Official Onkyo 605 Owners Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
ibre34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very bad news

and you checked the AVR resolution is in 720p and not in Auto?
ibre34 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 12:04 PM
Member
 
thoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew P View Post

I did this and the projector still shows 480p.

Is the hidden menu selection set to auto, or 720p? Make sure it's set to 720p.

And thanks VERY much for checking this out!
thoug is offline  
post #33 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beowulf7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: TX
Posts: 2,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Subscribing ...

If this turns out to be the official owner's thread, can the thread title be updated to reflect the official name (Onkyo TX-SR605)?

Thread starter, are you willing to keep up with this thread and update it as needed? If so, thank you in advance. If not, then someone who is willing to take on this responsibility should start the official owner's thread.


Procrastination is the thief of time.
-- Edward Young

They that give up essential liberty to obtain a little
temporary safety deserve neither liberty or safety.

-- Benjamin Franklin

You shouldn't mix meditation with management.
The mind gets too empty.

-- Scott Adams, "Dilbert"
beowulf7 is offline  
post #34 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 12:23 PM
Member
 
Balaraform's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so now that I have mine...I need some help. I have my dvd player hooked to HDMI 1 and my DVR/Cable to HDMI 2. I am outputting a HDMI to a DVI on the back of my 1080i tv. The picture looks great from the 605, however when try to get into my HD content channels nothing comes on the TV, just sound(run through AV cables).

Can anyone help.
Balaraform is offline  
post #35 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 12:36 PM
Member
 
thoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balaraform View Post

Ok so now that I have mine...I need some help. I have my dvd player hooked to HDMI 1 and my DVR/Cable to HDMI 2. I am outputting a HDMI to a DVI on the back of my 1080i tv. The picture looks great from the 605, however when try to get into my HD content channels nothing comes on the TV, just sound(run through AV cables).

Can anyone help.

You have to assign the HDMI input to your source selection as described on page 48 of the manual, did you do this already?
thoug is offline  
post #36 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 12:38 PM
Member
 
Balaraform's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am pretty sure I did, its just strange that I would get a picture in all other channels other than the ones in HD...I will try again but any other help would be appreciated...
Balaraform is offline  
post #37 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 12:48 PM
Member
 
bcapsley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it have the cool blue light on the volume knob?
bcapsley is offline  
post #38 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 12:49 PM
Member
 
bcapsley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody get a silver one yet?
bcapsley is offline  
post #39 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcapsley View Post

Does it have the cool blue light on the volume knob?

No.
Andrew P is offline  
post #40 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 12:58 PM
Senior Member
 
blobula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you been able to test the new audio formats that HDMI 1.3 supports? Any noticeable difference?
blobula is offline  
post #41 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 12:58 PM
Member
 
karwai7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Totally bummed. CC screwed up the shipment, and sent it for home delivery even though it was headed to my office. Fedex saw it was company and didn't even try. Have to wait till tomorrow.
karwai7 is offline  
post #42 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blobula View Post

Have you been able to test the new audio formats that HDMI 1.3 supports? Any noticeable difference?

Nope I do not have my HD-A2 and the 360 cannot pass True HD. I do not have any BD movies either. Frustrating I know.
Andrew P is offline  
post #43 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just posted this in another thread, but here we go again.

My Tosh XA2 appears to be passing DTS MA 7.1 as DTS 5.1 over HDMI. I no where done tweaking but I just got the same track to play as ES 5.1 with a transport of DTS 5.1. It appears that the Tosh will only send 5.1 over HDMI and not the 7.1, but we'll work on it some more. Multi analog is fine with the DTS MA source material.

The Hidden menu appears to have no user settable function but I'm still playing with it.

I've set my cable box to output 480i on non HD channels but the TV is saying its only getting 480i. I would have assumed it would be kicked up to 480p. More experimenting here also.

I'll tr some TrueHd 5.1 disks and see if it transports as TrueHd.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #44 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
priesteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerknowledge View Post

A couple things:
1) VFmt? What's that?
2) Sorry, priesteria. Think anyone will hold you to your offer?


(255,0,0)
priesteria is offline  
post #45 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 02:40 PM
Member
 
uwkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgribbles View Post


My Tosh XA2 appears to be passing DTS MA 7.1 as DTS 5.1 over HDMI. I no where done tweaking but I just got the same track to play as ES 5.1 with a transport of DTS 5.1. It appears that the Tosh will only send 5.1 over HDMI and not the 7.1, but we'll work on it some more. Multi analog is fine with the DTS MA source material.


mrgribbles

Just wondering if you had any more luck with the Toshiba XA2. It sounds like from what you are saying even if the HD-DVD has a DTS MA 7.1 track the 605 will not play it out of the 8 speakers (7.1 setup) only 6 (5.1 setup). Do you know if it is a Toshiba issue or a Onkyo 605 issue?
uwkid is offline  
post #46 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 02:45 PM
Member
 
raj_talwar2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uwkid View Post

mrgribbles

Just wondering if you had any more luck with the Toshiba XA2. It sounds like from what you are saying even if the HD-DVD has a DTS MA 7.1 track the 605 will not play it out of the 8 speakers (7.1 setup) only 6 (5.1 setup). Do you know if it is a Toshiba issue or a Onkyo 605 issue?

