Help with 12v Trigger for Yamaha 1700 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 50 Old 02-20-2007, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to turn on my Rotel power amp using the 12V trigger from my Yamaha RXV1700 Control Out. There is no info from the manual (that I could find) that tells me if I need to program this in any way. I am not even certain I have the proper cable. I purchased an audio cable from Radio Shack that has 2 phone jacks (3.5mm) on each end. (per advice elsewhere on this forum) Sound Advice was no help at all. Can anyone help?

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 50 Old 02-20-2007, 03:49 PM
 
1loudsuv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: long beach california
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ive been wondring myself which phone jack to buy a stereo one?? or non stereo???any links?

also to the op i think you have to go into the settings and look for trigger setting and depending what setting you want ot turn on the amp you use like say dvd turns on amp and cd doesnt
1loudsuv is offline  
post #3 of 50 Old 02-20-2007, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Yeah, Yamaha is very vague in regards to auto trigger function on their receivers, they make no mention of this function in the manual.

However, here is a response I got (a while back) from Yamaha Customer Service in regards to auto trigger function (quote):

"The RX-V Series have a 12v 15mA max ouput trigger and sends out that signal upon powering up or when the IR code is sent off. It normally goes to a relay that would power up a screen, dim the lights or turn on a second amp. It does not have any remote control capabilities. If you have any more questions please feel free to contact us at our toll free Customer Support line. 1-800-292-2982 Hours: Monday Thru Friday 8 AM to 4 PM Pacific time.
Sincerely
Ken"

Essentially the receiver outputs a pulse at power-up and power-down. If you have your amp (or device) connected to one of the trigger outputs it will power-up, or power-down, as the receiver does.

You want to use a simple (3.5mm or 1/8in) "mini-jack" type connector/cable (similiar to this one at Radio Shack):
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search

Also, BestBuy carries a generic brand 3.5mm mini-jack selection (I believe it's "Recoton"). Here's the sucker right here:
http://www.unifireusa.com/retail1/it...lkNO=1090-1551
WestCoastD is offline  
post #4 of 50 Old 02-20-2007, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #5 of 50 Old 02-20-2007, 04:49 PM
 
1loudsuv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: long beach california
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok so what is a stereo or mono cable??? which one should i get?
1loudsuv is offline  
post #6 of 50 Old 02-20-2007, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The link says mono, but stereo will also work

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #7 of 50 Old 02-20-2007, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My power amp requires a constant voltage to remain on. The pulse from my Yamaha will not do. Does somebody make a relay with a 12 volt supply which will supply the constant voltage when my amp is on?

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #8 of 50 Old 02-20-2007, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Warpdrv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
You can also buy a standard 12v transformer(wall wart) from radioshack that has the proper plug on the end, and plug it right in the switched outlet on the back of the yamaha, and plug right into the trigger port on the amp...
I have seen this done before...

Can't find a link for it.... sorry, but the end has like 4 different type of ends on it...
Warpdrv is offline  
post #9 of 50 Old 02-20-2007, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog32837 View Post

My power amp requires a constant voltage to remain on. The pulse from my Yamaha will not do.

which brand/model amp are you using?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #10 of 50 Old 02-20-2007, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rotel RMB1095

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #11 of 50 Old 02-20-2007, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was considering looking for a 12v battery charger (like for a cell phone) that has the appropriate plug.

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #12 of 50 Old 02-20-2007, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

Yeah, Yamaha is very vague in regards to auto trigger function on their receivers, they make no mention of this function in the manual.

However, here is a response I got (a while back) from Yamaha Customer Service in regards to auto trigger function (quote):

"The RX-V Series have a 12v 15mA max ouput trigger and sends out that signal upon powering up or when the IR code is sent off. It normally goes to a relay that would power up a screen, dim the lights or turn on a second amp. It does not have any remote control capabilities. If you have any more questions please feel free to contact us at our toll free Customer Support line. 1-800-292-2982 Hours: Monday Thru Friday 8 AM to 4 PM Pacific time.
Sincerely
Ken"

Essentially the receiver outputs a pulse at power-up and power-down. If you have your amp (or device) connected to one of the trigger outputs it will power-up, or power-down, as the receiver does.

