The "Official" Denon AVR-3808CI Thread - Page 649 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19441 of 20350 Old 04-22-2012, 08:11 PM
Member
 
Jay O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay O'Brien View Post

I haven't been using the GUI, only pushing buttons. I now see what you mean, and when my wife (SWMBO) is through watching her Idol recordings (that she agrees are now better) I'll give it a try with the GUI.

Jay

In the GUI, I cannot get to MENU-->Parameter---> Audio ---> Surround Parameters. At MENU-->Parameter---> Audio ---> the selections are Tone, Room EQ, RESTORER, Night Mode and Audio Delay. The selection for Surround Parameters is not there. My manual does show many selections under Surround Parameters, but I can't get there!

What should I do now?

Jay
Jay O'Brien is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19442 of 20350 Old 04-22-2012, 08:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,962
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1114 Post(s)
Liked: 1564
Are you on PLII Music? You have to activate PLII first and then you will see the relevant parameters. What appears in that menu is contextual depending on what surround mode you are in.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #19443 of 20350 Old 04-22-2012, 09:43 PM
Member
 
Jay O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

Are you on PLII Music? You have to activate PLII first and then you will see the relevant parameters. What appears in that menu is contextual depending on what surround mode you are in.

Bingo! Thank you. Now I have Surround Parameters, and I selected Cinema. It didn't make any noticeable difference to my center or surround speakers.

Now that the center and surround speakers are working, I would like to raise the audio levels fed to them, or reduce the front speaker volume. Am I correct in concluding that I should play with the surround parameters? If so, where should I start?

Jay
Jay O'Brien is offline  
post #19444 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 11:28 AM
Newbie
 
mkaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Worcester Mass
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys i have a question.i pulled out my 3808 to use with my sacd player.i connected it 5.1 analog.question is.should this denon detect sacd? wasnt sure if anything should come up on the screen or not.
mkaudio is offline  
post #19445 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 12:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,962
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1114 Post(s)
Liked: 1564
if you connect with 5.1 analog the receiver has no way of "knowing" what the input is, it will just say EXT IN and you will get whatever signal you feed. With multich analog, there is no info contained in the signal, it's already been decoded and processed, so the receiver is essentially just functioning as an amplifier.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #19446 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Question: my 3808 (while watching Star Trek VI) shut all the way off with about 9 minutes left to the movie. I had it turned up loud but not as loud as I 'used' to and it shut down. It can't be too warm since it was 70 in the room, well ventilated the AVR and I have 2 PC fans sitting on top of it blowing from front to back to keep it cool. I 'think' I changed some speaker setting (large to small) and 'think' that's what could be causing it to shut down when the 'booms' get too loud. I'm going to re-run Audyssey to see but before I do that (this weekend) does this sound like a 'cure'?

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #19447 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 01:40 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,145
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1814 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
^^
You don't need to rerun Audyssey to simply change the speaker from LARGE to SMALL, and in fact, doing so actually gave the AVR more headroom and is the suggested setting. Confirm you did indeed make that change and not from SMALL---> LARGE (otherwise change it back to SMALL with 80hz crossovers). Also is your firmware up to date?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19448 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
You don't need to rerun Audyssey to simply change the speaker from LARGE to SMALL, and in fact, doing so actually gave the AVR more headroom and is the suggested setting. Confirm you did indeed make that change and not from SMALL---> LARGE (otherwise change it back to SMALL with 80hz crossovers). Also is your firmware up to date?

If I remember - I changed them from LARGE to SMALL. Firmware is up to date. I have my side surrounds set to 100hz crossover and surrounds to 110hz.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #19449 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 02:45 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,145
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1814 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
^^
Surrounds don't draw much power ... I'm referring to your FL/C/FR speakers. If you have a dedicated sub, all speakers should be set to SMALL with minimum of either 60hz or 80hz crossovers.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19450 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
^^^ Yes - those are set to 80hz (if I remember correctly - definitely no higher) and the sub is LFE+Main.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #19451 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 02:55 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,145
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1814 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
^^
Sub set to LFE+Main has no effect in that configuration. Confirm the speakers the FL/C/FR speakers are set to SMALL as well. Also, what was the master volume when it shut down?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19452 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
^^Yes - they are set to SMALL - the audio was on +1.5 I believe. I used to be able to watch the opening sequence to Cars at @-6.0 and it boomed and never clipped/shut down. Now it is routinely at lower volume levels.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #19453 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 05:28 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,145
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1814 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
^^
Are your speakers 4Ω by any chance as the AVR is not designed to drive them at those levels? Also check your speaker wire connections on the back of the AVR to ensure there are no loose strands touching another post.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19454 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Are your speakers 4Ω by any chance as the AVR is not designed to drive them at those levels? Also check your speaker wire connections on the back of the AVR to ensure there are no loose strands touching another post.