As per Toshiba's website for XA2
DTS support for up to 5.1 channels (DTS HD support for DTS core only)

DTS core is limited to 5.1 channels.
raj_talwar2000 is offline  
post #47 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
broadwayblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 3,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So how does it sound?
broadwayblue is offline  
post #48 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 02:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 108
I was waiting for that question!

For my latest Reviews and stuff Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Follow me: @joerodhometheat
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is online now  
post #49 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 03:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
ibre34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very good question indeed

Have you heard other models like 604, 703 or 804?

Can you compare them?
ibre34 is offline  
post #50 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uwkid View Post

mrgribbles

Just wondering if you had any more luck with the Toshiba XA2. It sounds like from what you are saying even if the HD-DVD has a DTS MA 7.1 track the 605 will not play it out of the 8 speakers (7.1 setup) only 6 (5.1 setup). Do you know if it is a Toshiba issue or a Onkyo 605 issue?

I think this is a Tosh issue. It has been posted that through some convolutions inside the XA2 it will not output raw bitstream to the 605 but it will decode up to its present firmware ability which is TrueHD and DTS core, both 5.1 and output that as PCM. I think this has to do with "advanced content" that would need to be layered in the player or something like that. Perhaps there is a firmware solution from Tosh??

Heres a quote from a disclaiming paragraph on the Tosh XA2 webpage:

"Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD and DTS support for up to 5.1 channels (DTS HD support for DTS core only). MP3/WMA audio files not supported. Some current DVDs and CDs may not be compatible. Some Combo Discs and Twin Format Discs may not be compatible. HDMI audio support for PCM only."

I was really hoping for a raw feed and then let the AVR do its thing. I'll need to call Toshiba tomorrow.

So far I have no complaint on the sound output but I don't see or hear where I'm any better off than analog on my older Onk. On the 605, analog sounds very similar in surround vs the HDMI feed but perhaps not quite as sharp. I can't say yet what I prefer. I'm still watching and listening with my thumbs on the setup buttons on too may remotes. More on this later.

Video wise I don't see anything out of the Faroudja thing yet. I have my Moto cable box set to output 480i for all non HD and thats whats showing up on the screen at least thats what my Mits DLP says. Since I want an improvement in SD and maybe I'm seeing it. I think it does look better but I need more work. If the cable box outputs 480i then the interlacer in the AVR should kick in and tell the Mits its getting 480p. I think.

I'll have to turn on one of my old DVD players and send out 480i and see what happens.

Well right now the bottom line is somethings going back and I think its going to be the XA2. This is BS for a top o' the line player.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #51 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 03:29 PM
Member
 
uwkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgribbles View Post

I think this is a Tosh issue. It has been posted that through some convolutions inside the XA2 it will not output raw bitstream to the 605 but it will decode up to its present firmware ability which is TrueHD and DTS core, both 5.1 and output that as PCM. I think this has to do with "advanced content" that would need to be layered in the player or something like that. Perhaps there is a firmware solution from Tosh??

Heres a quote from a disclaiming paragraph on the Tosh XA2 webpage:

"Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD and DTS support for up to 5.1 channels (DTS HD support for DTS core only). MP3/WMA audio files not supported. Some current DVDs and CDs may not be compatible. Some Combo Discs and Twin Format Discs may not be compatible. HDMI audio support for PCM only."

I was really hoping for a raw feed and then let the AVR do its thing. I'll need to call Toshiba tomorrow.

Well right now the bottom line is somethings going back and I think its going to be the XA2. This is BS for a top o' the line player.

Thanks for the input mrgribbles. I was planning on upgrading my whole setup to the Onkyo 605 and the Toshiba XA2 but now am kind of at a loss. I could not agree with you more as far as it being BS that the XA2 does not support 7.1 channel decoding. It is supposed to be top of the line and furthermore it is not cheap. I know there are really not that many actual HD-DVD titles that support the 7.1 tracks but if I am going to spend that kind of cash on a HD-DVD player it at least better be up to date with the current technology.
uwkid is offline  
post #52 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
splinters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgribbles View Post

I think this is a Tosh issue. It has been posted that through some convolutions inside the XA2 it will not output raw bitstream to the 605 but it will decode up to its present firmware ability which is TrueHD and DTS core, both 5.1 and output that as PCM. I think this has to do with "advanced content" that would need to be layered in the player or something like that. Perhaps there is a firmware solution from Tosh??

Heres a quote from a disclaiming paragraph on the Tosh XA2 webpage:

"Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD and DTS support for up to 5.1 channels (DTS HD support for DTS core only). MP3/WMA audio files not supported. Some current DVDs and CDs may not be compatible. Some Combo Discs and Twin Format Discs may not be compatible. HDMI audio support for PCM only."

I was really hoping for a raw feed and then let the AVR do its thing. I'll need to call Toshiba tomorrow.

