"The" Onkyo TX-SR805 Thread - Page 773 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 28Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #23161 of 23170 Old 02-17-2015, 11:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by grubavs View Post
A. Just watched Fury last night... WOW, what a flick! Though it really does remind of Saving Private Ryan, the FX are way better. You can almost believe the death and destruction and sweating and dirt and human interactions.

B. Watched BD of Gone Girl (I usually watch ripped BDs/DVDs via a Mac) the other night and noticed the heat was really building up behind the 805... and I have 2x120mm fans on top. I upped their speeds a notch. Highly recommend you get fan(s) per other suggesters.
Thanks, I went and ordered the one I posted, hope this does the job and I get at least a couple of more years out of this AVR.
iluvwahoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23162 of 23170 Old 02-17-2015, 12:50 PM
Immaculate Grand Phoobah
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by iluvwahoo View Post
Thanks, I went and ordered the one I posted, hope this does the job and I get at least a couple of more years out of this AVR.
So, I just searched this thread for fans (to remind myself about my purchase 7 years ago) and found this, which seems to be the latest iteration of what I originally bought. As mine seem to be cr@ppin' out, I bought this from Amazon Coolerguys Dual Blower Fan Component Cooler with Manual Speed Control (Lite)

Product Description
Coolerguys Dual Blower Fan Component Cooler with Manual Speed Control (Lite)

We created this kit for use on components which have vents on the top of them, simply place the blower fans on top and it'll suck the warm air out of the device and shoot it out the back.
Works great to cool Receivers, DVRs and other media equipment.

This kit comes with:

2 Coolerguys 12v Blower Fans
1 500mA 110-12v AC-DC Power Supply
1 Dual 3pin Manual 12V DC Variable Speed Controller
Everything you need to power and control both blower fans to cool off your equipment.

Fan Specifications:

Dimensions: 120x120x25mm
Bearing: Dual Ball
Rated voltage: 12v
Operating voltage range: 8-12v
Rated Current: 0.18A
Lock rotor current: 0.16A
Rated Power: 2.16W
Rated Speed: 1000 RPM±10%
Air Flow: 17 CFM
Static Air Pressure: 5.6 mmAq(InchH20)
Noise Level: 19.8 dB(A)
Life Expectancy: 50,000 Hours @ 25C
SKU: 840556094326

Rem facias, rem
si possis, recte, si non, quocumque modo, rem.
grubavs is offline  
post #23163 of 23170 Old 02-18-2015, 12:34 PM
Member
 
aprice01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I bought this one from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/CabCool-Lite-C...+Home+Theaters

It has worked fine, and keeps the unit cool.
aprice01 is offline  
post #23164 of 23170 Old Yesterday, 10:35 AM
Member
 
smoorenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was looking at getting the new 1030 Onkyo, but to make it a 7.1.4 I need an amp. Can I make my 805 into an amp?
smoorenc is offline  
post #23165 of 23170 Old Yesterday, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoorenc View Post
I was looking at getting the new 1030 Onkyo, but to make it a 7.1.4 I need an amp. Can I make my 805 into an amp?
Since the 1030 has pre-outs, yes. The 805 has multi-channel inputs. Set it to Pure Audio mode. This is also my plan for upgrading to a 3D/4K AVR.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb

Last edited by Augerhandle; Yesterday at 12:17 PM.
Augerhandle is offline  
post #23166 of 23170 Old Yesterday, 01:34 PM
Member
 
smoorenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augerhandle View Post
Since the 1030 has pre-outs, yes. The 805 has multi-channel inputs. Set it to Pure Audio mode. This is also my plan for upgrading to a 3D/4K AVR.
Will the volume on the 805 (used as an amp) go up or down according to what the pre-out of the 1030 does?


I justed tested with my OPPO player, I have the 7.1 dedicated going to multichannel on receiver. I put the oppo to variable out and the volume went up and down on the Onkyo Thanks!!!

Last edited by smoorenc; Yesterday at 01:57 PM. Reason: checked
smoorenc is offline  
post #23167 of 23170 Unread Yesterday, 10:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 8,256
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3423 Post(s)
Liked: 1171
Hey, best use from the 805; its amp section.
NorthSky is online now  
post #23168 of 23170 Unread Today, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
Hey, best use from the 805; its amp section.
Just shows it's value. One doesn't replace it, one adds to it. If it was any other non-Atmos, non-3D receiver, it would be up on craigslist.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
Augerhandle is offline  
post #23169 of 23170 Unread Today, 01:54 PM
Member
 
lkstaack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After seven years of ownership, I'm planning on using my 805's Zone 2 capability. Now I find that only analog sources are compatible with Zone's 2 and 3. Most of my content comes through my home theater PC. What is a good work-around for getting digital content to play on Zone 2?

Lars
lkstaack is online now  
post #23170 of 23170 Unread Today, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 8,256
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3423 Post(s)
Liked: 1171
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkstaack View Post
After seven years of ownership, I'm planning on using my 805's Zone 2 capability. Now I find that only analog sources are compatible with Zone's 2 and 3. Most of my content comes through my home theater PC. What is a good work-around for getting digital content to play on Zone 2?
♦ ...Analog only. ...So, best to to connect your digital components with also analog connections. ...I'm sure you have tons of analog interconnects around.
NorthSky is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off