Denon Preamp model AVP-A1HDCI Pictures & Info- - Page 33 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 1467 Old 02-13-2008, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Jack Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohyeah32 View Post

Wow, for them to mention this you know know that there is definitely some big differences going on on the inside. And knowing that Jeff Talmadge will be doing an interview with them very soon describing the differences in detail is pretty darn cool.

IMO as nice as the AVR is (and it is indeed very nice), the AVP will no doubt edge it out. If you do send the AVR back and have them send the AVP, what will you be using for amplification?



Seth

On the amp side I have two big Cinepro Amps: one amp is bridged to send 750 watts to each of the two front speakers and the center speaker; the other amp feeds 250 watts to each of the four surrounds.
Speakers: Klipsch RF7's; Klipsch RC7; Klipsch RS7's; pair Klipsch RF3 as Center Surrounds; two SVS subs with dedicated amp; all connected by Monster Z3-series cables; Pioneer 95F Blu HD player; Toshiba XA2 HD DVD; two Directv HD DVR units; Tivo 10-250 HD as a player only (HD versions of all 3 LOR's movies; War Of The Worlds; Saving Prvt Ryan; etc); JVC SVHS; Panasonic DVD recorder; Interconnects = Monster Mseries.

JSJS
Jack Smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 1467 Old 02-13-2008, 04:33 PM
Member
 
StephenBishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFoote View Post

That's great, congratulations on your purchase. Once you have some time please be sure to take some pictures of the unit and to give us your initial impressions. I'm really interested to hear how this thing sounds.

Are you going to be using the balanced output with the Bel Cantos?

My present rig uses RCA outputs to the Bel Cantos (the Pioneer VSX-AX10Ai amp does not have balanced pre outs)- so today I will set up the AVP A1HD with the same RCAs. But will change to balanced outputs when I buy the cables may be next week.
StephenBishop is offline  
post #963 of 1467 Old 02-13-2008, 04:49 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Smith View Post

.... Some of the main differences are better D/A converters, video switching, and balanced outputs. Let me know what you would like to do and we will get it figured out for you.



Bruce Neher

www.listenup.com

What is the difference in video switching???

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #964 of 1467 Old 02-13-2008, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
pentium7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If anyone is interested in AVP and/or POA please PM me. Not trying to be a salesman, or sell any equipment just trying to help out the community if you find yourself needing 100% confirmed on the first batch.

I had pre-ordered and received a really great price but had to cancel and I feel bad so just trying to help out as I know the unit (1 of each) are 100% coming in Feb 21st.
pentium7 is offline  
post #965 of 1467 Old 02-13-2008, 05:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pentium7 View Post

If anyone is interested in AVP and/or POA please PM me. Not trying to be a salesman, or sell any equipment just trying to help out the community if you find yourself needing 100% confirmed on the first batch.

I had pre-ordered and received a really great price but had to cancel and I feel bad so just trying to help out as I know the unit (1 of each) are 100% coming in Feb 21st.

PM sent.

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #966 of 1467 Old 02-13-2008, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ohyeah32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Land of Enchantment
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Smith View Post

On the amp side I have two big Cinepro Amps: one amp is bridged to send 750 watts to each of the two front speakers and the center speaker; the other amp feeds 250 watts to each of the four surrounds.
Speakers: Klipsch RF7's; Klipsch RC7; Klipsch RS7's; pair Klipsch RF3 as Center Surrounds; two SVS subs with dedicated amp; all connected by Monster Z3-series cables; Pioneer 95F Blu HD player; Toshiba XA2 HD DVD; two Directv HD DVR units; Tivo 10-250 HD as a player only (HD versions of all 3 LOR's movies; War Of The Worlds; Saving Prvt Ryan; etc); JVC SVHS; Panasonic DVD recorder; Interconnects = Monster Mseries.

Cool, Cinepro amps are really good. So you've definitely got your bases covered in the amp(s) dept. SO I ave to agree with Listen Up that with what you have, the AVP is the best way to go.

