Arcam Owners Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 261 Old 06-18-2007, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SMS1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all:

I've been looking for, and have been unable to find, an Arcam owners thread (which I must say I find a little odd given that there are threads dedicated to particular models of amps or receivers made by other manufacturers). So I thought I would start the thread as I have seen a number of people on here either looking to buy arcam products, or that have bought arcam products.

Cheers
SMS1977 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 261 Old 06-18-2007, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good show! I'm a proud owner of an AVR350 (about 2mos. now). Excellent AQ with a noise floor somewhere down around China...
videoaddikt is offline  
post #3 of 261 Old 06-18-2007, 10:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
akhter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Nice to see an Arcam thread. I have been a happy AVR300 owner until about a month ago when I started having problems with digital audio. It does appear though that help is on the way

Check out the thread below, where John Dawson from Arcam responds:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=862512

Currently I'm waiting for some news on how to get my unit serviced in Japan (unit bought in New York).
akhter is offline  
post #4 of 261 Old 06-18-2007, 11:07 PM
lpm
Senior Member
 
lpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SMS1977,

I'm also a very satisfied Arcam owner. Have had an AVR300 and DV78 for some 18 months now and a barely run in CD36 in my stereo area. Still totally happy with the HT kit even though they are base AV models and the CD player is simply amazing. Whilst nothing is certain in life, it would have to take a serious problem to move me away from a future Arcam upgrade. Glad akhter appears to be on track to resolution; I really respect that attitude from a company.
lpm is offline  
post #5 of 261 Old 06-19-2007, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SMS1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad to hear from everyone. I myself got an AVR350 a little over a month ago. The first one came with the old remote and had some issues so the retailer got me a new one right away. The thing is amazing. I find that I spend more time listening to music than watching TV.

I hope that this thread takes off, as I really hate having to look around all kinds of other threads to discuss arcam related issues or questions with other owners.
SMS1977 is offline  
post #6 of 261 Old 06-19-2007, 06:59 PM
Newbie
 
lamina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the AVP700 and the P1000. I have been very satisfied until a recent issue with the AVP700. Having distortion issues with all inputs. I heard there was a group of units with motherboard problems. I can say my dealer has been very proactive and helpful thus far. He has passed the unit off to Arcam for review.
lamina is offline  
post #7 of 261 Old 06-19-2007, 07:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SMS1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Russdawg:

Quick question. Why is it that you went with the Mac amp and not the P7...it seems that a number of people go that route.
SMS1977 is offline  
post #8 of 261 Old 06-19-2007, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SMS1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Iamina:

How do you like the AVP700/P1000 combo. I was considering that option before I got the AVR350. Did you do a direct comparison between the two and if so what made you go for the separates?
SMS1977 is offline  
post #9 of 261 Old 06-19-2007, 08:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
akhter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMS1977 View Post

Russdawg:

Quick question. Why is it that you went with the Mac amp and not the P7...it seems that a number of people go that route.

Assuming my AVR300 gets fixed I plan on adding a Mac 252 for my mains (B&W N804). IMHO arcam makes great pre/pro & source components but their amps seem a little underpowered, by Mac standards . I wish they would make a big iron 300+wpc amp
akhter is offline  
post #10 of 261 Old 06-20-2007, 01:57 PM
Member
 
Brad-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Sister (Brother-in Law) has na Arcam AVP-700 and it just started having "dropout problems with any input that is DD 5.1. If I change to DD 2 channel or Mono mode it is great, but the sound simply breaks up when passing a true 5.1 signal.

This happens with both coax and Toslink inputs (DVD and Cable Box, respectively).

I thought it was a bad cable box cable until I tried the DVD.

Will get with the local dealer about this.
Brad-Man is offline  
post #11 of 261 Old 06-21-2007, 05:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SMS1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any recommendations for speaker wire for the avr 350?
SMS1977 is offline  
post #12 of 261 Old 06-21-2007, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vinodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Camarillo, California
Posts: 2,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
While Arcam may not have the latest & greatest features with its associated incompatibilities & headaches, its the absolute sound quality & analog stage that matters. People so often go for the latest features without realizing how important the analog stage can be in a receiver or prepro because ultimately everything audio has to be converted to analog. Just my 2 cents from a happy AVR300 owner.

Vinod
vinodk is offline  
post #13 of 261 Old 06-21-2007, 07:16 AM
Member
 
DCRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Hampshire Seacoast
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great to see a dedicated Arcam thread! I've had the AVR300 for 1.5 yrs and am extremely happy with it. I thought I would do more HT with it but I keep coming back to 2-channel sound (my Gallo Ref. 3.1 mains might have something to do with that ). Looking to upgrade my source next.

