Official Onkyo 605 Owners Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 12:37 PM
Member
 
epoche's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have HDMI from Cox HD DVR to 605 and HDMI to Sony 40". Have excellent pic and full range of setup menus with 605. Audyssy 2EQ worked fine. Still no sound. Input 2 assigned to Cox DVR HDMI. Anyone help, or does Onyko have a tech support phone # I can call?
epoche is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 12:56 PM
Member
 
uwkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mrgribbles and rajdawar,

Thanks for the responses.

mrgribbles, you have tried to hook the XA2 up to your 605 with a HDMI cable using a 7.1 encoded disk and it will only output as 5.1, correct?

rajdawar, based on mrgribbles trial with his 605 it does not appear that the 605 will decode the bitstream as 7.1. I know that the 805 will be able to apply the DPLIIx to enhance a 5.1 signal to 7.1 but if the HD-DVD is native 7.1 format the 605 should just decode it in that format without any processing needed, correct?

mrgribbles, I would like to respond back to Toshiba but is it possible there is a setting on the XA2 that needs to be enabled to allow it to pass the 7.1 and not decode it internally. I unfortunately do not have an XA2 and am looking to buy that with a 605 and am exploring the benefits/drawbacks.
uwkid is offline  
post #543 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 01:07 PM
Member
 
Emissary52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgribbles View Post

uwkid,

Thanks for contacting them. Interesting response since this disclaimer is on the web page for the XA2.

"Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD and DTS support for up to 5.1 channels (DTS HD support for DTS core only). MP3/WMA audio files not supported. Some current DVDs and CDs may not be compatible. Some Combo Discs and Twin Format Discs may not be compatible. HDMI audio support for PCM only."

Note the last sentence. Unfortunately, this is what appears to be happening in my hands-on testing. I wish it weren't so. Do you want to continue your correspondence and use the above quote and re-ask the questions? It would be very helpful. Thanks for your efforts.

mrgribbles

I'd just like to say "Thank You" for all the fine detective work you've done on this and the other Onkyo forums. I started out looking at the new Sony Receiver line and started reading the Onkyo forums. I've gone from wanting a 605 to realizing only a 905 will do. If I could only do impressions of the late Elizabeth Montgomery, a hand-assembled, by white-gloved Japanese engineers, 905 would arrive at your doorstep at the end of the day! You have a lot of patience with all of our questions. I'm just going to wait until August (or September or later) for the 905.

I suspect (with your patience) that if you had replaced Dr. Melfi on "The Sopranos", Tony might not be getting "whacked" this Sunday night!
Emissary52 is offline  
post #544 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 01:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rajdawar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know of any native 7.1 DTHD discs? In my brief searches in the AVS HD DVD Software forums and google, I didn't find any.

Raj
rajdawar is offline  
post #545 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
newguy416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgribbles View Post

No further contact from Onkyo. I doubt I will hear from them. Its in their interest not to confirm the issue until they get a bunch of them out. Thats the main reason I sent my message via my return of the unit. I will follow up with a letter/email/phone call to whomever as I always do if I'm slighted.

I put this in the other thread also but here it is here:

Well after talking to three Onkyo Representatives over the last two days, in which I was told the component to HDMI will only bypass, not convert the signal, I just got this email response:
Thank You for contacting Onkyo USA Product Support. This is a limitation of the Faroudja DCDi chip used in the Onkyo receivers. Incoming 1080i signals via component connection can only be transmitted via HDMI in 720p. Incoming 1080i signals via an HDMI connection will be
transmitted in 1080i. The following hook up recommendations will allow you to display 1080i
resolutions from your cable/satellite.
1.If the cable/satellite has the options of HDMI or DVI outputs, use those connections instead of the component video. The HDMI connection will allow audio and video signals to be sent thought a single connection. The DVI connection is for video only. You will need a DVI to HDMI adaptor plus a separate audio connection to go from the cable/satellite box the receiver for sound.
2.If your cable/satellite only supports component video then you can either go component video out along with the HDMI from the receiver to the TV. Or you can go from the cable/ satellite direct into the TV with the component video so you can get the 1080i signal from the broadcasts.
Thank you,
Jen
Again, thank you for contacting Onkyo USA Product Support, if you need further assistance feel free to call us at 800-229-1687 or visit our website ONKYOUSA.COM for product, catalogues, hookup diagrams, authorized dealer/service center locations, sales of new/refurbished products and warranty information.
"New 2007 Onkyo Audio Products Coming Soon"
Product Support Team Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday 9AM to 8PM EST
Saturday & Sunday 10AM to 4PM EST