Nice gear assortment btw.



Seth
ohyeah32 is offline  
post #967 of 1467 Old 02-13-2008, 08:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenBishop View Post

My present rig uses RCA outputs to the Bel Cantos (the Pioneer VSX-AX10Ai amp does not have balanced pre outs)- so today I will set up the AVP A1HD with the same RCAs. But will change to balanced outputs when I buy the cables may be next week.

thats very good stephen, id say you will be the first.please post pics and let us know of your impressions of the unit.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is online now  
post #968 of 1467 Old 02-14-2008, 06:24 AM
Member
 
StephenBishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

thats very good stephen, id say you will be the first.please post pics and let us know of your impressions of the unit.

Hi Franin- well the AVP A1HD arrived 30 mins earlier than scheduled at 3.30pm today 14 Feb- after some 8-9 months of anticipation. I have spent the last 5 hours just setting up the wiring. I have done no tweaking/adjusting whatsoever yet- so no first impressions yet on performance.

First impressions on appearance- looks great, well built, heavy, a GUI which is very pretty but very complicated to use (at least to me)- may be because all the tech progress has passed me by for the last 5-6 years since I last bought a receiver!

The next couple of days will be very busy for me- so I will not be spending time setting up the equipment- so likely no post from me for a few days. In the meantime here are a few pics- enjoy.
LL
LL
LL
StephenBishop is offline  
post #969 of 1467 Old 02-14-2008, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
 
pentium7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenBishop View Post

Hi Franin- well the AVP A1HD arrived 30 mins earlier than scheduled at 3.30pm today 14 Feb- after some 8-9 months of anticipation. I have spent the last 5 hours just setting up the wiring. I have done no tweaking/adjusting whatsoever yet- so no first impressions yet on performance.

First impressions on appearance- looks great, well built, heavy, a GUI which is very pretty but very complicated to use (at least to me)- may be because all the tech progress has passed me by for the last 5-6 years since I last bought a receiver!

The next couple of days will be very busy for me- so I will not be spending time setting up the equipment- so likely no post from me for a few days. In the meantime here are a few pics- enjoy.

Damn you have me very excited when I saw the first picture of the box. It means to me "This is really happening" haha congrats man I think you might be the first one!

What the??? It is in silver? Ummm are you not in the USA?
pentium7 is offline  
post #970 of 1467 Old 02-14-2008, 06:27 AM
Member
 
StephenBishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some more pics of my newly installed Denon AVP-A1HD.
LL
LL
LL
StephenBishop is offline  
post #971 of 1467 Old 02-14-2008, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Your A lucky man Steve, I had the AVP A1 when Denon first bought them out in 97 I think it was, It was A nice pre-amp let alone the new AVP A1HD....
cinema mad is offline  
post #972 of 1467 Old 02-14-2008, 06:44 AM
Member
 
StephenBishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pentium7 View Post

Damn you have me very excited when I saw the first picture of the box. It means to me "This is really happening" haha congrats man I think you might be the first one!

What the??? It is in silver? Ummm are you not in the USA?

No- long way away in Singapore!
StephenBishop is offline  
post #973 of 1467 Old 02-14-2008, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
MarkB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenBishop View Post

Hi Franin- well the AVP A1HD arrived 30 mins earlier than scheduled at 3.30pm today 14 Feb- after some 8-9 months of anticipation. I have spent the last 5 hours just setting up the wiring. I have done no tweaking/adjusting whatsoever yet- so no first impressions yet on performance.

First impressions on appearance- looks great, well built, heavy, a GUI which is very pretty but very complicated to use (at least to me)- may be because all the tech progress has passed me by for the last 5-6 years since I last bought a receiver!

The next couple of days will be very busy for me- so I will not be spending time setting up the equipment- so likely no post from me for a few days. In the meantime here are a few pics- enjoy.

