Dead Sony TA-E9000ES Preamp - An Inherent Defect on Early Units??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-01-2001, 07:28 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Harris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: New City, New York USA
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seconds after turning on my 9000, the display went blank. At that point nothing worked on the unit, except the input lights.
Has anyone else encountered this problem on the 9000??? On another forum, this problem was reported by a number of users on units more than one to two years old....
Harris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-01-2001, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Harris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: New City, New York USA
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thomas, thanks for the reply. I was aware of the ezboard threads (I also posted there), but was wondering about other users as well...
Harris is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-01-2001, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas-W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: 5280'
Posts: 1,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have a Sony service center about 15 minutes from my house. So my plan is to take the parts list in, and have the service center order them. I know I'll have to pay for them. But this seems like a good idea given the 6 week wait, most people are enduring.
Thomas-W is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-01-2001, 01:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Harris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: New City, New York USA
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
An ingenious idea...:-)
Harris is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-01-2001, 09:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas-W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: 5280'
Posts: 1,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
There appears to be a problem with parts in the power supply failing. Checkout these threads

http://pub7.ezboard.com/faussiedvdandhtforumsonytae9000esinformationfor um.showMessage?topicID=190.topic
http://pub7.ezboard.com/faussiedvdandhtforumsonytae9000esinformationfor um.showMessage?topicID=183.topic

Mine 9000ES is 16 months old so I'm keeping my fingers crossed http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/smilies/smile.gif



<FONT COLOR="#ffff00" SIZE="1" FACE="Verdana, Arial">This message has been edited by Thomas-W on 01-01-2001 at 01:01 PM</font>
Thomas-W is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-02-2001, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Harris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: New City, New York USA
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestion Grant. I tried it and got nowhere; it didn't correct the problem... http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/frown.gif
Harris is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-02-2001, 09:30 PM
Member
 
GBishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you tried to reload the SW? You can download the 1.18c (??) version from the customer service site to your PC and port it on the premap via the RS 232 on the back.
If it is really a PS problem it would do no harm/good (but why do the input lights work, it should be completely dead???).
At least the SW solution keeps you from taking it to the service center

Good Luck
Grant

t

"Conspiracy theorists don't live on the same flat Earth as the rest of us." -- astronomer Stephen Maran
GBishop is offline  
Closed Thread Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off