"The" Onkyo TX-SR805 Thread - Page 743 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22261 of 22943 Old 01-03-2012, 10:40 PM
Senior Member
 
GFelizardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lakewood, WA
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsully444 View Post

I have had a 805 XPA-5 combo for a couple years now. I still can't figure out how to trigger the XPA-5 on and off automatically. For some reason no one will post a link to what they purchased to get this done, they say google wall mart 12v, nothing useful comes up. I also have a harmony 900. I have tried the zone 2 with a 3.5MM stereo monorprice cable and must be missing something on that. Can anyone help simplify this process? I know have a custom built-in so the trigger is crucial now.


this is what I use, worked perfect with an XPA-3:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=3832491

plug it into the outlet on the back of your 805, as someone else stated above.
GFelizardo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22262 of 22943 Old 01-04-2012, 01:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mystic_sniper28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do you not have a zone 1 trigger...
mystic_sniper28 is offline  
post #22263 of 22943 Old 01-04-2012, 03:21 AM
Senior Member
 
GFelizardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lakewood, WA
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystic_sniper28 View Post

do you not have a zone 1 trigger...

that is correct, the 805 has no zone 1 trigger.
GFelizardo is online now  
post #22264 of 22943 Old 01-04-2012, 05:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
baniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 52556
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 42
The Zone 2 trigger can made to work. With the Harmony it can be programmed to be automatic. No need for the wall wart.

If you read through this thread, my posts eventually arrive at the solution.

http://forums.audioholics.com/forums...-receiver.html

I'm on my phone right, so it is too much writing to parse it all out. When I get to work I'll give you a step by step here.
baniels is online now  
post #22265 of 22943 Old 01-04-2012, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caesar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 4,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by riverwolf View Post

That's a very different question than you originally asked. And you already know the answer, which is no. You say you've seen operational info via component, but the manual seems to disagree for component in to component out. Maybe you were actually using a composite/s-vid input that was upconverted to component out when you saw the OSD overlayed. I ran component video/HDMI audio the way you first asked the question when I first got the 805, but I don't remember seeing volume/mode/input overlays, but it's possible I was following the THX recommendation to disable it. I'd go check for you to confirm, but I've long since removed everything except HDMI cabling to clean up the cabinet.

-Brent

This is the one reason I may replace my 805 soon (which I've had for over 4 years). I really would like to see volume on my display (even though I can see the front panel of the 805 from my seating and squint to see the volume number). All the new receivers (even the low-end ones from Onkyo) now do this over HDMI.

Otherwise, my 805 is still a beast. The only problem is, I would have to spend probably well over $1000 to get a similar receiver today from Onkyo's line-up (full THX certs, etc.).

The only other new feature that is worthwhile in my opinion is the newer version of Audesey and maybe the dynamic EQ. I run a 7.1 setup now and have no interest in adding additional speakers.
caesar1 is offline  
post #22266 of 22943 Old 01-04-2012, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
baniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 52556
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 42
To use the Zone 2 trigger as a primary trigger:

If you are using the standard 805 remote:
  1. Connect Zone 2 trigger to amp
  2. Power on Onkyo as usual
  3. Press the Zone 2 button on the remote (inside the Remote Mode box)
  4. Press the On button on the remote
  5. Press the Receiver button on the remote (inside the Remote Mode box)
  6. Enjoy.
  7. When you are done, press the Zone 2 button again and then press standby to deactivate the trigger

If you have an Harmony remote, it can be programmed to do this as part of the power on/power off cycle for the device.

I have the Harmony 890. Assuming the others are similar, the Harmony software will NOT have a discrete code for turning on or off the Zone 2 trigger. It also does not have the ability to go into the different remote modes, like the stock remote.

What you must do is have the Harmony "learn" the code from the stock remote. I forget the exact details, but from within the Harmony software, you can teach the remote additional commands for any device. If you can't find the code in the dropdown (likely you won't for this, as I did not), you will have the option to teach it via an IR command.

During this process you will want to teach both the ON command and the STANDBY command. When you have the Harmony ready to accept the IR code, first put the Onkyo remote into Zone 2 mode. Then any subsequent button presses will be for Zone 2. Power on and Standby can now be taught to the Harmony.

Once these codes are learned, you can add them to the power on/power off sequences for the Onkyo so that it happens anytime you enter an activity that uses the Onkyo.

