"The" Onkyo TX-SR805 Thread - Page 748 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 14Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22411 of 23005 Old 04-14-2012, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
MonkeyGoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyGoD View Post

Found a new prob w/ my 805. Maybe I never noticed it till now but the balance is biased to the right side whenever I use the receivers DAC to listen to music. Vocals sound more like its coming from the right side; sounds more noticeable with headphones. Source is mp3 from the computer through SPDIF and playing a CD on my PS3 through HDMI. However, when playing through Multich (not using DAC), the sound is balanced, so I dont think its a problem with the amp circuitry, so it has to be related to the DAC or DSP. Anyone else have an issue like this?

Solved it. Just had to do reset all my settings.
MonkeyGoD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22412 of 23005 Old 04-19-2012, 04:16 PM
Member
 
okiebirdnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, We have the 805 and the sound and picture keeps flashing on and off.It started out with just the sound and now the picture blacks out. Now it is doing it all the time. I had Cox Cable come look at or box and they said it was the Onkyo. He checked the HDMI cable to and it was fine. I had him go ahead and replace our box since we'd had it a while. I did a reset hoping that might fix it but no luck.
My question is, what is causing it and is it worth fixing? And what might the cost be?
Thanks in advance for your help and suggestions.
okiebirdnerd is offline  
post #22413 of 23005 Old 04-19-2012, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
baniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 52556
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 44
It sounds like the HDMI is failing. Not too uncommon in later years. Scan the last several pages, you'll see you're not alone.

Not sure what the options are.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

baniels is offline  
post #22414 of 23005 Old 04-19-2012, 07:57 PM
Member
 
okiebirdnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't see anything on how much it costs to replace the hdmi. thanks
okiebirdnerd is offline  
post #22415 of 23005 Old 04-19-2012, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Midwest U.S.A.
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
$500 or more if you send it to Onkyo or to a certified repair center. The only cheaper way is to buy a used broken 805 with a good HDMI board.
Secret Squirrel is offline  
post #22416 of 23005 Old 04-20-2012, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
golffnutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by caesar1 View Post

I have the Dragon Blu-ray. Did not hear any issues.

Great looking theater caesar1!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you.

Golffnutt

"GO DAWGS" !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
golffnutt is offline  
post #22417 of 23005 Old 05-05-2012, 03:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
ADDED 051012: well, haven't done the upgrade yet but another CD showed up yesterday. Anybody want one?

Took a month, but the CD showed up. Plan to do the upgrade next week.

If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.

grubavs is offline  
post #22418 of 23005 Old 05-14-2012, 10:26 AM
Member
 
Mr. Tao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just trying to confirm info I got from one AVS member awhile ago. I have a yet to be connected 310 that I purchased because I have an older HDMI receiver an Onyko 805. I was informed that the 805 will pass a checkerboard 3D image to my Mits. 73883? Is this correct information? I bought the 310 thinking I would need the 2 HDMI's, one each for video and audio, which is correct?
Mr. Tao is offline  
post #22419 of 23005 Old 05-14-2012, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Midwest U.S.A.
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yes. If you want true 3D you need a BD player with two HDMI outs.
Secret Squirrel is offline  
post #22420 of 23005 Old 05-14-2012, 08:44 PM
Member
 
lkstaack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There must be a TX-SR805 God that can answer this HDMI question: why doesn't my 805 always detect my HTPC HDMI signal? What can I do to get the 805 to always recognize the signal?

I run HDMI out from my Win7 home theater PC (HTPC), through my 805, and to my Sony XBR4. Sometimes the 805 doesn't pass the audio/video through; the "HDMI" light flashes like it is trying to ID the signal, then it stops and displays "No Signal". I am able to get the 805 to detect the HTPC HDMI signal again by pressing a different input button, and then the button my HTPC is associated with. Sometimes it takes several button presses.

I'm guessing that the 805 is getting confused by the flavor of HDMI my HTPC puts out; my motherboard is recent technology. However, I am not savvy enough on HDMI versions and how they are supposed to respond. Is there anything I can do to get it to work 100% of the time? Thanks!