Yes this makes me very unhappy. Crutchfield reps also said pass through only.
newguy416 is offline  
post #546 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 01:18 PM
Member
 
Frayed.Knot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by epoche View Post

Have HDMI from Cox HD DVR to 605 and HDMI to Sony 40". Have excellent pic and full range of setup menus with 605. Audyssy 2EQ worked fine. Still no sound. Input 2 assigned to Cox DVR HDMI. Anyone help, or does Onyko have a tech support phone # I can call?


Have you assigned audio and video to HDMI on the HD DVR box?
Frayed.Knot is offline  
post #547 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 01:23 PM
Member
 
epoche's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apparently problem is with Cox DVR as no sound with HDMI directly to HDTV. have sound now with 605 using orange digital cable to 605. Cox will trouble shoot DVR tomorrow.
epoche is offline  
post #548 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 01:26 PM
Member
 
epoche's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
frayed.knot,

Cox tech reset DVR so that if functioning properly should send audio on HDMI, but no such luck.
epoche is offline  
post #549 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 01:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rajdawar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uwkid View Post

mrgribbles and rajdawar,

Thanks for the responses.

mrgribbles, you have tried to hook the XA2 up to your 605 with a HDMI cable using a 7.1 encoded disk and it will only output as 5.1, correct?

rajdawar, based on mrgribbles trial with his 605 it does not appear that the 605 will decode the bitstream as 7.1. I know that the 805 will be able to apply the DPLIIx to enhance a 5.1 signal to 7.1 but if the HD-DVD is native 7.1 format the 605 should just decode it in that format without any processing needed, correct?

mrgribbles, I would like to respond back to Toshiba but is it possible there is a setting on the XA2 that needs to be enabled to allow it to pass the 7.1 and not decode it internally. I unfortunately do not have an XA2 and am looking to buy that with a 605 and am exploring the benefits/drawbacks.

AFAIK, native 7.1 should play OK, but read this:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=850461

Almost all 7.1 is really 5.1 plus one matrixed channels derived from the surround channels and played through 2 speakers. This channel can be created on the fly (non-native 7.1) or recorded as a discrete channel (native 7.1, actually, native 6.1 played back as 7.1).

For all practical purposes, 5.1 matrixed to 7.1 should sound the same as 'discrete' 7.1. The 605 won't create a 7.1 mix from the PCM multichannel input, but the 805 will.

Raj
rajdawar is offline  
post #550 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Jeradin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to pick between the 605 and the yamaha 661... I would likely pick up the 661, but also want upconversion to HDMI...

I am also buying a wii and read that the 605 might improve the picture by making it 720? Is this correct?

Do you all think that the feature of making the wii look better would make it top the 661?

I also have the HD-A2 and a HD1000 mits projector.

Thanks!

Dale
Jeradin is offline  
post #551 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
tomtritsio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my 605 today from JR. It looks great and everything (seems) to have been hooked up fine. This is my setup:

360 (component)> Receiver (hdmi)> Plasma

Whenever I have the 360 set to HD, the receiver throws a ResolutionError problem. When I set the 360 to SDTV, it looks fine (just not HD). Am I missing something here? I have all of the inputs set up right, so everything should be working I would imagine. Is what I'm trying to just not possible? If so:

Thanks!
tomtritsio is offline  
post #552 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am completely confused. I just picked up a 605 today. I have a Toshiba HD-A2 HD-DVD player. What settings do I use for the sound on the dvd player? My intention was to have the player send everything bitstream and the 605 would decode TrueHD and the other advanced sound codecs. Am I wrong?

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #553 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uwkid View Post

mrgribbles and rajdawar,

Thanks for the responses.

mrgribbles, you have tried to hook the XA2 up to your 605 with a HDMI cable using a 7.1 encoded disk and it will only output as 5.1, correct?

rajdawar, based on mrgribbles trial with his 605 it does not appear that the 605 will decode the bitstream as 7.1. I know that the 805 will be able to apply the DPLIIx to enhance a 5.1 signal to 7.1 but if the HD-DVD is native 7.1 format the 605 should just decode it in that format without any processing needed, correct?

mrgribbles, I would like to respond back to Toshiba but is it possible there is a setting on the XA2 that needs to be enabled to allow it to pass the 7.1 and not decode it internally. I unfortunately do not have an XA2 and am looking to buy that with a 605 and am exploring the benefits/drawbacks.