No. The Aperion's are ohm compatible w/the AVR. I haven't unplugged any speakers from the AVR however I'll check it just to make sure since I did move it (I slid it over about 6" from where it previously was). The speakers aren't new - nothing that I can really think of 'changed' other than one night (a little tipsy) I was looking at the settings and 'thought' I changed them from LARGE to SMALL or SMALL to LARGE and then back to SMALL again but in any event; they're set to SMALL and were when the AVR kicked off (and all the way off). No changes to Adyssey (Flat) etc.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #19455 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 05:38 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,145
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1814 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
^^
When the AVR shuts down in protection mode ... a slow (every 2 sec) flash means a ventilation issue, while a faster (every 0.5 sec) flash means either speaker wire touching another post, 4Ω speakers run too loud, or amp failure.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19456 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just re-ran Audysey, I am having some weird behaviors.

the front left and right came in at +6-7.something db (each different)
the right front and center said out of phase, running again got the center in phase but not right.
also sub was set to -12db and a distance of 23 feet

it's in line with front LRC at about 11-12 feet.

any ideas?

thanks in advance.

room is 13 by 14...

i am trying to fix the problem of the occasional no subwoofer...
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #19457 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 05:48 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,145
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1814 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
^^
Just confirm the speakers are all wired correctly and you can ignore the phase error. The sub set to -12db means it's set to loud. As noted in your Owner's manual, you need to start out with the sub gain set to 12 o'clock and then reduce it more in order to get the setting closer to 0db but at least < -10db. Also the "distance" reading for the sub is actually a "delay" setting due to filters in the sub so will often have a "distance" greater than it's actual distance. All of your Audyssey related questions are answered in the Audyssey FAQ linked in my sig.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19458 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
When the AVR shuts down in protection mode ... a slow (every 2 sec) flash means a ventilation issue, while a faster (every 0.5 sec) flash means either speaker wire touching another post, 4Ω speakers run too loud, or amp failure.

Is the flash the 'green' power light or will it be red/a different color/location? Thanks.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #19459 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 06:12 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,145
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1814 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
^^
The green power ring light will turn red and flash.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19460 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Why does my parameter Spkr Config Check show my FL, FR, & C as LARGE?! And the crossover check shows nothing for Front and Center adn 90Hz for Surround A and 200Hz for Surround Back?!

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #19461 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Just confirm the speakers are all wired correctly and you can ignore the phase error. The sub set to -12db means it's set to loud. As noted in your Owner's manual, you need to start out with the sub gain set to 12 o'clock and then reduce it more in order to get the setting closer to 0db but at least < -10db. Also the "distance" reading for the sub is actually a "delay" setting due to filters in the sub so will often have a "distance" greater than it's actual distance. All of your Audyssey related questions are answered in the Audyssey FAQ linked in my sig.

Thanks JD... I have read it twice.
I am not sure my issue with the sub going off. So I have been trying different things trying to get to the bottom of it. As I go through them different issues keep popping up, making my life more difficult. Can low volume listening turn the sub off? Also it's wires with coax... Which i know shouldn't be an issue...



thanks
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #19462 of 20350 Old 04-25-2012, 10:41 PM
Member
 
rakosnicek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirk1843 View Post

I would guess for a longer perceived life cycle....some folks might be adverse to dropping the money for a 5308 when just the name says it is 4 year old tech.

This unit won't be tied to a year of release.

Just my .02 cents.............

It hasn't been the model names that have aged AVRs, but rather the advance of HDMI specification changes.

So if Denon plan on making fewer AVR releases then they obviously have some other plans on how to deal with HDMI evolving. It is HDMI 1.4 (ARC + 3D pass through) that have been of most threat to my 3808's future.

So we've gone from 3808 to 4310, then 4311 and next is 4520 to maintain features? Talk about pushing people up and asking for more cash for the same functionality. Maybe the 3313 (especially if it will do DSD input) will be more attractive as an upgrade for 3808 owners?
rakosnicek is offline  
post #19463 of 20350 Old 04-26-2012, 01:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
blairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cranebrook NSW Australia
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakosnicek View Post

It hasn't been the model names that have aged AVRs, but rather the advance of HDMI specification changes.

So if Denon plan on making fewer AVR releases then they obviously have some other plans on how to deal with HDMI evolving. It is HDMI 1.4 (ARC + 3D pass through) that have been of most threat to my 3808's future.

So we've gone from 3808 to 4310, then 4311 and next is 4520 to maintain features? Talk about pushing people up and asking for more cash for the same functionality. Maybe the 3313 (especially if it will do DSD input) will be more attractive as an upgrade for 3808 owners?

Whilst I don't disagree, you need to exercise care when talking HDMI versions and the features. HDMI 1.4 does do ARC and 3D as you rightly point out.

