*Official* Denon 5308 Thread - Page 152 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4531 of 4994 Old 02-20-2012, 11:52 PM
Senior Member
 
drmanny3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Tustin, CA
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They called me this afternoon to tell me that my unit was ready for pickup. The manager went over the materials with me. He also informed me that my volume knob was scratched during the process. He ordered a new one and will send it to me when it arrives. I thought that was pretty nice that he did what he did. When I picked it up the scratch was very minor, however I like my stuff to be perfect, so I am happy to get a new one. So I dropped it off at 8 am and picked it up at 4 pm the same day. Great!. I will wait till the morning to hook everything back together. I spend most of the day cleaning up the console and trying different layouts. Ended up going with what I had done before. I was using both a carver amp for the bottom end of the fronts and then the speaker output for the mids and highs of the fronts. I will put back the metal connection and just use the carver for the fronts. At 250 watts that should be enough power for the volumes that I listen to. Can't wait to see how the XT32 works. I was surprised when I asked the facility if I could have the boards that were removed. He said that none were taken out of the 5308CI, however a daughter board was placed inside the unit. So I guess the firmware upgrade and the one board comprise the upgrade. I sort of recall seeing what I thought were two or three boards that were replaced. Perhaps that was in the separates versus the AVR?
Manny
drmanny3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4532 of 4994 Old 02-21-2012, 02:46 PM
Member
 
shrimpman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone in West Los Angeles, or San Fernando Valley done the upgrade for the 5308? If so who and your experience with them. I have had some bad experiences with service centers, though not a Denon center. Thanks
shrimpman is offline  
post #4533 of 4994 Old 02-21-2012, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
drmanny3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Tustin, CA
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I went through the setup this morning. Right away I could see that when the Aud did not like how my 3 subs behavied it asked that I adjust their level. Once I did that then the system began the regular process. It is much faster than it was before the upgrade. Once I got everything setup I tested the sound via the internet music station I sometimes listen to ZEN. It was really alive. I was expecting an improvement in bass not really in the rest of the range. Now the music seems more alive and brighter. I am really tickled. I am also really happy that I could take it in myself and not have to mail it in. And turnaround in less than a day. Remarkable. Also Adam's Electronics is a service center for Denon, Infinity, Jbl, etcetera. Nice folks. So there it is. Cost me $1077 (California Sales Tax). I reviewed past posts and realized that there was no board replacement, but a daughter board was added. Also I think perhaps my sound improved because I am not longer running the speaker output to the mid and highs and the carver to the lows. I put back the gold plated plates that tie all the speakers together and am using just the carver amp for the fronts. Killer system.
Manny
drmanny3 is offline  
post #4534 of 4994 Old 02-21-2012, 03:35 PM
Member
 
shrimpman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have order the upgrade kit for the 5308. He tells me I need hdmi 1.4 but I only have 1.3 going to projector. I also have cat 5 or 6 as well as all the compnent cables going to projector. Unfortunately I cannot add or chage wires due to them being dyrwalled in and cound't run conduit. IS this info correct or is there a cat 5/6 work around?
shrimpman is offline  
post #4535 of 4994 Old 02-21-2012, 05:09 PM
Senior Member
 
drmanny3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Tustin, CA
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As I understand the 1.3 and 1.4 use the same cable connection. It is just that 1.4 can carry ethernet as well as higher Resolution picture. I don't think you have to change our your cables. I just had the upgrade and the 1.3 cables that I have still fit and work without any issues. Hope that helps
Manny
drmanny3 is offline  
post #4536 of 4994 Old 02-21-2012, 05:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,914
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2164 Post(s)
Liked: 1786
Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpman View Post

I have order the upgrade kit for the 5308. He tells me I need hdmi 1.4 but I only have 1.3 going to projector. I also have cat 5 or 6 as well as all the compnent cables going to projector. Unfortunately I cannot add or chage wires due to them being dyrwalled in and cound't run conduit. IS this info correct or is there a cat 5/6 work around?

