List of Receivers with 2 HDMI 1.3 outputs - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 56 Old 06-14-2007, 09:51 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
chuckvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Phx
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for a list of all the Receivers with two 1.3 HDMI outputs. Here's what I've got so far. I'll add more to the list as you guys send them in.



Note: Marantz SR-8001 has two HDMI outputs but they are not 1.3 version.

What other ones can we add to the list of future Receivers with 2 HDMI outputs?
chuckvb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 56 Old 06-14-2007, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Vowani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckvb View Post

I'm looking for a list of all the Receivers with two 1.3 HDMI outputs. Here's what I've got so far. I'll add more to the list as you guys send them in.

  • Sherwood Newcastle R-972
  • Onkyo AVR TX-NR905


What other ones can we add to the list of future Receivers with 2 HDMI outputs?

Denon AVR-4308
And perhaps the Pioneer VSX-94TXH (specs not yet released).
Vowani is offline  
post #3 of 56 Old 06-14-2007, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
esaleris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Marantz SR-8001
esaleris is offline  
post #4 of 56 Old 06-14-2007, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 4,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by esaleris View Post

Marantz SR-8001

Not HDMI1.3 AFAIK....
____
Axel

Axel is offline  
post #5 of 56 Old 06-14-2007, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
chuckvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Phx
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by esaleris View Post

Marantz SR-8001

I thought I saw some where something about an update coming for it. Does anyone know anything about that?
chuckvb is offline  
post #6 of 56 Old 06-14-2007, 06:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckvb View Post

I thought I saw some where something about an update coming for it. Does anyone know anything about that?

HDMI 1.3 requires a hardware upgrade not a software one.

Are you really hearing a difference?
http://youtu.be/G-lN8vWm3m0

Set an example:
Treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to you...
Not because they are nice, but because YOU are. :)
bootman_head_fi is offline  
post #7 of 56 Old 06-14-2007, 07:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by bootman_head_fi View Post

HDMI 1.3 requires a hardware upgrade not a software one.

HDMI 1.3 has a bandwidth requirement of 3x (400MHz) that of 1.2a so a revised HDMI Tx and Rx ICs are required...
M Code is offline  
post #8 of 56 Old 06-14-2007, 09:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

HDMI 1.3 has a bandwidth requirement of 3x (400MHz) that of 1.2a so a revised HDMI Tx and Rx ICs are required...

My point exactly.
A new component purchase would be required.

Are you really hearing a difference?
http://youtu.be/G-lN8vWm3m0

Set an example:
Treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to you...
Not because they are nice, but because YOU are. :)
bootman_head_fi is offline  
post #9 of 56 Old 06-15-2007, 08:16 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
chuckvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Phx
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How about Pioneer or Sony? Any offerings there yet?
chuckvb is offline  
post #10 of 56 Old 06-16-2007, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
talbain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckvb View Post

How about Pioneer or Sony? Any offerings there yet?


or yamaha? i haven't heard boo from them...

---Mr. Met---

J-E-T-S-JETS JETS JETS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO DE-VILS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO METS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO NETS!!!!!!!
talbain is offline  
post #11 of 56 Old 06-16-2007, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rob316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by talbain View Post

or yamaha? i haven't heard boo from them...


How about Panasonic Receiver.

Rob
rob316 is offline  
post #12 of 56 Old 07-11-2007, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
chuckvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Phx
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on the Onkyo as it has the Reon video chip and my main purpose on top of quality sound processing is using this as my Video switcher and processor to my two display devices.

So any new announcements on dual HDMI output receivers?
chuckvb is offline  
post #13 of 56 Old 07-11-2007, 11:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 19,029
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Heck, a number of these companies just put out HDMI 1.2 models within the past 12 months.

I suspect fall will bring more HDMI 1.3 models...

p.s. You probably won't gain anything from 1.3 over 1.2

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #14 of 56 Old 07-11-2007, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
chuckvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Phx
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The key is that is must have two hdmi outputs. And so far this is all I've found.
chuckvb is offline  
post #15 of 56 Old 07-11-2007, 02:37 PM
 
CraigW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do the two outputs need to be independent (display different sources at the same time)?

