, and what this means...and maybe what do do?

Bruce, what are the crossovers for the main speakers (to the sub channel)? The LPF on LFE is not what you seem to think it is, and it *should* be high.

edit: After re-reading I see that the surrounds have no crossovers in which case I would set them to 80Hz. What are LCR crossed at?

further edit: Ignore published specs.
pepar is offline  
post #17580 of 71778 Old 08-19-2009, 06:56 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1bert View Post

Yes, I _did_ notice. I was doubly surprised by the carelessness that Anti-mode was put into "no time domain" category, but further discussion explained how that could happen. He knows his stuff, but there are more than two ways to skin a cat.

So, after further discussion, "carelessness" probably isn't a fair characterization? But then you referred to the subject of FIR and IIR as a "holy war" so methinks that you are inclined to hyperbole.
pepar is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Receivers Amplifiers , Kef Kht1005 2se 5 1 Subwoofer Satellite System With C4 Subwoofer Gloss White , 5 6 7 1 7 2 Or 8 1 8 2 One Or Two Subwoofer Compatible 16 Banana Post 2 Rca Speaker Wall Plate For H
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off