"Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779) - Page 598 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17911 of 73122 Old 08-28-2009, 02:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 204
So that none of us overbid, what do those normally sell for?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, VideoForge HDMI II, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17912 of 73122 Old 08-28-2009, 02:08 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Someone interested in bidding should first contact Audyssey and ask if they would sell them a license . . unles the kit is for the Sound Equalizer or a Subwoofer Equalizer.

Being such an esoteric item, I doubt if there will be many (any?) bidders.

I think the MSRP is $600, but I could be mistaken.
pepar is offline  
post #17913 of 73122 Old 08-28-2009, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rayjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Send a message via AIM to Rayjr Send a message via Yahoo to Rayjr Send a message via Skype™ to Rayjr
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Someone interested in bidding should first contact Audyssey and ask if they would sell them a license . . unles the kit is for the Sound Equalizer or a Subwoofer Equalizer.

Being such an esoteric item, I doubt if there will be many (any?) bidders.

I think the MSRP is $600, but I could be mistaken.

There is NO license needed for the sound EQ.
And a retail price of $2,500 for the EQ
Rayjr is offline  
post #17914 of 73122 Old 08-28-2009, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Toknowshita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Your pattern is what I use for my two row x three seat layout with rear row on a platform, but you should not sit the mic stand on a seat.

What is the reason the stand cannot sit on the seat?

Toknowshita is offline  
post #17915 of 73122 Old 08-28-2009, 03:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
counsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayjr View Post

There is NO license needed for the sound EQ.
And a retail price of $2,500 for the EQ

MSRP of $2500 for Un-Balanced Sound EQ
MSRP of $5000 for Balanced Sound EQ
MSRP of $??? for Installer Kit pre-v3.0
MSRP of $550 for Installer Kit v3.0 and above.

I would ask the eBay seller what exactly you are bidding on...

Jeff is right, just because you buy an Installer kit doesn't mean Audyssey will sell you licenses to calibrate hardware that requires them.

I'd contact the eBay seller first just to make sure you know what you are bidding on (pictures don't mean anything), then contact Audyssey if you need any further clarifications.

That's my $.02.

Never argue with an idiot; they drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Counsil Basement HT
counsil is offline  
post #17916 of 73122 Old 08-28-2009, 05:28 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toknowshita View Post

What is the reason the stand cannot sit on the seat?

Well, obviously, it *can* sit on the seat , but there could be vibrations transmitted through the floor through the seat through the mic stand to the mic, or picked up through the air by the seat and transmitted to the mic that would interfere. And there have been those that sat mic stands on seats whose results were unsatisfactory, were re-done with a boom arm and subsequently yielded mo better results.
pepar is offline  
post #17917 of 73122 Old 08-28-2009, 05:34 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by counsil View Post

I'd contact the eBay seller first just to make sure you know what you are bidding on (pictures don't mean anything), then contact Audyssey if you need any further clarifications.

I'd ask for the kit number. Audyssey will have a record of who bought it and maybe some insight into its . . umm, provenance. Caveat emptor.
pepar is offline  
post #17918 of 73122 Old 08-28-2009, 07:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
counsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

I'd ask for the kit number. Audyssey will have a record of who bought it and maybe some insight into its . . umm, provenance. Caveat emptor.

We are on the same wave length.

I was the one that requested a picture of the mic and pre-amp (with a shot of the serial number) from the seller that just sold the installer kit on eBay.

Never argue with an idiot; they drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Counsil Basement HT
counsil is offline  
post #17919 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 12:10 AM
Senior Member
 
bayareakirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by counsil View Post

Look what I found on eBay...

http://cgi.ebay.com/Audyssey-EQ-Soun...d=p3286.c0.m14

This looks like a steal.

The last one someone posted went for $260: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEDWX:IT
bayareakirk is offline  
post #17920 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 04:26 AM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The current ebay listing for the SEQ and Pro kit looks a bit suss to me.

The pro kit for $260 was a great buy (pity the seller wasn't prepared to ship intenationally).
stephenbr is online now  
post #17921 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 07:14 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenbr View Post

The current ebay listing for the SEQ and Pro kit looks a bit suss to me.

The pro kit for $260 was a great buy (pity the seller wasn't prepared to ship intenationally).

For someone with zero feedback and who only became an ebay member about one month ago, they certainly have a lot of stuff for sale . . and expensive stuff at that. PayPal is accepted, so there's recourse through them. Still . . .
pepar is offline  
post #17922 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 07:57 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
counsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenbr View Post

The pro kit for $260 was a great buy (pity the seller wasn't prepared to ship intenationally).

$260 for that kit was about right.

The Pro kit MSRPs for $550. That Pro kit was old, so the bidder would have had to pay to upgrade the software to v3.0/3.1 (another $150). So $260 + $150 = $410. Who knows what kind of abuse that Pro kit went through.