At this time the XA2 will not decode and pass any 7.1 as pcm, only up to 5.1. It will not pass a THD or DTS HD as bitstream so the 605 can't decode it.

I do have a disk mastered in DTS HD MA 7.1 and it will only play "core only" whatever that means.

There is no switch on the XA2 but there are Auto and PCM settings.

Good luck.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #554 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKoprowski View Post

My intention was to have the player send everything bitstream and the 605 would decode TrueHD and the other advanced sound codecs. Am I wrong?

Unfortunately you are . The Toshiba or any other hi-def player will not send these formats via bitstream(yet). Right now you're stuck with PCM, which is perfectly fine. The Toshiba decodes all of these formats internally except for DTS-HD.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #555 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKoprowski View Post

I am completely confused. I just picked up a 605 today. I have a Toshiba HD-A2 HD-DVD player. What settings do I use for the sound on the dvd player? My intention was to have the player send everything bitstream and the 605 would decode TrueHD and the other advanced sound codecs. Am I wrong?

No HD DVD player will send the THD bitstream to the receiver. It will only decode it and pass it as 5.1 pcm over hdmi.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #556 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emissary52 View Post

mrgribbles

I'd just like to say "Thank You" for all the fine detective work you've done on this and the other Onkyo forums. I started out looking at the new Sony Receiver line and started reading the Onkyo forums. I've gone from wanting a 605 to realizing only a 905 will do. If I could only do impressions of the late Elizabeth Montgomery, a hand-assembled, by white-gloved Japanese engineers, 905 would arrive at your doorstep at the end of the day! You have a lot of patience with all of our questions. I'm just going to wait until August (or September or later) for the 905.

I suspect (with your patience) that if you had replaced Dr. Melfi on "The Sopranos", Tony might not be getting "whacked" this Sunday night!

I envy you. I'd love a 905. Tony deserves to get whacked, doesn't he???

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #557 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whsbuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Phila, PA
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been following this and other Onkyo threads for quite a while. I returned my Denon 887 2 months ago in anticipation of getting the 605. Let me explain what my setup is:

- Pioneer Plasma (480i,480p,720p,1080i,1080p/24)
- 6.1 surround speaker system (soon to be 7.1)
- HD-Tivo connected HDMI 1 on the plasma, optical to receiver

All I want is to connect the new Sony BDP-S300 via HDMI to the 605 for audio/video at 1080p/24 (as available on the BD discs). The 605 would be connected to the plasma via HDMI 2. I only use the receiver for interface to the DVD player; no other inputs thus no video conversions needed.

With the deficiencies listed here on the 605 would you all still recommend it for my needs? I want the best PQ and SQ I can get for the BD player. Very Simple.
whsbuss is offline  
post #558 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

Unfortunately you are . The Toshiba or any other hi-def player will not send these formats via bitstream(yet). Right now you're stuck with PCM, which is perfectly fine. The Toshiba decodes all of these formats internally except for DTS-HD.

So what happens with DTS-HD?

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #559 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKoprowski View Post

So what happens with DTS-HD?

You get the 1.5mb core not DTS-HD HR or MA in all it's glory.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #560 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That all is kind of disappointing- but this is replacing an Onkyo receiver I bought in 1999. It was time to upgrade. I would assume that the 605 will be more useful when (or if) the future HD-DVD/Blu-ray players send everything bitstream.

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #561 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 03:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
nrc2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

You get the 1.5mb core not DTS-HD HR or MA in all it's glory.


I just picked up the 605 as well will it not do the TRUE HD?

The manual says it will - I also have the tosh and it just does the pcm

What gives?
nrc2112 is offline  
post #562 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrc2112 View Post

I just picked up the 605 as well will it not do the TRUE HD?

The manual says it will - I also have the tosh and it just does the pcm

What gives?

Looks like it is more of the HD-DVD player's fault then the Onkyo. The players don't send the new formats in bitstream for the Onkyo to decode. We'll be all set once they do.

