The "Official" Denon AVR-3808CI Thread - Page 648 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2012, 04:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,409
Mentioned: 218 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10987 Post(s)
Liked: 5088
^^
There should be no issue with drives up to 2TB as long as they are formatted in FAT32.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2012, 07:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 6,472
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 124
My cable box seems to have a lower volume than BR, any way to tweak the levels to get them closer. I usually listen at -15MV.....

In other words i would like to match the levels so -15 sounds kinda the same out of both....
kgveteran is offline  
Old 04-13-2012, 08:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 28,180
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3467 Post(s)
Liked: 3304
yes, each input has a SOURCE LEVEL control that is variable +/-12dB.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 04-13-2012, 09:05 PM
Member
 
CynKennard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post

My cable box seems to have a lower volume than BR, any way to tweak the levels to get them closer. I usually listen at -15MV.....

In other words i would like to match the levels so -15 sounds kinda the same out of both....

The input level of each source can be set on the input source menu. See page 38 of the owner's manual for a description of source level.
Cynthia
CynKennard is offline  
Old 04-13-2012, 09:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 6,472
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Thx ladies and gentleman..... That was easy
kgveteran is offline  
Old 04-14-2012, 05:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 6,472
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 124
I find that concert BR's need a little balancing to get them right, is there a way to one button my way back to the default Audyssey settings as to levels ?
kgveteran is offline  
Old 04-14-2012, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto area, Canada
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 72
^ Probably the easiest way is to save a particular setup in a Quick Select button. This isn't exactly what you want, but you might be able to come up with something using them that's at least a little more convenient.

I have also wished that there could be preset master volume levels you could quickly return to. Kind of like the different muting levels, but for master volume and one-button. I can surely see the "danger" of this too, along the same lines that Denon locks you out of the menu if muting is on (that's slightly annoying too).
cfraser is offline  
Old 04-14-2012, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 88
3808ci owner, looking to upgrade to a receiver that has 3D passthrough such as the 3812ci, was curious if anyone has opinions on if there are any negatives in upgrading from 3808ci to 3812ci such as if Denon cut corners on this line as it progressed.
WynsWrld98 is offline  
Old 04-14-2012, 01:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 28,180
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3467 Post(s)
Liked: 3304
There is no 3812ci. There is a 3312ci which is a step down from the 3808ci. The best "upgrade" would be a 4311ci.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 04-14-2012, 01:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,409
Mentioned: 218 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10987 Post(s)
Liked: 5088
^^
There is no 3812, rather the current successor to the 3808CI is the 4311CI with Audyssey MultEQ XT32 soon to be replaced by the 4520CI in Sep. The 3312CI is the successor to the 2809CI and uses the same version of MultEQ XT as does the 3808CI.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 04-15-2012, 03:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
blairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cranebrook NSW Australia
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
There is no 3812, rather the current successor to the 3808CI is the 4311CI with Audyssey MultEQ XT32 soon to be replaced by the 4520CI in Sep. The 3312CI is the successor to the 2809CI and uses the same version of MultEQ XT as does the 3808CI.

Thanks jdsmoothie, helpful info. Presuming 4520 isn't a typo (and I'm sure it's not) what's happened to the standard numbering sequence for Denon AVR's?

In the past the last two digits have referred to a calendar year; eg nn08 referred to AVR's for 2008 (although typical these were available in the latter half of the prior year).

cheers
blairy
blairy is offline  
Old 04-15-2012, 03:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,409
Mentioned: 218 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10987 Post(s)
Liked: 5088
^^
Due to a shortage of parts, Denon has discontinued the previous "flagship" models 5308CI and AVP. The 4520CI will be replacing both the 4311CI and the 4810CI and will become the new "flagship" model. Unsure as to why they changed the number convention.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 04-15-2012, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dirk1843's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Northeast Arkansas
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Due to a shortage of parts, Denon has discontinued the previous "flagship" models 5308CI and AVP. The 4520CI will be replacing both the 4311CI and the 4810CI and will become the new "flagship" model. Unsure as to why they changed the number convention.