Never argue with an idiot; they drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Counsil Basement HT
counsil is offline  
post #17923 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
bayareakirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by counsil View Post

$260 for that kit was about right.

The Pro kit MSRPs for $550. That Pro kit was old, so the bidder would have had to pay to upgrade the software to v3.0/3.1 (another $150). So $260 + $150 = $410. Who knows what kind of abuse that Pro kit went through.

Not that it matters, but he did say it was brand new condition and never used. $150 for a software update!? Highway robbery.
bayareakirk is offline  
post #17924 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 09:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
orologio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris,
just posting this as a follow up to your clarification to me a couple of days ago, about the mid-range compensation option in the audyssey pro. Well, I am now trying it and I really like it.
My speakers are not bright at all by nature, and my room is very difficult, as an example I have a big Coffe table between the listening positions and the front speakers which spoils the sound.
The midrange compensation seem to clean up the top end beautifully and the sound is now extremely smooth and 'liquid', just as I like it, just as my old Kef beloved speakers used to be...talking about BBC....
Thanks a lot
orologio is offline  
post #17925 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 10:32 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
counsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayareakirk View Post

Not that it matters, but he did say it was brand new condition and never used. $150 for a software update!? Highway robbery.

I have learned to be skeptical when buying things off eBay. YMMV.

I said it was an upgrade, not an update. There is a huge difference.

v3.0 incorporated a lot of changes/upgrades over v2.5.

How much does it cost for upgrades to Microsoft Windows/Office again? Now we're talking highway robbery.

Never argue with an idiot; they drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Counsil Basement HT
counsil is offline  
post #17926 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Keith Mickunas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wylie, TX, USA
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayareakirk View Post

Not that it matters, but he did say it was brand new condition and never used. $150 for a software update!? Highway robbery.

Highway robbery? This isn't something that's sold in huge volumes. When you deal with specialty software like this you can expect to pay a lot. Besides, if I'm not mistaken this is meant for a professional installer to use. Therefore it is a business expense.

Quote:
How much does it cost for upgrades to Microsoft Windows/Office again? Now we're talking highway robbery.

$50 for Windows 7. Not to bad. I don't know about Office, but then I wouldn't purchase that for home, I'd use that in a business, where again, it's the cost of doing business. People have really gotten spoiled by low-end consumer software, open source apps and piracy. Good software takes a lot of time and money. And we developers don't work for peanuts.
Keith Mickunas is online now  
post #17927 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,222
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Mickunas View Post

$50 for Windows 7. Not to bad. I don't know about Office, but then I wouldn't purchase that for home, I'd use that in a business, where again, it's the cost of doing business. People have really gotten spoiled by low-end consumer software, open source apps and piracy. Good software takes a lot of time and money. And we developers don't work for peanuts.

Mini OT Rant - I agree, but that's a bad example Given the Vista debacle, MS should be giving 7 away for free and providing a refund for time wasted with Vista. It's sluggish, buggy - I cant even get the Vista screensaver to work for months despite following scrap of info I can Google.

Snow Leopard, however, was worth every penny
thrang is offline  
post #17928 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 11:01 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post

Mini OT Rant - I agree, but that's a bad example Given the Vista debacle, MS should be giving 7 away for free and providing a refund for time wasted with Vista. It's sluggish, buggy - I cant even get the Vista screensaver to work for months despite following scrap of info I can Google.

Snow Leopard, however, was worth every penny

Mini OT rebuttal - With the higher cost of Apple computers, users have less pennies for an OS upgrade.
pepar is offline  
post #17929 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 01:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
counsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post

Mini OT Rant - I agree, but that's a bad example

I was trying to be somewhat civil in my reply. Until Windows 7, Windows upgrades normally were > $100. Office upgrades were normally > $200.

Also, Audyssey's v3.0 upgrade 'works' and is a 'step in the right direction'.

FYI, I don't buy any Microsoft products unless they come OEM in pre-built computers. I have a friend that has worked for Microsoft almost since inception. All I have to do is email him and he sends me a retail box copy of whatever I want. I feel pitty for the people that actually had to pay for Windows Vista. Windows 7 should be a free upgrade, IMHO.

Never argue with an idiot; they drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Counsil Basement HT
counsil is offline  
post #17930 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Keith Mickunas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wylie, TX, USA
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by counsil View Post

I was trying to be somewhat civil in my reply. Until Windows 7, Windows upgrades normally were > $100. Office upgrades were normally > $200.

Also, Audyssey's v3.0 upgrade 'works' and is a 'step in the right direction'.

FYI, I don't buy any Microsoft products unless they come OEM in pre-built computers. I have a friend that has worked for Microsoft almost since inception. All I have to do is email him and he sends me a retail box copy of whatever I want. I feel pitty for the people that actually had to pay for Windows Vista. Windows 7 should be a free upgrade, IMHO.