I should also note that with Zone 2 ON, if you put the receiver into Standby, Zone 2 will remain ON. This means it is not a matter of turning on Zone 2 once and forgetting about it. It has to become part of the routine.

This does not change the use of the back surrounds. You can still use a 7.1 arrangement. The surround back channels are only removed if you are using a powered zone two, and this requires its own change in the menu.
baniels is online now  
post #22267 of 22943 Old 01-04-2012, 01:30 PM
Member
 
wadelamping's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 805 perform vertical stretch?
I have an JVC RS1 projector, a PS3, and the Onkyo TX SR805.
I was going to add an older anamorphic lens, but wasn't sure if the receiver stretches the image.
I don't care for the noisy PS3, so I may upgrade to an oppo which has the vertical stretch.
Wade
wadelamping is offline  
post #22268 of 22943 Old 01-05-2012, 05:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Chris Albert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by seggers View Post

Chris,

I have both the DSP and 1.08 FW files as zips, from when I did my 805 upgrades. Both files top out somewhere in the 5.5MB range, so they can be emailed.

If you decide that you want to do this, then PM me with an email address.

Also, that 705 FAQ URL is:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...kyo+705+owners

I keep this stuff around...

Seggers

Read this on the 705 FAQ which is brilliant....maybe that's why not seeing the Dolby True HD light up from my HTPC?

1) Why don't I see True HD and DTS HD MA light up on my receiver when I play Blu Ray and HD DVD movies?

If you own a some older series HD players, for example Blu Ray players (Ex. Playstation 3, Samsung 1200) / HD DVD player Toshiba A2, A20); those players are NOT designed to output in lossless bitstream (Hard to think those are outdated technology already but for this kind of usage they are!). If you own one of these players its decoding these HD audio formats internally (instead of sending the signal to the receiver to decode). When using these older players you should set your player to output in PCM. It will send this PCM data "predecoded" to your receiver and your receiver doesn't have to do anything but play it. Therefore, your receiver will not show True HD or DTS HD MA light up (because it's already been predecoded inside your player already) You ARE still getting True HD/DTS HD MA even though your player decodes it you just are not having to use your receiver to do the decoding.

Only players like the ones outlined below in, HI DEFINITION AUDIO QUESTIONS> Question 5, send out lossless bitstream of "both" True HD and DTS HD MA to allow your receiver to decode it. Yes, if you own those players, you will see True HD/DTS HD MA display on the front of your receiver. These players allow your receiver to decode when your set them to bitstream output.
Chris Albert is offline  
post #22269 of 22943 Old 01-14-2012, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by caesar1 View Post

This is the one reason I may replace my 805 soon (which I've had for over 4 years). I really would like to see volume on my display (even though I can see the front panel of the 805 from my seating and squint to see the volume number). All the new receivers (even the low-end ones from Onkyo) now do this over HDMI.

Otherwise, my 805 is still a beast. The only problem is, I would have to spend probably well over $1000 to get a similar receiver today from Onkyo's line-up (full THX certs, etc.).

The only other new feature that is worthwhile in my opinion is the newer version of Audesey and maybe the dynamic EQ. I run a 7.1 setup now and have no interest in adding additional speakers.

I would check for refurb 3008's on A4L periodically

The addition of Audessey XT 32 and much better video processing than the 805( if you need it) will be very noticeable

there is also the whole internet radio suite and updating firmware over the internet as well


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer SC37 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #22270 of 22943 Old 01-14-2012, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
SemiImbecille's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi!
Newbie here with a question, I have A TX-SR805 running perfectly for almost 4 years.
Recently I found a real irritating problem.
First I couldn´t figure it out, i could not get any sound from the center or the two speakers in the back. But if i do a factory reset i get them all back and it works perfectly again.

I then realized that if I cut the power (pull the plug or switch off using the main power button) this happens.

I loose my audyssey, HDMI settings and all other things, quite irritating when I have to do the factory reset to get sound in alls speakers again.

Any ideas? Is there a battery or something for memory?

Thinking of updating firmware/dsp. But havent found the files/instructions? Just dead links, anyone that can help out?