Congratulations Steve - I think you are the first owner of the AVP! thanks for sharing the pictures.
MarkB is offline  
post #974 of 1467 Old 02-14-2008, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Don O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Babylon, NY USA
Posts: 2,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone happen to notice that SW3 can be configured as a tactile transducer channel with a LPF, adjustable gain and that it can be modified by input.

Cheers,
Don O
Don O'Brien is offline  
post #975 of 1467 Old 02-14-2008, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
pentium7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quick question, I have a 50" Plasma Zenith set, it is 1080I, 720P (1366 x 768p) Hopefully someone can help me out.

http://www.amazon.com/Zenith-Z50PX2D.../dp/B000BI655U


What happens when I use the AVP out @ 1080P through the Realta HQV to this set? It obviously isn't a 1080P set.

Next I have in the living room a Samsung HLR-7178W the story behind this $6000 set at the time was that Samsung in their infinite stupidity (they've lost a customer for life) decided it wasn't worth the extra $500 to include HDMI inputs that do 1080P because "There are no devices that have 1080P output" this was only 1.5 yrs ago.

So now I have a 1080P 71" TV that accepts 1080i and does the progressive conversion within the set, also it is really 960x1080 with a mirror DLP trick called wobulation to make the 1920x1080.

TV specs. Note the lack of information of HDMI

http://home.comcast.net/~ucsb/78-series.pdf


What will happen with the AVP or AVR-5308CI that has the Realta HQV 1080P HDMI out, will the set say it can't support it?

Furthermore I planned to get the AVR-5308CI instead of the AVR-4308CI mainly due to the HQV processing for the bedroom receiver is it going to be a waste of money because the set won't accept that 1080P input through the HDMI?

Trust me I'd love to get rid of the living room's DLP set and get a true 1080P screen but it just isn't happening right now.
pentium7 is offline  
post #976 of 1467 Old 02-14-2008, 09:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
If you try and send them a 1080p signal and neither one of your sets is designed to accept and display a actual 1080p input. You probably will only get either a blank screen, or maybe even a TV that just goes crazy trying to figure out what to do with a unsupported signal. In other words, no viewable in picture in either case. And depending on the TV itself, it maybe will even show some sort of a message saying it's a unsupported signal.
Johnla is offline  
post #977 of 1467 Old 02-14-2008, 09:49 PM
Senior Member
 
pentium7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnla View Post

If neither one of your sets is designed to accept and display a actual 1080p input. You probably will only get either a blank screen, or maybe even a TV that just goes crazy trying to figure out what to do with a unsupported signal. In other words, no viewable in picture in either case.

Are you kidding me? So I can't output 1080I from the AVP/AVR and utilize the HQV processing? Apparently the 71" DLP deinterlaces to 1080P after the 1080I is input. I guess same goes with the 50" Plasma.

This is going to really bum me out
pentium7 is offline  
post #978 of 1467 Old 02-14-2008, 11:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
What I said, is that this is what will very likely happen if you try to send the sets a 1080p signal, in that they most likely will flat out reject it in some way if they are not designed to accept a native 1080p signal. Which in your case, is that they probably are not. If they can't accept a native 1080p source, then they just can't, and there really is nothing that you can do to try and force or fool them into doing so. Which also means that all you would probably get if you do try send them a 1080p signal, is that you would only get some sort of no viewable picture at all scenario. Now if you send them a 1080i signal instead of a 1080p, they should have no problems at all with displaying a 1080i signal.
Johnla is offline  
post #979 of 1467 Old 02-15-2008, 03:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Stephen. Very nice. I swore I wasn't going to upgrade from AVR-4308 which I am ecstatic with, but after seeing your pictures I am really tempted.
Spizz is offline  
post #980 of 1467 Old 02-15-2008, 05:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenBishop View Post

Some more pics of my newly installed Denon AVP-A1HD.