FWIW I'm upgrading from XP which itself was a cheap upgrade from 95 or 98. I think $50 or $100 for an upgrade from an 8 year old OS is just fine. But still, you all are talking about mass-produced, high-volume consumer software, in this case an OS even, and trying to compare it to a specialty low-volume application.

AutoCAD sells for $4k. If you're upgrading from last year, it's $500, two years ago $1k. Try handling that. Heck, Photoshop is $700 or $200 for an upgrade. MS is quite frankly charging very little for a complete OS, regardless of what you feel Vista is worth. Likewise $150 for Audyssey is nothing. I somehow doubt that Audyssey Pro is intended for the consumer market. The "Pro" in the name implies otherwise.
Keith Mickunas is online now  
post #17931 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 03:15 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Mickunas View Post

I somehow doubt that Audyssey Pro is intended for the consumer market. The "Pro" in the name implies otherwise.

Of course it is for professional installers. Other than a few publicly accessible pages briefly explaining their installer program, everything else regarding it on their site is by login. But that doesn't seem to stop some from getting their knickers in a twist over an upgrade price that they'll probably never find themselves in a situation to pay.
pepar is offline  
post #17932 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 3,554
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 329
The new Macintosh operating system upgrade was a whopping $29.

New Theater

Don't count the years. Make the years count. Lou Holtz
audioguy is online now  
post #17933 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DS-21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post

The new Macintosh operating system upgrade was a whopping $29.

But the previous one was about 100 USD more. And though I don't have it yet (upgrading my iMac and MacBook to Snow Leopard being a next-weekend project) I believe that the 29 USD Snow Leopard requires Leopard to already be installed. Those still running Tiger need to spring for the box that I think also includes iLife and iWork.

The markets are also totally different. In this economy, with Snow Leopard being (according to what I've read) fairly incremental, Apple didn't think they could get away with a three-digit upgrade price. But Audyssey's market (I would guess) is more price-inelastic, and it would be hard to call features such as Dynamic EQ or the ability to draw target response curves "incremental."

I don't have a problem with paying for software upgrades (within reason; if I buy something new and then two months later I'm expected to shell out a significant percentage of the product cost for new software, that's annoying) because after all what makes something like a Mac or Audyssey what they are is the IP and a lot of that is represented in software.

--
"In many cases there aren’t two sides unless one side is 'reality' and the other is 'nonsense.'" - Phil Plait
Serious Audio Blog 
Multichannel music (and video) urban loft living room system 
DS-21 is offline  
post #17934 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 09:18 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post

The new Macintosh operating system upgrade was a whopping $29.

After overpaying for the hardware, that's all Mac'ers have left for an OS upgrade.

But there's still hope!
pepar is offline  
post #17935 of 73122 Old 08-29-2009, 11:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Keith Mickunas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wylie, TX, USA
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post

The new Macintosh operating system upgrade was a whopping $29.

Keith Mickunas is online now  
post #17936 of 73122 Old 08-30-2009, 04:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluesky636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Oops. Sorry. I was looking for the Audyssey thread. I guess I stumbled into the "Mac vs PC software upgrade cost" thread instead. Darn hyperlinks.
bluesky636 is offline  
post #17937 of 73122 Old 08-30-2009, 06:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

After overpaying for the hardware, that's all Mac'ers have left for an OS upgrade.

But there's still hope!

Hey leave Apple alone. The stock share price is keeping me comfortable.
Gary J is online now  
post #17938 of 73122 Old 08-30-2009, 07:02 AM
Member
 
volcanoron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Volcano Ca.
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As for Me, I didn't know vista was bad, I've only been running it for a little over a year though. I remember Windows now there was some bugs.

Ron
volcanoron is offline  
post #17939 of 73122 Old 08-30-2009, 08:30 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 504
guys...this is the Audyssey thread

please keep it On Topic

thanks

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #17940 of 73122 Old 08-30-2009, 09:24 AM
DB2
Advanced Member
 
DB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does having "Double Bass" on or off affect audyssey calibrations??

If not, what does everyone think about double bass? Is it necessary?

Also, do the "pure audio" or "direct" settings on my onkyo receiver disable my audyssey calibrations in any way?

FWIW I turned the phase on my sub to 0 and turned the frequency all the way up to 160hz before calibration.

Thanks

"I usually sit closer to 2 X screen width, or I look like a cat watching a ping pong tournament." -Free
DB2 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Receivers Amplifiers , Kef Kht1005 2se 5 1 Subwoofer Satellite System With C4 Subwoofer Gloss White , 5 6 7 1 7 2 Or 8 1 8 2 One Or Two Subwoofer Compatible 16 Banana Post 2 Rca Speaker Wall Plate For H
Gear in this thread - Kht1005 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off