Lars
lkstaack is offline  
post #22421 of 23005 Old 05-17-2012, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkstaack View Post

There must be a TX-SR805 God that can answer this HDMI question: why doesn't my 805 always detect my HTPC HDMI signal? What can I do to get the 805 to always recognize the signal?

I run HDMI out from my Win7 home theater PC (HTPC), through my 805, and to my Sony XBR4. Sometimes the 805 doesn't pass the audio/video through; the "HDMI" light flashes like it is trying to ID the signal, then it stops and displays "No Signal". I am able to get the 805 to detect the HTPC HDMI signal again by pressing a different input button, and then the button my HTPC is associated with. Sometimes it takes several button presses.

I'm guessing that the 805 is getting confused by the flavor of HDMI my HTPC puts out; my motherboard is recent technology. However, I am not savvy enough on HDMI versions and how they are supposed to respond. Is there anything I can do to get it to work 100% of the time? Thanks!

One option you might try is a review of your switching order. The 805 can be somewhat quirky in that way, although no more so than any other early HDMI v1.3a-equipped component.

For instance, with my Toshiba A35 HD DVD player as the source, the proper switching order with my setup is crucial for consistent performance. With TV already on (a Sony A3000 SXRD, in my case), I have to: Turn on HD DVD player => Switch TV to video input in question => Switch 805 to HD DVD player. Any other order will cause my 805 to not recognize the player. However, the switching order with my PS3s (Fat & Slim) is a non-issue--the 805 consistently recognizes them regardless.

If I had to take a stab at the cause, I would have to guess that the 805's source-component EDID acknowledgment varies from source to source. Therefore, it stands to reason that even a modern HTPC or desk-/laptop could be succeptible to this. (My Win7 laptop happens to work without fail via the 805.)

In any event, one's mileage clearly varies, but experimenting with your switching order is certainly worth a try.

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

BasicBlak is offline  
post #22422 of 23005 Old 05-17-2012, 10:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 5,962
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 657
The SR805 at current ebay prices of ~$300 is about the best receiver deal going because of the incredible amp section and support of all modern features except 3d. Is there anything else comparable at these price levels on the used market? A friend of mine is asking and I really enjoyed my SR805 so I directed him to checked out a used Onkyo SR805, or SR875, or NR905 first. But any other strong contendors? I can't really imagine getting much more for $300. At his point it's a THX Ultra 2 rated receiver with more power than advertised, and isn't missing a single feature over the newest receivers outside of 3d and being shy a bit on HDMI ports with only 3. However - at $300 - what a steal!

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Archaea is offline  
post #22423 of 23005 Old 05-18-2012, 05:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
mcsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rowlett, Tx.
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post

The SR805 at current ebay prices of ~$300 is about the best receiver deal going because of the incredible amp section and support of all modern features except 3d. Is there anything else comparable at these price levels on the used market? A friend of mine is asking and I really enjoyed my SR805 so I directed him to checked out a used Onkyo SR805, or SR875, or NR905 first. But any other strong contendors? I can't really imagine getting much more for $300. At his point it's a THX Ultra 2 rated receiver with more power than advertised, and isn't missing a single feature over the newest receivers outside of 3d and being shy a bit on HDMI ports with only 3. However - at $300 - what a steal!


I would be slightly fearful of an ebay TX-SR805, but you can get lucky.

I have an 805 and a Samsung Blu-ray player that has 2 hdmi inputs. That's like having an 805 with 5 hdmi inputs.
mcsoul is offline  
post #22424 of 23005 Old 05-18-2012, 05:50 PM
Member
 
lkstaack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BasicBlak View Post

One option you might try is a review of your switching order. The 805 can be somewhat quirky in that way, although no more so than any other early HDMI v1.3a-equipped component.

If I had to take a stab at the cause, I would have to guess that the 805's source-component EDID acknowledgment varies from source to source. Therefore, it stands to reason that even a modern HTPC or desk-/laptop could be succeptible to this. (My Win7 laptop happens to work without fail via the 805.)

In any event, one's mileage clearly varies, but experimenting with your switching order is certainly worth a try.