I would guess for a longer perceived life cycle....some folks might be adverse to dropping the money for a 5308 when just the name says it is 4 year old tech.

This unit won't be tied to a year of release.

Just my .02 cents.............

I've seen things you wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate.
dirk1843 is offline  
Old 04-15-2012, 01:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,409
Mentioned: 218 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10987 Post(s)
Liked: 5088
^^
4 years old yes, but there's currently a $1000 upgrade that brings 3D and Audyssey MultEQ XT32 to both the 5308CI and the AVP.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 04-19-2012, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Jay O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My wife alerted me, and I confirm that only our front speakers are working. Can someone point me to a web page that will help me diagnose the missing speakers that used to work fine on my 3808CI? The Denon manual is ZERO help.

It would be great if there was a way to send audio of some kind to only one set of speakers, if only for test.

Thanks, Jay O'Brien, Folsom, California
Jay O'Brien is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 08:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay O'Brien View Post

My wife alerted me, and I confirm that only our front speakers are working. Can someone point me to a web page that will help me diagnose the missing speakers that used to work fine on my 3808CI? The Denon manual is ZERO help.

It would be great if there was a way to send audio of some kind to only one set of speakers, if only for test.

Thanks, Jay O'Brien, Folsom, California


Most likely, you accidentally activated the pure direct, or Direct Stereo mode. There are two buttons when you open the front panel. If that's not it, you can try using Audyssey to generate the tones to see if the speakers are recognized.

good luck.

hsb

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 08:52 PM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post

Most likely, you accidentally activated the pure direct, or Direct Stereo mode. There are two buttons when you open the front panel. If that's not it, you can try using Audyssey to generate the tones to see if the speakers are recognized.

good luck.

hsb

A quick check would be to run 5/7 channel stereo option
kevinwoodward is offline  
Old 04-20-2012, 02:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,409
Mentioned: 218 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10987 Post(s)
Liked: 5088
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay O'Brien View Post

My wife alerted me, and I confirm that only our front speakers are working. Can someone point me to a web page that will help me diagnose the missing speakers that used to work fine on my 3808CI? The Denon manual is ZERO help.

It would be great if there was a way to send audio of some kind to only one set of speakers, if only for test.

Thanks, Jay O'Brien, Folsom, California

What does the front panel display when audio is playing? As others have noted, you're likely in STEREO mode.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 04-21-2012, 03:41 PM
Member
 
Jay O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post

Most likely, you accidentally activated the pure direct, or Direct Stereo mode. There are two buttons when you open the front panel. If that's not it, you can try using Audyssey to generate the tones to see if the speakers are recognized.

good luck.

hsb

Great idea, but that isn't the problem. I had forgotten about those two buttons. Thank you!
Jay O'Brien is offline  
Old 04-21-2012, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Jay O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post

A quick check would be to run 5/7 channel stereo option

How can I do that? The audio comes from my ATT U-Verse box if that makes any difference.

Thank you!
Jay O'Brien is offline  
Old 04-21-2012, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Jay O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

What does the front panel display when audio is playing? As others have noted, you're likely in STEREO mode.

It says TV/CBL Direct. It is getting TV and audio from my U-Verse box.

Jay
Jay O'Brien is offline  
Old 04-21-2012, 04:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,409
Mentioned: 218 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10987 Post(s)
Liked: 5088
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay O'Brien View Post

Great idea, but that isn't the problem. I had forgotten about those two buttons. Thank you!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay O'Brien View Post

It says TV/CBL Direct. It is getting TV and audio from my U-Verse box.

Jay

If the mode is DIRECT as you indicate that is indeed your issue. You need to get into a STANDARD mode (via STD button) and select DD PLII - Cinema.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 04-21-2012, 06:08 PM
Member
 
Jay O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

If the mode is DIRECT as you indicate that is indeed your issue. You need to get into a STANDARD mode (via STD button) and select DD PLII - Cinema.