If your current cables can pass 1080p video then you're fine. The HDMI certification applies to the AVR, not the cables.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4537 of 4994 Old 02-22-2012, 08:17 AM
Senior Member
 
drmanny3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Tustin, CA
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpman View Post

Anyone in West Los Angeles, or San Fernando Valley done the upgrade for the 5308? If so who and your experience with them. I have had some bad experiences with service centers, though not a Denon center. Thanks

I believe there is a Denon service center located in Torrance, CA. I would have gone there had it not been for Adams Electronics located in Huntington Beach.
Manny
drmanny3 is offline  
post #4538 of 4994 Old 02-24-2012, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
drmanny3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Tustin, CA
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I wonder if anyone has an idea how many Denon 5308CIs are out there in the US and in the world? That would be interesting to know. I suspect that the number in the US is less than 5000 perhaps 2500?

As for the upgrade I am still tickled to have gotten it. I listen to music and watch TV every single day. I justified the upgrade by imagining that I will use the unit for another 4 years which works out to $250 per year and less than $0.70 per day.
Manny
drmanny3 is offline  
post #4539 of 4994 Old 02-24-2012, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
jappleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are very right the upgrade is great and brings the receiver up to date.You know have been watching e-bay and the 5308ci are not selling? most are trying to sell for $ 3200 used or $4200 new. That is not a bad price for new one.But I can find them for less than $4000 I think the high end receiver are coming to the end.You can now pick up a great receiver for less than $3000.
jappleboy is offline  
post #4540 of 4994 Old 02-24-2012, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by jappleboy View Post

... I think the high end receiver are coming to the end.You can now pick up a great receiver for less than $3000.

I guess it depends on your definition of a "great receiver." Mine includes the Denon AVR 4311, readily available from authorized e-resellers for under $1.4K delivered with 3 yr OEM warr. 11.2 & Audyssey Pro capable, reliable, etc.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #4541 of 4994 Old 02-24-2012, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,761
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 584
I just paid for the upgrade. Will be dropping off my receiver once they get the parts in.
notnyt is online now  
post #4542 of 4994 Old 02-25-2012, 10:16 AM
Member
 
wildzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does the new receivers have the upgrade already installed or no?... denon website show AVR-5308CI(A) version and upgrade available for the AVR-5308CI
wildzx is offline  
post #4543 of 4994 Old 02-25-2012, 06:10 PM
Senior Member
 
drmanny3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Tustin, CA
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildzx View Post

does the new receivers have the upgrade already installed or no?... denon website show AVR-5308CI(A) version and upgrade available for the AVR-5308CI

No, it would be nice, but no. You can buy a new unit if you can find one. Then you can choose to have it upgraded.

Then you have a killer unit.
Manny
drmanny3 is offline  
post #4544 of 4994 Old 02-25-2012, 09:46 PM
Member
 
wildzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the answer regarding the new 5308ci with upgrade...Anyways, i have the 5308ci for about year (not upgraded), rarely used and finally ready to be hooked up and need help first on speaker connections:
My setup:
Denon 5308ci
Main Room Speakers:
Front Speakers - Dali MK 800
Subwoofer - 2 x Emotiva 12" Ultra 12
Center - Looking to buy the Pardigm cc690
Surround - klipsch CDT-2800-C Celing
Surround Back - Klipsch CDT-2800-C

Zone 2 Speakers
have 10 pair of speakers connected to Audio Plex MS speaker selector.

Source - Apple TV2 connected to NAS and DVD player

Now, Please help with best wiring solution, i been looking over the manual and it talks much about bi-wiring, as well (the only speakers i am able to bi-wire are the fronts and center....i have the b-wire speaker wire, so i don't need to buy it)
I have connected the all the 10 pair of speakers to the speaker selector and from there to the AMP ASSIGN 2 and got the all the zone 2 speakers working (with help from Home A/V Distribution forum).
So, i will be using "zone 2" speakers mainly for music listening but main room with the 7.1 setup is the main focus and want to make sure i do it right.
I have connected all the speakers according to the speaker connections, the only connections i have not used is the SURR-B/AMP ASSIGN (oh, and the center which i don't have, yet).
Now, do i need to bi-wire the front speakers and the center? And since, i don't have the Surr-b, i don't need to use that connections (SURR-B/AMP ASSIGN) and/or can i utilize it for something else (bridge it to other speakers; if so how?)....any other recommendations i should follow with my setup?
thank you Mac
wildzx is offline  
post #4545 of 4994 Old 02-26-2012, 04:18 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,914
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2164 Post(s)
Liked: 1786
^^
Skip the "bi-wire" connection as it will add no additional benefit. The CDT-2800-C surround back speakers would be connected to the SurrBack/Amp Assign speaker posts when you get them. Note also that only "analog" and PCM 2.0 via optical/digital coax connected sources will pass to Zone 2.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4546 of 4994 Old 02-26-2012, 11:51 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpman View Post

I have order the upgrade kit for the 5308. He tells me I need hdmi 1.4 but I only have 1.3 going to projector. I also have cat 5 or 6 as well as all the compnent cables going to projector. Unfortunately I cannot add or chage wires due to them being dyrwalled in and cound't run conduit. IS this info correct or is there a cat 5/6 work around?