Thank you for your suggestion. Yes, moving the switching order and adding a delay before the switch was the first thing I did. It seemed to work out most of the time. However, the problem seems to be getting worse. I have to manually switch from cable/sat to DVD (where my HTPC is routed to) every time I power up in order for the 805 to recognize the HDMI. Sometimes I have to do it several times to get it to work.

I was wondering if a firmware upgrade would help?

Lars
lkstaack is offline  
post #22425 of 23005 Old 05-18-2012, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 43
It's a good possibility that your HDMI board may be starting to fail...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #22426 of 23005 Old 05-19-2012, 10:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Might want to verify which HDMI firmware version you have, Ikstaak. The 805 shipped initially with v1.01. I and several others here performed the v1.02 update a few years back. 1.03 is also available and out in the wild but requires an updated HDMI board. So unless you know for sure you have it or one of the last (read: most recent) batches shipped from the factory, I wouldn't concern myself with it, as you could end up bricking it the whole enchilada.

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

BasicBlak is offline  
post #22427 of 23005 Old 05-20-2012, 07:33 AM
Member
 
lkstaack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BasicBlak View Post

Might want to verify which HDMI firmware version you have, Ikstaak. The 805 shipped initially with v1.01. I and several others here performed the v1.02 update a few years back. 1.03 is also available and out in the wild but requires an updated HDMI board. So unless you know for sure you have it or one of the last (read: most recent) batches shipped from the factory, I wouldn't concern myself with it, as you could end up bricking it the whole enchilada.

Your kind response prompted me to read through some earlier HDMI firmware posts. Since v1.02 solved some Panasonic projector issues, do you think it might resolve my intermittent hand shake issue? I'm reluctant to upgrade firmware on anything unless I have an issue it will solve.

I saw rspeeders firmware link. I saw some references, to dongles and computer serial outs. Please confirm that I can upload firmware via CD optical out (DVD probably won't work)?

Lars
lkstaack is offline  
post #22428 of 23005 Old 05-20-2012, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Only the DSP firmware can be updated via CD optical... The HDMI firmware has to be updated using the RS-232 or a connector port.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #22429 of 23005 Old 05-20-2012, 02:57 PM
Member
 
lkstaack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post

Only the DSP firmware can be updated via CD optical... The HDMI firmware has to be updated using the RS-232 or a connector port.

Thanks for the information. A RS-232 is a regular serial cable, right? What is a connector port; is it a serial port?

Lars
lkstaack is offline  
post #22430 of 23005 Old 05-21-2012, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
golffnutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone happen to know if the HDMI circuit board from an 805 will work in a TX-SR 876?

I think mine just went out. I turned it on got a picture for about 2 minutes and then the picture turned into a half and half screen, half green and half dark gray. It does this on my Sattelite picture and all 3 blue ray players I have hooked up to it. Thanks so much for your help.

Thank you.

Golffnutt

"GO DAWGS" !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
golffnutt is offline  
post #22431 of 23005 Old 05-21-2012, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkstaack View Post

Thanks for the information. A RS-232 is a regular serial cable, right? What is a connector port; is it a serial port?

the onkyo used a special jig to plug into a connector port in the back of the 906/876 models... not sure if the 5 series had it... But the RS232 port uses a straight serial cable, not a cross cable. You will need to find a computer that has a serial port. Most USB-Serial adaptors do NOT work.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #22432 of 23005 Old 05-21-2012, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by golffnutt View Post

Does anyone happen to know if the HDMI circuit board from an 805 will work in a TX-SR 876?

I think mine just went out. I turned it on got a picture for about 2 minutes and then the picture turned into a half and half screen, half green and half dark gray. It does this on my Sattelite picture and all 3 blue ray players I have hooked up to it. Thanks so much for your help.

It will not... you will need a HDMI board from another 876 or a 906...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #22433 of 23005 Old 05-21-2012, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
riverwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post

the onkyo used a special jig to plug into a connector port in the back of the 906/876 models... not sure if the 5 series had it... But the RS232 port uses a straight serial cable, not a cross cable. You will need to find a computer that has a serial port. Most USB-Serial adaptors do NOT work.