For speaker cable, I use Kimber Kable 8TC. http://www.kimber.com/Products/LoudS...s/8TC/8TC.aspx

I would be greatly interested in hearing about what sources others have paired with their Arcam receivers/amplifiers.

Thanks to all.
DCRoadie is offline  
post #14 of 261 Old 06-21-2007, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
osiris13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I previously owned an AVR300, which was a fantastic piece. I'm strongly considering picking up a processor/amp combo from them once they release something that supports the new audio formats on Blu-Ray.
osiris13 is offline  
post #15 of 261 Old 06-22-2007, 05:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SMS1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DCRoadie:

Thanks for the info. I ended up going with Audioquest/Cinemaquest Hyperlitz Star-Quad Helix Series Type 4 (man that's a mouthful). It sounds great and I can't believe how much of a difference it makes. I mean it's obviously not as noticeable as a change in speakers, receiver, dvd/cd, but you can definately notice a difference.
SMS1977 is offline  
post #16 of 261 Old 06-22-2007, 05:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SMS1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Osiris 13:

Won't the new audio formats simply be a software upgrade for the receiver (more of a question from me because I'm not exactly sure)? I'm in a somewhat similar boat regarding my dvd/cd player...I'm waiting for them to bring out a dvd player that supports the new formats (until then I'm using a cheap pioneer).
SMS1977 is offline  
post #17 of 261 Old 06-22-2007, 05:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
akhter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCRoadie View Post

Great to see a dedicated Arcam thread! I've had the AVR300 for 1.5 yrs and am extremely happy with it. I thought I would do more HT with it but I keep coming back to 2-channel sound (my Gallo Ref. 3.1 mains might have something to do with that ). Looking to upgrade my source next.

For speaker cable, I use Kimber Kable 8TC. http://www.kimber.com/Products/LoudS...s/8TC/8TC.aspx

I would be greatly interested in hearing about what sources others have paired with their Arcam receivers/amplifiers.

Thanks to all.

I use the Arcam CD73 (kimber hero interconnect) with my AVR300 to B&W N804 mains. I biamp mine (using the 6+7 channel option) with kimber 4tc/8tc combo (wbt terminated).
akhter is offline  
post #18 of 261 Old 06-22-2007, 05:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SMS1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DCRoadie & akhter:

The stuff seems like it would cost a lot of $$$...does it (ie how much per foot)?
SMS1977 is offline  
post #19 of 261 Old 06-22-2007, 06:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 17,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMS1977 View Post

Osiris 13:

Won't the new audio formats simply be a software upgrade for the receiver (more of a question from me because I'm not exactly sure)? I'm in a somewhat similar boat regarding my dvd/cd player...I'm waiting for them to bring out a dvd player that supports the new formats (until then I'm using a cheap pioneer).

The Arcam could pass the current codecs that are available if it captured the audio from the HDMI input...right now that input is for video switching only.

When I bought an HD-DVD player and BR player...I sold my old Lex and bought Yamaha 5990 to handle the audio via HDMI. I loved it....but I was underwhelmed by my rear soundstage.

I tried different speakers vs my Paradigm 470's, I tried some difussion panels and nothing seemed to help. I read the review of the 350 in WSR and contacted a dealer.

My plan was to use the analog outs from the Toshiba and panny units for the new codecs and apply the matrix processing for 7.1 set up. To my dismay, you couldn't apply processing when using the analog inputs. I was ready to throw in the towel. On a whim I hooked up the Toshiba via digital coax and put in the Region 2 HD-DVD of the Harry Potter movie...jumped to the dragon battle/competition scene. I was BLOWN AWAY with how involving the DLPIIx processing was with the Arcam. My rears and side speakers opened up to new levels that I had never heard before.

I have become a true Arcam customer. I will wait until they come out with a processor that can extract the audio from the HDMI signal...until then I am content.

"Retired" AVS Moderator
rboster is offline  
post #20 of 261 Old 06-22-2007, 07:16 AM
Member
 
DCRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Hampshire Seacoast
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by akhter View Post

I use the Arcam CD73 (kimber hero interconnect) with my AVR300 to B&W N804 mains. I biamp mine (using the 6+7 channel option) with kimber 4tc/8tc combo (wbt terminated).


Akhter,

Very nice setup!! Having the AVR300, I've been interested in demoing an Arcam CD player. Did you listen to other players before deciding on the CD73? If so, may I ask which ones and what drove your decision to go with the Arcam unit.