Thankyou stephen looks awesome.When you get a chance will be very intrested in hearing yor impressions of the amp.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is online now  
post #981 of 1467 Old 02-15-2008, 06:21 AM
Senior Member
 
CFoote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pentium7 View Post

Are you kidding me? So I can't output 1080I from the AVP/AVR and utilize the HQV processing? Apparently the 71" DLP deinterlaces to 1080P after the 1080I is input. I guess same goes with the 50" Plasma.

This is going to really bum me out

Please check the AVP manual that was posted here a few pages back, I'd be willing to bet you can change the output of the Denon from 1080p to 1080i or 720p. I'd be very surprised if Denon did not incorporate that into their products, there are many 720p sets out there....millions of them in fact.

What is the native resolution of your TV? 720p? If so you would be better off setting the Denon to 720p for output, that way the TV will not scale the picture (i.e. it won't do any further processing).

BTW, you can't yell at Samsung too much...Sony, Pioneeer, Panasonic and all the others did not start accepting 1080p until about a year or so ago. That's the way this whole thing has been implemented. It is indeed sad.

My HT: 60" Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD (calibration soon), Krell electronics, B&W N802s.
CFoote is offline  
post #982 of 1467 Old 02-15-2008, 06:31 AM
Senior Member
 
pentium7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFoote View Post

Please check the AVP manual that was posted here a few pages back, I'd be willing to bet you can change the output of the Denon from 1080p to 1080i or 720p. I'd be very surprised if Denon did not incorporate that into their products, there are many 720p sets out there....millions of them in fact.

What is the native resolution of your TV? 720p? If so you would be better off setting the Denon to 720p for output, that way the TV will not scale the picture (i.e. it won't do any further processing).

BTW, you can't yell at Samsung too much...Sony, Pioneeer, Panasonic and all the others did not start accepting 1080p until about a year or so ago. That's the way this whole thing has been implemented. It is indeed sad.

Well the native resolution on the 71" DLP is 1080i as it is a 1080P set and since it is a DMD it can only display 1080P.

I read the manual last night for 5308CI and it says it is not possible to convert 1080i signals into 720P and it is not possible to convert 720P into 1080i.

So if I am feeding HD DVR which can output 720P or 1080I into the AVP / AVR then the HD DVR (D*) is doing the processing right? Am I getting any benefit of the HQV at all?

For the 50" Plasma it is best set to 720P, so is the HQV going to do any processing with a HD DVR on that one ? I know that if I use a standard DVD player it will process that and upscale, however it is mainly the HD DVR from D* that I'm concerned with since that's 90+% of the content.

We already have a XA2 Toshiba HDDVD player that has the Reon HQV that does incredible upscaling of Standard DVDs. I was really hoping to use the AVP / AVR-5308CI to upscale DirecTV's non-hd content.
pentium7 is offline  
post #983 of 1467 Old 02-15-2008, 08:46 AM
dem
Senior Member
 
dem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Apex, NC, USA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pentium7 View Post

I read the manual last night for 5308CI and it says it is not possible to convert 1080i signals into 720P and it is not possible to convert 720P into 1080i.

The manual certainly says that, but my 5308 can do these conversions.

Dave
dem is offline  
post #984 of 1467 Old 02-15-2008, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
pentium7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Please confirm as this is really important to me.

Are you saying your Satellite receiver or other source is able to send through HDMI a 720P picture and you are able to output 1080I from the receiver to the TV?

The manual states 1080i to 720p not possible and 720p to 1080i not possible.

The ONLY reason I am considering the 5308CI for the bedroom and the extra $2K expense is for the HQV upscaling, there are still several DirecTV SD channels that I want the H20 STB to output Natively HDMI to the 5308CI but the problem is there are channels that are 720P and I'm restricted on this #@$% $6000 71" Samsung DLP to input @ 1080i only.

What kills me is the VGA port on my Samsung allows a full 1080P input, but they didn't incorporate HDMI 1080P at the time to avoid an extra $500, really angry and have been for over a year about this deception as they never advertised this important restriction.

