The "Official" Denon AVR-3808CI Thread - Page 646 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > The "Official" Denon AVR-3808CI Thread

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

SoundofMind's Avatar SoundofMind
07:32 PM Liked: 161
post #19351 of 20365
03-09-2012 | Posts: 7,962
Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nintari View Post

BTW I started a Denon App thread for anyone who wants to chime in, leanr more or provide more apps to test. Once I have everything setup properly I'll be doing a video review and posting it on that thread

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1397073

Great idea. I suggest you post the announcement and link on more active Denon threads than this, such as the xx12 and 4311/A100 threads.
nintari's Avatar nintari
08:16 PM Liked: 13
post #19352 of 20365
03-09-2012 | Posts: 1,593
Joined: May 2002
Really enjoying this setup so far but running in to a problem with the 3808ci and my htpc during blurry playback where If I pause skip or ff I lose the audio when I go to play again? If I mess with the receiver it re-syncs and plays again. I did end up having to swap my gtx 470 with a 6950 I had in my sons computer since the 470 will not pass dtshd or truehd

Setup:
Paradigm studio 60 v2 left right
Paradigm cc-370 center
Jbl control 5 surround
Outlaw audio lfm-1 plus
Denon avr-3808ci
Mitsubishi 65" Dlp
Gaming htpc


Watching star wars episode IV on Bluray right now
blairy's Avatar blairy
01:23 AM Liked: 13
post #19353 of 20365
03-10-2012 | Posts: 686
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefCon View Post

Cool. I set the speakers to Small, x'd-over @ 60Hz yesterday. My immediate impression is that the Sub is doing too much now. Not overloading or anything like that. It just seems more noticeable that there is a sub in the system. I'm going to let it stay this way for several more movies and see if it is just my ears that need adjusting.

On the plus side, I finally got my amp to turn on and off using a 12v trigger. It had nothing to do with the Denon. My amp is setup to daisy chain the 12v signal and requires a dummy plug in the spare jack. I wish I would have read that more carefully 10 years ago because it never worked with my Lexicon either. For 10 years I've been doing it manually.

I have a question about playing CDs through a Blu-Ray. Right now I just have HDMI coming to the receiver from the Blu-Ray player. In my last system I only had the optical cable for audio... So I set up a virtual "CD" source using the optical audio input from the Blu-Ray - so it could have different surround processing assigned to it when I wanted to hear a CD.

I tried to do the same thing with the Denon, but there is no HDMI choice for audio on the CD source (or I wasn't looking in the right place). But, looking into it further, it looks like the Denon will 'remember' what I last used for each "signal type" and will auto-magically use it for that signal type every time until I change it? So, if I'm understanding this right, there is no reason to set up a virtual "CD" source for playing CDs through the Blu-Ray unless I want to assign a different audio source (optical, analog) for CDs?

Yes the 3808 will remember your choices for each signal type over the same input. This is known as the Personal Memory Plus function. Very handy.

Having said that, there are some benefits to setting up another digital/analogue connection for CD's.

If playing CD's, you probably don't want the TV on. Some BD players via HDMI have difficulty with the TV being turned off. HDMI handshake or HDCP protocol or some such thing.
Playing via optical/SPDIF or analogue avoids this issue.
Also, signals input to the 3808 via HDMI cannot be passed to a second zone. So if you wish to listen to your CD's in another zone with separate speakers you'll have to use optical or analogue (or SPDIF).

Cheers
blairy
Wryker's Avatar Wryker
01:49 PM Liked: 32
post #19354 of 20365
03-10-2012 | Posts: 2,435
Joined: Aug 2006
Ok - any advice on this: I've connected my PS3 (Fat - older version) to the AVR via HDMI and the output goes to my 3D projector. I have turned up the AVR's upscaling (no A-H or H-H turned on) and yet the PS3 does not see my projector as 3D ready. really frustrating. I even tried 3D demo PS3 games that are in 720p 3D and it says it can not locate a 3D display.
Browninggold's Avatar Browninggold
02:49 PM Liked: 37
post #19355 of 20365
03-10-2012 | Posts: 2,384
Joined: Dec 2007
3808 is not 3D capable receiver....@ least I hope it isn't that's one of the reasons I upgraded to the Denon A100
mrcarnut's Avatar mrcarnut
08:18 AM Liked: 13
post #19356 of 20365
03-11-2012 | Posts: 228
Joined: Dec 2006
The 3808 is not 3D capable as it is but if you had a Blu Ray player that outputs dual HDMI such as the Oppo 93 you could have 1 HDMI to the projector and 1 to the 3808. That is how I would go instead of changing the receiver.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
08:23 AM Liked: 1823
post #19357 of 20365
03-11-2012 | Posts: 47,110
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post