Thanks in advance
SemiImbecille is offline  
post #22271 of 22943 Old 01-14-2012, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I think its time for a service call...that doesn't sound like operator error


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer SC37 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #22272 of 22943 Old 01-14-2012, 07:36 PM
Member
 
Walternate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...ostcount=21013

Take a look at this post. if you're a DIY'er this may fix your problem.
Walternate is offline  
post #22273 of 22943 Old 01-15-2012, 01:20 AM
Newbie
 
SemiImbecille's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for reply, I do have some DYI skills (soldering xboxes, fixing laptops and Iphones and such things) So I might look into it.
SemiImbecille is offline  
post #22274 of 22943 Old 01-15-2012, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone have an issue with the 805 converting LPCM 1.0 to 2.0? I have a 7.1 system and every other sound format plays correctly (i.e. DD 1.0 plays back as 1.0 through center channel, etc.), but I've noticed lately that the PCM 1.0 for whatever reason keeps being reprocessed into 2.0 (coming through the front L/R channels). I've tried everything (I think) to correct this, but to no avail.

Any solutions?

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #22275 of 22943 Old 01-15-2012, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
baniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 52556
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I assume you've tried Direct mode?
baniels is online now  
post #22276 of 22943 Old 01-15-2012, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vasim Pathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
question, is is possible to have HDMI monitor out to NO only for one input and others to YES? i have other HDMI devices that i need to output HDMI, and one input from Panasonic 310 blu ray with dual hdmi out to pass through high res audio. right now i have to keep switching HDMI out to NO every time i want to use the projector. any ideas?
Vasim Pathan is offline  
post #22277 of 22943 Old 01-15-2012, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
riverwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walternate View Post

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...ostcount=21013

Take a look at this post. if you're a DIY'er this may fix your problem.

Whoah! Totally different issue unless Semi forgot to mention this started happening after he did a f/w update.

Sounds like another case of the volatile memory backup failing. We had a similar post back in November. Probably a $10 fix if someone can locate the appropriate cap. I miss the old days when we still used watch batteries for this.

-Brent
riverwolf is offline  
post #22278 of 22943 Old 01-15-2012, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
riverwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vasim Pathan View Post

question, is is possible to have HDMI monitor out to NO only for one input and others to YES? i have other HDMI devices that i need to output HDMI, and one input from Panasonic 310 blu ray with dual hdmi out to pass through high res audio. right now i have to keep switching HDMI out to NO every time i want to use the projector. any ideas?

No, it's a global setting. Best you can do is create a macro to automatically do it when you select the 310 input.
riverwolf is offline  
post #22279 of 22943 Old 01-15-2012, 11:54 PM
Newbie
 
SemiImbecille's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by riverwolf View Post

Whoah! Totally different issue unless Semi forgot to mention this started happening after he did a f/w update.

Sounds like another case of the volatile memory backup failing. We had a similar post back in November. Probably a $10 fix if someone can locate the appropriate cap. I miss the old days when we still used watch batteries for this.

-Brent

Hi!
No f/w update yet, have 1.04 main I belive with 1.0 update so I have to have a dongle to update, havent done it yet, I will have a look in thread above, tnx

edit: The strange thing is that I dont loose my settings, all settings are still there but I loose center and surround speaker, left and right speaker works. But in a movie for example I loose all the dialogue. In other words center and rear channel are muted. And the only way for me to get them back is to do a reset loosing all my settings.
SemiImbecille is offline  
post #22280 of 22943 Old 01-18-2012, 08:24 AM
Member
 
theforeignkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear all,

The microprocesor of the DAC board in my Onkyo 805 has fried! I haven't been able to find neither the processor nor the board to replace the ones inside my receiver. Can anyone help me out in this? Is there a specialized store or online outlet where I would be able to buy spare parts for the Onkyo 805? The reference number for the part is supposed to be: PN.NADG-9504.

Thank's in advance!
theforeignkid is offline  
post #22281 of 22943 Old 01-18-2012, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Midwest U.S.A.
Posts: 2,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
No. You will not be able to buy new replacement parts anywhere on the internet or from Onkyo. The only place to get parts replaced is through an authorized Onko repair facility or at Onkyo themselves. This is very expensive. The only way to get parts cheaper is if you buy another broken 805 for parts. That's why most 805's are retired when they break. It's often better and cheaper to just buy a new receiver.
Secret Squirrel is offline  
post #22282 of 22943 Old 01-20-2012, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Secret Squirrel View Post

. That's why most 805's are retired when they break. It's often better and cheaper to just buy a new receiver.

agreed...and you can throw 875/876/905/906 receivers into that mix as well

all great units...but those pesky failing and very EXPENSIVE HDMI board failures are making people junk them


Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer SC37 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #22283 of 22943 Old 01-20-2012, 07:20 PM
Member
 
Walternate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by theforeignkid View Post

Dear all,

The microprocesor of the DAC board in my Onkyo 805 has fried! I haven't been able to find neither the processor nor the board to replace the ones inside my receiver. Can anyone help me out in this? Is there a specialized store or online outlet where I would be able to buy spare parts for the Onkyo 805? The reference number for the part is supposed to be: PN.NADG-9504.