You want to use a simple (3.5mm or 1/8in) "mini-jack" type connector/cable (similiar to this one at Radio Shack):
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search

Also, BestBuy carries a generic brand 3.5mm mini-jack selection (I believe it's "Recoton"). Here's the sucker right here:
http://www.unifireusa.com/retail1/it...lkNO=1090-1551

Correction..
The Trigger Out is a constant voltage not just a pulse..
Works just like a car audio head unit, the Trigger Out turns on an external component..
Screen drop..
Power Amplifier..
Power strip..

Just be sure to check the voltage & current requirements of the target component to be switched On/Off..
M Code is online now  
post #13 of 50 Old 02-20-2007, 06:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

Correction..
The Trigger Out is a constant voltage not just a pulse..

not 100% sure this is a constant 12VDC source, or a 12V pulse? I think it would have to be a pulse (on the Yamaha) since it re-cycles on power-up and power-down. The Yamaha rep refers to it as a "signal", so I would tend to think it is a square pulse.
WestCoastD is offline  
post #14 of 50 Old 02-21-2007, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update - I talked to Yamaha customer service today and they said that the 12v signal from their amps was only 15ma and was probably not enough to turn on the power amp. He suggested that I purchase a Niles OTI 512 which takes a small 12 input and boosts it. It would appear to work from what the websites say. The audio store rep told me that it would not be a good idea to use a cell phone charger since it was not regulated. He also suggested using a Monster power center which could be triggered by my 12v trigger output, but I cannot find if the Monster units require more amperage than my amp puts out.

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #15 of 50 Old 02-21-2007, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog32837 View Post

He also suggested using a Monster power center which could be triggered by my 12v trigger output, but I cannot find if the Monster units require more amperage than my amp puts out.

yeah, the Yamaha trigger will work with the Monster PowerCenter- I use one with my Yamaha and it works beautiful.

Once again, which amp are you using?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #16 of 50 Old 02-21-2007, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the RXV 1700. Which power center are you using and how do you like it?

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #17 of 50 Old 02-21-2007, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog32837 View Post

I have the RXV 1700. Which power center are you using and how do you like it?

HTS 3600 MKII PowerCenter
http://www.monstercable.com/power/pr...erence%20Power

Which [power-amplifier] are you planning to use with your Yamaha RX-V1700?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #18 of 50 Old 02-21-2007, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Warpdrv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Straight from the horses mouth, I emailed Rotel about this same question, and they gave me this about what power is required to turn on and off the amp...

The RMB-1095's 12V trigger input will accept a DC signal between 5-30V, and it is rated to work with a low current (15mA) signal, though it will work fine with higher current outputs as it should only draw the current it needs. For reference, other Rotel components will usually output around 200-300mA via the 12V triggers.

Your Yamaha should turn this amp on fine, unless you have already tried, and failed...

good luck

Warp
Warpdrv is offline  
post #19 of 50 Old 02-21-2007, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi West Coast - I have already purchased the RMB 1095 amp from Rotel.
Warpdrv - I have already tried it. It did not work. Someone(offline) suggested that the Yamaha (which has 2 outputs) that 1 is a pulse output and the other is a continous 12 output. I have not tried both outlets yet (wife is monopolizing my stuff tonite).

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #20 of 50 Old 02-21-2007, 09:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog32837 View Post

Someone(offline) suggested that the Yamaha (which has 2 outputs) that 1 is a pulse output and the other is a continous 12 output. I have not tried both outlets yet (wife is monopolizing my stuff tonite).

I'm pretty sure both Yamaha trigger outputs are 12V, 15mA pulse. Most popular brands of components are designed for this type of trigger I/O spec. I'm using both triggers for 3 NAD C272 amps.
WestCoastD is offline  
post #21 of 50 Old 02-22-2007, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I talked to Yamaha today and they told me that my amp delivers a constant 12 15ma trigger signal. That is the default setting which I have not changed. (I should have asked how to change it-just to check that it is still giving me the constant voltage). I also tried hooking up to both trigger outputs today, but no joy.

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #22 of 50 Old 02-22-2007, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This will sound really stupid, but I do not understand how this trigger is supposed to work. The manual says to turn on the power amp with the front panel switch. I get a blue light indicating the amp is "on". Turning on or off the trigger switch has no effect. I am doing this with and without the trigger cable hooked to my amp. Is the amp broken? It seems to me that when I turn on the amp with the front switch, it goes into standby and begins to operate when the Yamaha is on and sending a signal. I thought by having the trigger switch on, the power amp would be off unless my Yamaha was on and sending the trigger voltage.

