Blinking Standby Light Pioneer VSX-D912 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 06-16-2007, 07:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigdogBTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hey all,
I'm hoping that someone on here can help me out. I've got a Pioneer VSX-D912 that suffered through a brownout this afternoon. The unit shut down, and now all I've got is a blinking standby lights. I've been doing some poking around on the forums and came across the reset procedures for the Pioneer 1014. What I'm hoping is that someone out there knows how if there's a similar procedure to get my D912 back up and running, or if not, some other way to get the old girl back on her feet. I know the 912's quite a few years old, and I know that's it's probably time for a replacement, but for more reasons than I need to go into, I'm having to make due with it for the time being. I'd really appreciate any help that anyone has to offer.
Thanks in advance,
Brad
BigdogBTS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 06-16-2007, 10:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Just try using the 1014 reset procedure, it might work and it very likely won't hurt anything even if it don't.
Johnla is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 06-17-2007, 05:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigdogBTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've tried the 1014 reset procedure, but the D912 doesn't have a video 2 button, and combinations of all the input buttons with the enter button didn't accomplish anything.
BigdogBTS is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 06-17-2007, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigdogBTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I figured a little more info might help things along. About a year ago, this unit was serviced for the same issue. According to the notes included on the repair receipt, the tech said that he "reset the system processor" and then the unit came up just fine. Of course, he charged me $70 for the trouble. Don't know if that helps or not, just thought I'd add it in there.
BigdogBTS is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 06-17-2007, 08:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigdogBTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The reset code for this specific model is ENTER + ADVANCED SURROUND for two seconds while the unit is plugged in. It came back up and works just fine. Hope this helps someone else that might need it.

BigdogBTS is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 06-17-2007, 08:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Good work, you saved $70, unless of course you charged yourself for resetting it....
Johnla is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 06-24-2012, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
nmdrifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I experienced this same problem last night. After much tinkering and reading the manual and using their OFFICIAL "reset code" I was not successful. The manual indicates that if this fails you need to take it in to have it repaired. smile.gif

I had become resigned to exploring reviews for a new AV Receiver. This morning: I thought I would try AVSForum (always a great place for tips/tricks) as a final check and BigdogBTS had a different code suggestion. I just tried and my AV Receiver bounced right back. All is now right in my world.

A huge thanks to BigdobBTS and AVSForum

But . . . I am somewhat miffed that Pioneer would not provide the "real reset code". Wonder how many folks have taken in their Receiver to be "taken in" by Pioneer's hidden revenue generator.
nmdrifter is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 02-11-2013, 09:15 AM
Newbie
 
nodiak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another big thanks to BigdogBTS for this thread!
Was also starting to search for a replacement, then googled and found this. Reset worked!
I am oldish and not very agile in this digital world so am especially relieved for simple solutions.
Don
nodiak is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-12-2014, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
Larek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yet Another big thanks to BigdogBTS for this thread!

Mine did this late last night, This thread fixed it in seconds.
Larek is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-12-2014, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,584
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigdogBTS View Post
I figured a little more info might help things along. About a year ago, this unit was serviced for the same issue. According to the notes included on the repair receipt, the tech said that he "reset the system processor" and then the unit came up just fine. Of course, he charged me $70 for the trouble. Don't know if that helps or not, just thought I'd add it in there.

That is a pretty low thing for him to do...

Krell Evolution 900e x 7

Bose Jewel speakers.

 

Jealous of my speakers?

fatbottom is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-12-2014, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BigdogBTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatbottom View Post
That is a pretty low thing for him to do...
I guess he considered it "troubleshooting". I'm just glad that this bit of info has helped so many people. I still use that same receiver, and haven't had any issues with it since that last reset. Keeping my fingers crossed...
BigdogBTS is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off