Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmuller View Post

Got this from Onkyo and my response.
Hi,

I've been thinking about how to best phrase this and I still think it may come off different than my intention.

When I started playing Monsters University on my BR player (circa 2007), I assumed that there was an issue with the player, which was relatively old compared to what is out there today. We had purchased a Sony S5100 BR player and I thought that maybe that would solve the issue. It didn't. Then I engaged Onkyo about the issue and I assumed that they would have a fix for this. They didn't.

I then took it upon myself to try and figure out a way to enjoy the discs I purchased, without the audio drop outs. I did research, I hunted high and low for data. The players I had would work JUST fine if I enable PCM output instead of bit streaming the trueHD signal. No audio drop outs from the Onkyo. The problem is that everyone of the players I had would only output PCM 2.0, nothing more than that (in other words, no 7.1 sound). That truly sucks to have a wonderful receiver sit there and output 2 channels from a 7.1 channel source because the player decodes it in that form.

Eventually, I couldn't stand that, so I did some research to find a player that would output MPCM (7.1) from either TrueHD or DTS-MA. I found several, but they were expensive (Oppo and Cambridge to name a few). I then stumbled upon a article about a panasonic BR player that would do what the Oppo or Cambridge would do but at a discounted price (it was a 2012 player, still available). I settled on the BMP-BDT500 from panasonic, hoping it would at least output the sound in a MPCM format that the Onkyo would be able to handle without issue.