The "Official" Denon AVR-3808CI Thread - Page 686 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20551 of 20566 Old 10-29-2015, 04:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Are there still compatibility issues with the 3808ci and Sony televisions?
Would the sync/etc issues still apply on newer Sony tv's?
thanks
B-Rayn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20552 of 20566 Old 10-29-2015, 04:55 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 57,906
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7311 Post(s)
Liked: 3365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carman72 View Post
hello, somebody can help, how can I conect two analog speaker on AVR 3808CI zone 2, ? and what happen with the central rear back speaker?
Set AMP ASSIGN to "Zone 2" and connect the speakers to the Surround Back L/R speaker posts. If you are currently using a single Surround Back speaker, you'll either have to give that up, or if you want to keep it, you'll need to connect an external 2CH amp (or another receiver) to the Zone 2 pre-outs on the 3808CI and then connect the Zone 2 speakers to that external amp. If you add the external amp, there would be no change to your current AMP ASSIGN setting of 7.1CH.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
Authorized dealer: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #20553 of 20566 Old 10-29-2015, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
davelr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Rayn View Post
Are there still compatibility issues with the 3808ci and Sony televisions?
Would the sync/etc issues still apply on newer Sony tv's?
thanks
Haven't a clue on newer Sonys. I'm still using my 2007 XBR4 with a Monoprice HDMI switch in between (no second device on the switch, it just sits between the two). I haven't had a single handshake glitch since setting it up this way. As a worst case you could do the same.
davelr is online now  
post #20554 of 20566 Old 10-29-2015, 11:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by davelr View Post
Haven't a clue on newer Sonys. I'm still using my 2007 XBR4 with a Monoprice HDMI switch in between (no second device on the switch, it just sits between the two). I haven't had a single handshake glitch since setting it up this way. As a worst case you could do the same.
Ok thanks for the tip.
B-Rayn is offline  
post #20555 of 20566 Old 11-03-2015, 09:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 25,358
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2689 Post(s)
Liked: 1442
Well I'm back to using my Denon 3808 until my 4520 can get repaired. I will miss the front heights but I forgot how good a job PLIIx cinema did. I have been using PLIIz with the front heights on the 4520. I'm just glad I never got around to selling my 3808.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #20556 of 20566 Old 11-03-2015, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,756
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Rayn View Post
Are there still compatibility issues with the 3808ci and Sony televisions?
Would the sync/etc issues still apply on newer Sony tv's?
thanks
I replaced my Sony KDL a couple months ago with a 950b. I don't know what issues you're referring to, but so far have had no issues.

----------------------------------------------
Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is online now  
post #20557 of 20566 Old 11-03-2015, 11:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
davelr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad View Post
I replaced my Sony KDL a couple months ago with a 950b. I don't know what issues you're referring to, but so far have had no issues.
The issue was a degree of incompatibility in the HDMI interfaces. It presented as HDMI re-handshakes during viewing sessions. These generally resulted in brief (2-5 sec.) black screens and in most cases loss of audio. The severity seemed quite variable. In my case we'd experience this perhaps as often as a few times a day to a few times a week. Others, however, seemed to have much more severe problems and some people reported periods where the handshakes were virtually constant. I would hope that this is no longer a problem with newer TVs. That's not to imply that it's all Sony's problem as I did find some references to similar (although less common) problems on other brands of TVs.
davelr is online now  
post #20558 of 20566 Old 11-03-2015, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm sure things have gotten better. I too had a problem with 3808+Sony TV and PS3. It worked with Samsung TV. Replace the TV with Sony XBR and HDMI issues. This was about 3-4 years ago. Maybe 5.

hsb

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #20559 of 20566 Old 11-04-2015, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
williak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit MI
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I'm just glad I never got around to selling my 3808.
It's got a home right here anytime you feel like it's just taking up space...
williak is online now  
post #20560 of 20566 Old 11-25-2015, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
seplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the 3808 store multiple Audyssey curves, or when a new auto setup is run, do the previously measured settings get erased? I know the Restore will go back to the previous Audyssey settings if any manual adjustments are made after running an auto setup, but I would like to go back to my previous Audyssey settings if I run a new auto setup and are not satisfied with the results.
seplant is online now  
post #20561 of 20566 Old 11-25-2015, 09:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 48
The 3808 will not store previous setups internally and I think that none of the Denons will do that.

You can save your settings to a PC. Check the beginning of the thread for details.
rec head is offline  
post #20562 of 20566 Old 11-25-2015, 09:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 48
The 3808 will not store previous setups internally and I think that none of the Denons will do that.

You can save your settings to a PC. Check the beginning of the thread for details.
rec head is offline  
post #20563 of 20566 Old 11-27-2015, 07:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy Receiver Always start on TV/CBL inpu

Hi,
Each and every time I start my receiver either via HDMI control triggered by my TV or directly by switching on my AVR 3808, it will start on the TV/CBL input!!

Is there a way to change that ?
I've tried the quick select option but it doesn't work.

Is it supposed to work like this??

Thanks
ray_78 is offline  
post #20564 of 20566 Old 12-01-2015, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Tom C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray_78 View Post
Hi,
Each and every time I start my receiver either via HDMI control triggered by my TV or directly by switching on my AVR 3808, it will start on the TV/CBL input!!

Is there a way to change that ?
I've tried the quick select option but it doesn't work.

Is it supposed to work like this??

Thanks
I'm not familiar with turning on my 3808 with the TV. I didn’t see anything in the manual about it. I looked at the addendum with the Feature Package Upgrade info on page 17 and it looks like that maybe where you’ll find your answer.

With mine it comes on with the last input that I used. If I want it on a different input when turning it on, like DirecTV for example, I push the input button on my remote for the DirecTV input and it turns on the receiver and puts it on the DirecTV input.

If you have the feature pack, but not the addendum you can find it here:

http://usa.denon.com/us/downloads/manuals-and-downloads

Select AVR-3808CI and then "AVR-4308 3808CI Owners Manual -English Addendum (2.85MB)" from the list that drops down.

Hope that helps.
Tom C is offline  
post #20565 of 20566 Old 01-24-2016, 06:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hello all!
I'm a newbie who just purchased a 3808ci and I have two questions. first how can I hook up two sets of front speakers ( as A-B ) and second how can I get an audessey mic for it. audessey says it needs ACM-1 witch they longer make. I thank anyone in advance for help with these issues
rrhodes1973 is offline  
post #20566 of 20566 Old 01-24-2016, 07:04 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 57,906
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7311 Post(s)
Liked: 3365
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrhodes1973 View Post
hello all!
I'm a newbie who just purchased a 3808ci and I have two questions. first how can I hook up two sets of front speakers ( as A-B ) and second how can I get an audessey mic for it. audessey says it needs ACM-1 witch they longer make. I thank anyone in advance for help with these issues
1. Set AMP ASSIGN = "2CH" (p. 69 Owner's manual).

2. DM-A405 mic ---> http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/3516021...chn=ps&lpid=82

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
Authorized dealer: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 3808ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off