Ok - any advice on this: I've connected my PS3 (Fat - older version) to the AVR via HDMI and the output goes to my 3D projector. I have turned up the AVR's upscaling (no A-H or H-H turned on) and yet the PS3 does not see my projector as 3D ready. really frustrating. I even tried 3D demo PS3 games that are in 720p 3D and it says it can not locate a 3D display.

As previously mentioned, although only a few 3D formats will pass through the 3808CI, success also depends on the display ... some work others don't.
Browninggold's Avatar Browninggold
08:46 AM Liked: 37
post #19358 of 20365
03-11-2012 | Posts: 2,384
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrcarnut View Post

The 3808 is not 3D capable as it is but if you had a Blu Ray player that outputs dual HDMI such as the Oppo 93 you could have 1 HDMI to the projector and 1 to the 3808. That is how I would go instead of changing the receiver.

I was answering the post above mine as his was not working as jdsmoothie said there are a lot of variables also mrcarnut as you mentioned
Browninggold's Avatar Browninggold
08:51 AM Liked: 37
post #19359 of 20365
03-11-2012 | Posts: 2,384
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrcarnut View Post

The 3808 is not 3D capable as it is but if you had a Blu Ray player that outputs dual HDMI such as the Oppo 93 you could have 1 HDMI to the projector and 1 to the 3808. That is how I would go instead of changing the receiver.

That's why I said one of the reasons. There's a few more... I did enjoy my 3808ci though no problems with it whatsoever. My son has that now in his BR. Lucky boy. With that being said I am very glad I upgraded to the A100. I guess I am a happy and proud owner.
Wryker's Avatar Wryker
09:23 AM Liked: 32
post #19360 of 20365
03-11-2012 | Posts: 2,435
Joined: Aug 2006
Next weekend I'll try my prior 'work around' since it's not seeing 3D through the 3808 from my PS3. I'm going to unplug the HDMI from the AVR, schlep the PS3 w/the HDMI plugged into the back of it over to the projector; plug the HDMI directly into the Projector; XMB the video options so it sees 3D connected; then unplug it from the Sony, plug it back into the AVR (without unplugging the HDMI from the back of the PS3) and see if that works. THat's what I had to do before to get 3D through the AVR when I had it connected to my Mitsy 3D TV. I have a Panny 3DBD player w/dual HDMI out's that I use for 3D movies: I want to use the PS3 for 3D games.
irmoballen's Avatar irmoballen
10:13 AM Liked: 10
post #19361 of 20365
03-12-2012 | Posts: 187
Joined: Apr 2006
This may be a stupid question: but if I'm not using 3d, does this receiver still hold up well? I have a chance to buy a used (but in perfect condition) 3808 for $300 and am wondering whether I should do that compared to buying a brand new Denon 1611 for a little less money?

Thanks for any help/advice!
batpig's Avatar batpig
10:24 AM Liked: 1614
post #19362 of 20365
03-12-2012 | Posts: 25,108
Joined: Feb 2007
If you don't need 3D it's a great option.
irmoballen's Avatar irmoballen
10:31 AM Liked: 10
post #19363 of 20365
03-12-2012 | Posts: 187
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

So I take it you did not read the series of posts immediately before yours?

I made sure to read the last few pages before I posted

I guess more specifically my question is whether the sound quality of the higher end 3-4 year old models would be better than the brand new budget models....I would assume it would be better, but I just wanted another opinion before I made the final decision.
batpig's Avatar batpig
10:34 AM Liked: 1614
post #19364 of 20365
03-12-2012 | Posts: 25,108
Joined: Feb 2007
Sorry I misread your post. I thought you said if you do use 3D. Couldn't edit fast enough.