The x05s used a standard serial connector. However, for receivers with a bootloader before a certain version, you needed a "jig" with wiring that was not RS232 standard. Once the bootloader is updated, one can then use a standard RS232 interface for f/w updates. I would be surprised if later Onkyo models, such as the x06 lineup, reverted back to a non-standard serial port. Full details for the jig/dongle and bootloader requirements can be found by searching this thread or the Onkyo firmware update thread.

I also wouldn't be so quick to use "most" when saying USB-serial adapters don't work. Yes, there have been some reports. However, I had no trouble with the cheapest adapter I could find...a $10 job from Monoprice back in the day. It's hard to separate user error from hardware incompatibility when two people claim to be using the same adapter, but one says it doesn't work and the other said it does.

-Brent
riverwolf is offline  
post #22434 of 23005 Old 05-21-2012, 09:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I work in IT... We have some old serial port equipment. We tried a number of RS232 to USB connectors and the equipment did not register info correctly. We are desperately maintaining some old computers just to communicate to the old equipment...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #22435 of 23005 Old 05-22-2012, 05:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
baniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 52556
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 44
According to my Amazon receipt, I used a "Keyspan High Speed USB Serial Adapter ( USA-19HS )" back in 2008. It worked for me.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

baniels is offline  
post #22436 of 23005 Old 05-22-2012, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
sedavis76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After a couple of power outages recently I discovered that when my TX-SR805 loses power, it resets everything to the factory defaults. I have to set it all back up again, including the speaker calibration, etc.

Anyone else have this problem? I was hoping it might be something simple like a a bad backup battery (similar to what would be in a PC).
sedavis76 is offline  
post #22437 of 23005 Old 05-22-2012, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
riverwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post

I work in IT... We have some old serial port equipment. We tried a number of RS232 to USB connectors and the equipment did not register info correctly. We are desperately maintaining some old computers just to communicate to the old equipment...

So you actually have no experience using a USB->serial adapter to update the firmware on an 805 when you make the definitive statement that "Most USB-Serial adaptors do NOT work." ? How large a sample size is "..a number..."?

I'm not surprised you found "a number" of adapters that didn't work doing what sounds like real time data acquisition. IME, that's a very different type of fruit than the x05's firmware update.

BTW, why don't you simply install PCI serial cards in a current PC instead of clinging to that old hardware and putting your business' uptime at risk?

-Brent
riverwolf is offline  
post #22438 of 23005 Old 05-22-2012, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
riverwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by sedavis76 View Post

After a couple of power outages recently I discovered that when my TX-SR805 loses power, it resets everything to the factory defaults. I have to set it all back up again, including the speaker calibration, etc.

Anyone else have this problem? I was hoping it might be something simple like a a bad backup battery (similar to what would be in a PC).

This has been mentioned a few times in the past year or so by other owners. I had the same issue after about 8 years with a non-Onkyo preamp and learned that its memory backup was maintained by a slow discharge capacitor. Assuming the 805 uses a similar approach, it sounds like a few, including yours, appear to have reached their useful life on the short side of the MTBF curve. Not sure why a/v equipment uses a slow discharge cap instead of a watch battery like a computer; maybe cost? The replacement cap would likely be a less than $10 part, but the trick is identifying the circuit or getting a copy of the service manual.

-Brent
riverwolf is offline  
post #22439 of 23005 Old 05-23-2012, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
sedavis76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's the trick. I'd have no problem replacing the part myself if I knew which one it was. Don't suppose anyone has a schematic for this thing?
sedavis76 is offline  
post #22440 of 23005 Old 05-25-2012, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
riverwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by sedavis76 View Post

That's the trick. I'd have no problem replacing the part myself if I knew which one it was. Don't suppose anyone has a schematic for this thing?

Agreed. Would be nice if someone could get their hands on a service manual and identify the memory circuit and replacement cap size. If you have an Onkyo service center nearby, you might could sweet talk them into showing you their manual. There also is/was an Onkyo tech or two in the xx6 HDMI cap replacement thread, IIRC. Maybe a PM to one of them might yield some results.

An alternative would be to run your 805 through a cheap UPS. I'm thinking one of the APC Back-UPS sized units that can be had for <$50.

-Brent
riverwolf is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off