"The" Onkyo TX-SR805 Thread - Page 772 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 27Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23131 of 23140 Old 12-19-2014, 02:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDgaming42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
You seem to understand very well the concept here. ...Is this idea going to become reality?

* As for the trigger, forget it, which trigger in Onkyo's products! ...Including the 805 (Trigger Out for zone 2 ONLY!).

You want a trigger; do you have a Logitech Harmony remote control? ...That's your trigger.
It might become reality depending on Boxing Day pricing! As for harmony--I've owned two and they were such battery eaters I don't think I'll ever go back. I can just hit the power switch manually.
HDgaming42 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23132 of 23140 Old 12-19-2014, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 6,852
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2816 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Batteries (alkaline) are very cheap on sale @ your local Walmart store.
...And nowadays they have some pretty good rechargeable batteries. Get two sets and you're probably set for life.

Me, if I was you (very simple) I would get the Denon X5200W receiver with XT32, Atmos, and Auro-3D upgrade.
Or, even better; I would wait for second gen receivers. ...From Denon/Marantz. ...Or a pre/pro from Marantz.

Then, you can always add the MiniDSP later on, with integrated Dirac Live. ...Just to check things out, for fun.

That way you can still use your maleficent 805 for a little while. ...Till we seriously get some software (Atmos/Auro). ...Couple years or so, @ this pace.

...XMC-1?

Last edited by NorthSky; 12-19-2014 at 04:55 PM. Reason: ...
NorthSky is online now  
post #23133 of 23140 Old 12-25-2014, 03:23 PM
Member
 
tigerninety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My apologies if this question has definitively been answered previously, but with so many posts, I'm having trouble finding the answer.

I have a very successful setup with a PS3 and a Panasonic AE4000u projector, running through the TX SR-805. I'm thinking about getting the AE8000u, partly for the occasional 3D.

Can someone definitively say whether the necessary 3D signal will pass through the receiver via HDMI?

Thanks!

Tiger
tigerninety is offline  
post #23134 of 23140 Old 12-25-2014, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
mcsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rowlett, Tx.
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerninety View Post
My apologies if this question has definitively been answered previously, but with so many posts, I'm having trouble finding the answer.

I have a very successful setup with a PS3 and a Panasonic AE4000u projector, running through the TX SR-805. I'm thinking about getting the AE8000u, partly for the occasional 3D.

Can someone definitively say whether the necessary 3D signal will pass through the receiver via HDMI?

Thanks!

Tiger
I don't think anyone would give you a definitive "it will work". You may hear an "it worked for me".
The bandwidth required for 3d is much greater and our 805 hdmi boards are at best "inconsistent".
My two 805's have been bullet proof and I keep them around, one as a home theater spare and one as
an office audio system. No way I would trade one for the $100 or so they are worth anymore.
mcsoul is offline  
post #23135 of 23140 Old 12-25-2014, 05:17 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerninety View Post
My apologies if this question has definitively been answered previously, but with so many posts, I'm having trouble finding the answer.

I have a very successful setup with a PS3 and a Panasonic AE4000u projector, running through the TX SR-805. I'm thinking about getting the AE8000u, partly for the occasional 3D.

Can someone definitively say whether the necessary 3D signal will pass through the receiver via HDMI?

Thanks!

Tiger
Nope I have it also was using as back up when my 709 died and that made for a headache when the kids wanted to watch a 3D movie, LOL!
azz7686 is offline  
post #23136 of 23140 Old 12-25-2014, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 6,852
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2816 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Just try to find a Sony BDP-S790 Blu-ray player. ...It's around $150-180 and it has two HDMI outputs ...Exactly what you want with your 805.
The 805 definitely WON'T accept neither pass 3D from HDMI.
NorthSky is online now  
post #23137 of 23140 Old 12-31-2014, 08:20 PM
Newbie
 
myriad1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recently I've been having a problem with the volume knob acting flaky. Instead of the volume going up and down smoothly, it jumps around erratically. Has anybody experienced this and been able to fix it?
myriad1973 is offline  
post #23138 of 23140 Old 12-31-2014, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 6,852
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2816 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by myriad1973 View Post
Recently I've been having a problem with the volume knob acting flaky. Instead of the volume going up and down smoothly, it jumps around erratically. Has anybody experienced this and been able to fix it?
1. You can try a "Reset" --> Troubleshooting ... page 113 in your Onkyo 805's Instruction Manual [top left corner].
* Read carefully.

2. Before you proceed to 1. above, check page 116, the first paragraph on top, and try that.

3. Before you proceed to 1. and 2. above, check the batteries in your 805's remote controller (page 115 in your manual).

Good luck & Happy New Year.
NorthSky is online now  
post #23139 of 23140 Old 01-01-2015, 03:43 PM
Member
 
fireman1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
New Bluray Player--Need Setting for my 805

What digital output should I select from the following options on my LG BP620: PCM Stereo, or PCM Multi CH, or DTS Re-Encode, or Bitstream.


Also, which of the following sample frequencies should I select? : 48, or 96, or 192.


Thanks for any suggestions.
fireman1000 is offline  
post #23140 of 23140 Old 01-01-2015, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 6,852
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2816 Post(s)
Liked: 930
1. Bitstream (HDMI Audio Out)
2. 192kHz

Happy New Year.
NorthSky is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off