The 3808 will blow away any newer entry level models.
irmoballen's Avatar irmoballen
10:39 AM Liked: 10
post #19365 of 20365
03-12-2012 | Posts: 187
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

Sorry I misread your post. I thought you said if you do use 3D. Couldn't edit fast enough.

The 3808 will blow away any newer entry level models.

No problem, thanks for the input!
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
12:12 PM Liked: 1823
post #19366 of 20365
03-12-2012 | Posts: 47,110
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by irmoballen View Post

This may be a stupid question: but if I'm not using 3d, does this receiver still hold up well? I have a chance to buy a used (but in perfect condition) 3808 for $300 and am wondering whether I should do that compared to buying a brand new Denon 1611 for a little less money?

Thanks for any help/advice!

That's actually a great price! Check with the seller to see if the unit has the $100 feature pack upgrade, otherwise, you may want to consider buying and installing it.

http://usa.denon.com/US/Support/Pages/upgrade.aspx
longbow's Avatar longbow
12:25 PM Liked: 10
post #19367 of 20365
03-12-2012 | Posts: 364
Joined: Sep 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by irmoballen View Post

This may be a stupid question: but if I'm not using 3d, does this receiver still hold up well? I have a chance to buy a used (but in perfect condition) 3808 for $300 and am wondering whether I should do that compared to buying a brand new Denon 1611 for a little less money?

Thanks for any help/advice!


The 3808 is a wonderful receiver. I have 2 of them and they are great. The 1612 is a much lower quality model.
dirk1843's Avatar dirk1843
04:56 PM Liked: 16
post #19368 of 20365
03-12-2012 | Posts: 1,602
Joined: Mar 2002
I say go for the 3808, you can't beat it for that price.
Browninggold's Avatar Browninggold
05:03 PM Liked: 37
post #19369 of 20365
03-12-2012 | Posts: 2,384
Joined: Dec 2007
Get the 3808... Great power. I still like mine
Gary J's Avatar Gary J
05:11 PM Liked: 99
post #19370 of 20365
03-12-2012 | Posts: 7,674
Joined: Mar 2000
Mine just keeps on working but I don't think I've touched it in about four years. Well maybe just the duster.
Browninggold's Avatar Browninggold
06:17 PM Liked: 37
post #19371 of 20365
03-12-2012 | Posts: 2,384
Joined: Dec 2007
Time to upgrade Gary to the A100 or 4311.
uforia's Avatar uforia
06:48 PM Liked: 10
post #19372 of 20365
03-12-2012 | Posts: 84
Joined: Mar 2006
Thanks to the previous replies, just wanting to check I have everything connected and setup for best audio quality.

I have connected my front speakers to a NAD stereo amp which has Main-In rca's (acting purely as a power amp) I connected the Denon 3808 front speaker rca outputs to the main-in on the stereo amp. I had to play around with the Amp assign in the Denon - is Zone 2 correct? Any other denon settings i should change/update?

Basically I just want the receiver to treat the front speakers as an extention of my other surround speakers - allowing it to work as normal in 5.1 with auddsey or only the fronts with pure direct. I have a PS3 connected to my receiver via HDMI for music and movies if this makes any difference thanks.
batpig's Avatar batpig
08:22 PM Liked: 1614
post #19373 of 20365
03-12-2012 | Posts: 25,108
Joined: Feb 2007
amp assign is irrelevant -- that controls the assignment of the *internal* amps of the Denon, and then only the last two (which you aren't using). So just leave it on Zone 2, won't hurt anything.

You don't need to change anything at all to use external amps, just hook it up, RCA from the FR/FL pre-outs on the 3808 to the inputs on the external amp.

next run test tones (Manual Setup > Speaker Setup > Ch Level) to confirm output is still good. You might also want to make sure the NAD amp is configured properly, sounds like it's an integrated amp and there may be a switch that allows it to convert to "pure" amplifier mode. Set the NAD to a fixed volume (check the manual if possible as there may be a specific volume setting that is "unity gain" for use as an amp).