I was able to hit the Standard button and then was able to get to 5CH Stereo, which now turned on the other speakers. Hooray!

You say to select DD PLII - Cinema; how do I do that, and what will it get me?

Thank you for your much appreciated help! Now, what did I do, and where can I learn (again) about what just happened. I was really up on the Denon several years ago, but it has just been used to watch TV recently and I am embarrassed to see how much I have forgotten, leaving the Denon alone to its own devices (helped by humans, I'm sure).

Jay
Jay O'Brien is offline  
Old 04-21-2012, 06:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,409
Mentioned: 218 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10987 Post(s)
Liked: 5088
^^
While playing a SD channel (ie stereo audio), you should be able to select DD PLII - Cinema while cycling through the various STD settings. This mode takes the PCM 2.0 signal and will simulate 5.1 surround sound. The 5 CH Stereo mode simply replicates the FL/FR speaker stereo to the SL/SR speakers as well as mixes to the center speaker (ie. not true surround).
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 04-21-2012, 07:12 PM
Member
 
Jay O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
While playing a SD channel (ie stereo audio), you should be able to select DD PLII - Cinema while cycling through the various STD settings. This mode takes the PCM 2.0 signal and will simulate 5.1 surround sound. The 5 CH Stereo mode simply replicates the FL/FR speaker stereo to the SL/SR speakers as well as mixes to the center speaker (ie. not true surround).

The closest I can find is Dolby PLII music. I find, however, that Jazz Club sounds the best to me, but I would like to raise the back and side channel levels a bit.

Obviously I need to learn more about what is available, can you suggest where I sould start?

In the meantime, thanks to your guidance, it sounds much better with the back and side channels now doing something!

Jay
Jay O'Brien is offline  
Old 04-21-2012, 07:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,409
Mentioned: 218 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10987 Post(s)
Liked: 5088
^^
Surround modes listed on pp. 41-42. You can change from Music --> Cinema using the Parameter menu (p. 42).
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 04-21-2012, 07:52 PM
Member
 
Jay O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My surround modes starts on pp.40, and I don't see where to change from Music --> Cinema in the Parameter menu that begins on pp.41. We must have different versions of the manual.
Jay O'Brien is offline  
Old 04-21-2012, 08:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,409
Mentioned: 218 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10987 Post(s)
Liked: 5088
^^
Then download the manual from Denon's website in .pdf format which is what I refer to, although regardless you should be able to get the right menu location from MENU-->Parameter---> Audio ---> Surround Parameters ---> Mode.

http://usa.denon.com/us/Downloads/Pa...ionManual.aspx
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 04-21-2012, 08:24 PM
Member
 
Jay O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Then download the manual from Denon's website in .pdf format which is what I refer to, although regardless you should be able to get the right menu location from MENU-->Parameter---> Audio ---> Surround Parameters ---> Mode.

http://usa.denon.com/us/Downloads/Pa...ionManual.aspx

I haven't been using the GUI, only pushing buttons. I now see what you mean, and when my wife (SWMBO) is through watching her Idol recordings (that she agrees are now better) I'll give it a try with the GUI.

Jay
Jay O'Brien is offline  
Old 04-22-2012, 08:11 PM
Member
 
Jay O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay O'Brien View Post

I haven't been using the GUI, only pushing buttons. I now see what you mean, and when my wife (SWMBO) is through watching her Idol recordings (that she agrees are now better) I'll give it a try with the GUI.

Jay

In the GUI, I cannot get to MENU-->Parameter---> Audio ---> Surround Parameters. At MENU-->Parameter---> Audio ---> the selections are Tone, Room EQ, RESTORER, Night Mode and Audio Delay. The selection for Surround Parameters is not there. My manual does show many selections under Surround Parameters, but I can't get there!

What should I do now?

Jay
Jay O'Brien is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Denon Avr 3808ci Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off