The "Official" Denon AVR-3808CI Thread - Page 675 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20221 of 20233 Old 06-27-2014, 12:11 PM
Member
 
venon1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Recently I bought a Dune HD base 3D media player. I connected it to my Denon 3808 through HDMI and image quality was good, but not as good as my Denon dbt 3313.
I have found that Dune has deep color settings. Mine was 8 bit default, so I changed it to 10 bit and the image improved a lot. Then I tried 12 bit but Denon 3808 seems not to accept this setting. The image appears and disappears constantly. Reading the manual, somewhere is said that Denon 3808 supports 12 bit deep color. Connecting Dune direct to the TV I can use 12 bit deep color without any issues. Anyone knows how to solve this? Thanks.
venon1313 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20222 of 20233 Old 06-28-2014, 05:39 AM
Member
 
CHuntMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The 3808 does not allow 3D pass through. For my WD TV Live! I run the HDMI to the TV and the optical audio to the 3808. I do the same with the 3D BlueRay.
CHuntMD is offline  
post #20223 of 20233 Old 06-28-2014, 07:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked: 614
The 3808 has no problem with 2D 12bit Deep Color.
aaronwt is offline  
post #20224 of 20233 Old 06-29-2014, 07:36 AM
Member
 
venon1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If I set the video output of the Dune in 1080i/60 instead of 1080p/60 it works.
venon1313 is offline  
post #20225 of 20233 Old 06-29-2014, 09:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by venon1313 View Post
If I set the video output of the Dune in 1080i/60 instead of 1080p/60 it works.
If it is 2D and you need to drop it down then I would try a different HDMI cable.
aaronwt is offline  
post #20226 of 20233 Old 06-29-2014, 11:45 AM
Member
 
venon1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
If it is 2D and you need to drop it down then I would try a different HDMI cable.
Thanks. It's 2D. 3D is disabled on Dune because my Tv is 2D. I had imagined that the problem could be the cable. Then I used the cable that runs from 3808 to the TV to connect the Dune directly on the TV. IT worked fine at 1080p and 12-bit deep color. Very strange.
venon1313 is offline  
post #20227 of 20233 Old 07-21-2014, 07:03 PM
Member
 
JetSnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramsey MN
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With the Denon AVR-3808, is it possible to switch HDMI input to optical output? Here's the deal, I have my xbox one set to source select (DVD) (HDMI 1), I have video through the TV and audio through the main speakers just fine, but I want to run an optical line from the 3808 to my turtle beach headset.


Even if I run an optical line from the xbox one to the 3808, I can't get any optical output with the source select (DVD).


However, I can get cable TV audio through the head set with the source select to (SAT). I have a coaxial line running from the cable box to the TV, an optical line from the output of the TV to the input of the 3808.


So I'm lead to believe that what I'm trying to do is possible, but reading the Denon manual and trying to figure this out is not easy, please help.


In an ideal world, I'd like to hook both the xbox 360 and xbox one to the 3808 and have optical audio to the headset from both.
JetSnake is offline  
post #20228 of 20233 Old 07-24-2014, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
runekc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fredericia, Denmark
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Left surround channel

Hi, I have had this receiver since January and without any problems but for the last couple of months the left surround channel has started to lose sound, if I turn up the volume it comes back and today I found out that if I tap the right side of the receiver the sound also comes back. Does anyone have any experience regarding that?
It sounds like a poor soldering, it has to be said that the receiver is in a rack where it is getting pretty hot, I have a fan that pushes the air away from it though.

Best regards
Rune
runekc is offline  
post #20229 of 20233 Old 07-26-2014, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetSnake View Post
With the Denon AVR-3808, is it possible to switch HDMI input to optical output? Here's the deal, I have my xbox one set to source select (DVD) (HDMI 1), I have video through the TV and audio through the main speakers just fine, but I want to run an optical line from the 3808 to my turtle beach headset.


Even if I run an optical line from the xbox one to the 3808, I can't get any optical output with the source select (DVD).