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #23 of 50 Old 02-22-2007, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog32837 View Post

I talked to Yamaha today and they told me that my amp delivers a constant 12 15ma trigger signal.

it should deliver a one-time 12V, 15mA square [pulse] at power-ON, and a one-time 12V, 15mA square [pulse] at power-OFF. I don't think it's a constant 12V stream of pulses, or a constant 12VDC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog32837 View Post

That is the default setting which I have not changed. (I should have asked how to change it-just to check that it is still giving me the constant voltage).

I'm not sure if this function can be changed by the user (maybe by firmware update only)? That's new to me if it is.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog32837 View Post

I also tried hooking up to both trigger outputs today, but no joy.

which type of cable/connector are you using? 3.5mm mini-jack?

Anyway, page 7 of the Rotel manual "Trigger ON/OFF Mode Selector" section explains: the switch must be in "+12V Trigger ON" position. Also, the front panel POWER SWITCH must be ON.

The Rotel RMB-1095 is a very nice amp. Combined with the RX-V1700 should provide for a great system! What speakers are you using?
http://www.audioholics.com/productre...amplifier1.php
WestCoastD is offline  
post #24 of 50 Old 02-22-2007, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
mlankton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Red Oak, IA
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warpdrv View Post

You can also buy a standard 12v transformer(wall wart) from radioshack that has the proper plug on the end, and plug it right in the switched outlet on the back of the yamaha, and plug right into the trigger port on the amp...
I have seen this done before...

What he said.
Get a transformer with a voltage that falls within the range of your remote trigger. Buy a mono mini plug at rat shack. Rip whatever connector the transformer has off, apply the mini plug and some shrink tube, and voila, you are good to go.
I have my B&K triggered this way, because my Marantz avr that I use as a pre/pro has no dc trigger out.

AV Enthusiast
mlankton is offline  
post #25 of 50 Old 02-22-2007, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
If the Rotel requires a transformer to work properly then that means the trigger input requirement is a straight (or constant) DC voltage source (between 3V and 30V), not a 12VDC pulse. Then the Yamaha trigger output will not work.
WestCoastD is offline  
post #26 of 50 Old 02-22-2007, 05:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
mlankton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Red Oak, IA
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

If the Rotel requires a transformer to work properly then that means the trigger input requirement is a straight (or constant) DC voltage source (between 3V and 30V), not a 12VDC pulse. Then the Yamaha trigger output will not work.

No, but if he plugs the transformer into the Yamaha's switched outlet he'll be fine.

AV Enthusiast
mlankton is offline  
post #27 of 50 Old 02-22-2007, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Rotel RMB-1095 is a very nice amp. Combined with the RX-V1700 should provide for a great system! What speakers are you using?

I have Polk RTi12's - they really rock with all the power

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #28 of 50 Old 02-22-2007, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Have you tested the trigger again (with front main power switch ON, and rear switch set for "+12V Trigger ON" position)?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #29 of 50 Old 02-23-2007, 12:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

it should deliver a one-time 12V, 15mA square [pulse] at power-ON, and a one-time 12V, 15mA square [pulse] at power-OFF. I don't think it's a constant 12V stream of pulses, or a constant 12VDC.

Unless it can also be configured in the setup menu somewhere to work either way, it is not a 12v pulse. It is a constant 12v when you turn the AVR on, and when you turn it off the 12v turns off also. I have used a Yamaha RX-V2400 AVR in a 2nd system to trigger on 5 channel Marantz MM9000 amp for close to 3 years, and it works perfectly.
Johnla is offline  
post #30 of 50 Old 02-23-2007, 02:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnla View Post

Unless it can also be configured in the setup menu somewhere to work either way, it is not a 12v pulse. It is a constant 12v when you turn the AVR on, and when you turn it off the 12v turns off also. I have used a Yamaha RX-V2400 AVR in a 2nd system to trigger on 5 channel Marantz MM9000 amp for close to 3 years, and it works perfectly.

I don't think this (trigger) function can be re-configured in set-up. Yamaha does'nt provide enough explanation on trigger specs in their manual. I don't like to have to "guess" what we think it is. All they have to say is it's one thing or another- ie. either a 12VDC/15mA source, or 12V/15mA square pulse.
WestCoastD is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off