The "Official" Denon AVR-3808CI Thread - Page 681 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20401 of 20417 Old 02-13-2015, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Denon 3808 and Apple TV

I have an ATV generation 2 and 3 the 3 was working fine through my HDMI DVR port on the denon. All of sudden a week ago the ATV stopped showing on my TV. I have checked the assignments and they seem to be correct. I tried my generation 2 same problem. When I boot the ATV I can see the apple logo on my TV as it loads but then nothing. I have connected directly to the TV and it works fine. Any help would be appreciated.


Apple TV, Denon Receiver 3808
pezram is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20402 of 20417 Old 02-13-2015, 08:56 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,917
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3041 Post(s)
Liked: 2002
^^
Try powering off and unplugging the AVR for 10 minutes. Power on the TV, wait a few secs, AVR, wait a few secs, and then ATV. This power on sequence will generally help to mitigate HDMI handshake issues. If still no joy, try a different HDMI cable from ATV --> AVR. Just because it works connected to the TV does not eliminate the cable as the cause of the problem.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #20403 of 20417 Old 02-13-2015, 09:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Try powering off and unplugging the AVR for 10 minutes. Power on the TV, wait a few secs, AVR, wait a few secs, and then ATV. This power on sequence will generally help to mitigate HDMI handshake issues. If still no joy, try a different HDMI cable from ATV --> AVR. Just because it works connected to the TV does not eliminate the cable as the cause of the problem.
Thanks for the quick reply tried both suggestions and unfortunately same result as before. If you have any other suggestions I am listening and willing. Thanks again for your quick response.
pezram is offline  
post #20404 of 20417 Old 02-13-2015, 09:58 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,917
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3041 Post(s)
Liked: 2002
^^
Have you tried the other HDMI inputs?

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #20405 of 20417 Old 02-13-2015, 10:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yes I have weird as I said before as the ATV boots up you see the apple logo on the TV then nothing.
pezram is offline  
post #20406 of 20417 Old 02-13-2015, 10:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by pezram View Post
Yes I have weird as I said before as the ATV boots up you see the apple logo on the TV then nothing.
Try connecting the ATV directly to the TV. If it works, you know it may be something with the ATV and Denon. If it doesn't, its the ATV.
cdnscg is online now  
post #20407 of 20417 Old 02-13-2015, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I did do that and ATV works fine. Thanks for the response.
pezram is offline  
post #20408 of 20417 Old 02-22-2015, 11:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello.

Brand new member speaking. I have a rather simple question.

Ive just bought the 3808 and im trying to setup my 2.1 system.

Using the input optical 1 ive managed to get the front speakers playing. That alone took me half an hour of fiddling.

But the sub is still silent. Ive put a sub cable into PRE-OUT -> SW and connected the sub.

TBH i have very little experience with hifi, but i love music and decent quality.

Not sure this will be handy info but the fronts are bw 602 s2 and the sub is a asw 500.

Hoping for a friendly hifi expert.

Bye.
c0olking is online now  
post #20409 of 20417 Old 02-22-2015, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by c0olking View Post
Hello.

Brand new member speaking. I have a rather simple question.

Ive just bought the 3808 and im trying to setup my 2.1 system.

Using the input optical 1 ive managed to get the front speakers playing. That alone took me half an hour of fiddling.

But the sub is still silent. Ive put a sub cable into PRE-OUT -> SW and connected the sub.

TBH i have very little experience with hifi, but i love music and decent quality.

Not sure this will be handy info but the fronts are bw 602 s2 and the sub is a asw 500.

Hoping for a friendly hifi expert.

Bye.
Have you verified that the amp recognizes the sub? On the right side of the display you will see icons lit up displaying how many speakers are available for output. You should see your two fronts and the sub in the display.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #20410 of 20417 Old 02-22-2015, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Duplicating. Weird.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."

Last edited by jsmiddleton4; 02-22-2015 at 01:52 PM.
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #20411 of 20417 Old 02-22-2015, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 39
" I have a rather simple question."

Sounds like you haven't run Audessey and set your speakers configuration correctly.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #20412 of 20417 Old 02-22-2015, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Apple TV.......

Make sure you have any video conversion OFF in the 3808. And all HDMI control stuff OFF.

Also are you using something like a Harmony remote that could be changing input sources, etc. in a sequence?

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."

Last edited by jsmiddleton4; 02-22-2015 at 01:52 PM.
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #20413 of 20417 Old 02-22-2015, 02:16 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,917
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3041 Post(s)
Liked: 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by c0olking View Post
Hello.

Brand new member speaking. I have a rather simple question.

Ive just bought the 3808 and im trying to setup my 2.1 system.

Using the input optical 1 ive managed to get the front speakers playing. That alone took me half an hour of fiddling.

But the sub is still silent. Ive put a sub cable into PRE-OUT -> SW and connected the sub.

TBH i have very little experience with hifi, but i love music and decent quality.

Not sure this will be handy info but the fronts are bw 602 s2 and the sub is a asw 500.

Hoping for a friendly hifi expert.

Bye.
First verify sub is working by pulling cable from sub pre-out and rubbing your finger over the tip while sub is powered on. Hear static from the sub? If yes, sub is working. If no, either sub or cable is defective. Set speakers to SMALL/80Hz.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #20414 of 20417 Old Yesterday, 08:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you all for your contributions cheers

Its playing and sounds great.. since I bought the receiver second hand Ive thought about resetting it. But I havent got a clue..

I may just be me, but it sounds like the mid range is trying to play the bass aswell.
c0olking is online now  
post #20415 of 20417 Old Yesterday, 12:12 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,917
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3041 Post(s)
Liked: 2002
^^
If you were not provided with an Owner's manual, you can download one from Denon's website ....

http://usa.denon.com/us/downloads/manuals-and-downloads

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	33
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	563425  

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #20416 of 20417 Old Today, 07:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yes! Made the reset. Awesome I thought.

Now I cant make the sub play again. :-( Is it posiible to hook the receiver to my tv through hdmi and put in my speaker config? I think Ive bought something too expensive for once.

Normally in this world we live in today our hands is held all through the game/movie/store and Im sick of it.. but this is so damn advanced

Last edited by c0olking; Today at 08:19 AM.
c0olking is online now  
post #20417 of 20417 Old Today, 09:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,917
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3041 Post(s)
Liked: 2002
^^
The reset returned all settings to factory default so you'll have to run Audyssey again. You should be able to see the config screen on the TV when you plug in the Audyssey mic into the 3808 mic jack on the front panel.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 3808ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off