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #563 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Indeed, don't blame the Onkyo. The receiver is just one part of the equation. The receiver, player and disc all have to be on the same page for this to work. To make matters worst most HD-DVD's will not allow you to send lossless via bitsream even if the player itself did. They are authored in such a manner that they must be decoded in the player itself.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #564 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 04:00 PM
Newbie
 
tomtritsio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomtritsio View Post

I got my 605 today from JR. It looks great and everything (seems) to have been hooked up fine. This is my setup:

360 (component)> Receiver (hdmi)> Plasma

Whenever I have the 360 set to HD, the receiver throws a ResolutionError problem. When I set the 360 to SDTV, it looks fine (just not HD). Am I missing something here? I have all of the inputs set up right, so everything should be working I would imagine. Is what I'm trying to just not possible? If so:

Thanks!

Any input on this, guys? I'm really worried that I'll be stuck with a terribly upconverted 480p signal?
tomtritsio is offline  
post #565 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 04:10 PM
Member
 
uwkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mrgribbles

I just sent another e-mail to Toshiba regarding the XA2 asking why it says directly on their webpage that the player will only support up to 5.1 channels. I got more detailed in this request but usually that means they are even more confused and give a completely off-base "just go away" answer. I won't hold my breath. I am sure I will get back the usual "it must be your receivers fault" response.
uwkid is offline  
post #566 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 04:11 PM
Member
 
HybridHB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone tried this with a ps3 yet? The ps3 has a bitstream option for hdmi audio so im wondering if ps3 owners can get dts-ma with this?
HybridHB is offline  
post #567 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
splinters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HybridHB View Post

Anyone tried this with a ps3 yet? The ps3 has a bitstream option for hdmi audio so im wondering if ps3 owners can get dts-ma with this?

I'm not sure how many times this has been repeated, but the ps3 can't output DTS-HD-MA in bitstream, so there is nothing for this receiver to decode. Same is true with Dolby TrueHD.

-Splints
splinters is offline  
post #568 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 04:45 PM
Member
 
crellion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the bottom line of the SR605 is that it CANNOT convert ANALOG signals (component, etc) to HDMI because it does not have an ADC chip... Two cables - HDMI and component output - HAVE to be both connected to the TV for full input functionality and upscaling. Am I correct?
crellion is offline  
post #569 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 05:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by grubavs View Post

Umpteenth time: RTFI! The manual actually does explain it!

If you put analog signals into the S-Video, Composite Video, and/or Component Video INPUTS, they will be deinterlaced (and upscaled if you want to 720p maximum) if using HDMI output.

480i->480p if you do nothing
480i->720p if you select that in the infamous HIDDEN MENU

The problem (if it is for you) comes if you supply 1080i in the Component INPUT and take it out via HDMI...

1080i->720p

WHAT THE HECK DO YOU THINK THERE'S WRITTEN ON THE PREVIOUS 19-PAGES OF THIS THREAD AND THE 134-PAGES OF THE ANTICIPATION THREAD????


Shoot, there's another post I'll regret and remove later

If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.

grubavs is offline  
post #570 of 10257 Old 06-06-2007, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
samsurd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Coast of CA
Posts: 3,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by psxndc View Post

It sounds like an HDMI issue between the Moto box and the 605 for the HD channels. I am totally cool with the downcovert (which isn't applicable here since it is HDMI). But an HDMI handshake issue with the cable box that blocks the picture for HD channels gives me a little more than heartburn.

Quote:
Originally Posted by psxndc View Post

Originally Posted by Balaraform
Ok so now that I have mine...I need some help. I have my dvd player hooked to HDMI 1 and my DVR/Cable to HDMI 2. I am outputting a HDMI to a DVI on the back of my 1080i tv. The picture looks great from the 605, however when try to get into my HD content channels nothing comes on the TV, just sound(run through AV cables).

I could be wrong (God knows it happens more often than I'd like to admit ) but Balaraform's problem sounds like the issue that seems to rear it's ugly head sometimes when DVI is introduced into the bidirectional HDMI signal path. I'm no expert but what I've read suggests that when there is an intermediate switcher (AVR) between an HDMI output (Moto) and DVI input (even if the DVI is in and of itself HDCP(?) compliant) there's a communication breakdown whereby the HDTV doesn't report correct information back to the Moto and hence no image. I know this is a simplistic description (best I can do, folks) but, for example, I believe it's the reason Sony HDMI AVR manuals all basically include a big CYA disclaimer about using DVI in the HDMI path.
samsurd2 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off