However most HDMI 1.4 AVR's and BD players don't implement anything like all the HDMI 1.4 features or specs. Try this link for a quick look http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdm...i_1_4_faq.aspx

This also spells out why manufacturers can sell an AVR as HDMI 1.4 and it doesn't in fact feature all the 1.4 specs

Sounds to me as you want specific features (ARC and 3D) not necesarily HDMI 1.4. Mind you that ethernet feature sounds handy, but that would see most of us needing to upgrade every piece of kit on our rack

And I'm with you on the 3313, although as well as DSD it would also need HDCD.

cheers
blairy
blairy is offline  
post #19464 of 20350 Old 04-26-2012, 01:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,145
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1814 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post

Why does my parameter Spkr Config Check show my FL, FR, & C as LARGE?! And the crossover check shows nothing for Front and Center adn 90Hz for Surround A and 200Hz for Surround Back?!

This menu shows the AUTO SETUP settings which you can restore your current settings to should you ever want to. You must check the Manual Setup for the current speaker settings currently being used.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19465 of 20350 Old 04-26-2012, 01:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,145
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1814 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post

Thanks JD... I have read it twice.
I am not sure my issue with the sub going off. So I have been trying different things trying to get to the bottom of it. As I go through them different issues keep popping up, making my life more difficult. Can low volume listening turn the sub off? Also it's wires with coax... Which i know shouldn't be an issue...



thanks

What is likely causing the issue is that the AVR is having to attenuate the sub signal so much it's not enough to activate your sub which is why you need to get the sub trim set closer to 0db after running AUTO SETUP. You also may want to try placing the sub in "ON" mode rather than "AUTO" if it has an "AUTO" mode.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19466 of 20350 Old 04-26-2012, 01:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,145
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1814 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakosnicek View Post

So if Denon plan on making fewer AVR releases then they obviously have some other plans on how to deal with HDMI evolving. It is HDMI 1.4 (ARC + 3D pass through) that have been of most threat to my 3808's future.

ARC is easily replicated with an optical cable from the TV back to the AVR and the ability to play 3D is easily resolved with a dual HDMI 1.4 AVR (passing video to the TV with HD audio to the AVR). No reason to replace the 3808CI if those are your only new requirements.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rakosnicek View Post


So we've gone from 3808 to 4310, then 4311 and next is 4520 to maintain features? Talk about pushing people up and asking for more cash for the same functionality.

Not quite ... in addition to the 4311CI being 9.2 (expandable to 11.2 w/external amp) it also uses the much more advanced version of Audyssey MultEQ XT32 which former XT owners say is a very noticeable increase in audio fidelity as well as it provides the capability of EQing dual subs.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19467 of 20350 Old 04-26-2012, 01:39 AM
Member
 
rakosnicek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by blairy View Post

...
Sounds to me as you want specific features (ARC and 3D) not necesarily HDMI 1.4.

Right. Although 3D can be handled in other ways (such as a cable direct from a BluRay player to the TV (e.g.Oppo BDP-93), it's more cables and more complexity that I'd like to avoid. Given that 3D is a "pass-through" thing, it's annoying that the 3808 can't do this. ARC is of similar benefit - I can get rid of the TOS link cable from the TV back to the AVR.

Quote:


Mind you that ethernet feature sounds handy, but that would see most of us needing to upgrade every piece of kit on our rack

Yeah, but that upgrade would also mean fewer cables and who here would be opposed to fewer cables so long as there's no sacrifice in quality?

What would be really interesting would be to see something like the 4520 with a native 1Gbps ethernet link and for it to then be able to act as a switch for any HDMI 1.4 device that supports ethernet over HDMI.

What concerns me now is that HDMI's 1.4 spec isn't enough to cover streaming 4k video via the ethernet over HDMI part of the spec.

Quote:


And I'm with you on the 3313, although as well as DSD it would also need HDCD.

Yup!
rakosnicek is offline  
post #19468 of 20350 Old 04-26-2012, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 27
"No reason to replace the 3808CI"

Nope. Have Panasonic 310 for dual hdmi out and have optical running from my TV to the 3808 as well as coax from my cable box to the 3808.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #19469 of 20350 Old 04-26-2012, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

This menu shows the AUTO SETUP settings which you can restore your current settings to should you ever want to. You must check the Manual Setup for the current speaker settings currently being used.

Ah - ok. Then what's showing up in the Manual section IS what the AVR is using for speaker size, crossover etc. Thanks!

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #19470 of 20350 Old 04-27-2012, 01:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
blairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cranebrook NSW Australia
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakosnicek View Post

What concerns me now is that HDMI's 1.4 spec isn't enough to cover streaming 4k video via the ethernet over HDMI part of the spec.

True, but you don't need 4K video; totaly off topic but http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-33199_7...vs-are-stupid/

blairy
blairy is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 3808ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off