I am not sure if any HDMI 2-output device can do that currently?
CraigW is offline  
post #16 of 56 Old 07-12-2007, 02:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SMac770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you asking about dual outputs for the main zone, or a receiver with an HDMI output for zone 2? Personally, I would just enhance the listing to cover both topics, if any examples of the second configuration exist. I'm sure there will be a point where HDMI delivery to secondary zones will be expected, but it's been like pulling teeth just to get component out in zone 2.

edit - also, just because it has dual main zone outputs (if that's the what the subject is about), does that mean that both outputs can be active at the same time? One could consider that a form of "duplication", and we know how rabid the content publishers are about that bs.
SMac770 is offline  
post #17 of 56 Old 07-12-2007, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
chuckvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Phx
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm only seeking the ability to send one of many sources to either of two displays. I do not require the ability to feed one source to one HDMI output and another to the second HDMI output. I think that would require two video processors and would greatly increase cost for a seldom used feature. If that's needed I would rather have dedicated receivers for each display. In my theater I have two displays (Projector and Tv) and I'm only using one or the other.
chuckvb is offline  
post #18 of 56 Old 07-12-2007, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
htpartyshack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMac770 View Post

edit - also, just because it has dual main zone outputs (if that's the what the subject is about), does that mean that both outputs can be active at the same time? One could consider that a form of "duplication", and we know how rabid the content publishers are about that bs.

I asked this exact question of Marantz, and their tech rep said only one can be active at a time. As it was due to "copyright protection" I would suspect that the same restriction would apply to the other manufacturers as well.
htpartyshack is offline  
post #19 of 56 Old 07-12-2007, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
chuckvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Phx
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by htpartyshack View Post

I asked this exact question of Marantz, and their tech rep said only one can be active at a time. As it was due to "copyright protection" I would suspect that the same restriction would apply to the other manufacturers as well.

Since Gefen sells devices that duplicate the signal to multiple displays I don't think that's a copy write issue or they couldn't sell such devices. As far as I know HDCP it has little to do with how many displays so long as they are all HDCP compliant so the video is not stored and passed around.
chuckvb is offline  
post #20 of 56 Old 07-12-2007, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RoboRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Your Marantz guy is feeding you a line of BS. There is no "copyright" restriction on splitting an HDMI output. Your HDCP source could care less how many devices or splitters are downstream from it, so long as all of them support HDCP. I use the Gefen splitter in my system to drive multiple displays and have no HDCP problems.
RoboRay is offline  
post #21 of 56 Old 07-13-2007, 03:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SMac770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now there's some HDMI 1.3a? What a mess.

Marantz SR8001 is only HDMI 1.2 input and HDMI 1.1 output. And regardless of why, there is a menu setting where you pick which HDMI output to send the main zone video output to, so both are never simultaneously active

I don't know how useful a list of vaporware is. So is the SR8001 the only dual-connector (I'll call it that rather than dual-output since dual output it clearly is not) HDMI receiver out there in reality world?
SMac770 is offline  
post #22 of 56 Old 07-13-2007, 04:13 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 149
I'd go with the Onkyo at this point...

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Datasat combo using Auro-3D:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1426295399824
joerod is offline  
post #23 of 56 Old 07-13-2007, 07:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
steady teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
How bout the Integra 8.8?
steady teddy is offline  
post #24 of 56 Old 07-13-2007, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SMac770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 8.8 and the NR905 are the same thing effectively. Well, will be the same thing, when they exist.
SMac770 is offline  
post #25 of 56 Old 07-15-2007, 03:13 PM
Member
 
superbnerb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is this a complete list of recievers that have 1.3? there are only 3 on the market right now?

Does anyone know where to get a list of receivers with hdmi 1.3 that are selling right now?!?!

i need to purchase one soon and need to research asap.
superbnerb is offline  
post #26 of 56 Old 07-15-2007, 06:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SMac770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Read the title and opening post. It's about receivers with dual HDMI 1.3 outputs.
SMac770 is offline  
post #27 of 56 Old 07-15-2007, 07:21 PM
Member
 
superbnerb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
read this, i asked a question... anyways, is there a list or not?
superbnerb is offline  
post #28 of 56 Old 07-15-2007, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RoboRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is the list.
RoboRay is offline  
post #29 of 56 Old 07-29-2007, 02:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
steady teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Newb question regarding the Yamaha Vx800 series with dual 1.3 outputs: Does "4 in, 2 out simultaneously" mean both HDMI outputs can be active at the same time?
If so, is the Yammy the only AVR that can do this?
steady teddy is offline  
post #30 of 56 Old 07-29-2007, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
chuckvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Phx
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steady teddy View Post

Newb question regarding the Yamaha Vx800 series with dual 1.3 outputs: Does "4 in, 2 out simultaneously" mean both HDMI outputs can be active at the same time?
If so, is the Yammy the only AVR that can do this?

Yes, but it appears to be a mirror of one input.
chuckvb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off