A couple of other CD players I'm interested in are:

Rega Apollo
Music Fidelity A5 (probably out of my price range though )
DCRoadie is offline  
post #21 of 261 Old 06-22-2007, 07:31 AM
Member
 
DCRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Hampshire Seacoast
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMS1977 View Post

DCRoadie & akhter:

The stuff seems like it would cost a lot of $$$...does it (ie how much per foot)?


SMS1977,

I don't recall exactly how much I paid. I bought two 8-ft runs for my mains and I'm pretty sure the total was in the $200-250 range. I've seen quotes on the internet for Kimber 8tc cable at $15 per foot.
DCRoadie is offline  
post #22 of 261 Old 06-22-2007, 08:03 AM
Newbie
 
bubba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help!
I'm going crazy trying to get my D2 to play the DD sountrack of any DVD played on my Arcam DV29 connected via HDMI. I get either channels out of place, or a very loud high-pitched squeal.
-- The Arcam is set to bitstream/ 6-channel, and the d2 is set to receive audio via HDMI.

Does anyone have an idea as to what is going on?
bubba is offline  
post #23 of 261 Old 06-22-2007, 08:17 AM
Member
 
DCRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Hampshire Seacoast
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubba View Post

Help!
I'm going crazy trying to get my D2 to play the DD sountrack of any DVD played on my Arcam DV29 connected via HDMI. I get either channels out of place, or a very loud high-pitched squeal.
-- The Arcam is set to bitstream/ 6-channel, and the d2 is set to receive audio via HDMI.

Does anyone have an idea as to what is going on?


Check and make sure that the DV29 passes both video and audio through HDMI. I recall reading somewhere that the DV29 outputs only video through HDMI.

Edit: checked the brochure and I'm wrong...the DV29 should pass HDMI audio. I'm not familiar with your reciever. Sorry to be of no help.
DCRoadie is offline  
post #24 of 261 Old 06-22-2007, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
akhter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMS1977 View Post

DCRoadie & akhter:

The stuff seems like it would cost a lot of $$$...does it (ie how much per foot)?

Its wasn't crazy...I am not sure we are allowed to talk actual prices of non-sponsored cables, but i recall spending around 600-800 for all my kimber cables. My general rule is to spend no more than 10% of a system cost on cables etc.
akhter is offline  
post #25 of 261 Old 06-22-2007, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
akhter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCRoadie View Post

Akhter,

Very nice setup!! Having the AVR300, I've been interested in demoing an Arcam CD player. Did you listen to other players before deciding on the CD73? If so, may I ask which ones and what drove your decision to go with the Arcam unit.


A couple of other CD players I'm interested in are:

Rega Apollo
Music Fidelity A5 (probably out of my price range though )

I auditioned the low end Naim CD Player (forget which model, but it was about $1200) and the Linn Genki ($1800) and the $800 rotel CD player. In the end I really couldn't tell them apart (except they all sounded better than my Denon 2910 universal player). I went with the CD73 because:

1) I matched my AVR300 in looks
2) I could use my AV300 remote (CR80)
3) I could upgrade the CD73 to a CD192 for close to the difference in cost between the two units.
akhter is offline  
post #26 of 261 Old 06-22-2007, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
 
will1066's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Arcam owner here, running CD23 and AV8 with a Bryston 4B-SST for stereo and Rotel 1075 for multichannel.
will1066 is offline  
post #27 of 261 Old 06-24-2007, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SMS1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any idea when arcam is coming out with a dvd player that supports the new formats?
SMS1977 is offline  
post #28 of 261 Old 06-24-2007, 09:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 17,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMS1977 View Post

Anyone have any idea when arcam is coming out with a dvd player that supports the new formats?

I assume you are talking about HD-DVD and Blu Ray?

They talked in general terms in a recent interview that they were going to wait on th sidelines until a format has been decided on ....at least that is my talk on what they said.

Ron

"Retired" AVS Moderator
rboster is offline  
post #29 of 261 Old 06-24-2007, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JorgeLopez11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: MEXICO CITY
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
An Arcam FMJ CD33 player is included in my current audio gear.

It is a great machine, but in all honesty I'm still wondering if the DIVA CD192 could have been a more sensible choice.
JorgeLopez11 is offline  
post #30 of 261 Old 06-25-2007, 06:06 AM
Member
 
Dakota69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMS1977 View Post

Anyone have any recommendations for speaker wire for the avr 350?

Speaker wire should be matched to the speaker, not the amp/receiver. In my case, an all Vandersteen 5.1 system, AudioQuest is a great match. I have also tried Cardas, KimberKable, but always return to the AudioQuest
Dakota69 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off