However, I can get cable TV audio through the head set with the source select to (SAT). I have a coaxial line running from the cable box to the TV, an optical line from the output of the TV to the input of the 3808.


So I'm lead to believe that what I'm trying to do is possible, but reading the Denon manual and trying to figure this out is not easy, please help.


In an ideal world, I'd like to hook both the xbox 360 and xbox one to the 3808 and have optical audio to the headset from both.
So it seems to be working for your TV audio... But what do you mean you have coax running from Cable box to the TV? Do you mean digital Coax for audio?

I'm thinking you have two choices if this doesn't work out.
1) Get a headset adapter to connect your headset's 2.5/3.5mm to 1/4" headset on the Denon
2) Get an Optical splitter from monoprice and run the optical from xbox/xbox-one to it. And let it send the signal to your headset.

Good luck.

hsb

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #20230 of 20233 Old 07-26-2014, 07:49 PM
Member
 
JetSnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramsey MN
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post
So it seems to be working for your TV audio... But what do you mean you have coax running from Cable box to the TV? Do you mean digital Coax for audio?

I'm thinking you have two choices if this doesn't work out.
1) Get a headset adapter to connect your headset's 2.5/3.5mm to 1/4" headset on the Denon
2) Get an Optical splitter from monoprice and run the optical from xbox/xbox-one to it. And let it send the signal to your headset.

Good luck.

hsb
Thanks for the replay. I don't have a digital cable box, it only has the old school audio video coax output.


I don't think your option number 1 will work, the head set has to be hooked to the controller for the chat feature to work. But, I'm thinking your option number 2 will work, I guess I wasn't aware of an optical splitter. I'll check it out.
JetSnake is offline  
post #20231 of 20233 Old 07-26-2014, 11:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,441
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetSnake View Post
With the Denon AVR-3808, is it possible to switch HDMI input to optical output? Here's the deal, I have my xbox one set to source select (DVD) (HDMI 1), I have video through the TV and audio through the main speakers just fine, but I want to run an optical line from the 3808 to my turtle beach headset.


Even if I run an optical line from the xbox one to the 3808, I can't get any optical output with the source select (DVD).


However, I can get cable TV audio through the head set with the source select to (SAT). I have a coaxial line running from the cable box to the TV, an optical line from the output of the TV to the input of the 3808.


So I'm lead to believe that what I'm trying to do is possible, but reading the Denon manual and trying to figure this out is not easy, please help.


In an ideal world, I'd like to hook both the xbox 360 and xbox one to the 3808 and have optical audio to the headset from both.
Hi JetSnake, there is no HDMI audio down conversion to Optical Out.

If you can get optical out to work with the source select to Optical-1 (SAT) with turtle beach headset connected to Optical Out then it sound like an assignment issue. With Xbox One on HDMI-1 (DVD) just assign Optical-2 as (DVD) for the Xbox One optical line.
JChin is offline  
post #20232 of 20233 Old 07-27-2014, 06:28 PM
Member
 
JetSnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramsey MN
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Hi JetSnake, there is no HDMI audio down conversion to Optical Out.

If you can get optical out to work with the source select to Optical-1 (SAT) with turtle beach headset connected to Optical Out then it sound like an assignment issue. With Xbox One on HDMI-1 (DVD) just assign Optical-2 as (DVD) for the Xbox One optical line.
I think you're on to something here. I could/can run an optical from each xbox to the 3808, and than run an optical from the 3808 to the turtle beach. The problem I'm having is that I'm getting confused in the menu, I can select the inputs, but I haven't figured out how to select the outputs for the optical. Does that make sense?
JetSnake is offline  
post #20233 of 20233 Old 07-27-2014, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,441
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetSnake View Post
I think you're on to something here. I could/can run an optical from each xbox to the 3808, and than run an optical from the 3808 to the turtle beach. The problem I'm having is that I'm getting confused in the menu, I can select the inputs, but I haven't figured out how to select the outputs for the optical. Does that make sense?
If everything is assigned correctly then press the Input Mode button and cycle it to "Digital".
JChin is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 3808ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off