Official Onkyo 605 Owners Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased this receiver from Circuit City for my 2nd room since the Onkyo 805 was not available yet. I am running a Polk speaker system-Monitor 50's, CS1, and Monitor 10's for rear surround.

I currently have a PS3, Xbox 360, and Directv HDDVR connected. My HD-A2 is not in this home. I am trying to buy another, but all local Sams Clubs do not have stock and I want the lower price.

The PS3 is connected via HDMI, Xbox 360 and Directv HDDVR via component. All are hooked into a Sony VPL-VW50. Room size is about 400 square feet.

I will try my best to answer questions, but I am pretty busy today.
LL
Andrew P is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
priesteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew P View Post

I purchased this receiver from Circuit City for my 2nd room since the Onkyo 805 was not available yet. I am running a Polk speaker system-Monitor 50's, CS1, and Monitor 10's for rear surround.

I currently have a PS3, Xbox 360, and Directv HDDVR connected. My HD-A2 is not in this home. I am trying to buy another, but all local Sams Clubs do not have stock and I want the lower price.

The PS3 is connected via HDMI, Xbox 360 and Directv HDDVR via component. All are hooked into a Sony VPL-VW50. Room size is about 400 square feet.

I will try my best to answer questions, but I am pretty busy today.

Great !

(255,0,0)
priesteria is offline  
post #3 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 10:18 AM
Member
 
Warbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice one.

Does the 605 pass 1080p/24 from your ps3 to your projector?

I have the Onkyo 674 receiver (which up to now has been great), but only seems to pass 1080/60.
Warbie is offline  
post #4 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warbie View Post

Nice one.

Does the 605 pass 1080p/24 from your ps3 to your projector?

I have the Onkyo 674 receiver (which up to now has been great), but only seems to pass 1080/60.

Sorry I needed to find a BD movie. Yes it does pass 1080/24p through the 605 according to my Pearl.
Andrew P is offline  
post #5 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
jshigashi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it improve the picture quality at all for standard definition programming? I guess since you have DirectTv you don't have to worry about this nearly as much as I do (with cable). Off topic, how many HD channels do you get?
jshigashi is offline  
post #6 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
delusive1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ahhhh saaawweeeeeettt!!!!
delusive1 is offline  
post #7 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jshigashi View Post

Does it improve the picture quality at all for standard definition programming? I guess since you have DirectTv you don't have to worry about this nearly as much as I do (with cable). Off topic, how many HD channels do you get?

I am only running HD DVD, BD, and Directv Oonly watch HD channels). I cannot scientifically tell if the unit improves the picture quality. On Directv I receive my 4 locals, HBO, Showtime, TNT, ESPN, ESPN2, UHD, Discovry, HDNet, and HDNet Movies.
Andrew P is offline  
post #8 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
More pictures of the unit, Directv HDDVR and Sony Pearl.
LL
LL
Andrew P is offline  
post #9 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Bustybanshee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you please check to see if there is a "hidden menu" that will upscale 480i to 720p?
Bustybanshee is offline  
post #10 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
REL77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, would love to know about the Hidden Menu and if it can upscale as that german report has reported... Please let us know
REL77 is offline  
post #11 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkcheng122's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
if you have any BD movies with DTS-MA (x-men3), can you see if you can output it with ps3 connected to the 605?
jkcheng122 is offline  
post #12 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by REL77 View Post

Yeah, would love to know about the Hidden Menu and if it can upscale as that german report has reported... Please let us know

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bustybanshee View Post

Can you please check to see if there is a "hidden menu" that will upscale 480i to 720p?

How would I access this?
Andrew P is offline  
post #13 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkcheng122 View Post

if you have any BD movies with DTS-MA (x-men3), can you see if you can output it with ps3 connected to the 605?

I do not own any BD movies. I only rent them because I am a HD DVD supporter. Sorry! Unfortuantely my Blockbuster Online is solely HD DVD movies right now. I hope to watch some BD movies next week, but I know this is not the answer you were looking for.
Andrew P is offline  
post #14 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
REL77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew P View Post

How would I access this?

"The hidden menu is accessed by holding the AUX button and concurrently pushing Power."
REL77 is offline  
post #15 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The hidden menu is available by pressing AUX and concurrently Power.