Once you have confirmed a "good" hook-up, re-run Audyssey and off you go!
kerenlaser's Avatar kerenlaser
04:38 AM Liked: 10
post #19374 of 20365
03-17-2012 | Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2012
Hi everybody, this is my first post in this forum.

I plan to back up some of my vinyl collection as hi-res files in an HDD. I plan to use the "Pure Vinyl" software, which is best used with a good external audio interface ("sound card"). I thought that before I spend money on the external device, I might try to harness the 3808ci built-in ADC and DAC capability. I assume they are good for 192/24 conversions. I read the manual, but could not figure out how to send the ADC output over to the computer, which will probably be a Mac Mini.

My idea is to feed the cartridge through the line input, and perform the RIAA eq and click-pop reduction in the PV software.

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

Best regards, Eli
xb1032's Avatar xb1032
09:11 PM Liked: 26
post #19375 of 20365
03-18-2012 | Posts: 5,343
Joined: Nov 2002
I'm guessing this answer is no but is it possible to control the user interface for the 3808CI over TCP/IP using an ipad? I am assuming I'll have to use IR for this one.
blairy's Avatar blairy
12:09 AM Liked: 13
post #19376 of 20365
03-19-2012 | Posts: 686
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerenlaser View Post

Hi everybody, this is my first post in this forum.

I plan to back up some of my vinyl collection as hi-res files in an HDD. I plan to use the "Pure Vinyl" software, which is best used with a good external audio interface ("sound card"). I thought that before I spend money on the external device, I might try to harness the 3808ci built-in ADC and DAC capability. I assume they are good for 192/24 conversions. I read the manual, but could not figure out how to send the ADC output over to the computer, which will probably be a Mac Mini.

My idea is to feed the cartridge through the line input, and perform the RIAA eq and click-pop reduction in the PV software.

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

Best regards, Eli

There is a section in the manual about recording. Check that for starters. It's pretty complex from memory.

Blairy
nintari's Avatar nintari
05:03 AM Liked: 13
post #19377 of 20365
03-19-2012 | Posts: 1,593
Joined: May 2002
xb1032: you can control the receiver via iPad, not sure if you can call up the menu on the TV screen and control it that way though, I can look next time I get a chance.

I started a thread on the Denon series iOS / Android control apps, feel free to add to it http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1397073

Havent updated it recently with any info as I have been really sick over the past week and a half!
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
06:41 AM Liked: 1823
post #19378 of 20365
03-19-2012 | Posts: 47,110
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by xb1032 View Post

I'm guessing this answer is no but is it possible to control the user interface for the 3808CI over TCP/IP using an ipad? I am assuming I'll have to use IR for this one.

Yes, there are a couple of iPhone/iPad REMOTE apps: DeRemote and DenONOFF.
blairy's Avatar blairy
01:45 AM Liked: 13
post #19379 of 20365
03-20-2012 | Posts: 686
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by xb1032 View Post

I'm guessing this answer is no but is it possible to control the user interface for the 3808CI over TCP/IP using an ipad? I am assuming I'll have to use IR for this one.

Is you AVR on your network? Use the iPad, open a browser and point it to your AVR's IP address.

Hey presto, control of your receiver.

Regards
blairy
xb1032's Avatar xb1032
07:42 PM Liked: 26
post #19380 of 20365
03-22-2012 | Posts: 5,343
Joined: Nov 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by nintari View Post

xb1032: you can control the receiver via iPad, not sure if you can call up the menu on the TV screen and control it that way though, I can look next time I get a chance.

I started a thread on the Denon series iOS / Android control apps, feel free to add to it http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1397073

Havent updated it recently with any info as I have been really sick over the past week and a half!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Yes, there are a couple of iPhone/iPad REMOTE apps: DeRemote and DenONOFF.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blairy View Post

Is you AVR on your network? Use the iPad, open a browser and point it to your AVR's IP address.

Hey presto, control of your receiver.

Regards
blairy

I'll connect a patch cable from my Denon to my router and give it a shot as soon as I get the time. I'll check out the app thread as well. Thanks for your help all!!!
Tags: Denon Avr 3808ci Receiver

Gear in this thread
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3