So I will have no problem with 480i/480p/1080i but when the STB goes to 720P I'm afraid the 5308CI won't output to 1080i

Another note, when the STB turns to a 1080i station is the HQV just going to pass through the signal or will it still process since I will have to set the 5308CI to output 1080i

Bedroom TV where this is going to be primarily (living room is AVP) is native 720P but I feel I will have the same problem, setting the 5308CI to 720P output then when my STB goes to 1080i it won't work :-(
pentium7 is offline  
post #985 of 1467 Old 02-15-2008, 12:27 PM
dem
Senior Member
 
dem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Apex, NC, USA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pentium7 View Post

Are you saying your Satellite receiver or other source is able to send through HDMI a 720P picture and you are able to output 1080I from the receiver to the TV?

My TV won't tell me what kind of signal it's getting, but assuming the 5308 isn't lying here are some screen shots with "H to H" conversion enabled (not the default):



Dave
dem is offline  
post #986 of 1467 Old 02-15-2008, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 2,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spizz View Post

Stephen. Very nice. I swore I wasn't going to upgrade from AVR-4308 which I am ecstatic with, but after seeing your pictures I am really tempted.

hehe same here spizz, love my 4308 as av pre-pro. but man the avp looks like one very serious beastie ! and very tempting too after seing those pics !. Because you know its real, exists !someones got one !

you lucky bugger stephen ! look forward to hearing how you find the avp

"Technology is a drug. We can't get enough of it."


Welcome to my lounge room :)
alebonau is offline  
post #987 of 1467 Old 02-15-2008, 02:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
MikeSp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: south of metro Kansas City
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenBishop View Post

Hi Franin- well the AVP A1HD arrived 30 mins earlier than scheduled at 3.30pm today 14 Feb- after some 8-9 months of anticipation. I have spent the last 5 hours just setting up the wiring. I have done no tweaking/adjusting whatsoever yet- so no first impressions yet on performance.

First impressions on appearance- looks great, well built, heavy, a GUI which is very pretty but very complicated to use (at least to me)- may be because all the tech progress has passed me by for the last 5-6 years since I last bought a receiver!

The next couple of days will be very busy for me- so I will not be spending time setting up the equipment- so likely no post from me for a few days. In the meantime here are a few pics- enjoy.

To what extent can this beastie be upgraded via firmware updates (i.e., if the HDMI standards or others change, is there a potential for updating the unit?) Congrats on the purchase!!

MikeSp

Pioneer Elite Kuro, McIntosh amplifiers -- MC501 monos (3) and MC352's (2), McIntosh MX150 pre-pro; Oppo 83SE; speakers -- Aerial Acoustics Model 9's for mains and CC5 for center, Def Tech BPVX/P's and BPVX's for surrounds and JL F113's (2) for subs; Roku 3; PS3; Wiii; Tivos; and Monster HTPS...
MikeSp is offline  
post #988 of 1467 Old 02-15-2008, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 2,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeSp View Post

To what extent can this beastie be upgraded via firmware updates (i.e., if the HDMI standards or others change, is there a potential for updating the unit?) Congrats on the purchase!!

MikeSp

with its lan port and Wlan antenna, I imagine it would be like my 4308 in that it most definitely can be firmware updated off the net from denon

"Technology is a drug. We can't get enough of it."


Welcome to my lounge room :)
alebonau is offline  
post #989 of 1467 Old 02-15-2008, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nethomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Mexico, Missouri
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would surly think it can be upgraded. The 3808 that I'm using now can be upgraded via the LAN. I am getting excited to get this baby!!

gthomas
nethomas is offline  
post #990 of 1467 Old 02-15-2008, 06:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by nethomas View Post

I would surly think it can be upgraded. The 3808 that I'm using now can be upgraded via the LAN. I am getting excited to get this baby!!

I think we all are netthomas and it good to see there finally out in public.Im sort of holding back watching all the movies with dolby true hd and dts hd and waiting to give them a good run in the Denon.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off