Its there.

See my post in the anticipation thread.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #16 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:15 AM
Member
 
bazofio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you guys tried to change to 720p to see if it makes any improvement??
bazofio is offline  
post #17 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgribbles View Post

The hidden menu is available by pressing AUX and concurrently Power.

Its there.

See my post in the anticipation thread.

I did that and the following menu occurs.

Resolution: auto or 720p
VFmt
Sharpness
Saturation
Hue
Contrast
Brightness
Andrew P is offline  
post #18 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazofio View Post

Have you guys tried to change to 720p to see if it makes any improvement??

I havent tried it as I am only using HD DVD, BD, and Directv into a 1080p projector.
Andrew P is offline  
post #19 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
REL77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
select 720p and see ifi it upscales 480i/p video source
REL77 is offline  
post #20 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by REL77 View Post

select 720p and see ifi it upscales 480i/p video source

I selected it and cannot tell a difference. In fairness, I have not watched a 480p source in about 2 years. It looks poor set as auto and 720p.
Andrew P is offline  
post #21 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
480p -> 720p -> 1080p will actually look worse because of double scaling. I had that problem with the H/K 247 and therefore returned it. I bought a H/K 745 instead.
bommai is offline  
post #22 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:37 AM
Member
 
thoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew P View Post

I selected it and cannot tell a difference. In fairness, I have not watched a 480p source in about 2 years. It looks poor set as auto and 720p.

Does your projector show what display mode it is displaying? i.e. does it tell you it's displaying 720p when you know your source is outputing 480i/p?
thoug is offline  
post #23 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
powerknowledge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Twin Cities Suburb
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A couple things:
1) VFmt? What's that?
2) Sorry, priesteria. Think anyone will hold you to your offer?

Come, let us kill the spirit of gravity...
-- Friedrich Nietzsche
powerknowledge is offline  
post #24 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:40 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bommai View Post

480p -> 720p -> 1080p will actually look worse because of double scaling. I had that problem with the H/K 247 and therefore returned it. I bought a H/K 745 instead.

Aren't we mostly interested in 480i->720p??? Hook up your old DVD player, output 480i to the 605, evaluate...

If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.

grubavs is offline  
post #25 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thoug View Post

Does your projector show what display mode it is displaying? i.e. does it tell you it's displaying 720p?

Good point. The projector is scaling to 1080i for Directv (maybe that is why I noticed no difference?). I just had it installed at the house so I am not sure how it was setup.
Andrew P is offline  
post #26 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
legierk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Elysian Fields, TX
Posts: 828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Wow, Andrew isn't gonna have time to enjoy his new 605 at this rate. May I humbly suggest we move this here as the title is more condusive to long term use?
legierk is offline  
post #27 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:46 AM
Member
 
thoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew P View Post

Good point. The projector is scaling to 1080i for Directv (maybe that is why I noticed no difference?). I just had it installed at the house so I am not sure how it was setup.

Assuming you have a DirecTV HR20 HD DVR, You can use the button on the front to force the output resolution. There are four blue lights across the left front that indicate what output resolution is currently being output. You can cycle through them by pushing the button near them (I don't recall the label). If you can output 480p from the DVR and have your projector tell you it's displaying 720p, then the Onkyo is scaling!
thoug is offline  
post #28 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
donricouga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkcheng122 View Post

if you have any BD movies with DTS-MA (x-men3), can you see if you can output it with ps3 connected to the 605?

The PS3 cannot currently bitstream DTS-MA HD to a receiver.

To the OP,

How is this different, aside from the HDMI 1.3, form the 604 ?
donricouga is offline  
post #29 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thoug View Post

Assuming you have a DirecTV HR20 HD DVR, You can use the button on the front to force the output resolution. There are four blue lights across the left front that indicate what output resolution is currently being output. You can cycle through them by pushing the button near them (I don't recall the label). If you can output 480p from the DVR and have your projector tell you it's displaying 720p, then the Onkyo is scaling!

I did this and the projector still shows 480p.
Andrew P is offline  
post #30 of 10257 Old 05-31-2007, 11:59 AM
Member
 
alljunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So looks like then its NOT upscaling!!
alljunks is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off