So far I have no complaint on the sound output but I don't see or hear where I'm any better off than analog on my older Onk. On the 605, analog sounds very similar in surround vs the HDMI feed but perhaps not quite as sharp. I can't say yet what I prefer. I'm still watching and listening with my thumbs on the setup buttons on too may remotes. More on this later.

Video wise I don't see anything out of the Faroudja thing yet. I have my Moto cable box set to output 480i for all non HD and thats whats showing up on the screen at least thats what my Mits DLP says. Since I want an improvement in SD and maybe I'm seeing it. I think it does look better but I need more work. If the cable box outputs 480i then the interlacer in the AVR should kick in and tell the Mits its getting 480p. I think.

I'll have to turn on one of my old DVD players and send out 480i and see what happens.

Well right now the bottom line is somethings going back and I think its going to be the XA2. This is BS for a top o' the line player.


Hmm, I thought HD-DVD's and BD's mastered in advanced mode would require that the player decode it into PCM and not to allow bitstreaming. Just my 2 cents...

-Splints
splinters is offline  
post #53 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Revolution2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by donricouga View Post

The PS3 cannot currently bitstream DTS-MA HD to a receiver.

To the OP,

How is this different, aside from the HDMI 1.3, form the 604 ?


Where is this from? On the Sony safety and support manual (page 21) it says, "*2 This system does not support output from the DTS-HD 7.1 ch. DTS-HD 7.1 Ch. audio is output from a 5.1 or lower channel." and on page 9 of the Quick Reference Manual it says, "3 This system does not support output from the DTS-HD 7.1 ch. DTS-HD 7.1 Ch audio is output from a 5.1 or lower channel." So.....It's 5.1 it's still lossless at 5.1 channels. Unless they are outright lying. And maybe in the future there will be a firmware upgrade to 7.1. They did it with Dolby TrueHD on the first Toshiba HD-DVD players.
Revolution2007 is offline  
post #54 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by splinters View Post

Hmm, I thought HD-DVD's and BD's mastered in advanced mode would require that the player decode it into PCM and not to allow bitstreaming. Just my 2 cents...

-Splints

I think thats what I said. However there is enough ambiguity in the manual that could cause one to hope against hope.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #55 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 04:03 PM
Member
 
40W2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warbie
Nice one.

Does the 605 pass 1080p/24 from your ps3 to your projector?

I have the Onkyo 674 receiver (which up to now has been great), but only seems to pass 1080/60.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew P View Post

Sorry I needed to find a BD movie. Yes it does pass 1080/24p through the 605 according to my Pearl.


Please can you repeat that your Pearl have 1080/24p from this 605

Please i find this info since 4 weeks !!!! i read 10000 post..., and you are the first with this 605 who could try one BD or HD DVD.

Please can you confirm it? if yes the 605 have a Pass through mode for the 24Hz (p) and it's realy fantastic!

From Europe, have a good day!
40W2000 is offline  
post #56 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
splinters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgribbles View Post

I think thats what I said. However there is enough ambiguity in the manual that could cause one to hope against hope.

Hmm, I guess I should have said, I thought the standards behind HD-DVD and BD say that if any disc is authored in "advanced mode" that a player is not allowed to send out bitstreams, but it is suppose to decode on the player only.

-Splints
splinters is offline  
post #57 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibre34 View Post

Very good question indeed

Have you heard other models like 604, 703 or 804?

Can you compare them?

I have an Onk 504 and the only comparison I could make would be in analog and I don't detect a difference, they're both fine, but then again I don't have them both set up concurrently.

One thing of interest is that this model does away with Large and Small speaker settings and lets you tie each speaker to its low frequency response. I just ran the EQ set up and found it to be fairly accurate with my speakers' ratings. A nice feature.

The LFE issue (that I didn't have with the other Onk) doesn't appear to be here either. By ear, no meter, the TrueHD & DTS output over HDMI and analog seems to be reasonably equivalent.

Right now I think this is going back. No fault of Onkyo but If run the XA2 via analog and then use these bucks to pick up a new Panny BD10A with its 7.1 analog and TrueHD, DTS MA decoding, I've got it covered. It would've been nice.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #58 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
ibre34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah.. the Pannys are expensives
ibre34 is offline  
post #59 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 04:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
ibre34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But the 805 can output 7.1 from HD DVD? yes? Using PLiix?

Can you confirm that for me, please?
ibre34 is offline  
post #60 of 10258 Old 05-31-2007, 04:48 PM
Member
 
uwkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibre34 View Post

But the 805 can output 7.1 from HD DVD? yes? Using PLiix?

Can you confirm that for me, please?


There has been extensive discussion on the original Onkyo Anticipation thread concerning this issue. You can start with post #1503 at this link.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post10610874

The links talk about multichannel PCM but the same nomenclature (the */2 term) in the 805 manual applies to the True HD and DTS charts as well (starting on page 74 of the manual). The short and sweet answer is that it most likely can enhance the 5.1 track to 7.1 using DPL IIx but until the units ship there is no way to confirm for absolutely sure.
uwkid is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off