Thank's in advance!

Are you sure that's the right part number? My 805 service manual says it is PN NADG-9074.
Walternate is offline  
post #22284 of 22943 Old 01-24-2012, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by baniels View Post

I assume you've tried Direct mode?

Yes.

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #22285 of 22943 Old 01-28-2012, 08:22 AM
Member
 
FlavioSupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a 805 for a nice price and I am quite pleased with it so far.

What current Onkyo receiver can compare to the 805 amplifier wise in case I want to upgrade? I have noticed that the weight of the Onkyo receivers in the same model range has gone down over the years, presumably because the power supply has been scaled down?
FlavioSupra is offline  
post #22286 of 22943 Old 01-28-2012, 09:38 AM
Member
 
interceptor007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The day has come to retire the 805, well not completely retire but moving out of the HT. It has performed quite well over the past 4yrs. Had to replace the HDMI board a few yrs back but that was not a big deal, found one on ebay and did it myself, if you have any skills with PC building you can replace anything. I am replacing the 805 with the 809 need to have 3D capabilities with new PJ. See you all over on the 809 thread!! Interceptor
interceptor007 is offline  
post #22287 of 22943 Old 01-30-2012, 07:02 AM
Senior Member
 
PioBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Willamette Valley, Oregon
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys, I have the 805 and love it. (powers the Vandersteens model 2s effortlessly). One thing I was wondering, my PS3 just died (YLOD) and I am going to get the oppo bdp-93 as its replacement, so I was wondering for best sound should I use the DACs in the 805 or use the analogs out on the oppo 93 and use its DACs? Any input is appreciated. Thanks!

9G KURO equipped.
PioBeer is offline  
post #22288 of 22943 Old 01-30-2012, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Midwest U.S.A.
Posts: 2,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
For best sound you should connect the Oppo via HDMI. Not because of the DAC's. It's because of bass management. The 805 has better bass management. If you connect the Oppo with analogue connections you will be forced to use the Oppos bass management, which is not as good as the 805's bass management.
Secret Squirrel is offline  
post #22289 of 22943 Old 01-30-2012, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ddgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: In A Government Yard In SacTown
Posts: 1,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioBeer View Post

Hi guys, I have the 805 and love it. (powers the Vandersteens model 2s effortlessly). One thing I was wondering, my PS3 just died (YLOD) and I am going to get the oppo bdp-93 as its replacement, so I was wondering for best sound should I use the DACs in the 805 or use the analogs out on the oppo 93 and use its DACs? Any input is appreciated. Thanks!


What is your priority, music or movies?? Judging by your speakers, I would assume it's music.

A lot of people will say it does not matter. FWIW, this is just my opinion...

Use HDMI if movies.

For music, I would use the internal DACs in the 805. I've tried it and totally liked the sound. I cannot say about the Oppo since I've never owned one.

Play with it a bit, experiment and see what you like best. Be sure to post back.
ddgtr is offline  
post #22290 of 22943 Old 01-30-2012, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
baniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 52556
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I have the 93 and the 805. For movies/TV I use HDMI for the sake of Audyssey.

For music I use analog. Instead of the onboard bass management, I use an Outlaw ICBM. The Oppo only allows for a single xover point to be used for all speakers. For DVD-A and SACD this proves difficult, since I have smaller surrounds and center than my mains.

I find that Audyssey cripples the sound of music for me, but I like what it does for movies. I haven't found a quick way to disable it, so this is where I ended up.

The ICBM also makes it easy for me to defeat the crossover for my mains, which I do now and then depending on the type of music.

As far as a difference between the DAC's in the 805 and the 93, there is no audible difference to my ears between stereo music fed full range using the Oppo DAC's and the same content by way of HDMI in Direct mode on the 805.
baniels is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off