To help other people who might read this...There are only two types of HDMI cables - Standard Speed and High Speed. There are options for each type, such as "HDMI with Ethernet". However, there are only two main types. Both types have the same pin-outs, just the High Speed is certified for beyond the bandwidth currently used by all HDMI chipsets, while Standard Speed is certified for *at least* 1080i/720p bandwidth. Version numbers are never to be used with cables.

For more information just visit the HDMI section of this forum or the HDMI Org's FAQ at:

http://www.hdmi.org/learningcenter/faq.aspx#49


Just reading through the latest entries after getting confirmation that no more 5308A's will be shipped from Denon. Really makes planning more difficult.
alk3997 is offline  
post #4547 of 4994 Old 02-26-2012, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 4,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post


Just reading through the latest entries after getting confirmation that no more 5308A's will be shipped from Denon. Really makes planning more difficult.

or wait for their next flagship announcement...
mtbdudex is online now  
post #4548 of 4994 Old 02-26-2012, 07:08 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post

or wait for their next flagship announcement...

From what I've been told the only update for the line (at least on the higher end) will be the updated AVR-43xx receiver. No replacement for the AVR-5xxx line is planned at this time. The large number of I/O connects on the back is a requirement for our setup, so that really narrows down my choices.

It seems all manufacturers are moving towards larger number of features, with smaller number of inputs for less dollars. Amp sections seem like they are getting less powerful in non-separates, as well.

The Dreadnought (AVR-5805) seems to be truly a thing of the past - and I finally have a shelf that could hold it!
alk3997 is offline  
post #4549 of 4994 Old 02-26-2012, 07:28 PM
Member
 
wildzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Skip the "bi-wire" connection as it will add no additional benefit. The CDT-2800-C surround back speakers would be connected to the SurrBack/Amp Assign speaker posts when you get them. Note also that only "analog" and PCM 2.0 via optical/digital coax connected sources will pass to Zone 2.

yikes...ATV2 only have hdmi output; so probably need to get a splitter and some type of convertor, correct? or wait for ATV3, which also probably will only have hdmi...
As for the surrounds back, i will check the connections and see if i got them right.
thank for the response. Mac
wildzx is offline  
post #4550 of 4994 Old 02-26-2012, 07:31 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,914
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2164 Post(s)
Liked: 1786
^^
ATV2 also has an optical output as well so you can use an optical-->analog converter.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4551 of 4994 Old 02-29-2012, 02:31 PM
Member
 
shrimpman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=alk3997;21700271]To help other people who might read this...There are only two types of HDMI cables - Standard Speed and High Speed. There are options for each type, such as "HDMI with Ethernet". However, there are only two main types. Both types have the same pin-outs, just the High Speed is certified for beyond the bandwidth currently used by all HDMI chipsets, while Standard Speed is certified for *at least* 1080i/720p bandwidth. Version numbers are never to be used with cables.

For more information just visit the HDMI section of this forum or the HDMI Org's FAQ at:

http://www.hdmi.org/learningcenter/faq.aspx#49


Should have been more clear. This is for 3d. Says I need 1.4 for 3d. True?
shrimpman is offline  
post #4552 of 4994 Old 02-29-2012, 02:33 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,914
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2164 Post(s)
Liked: 1786
^^
False. As noted in that post you quoted, as long as you have a "High Speed" cable, regardless of whether it says HDMI 1.3 or HDMI 1.4, it should pass 1080p video, both 2D and 3D. Note the "quality" of HDMI cables are not all equal, however, you will mitigate any issues by buying from forum sponsors Monoprice or Blue Jeans Cable.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4553 of 4994 Old 03-01-2012, 08:29 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
False. As noted in that post you quoted, as long as you have a "High Speed" cable, regardless of whether it says HDMI 1.3 or HDMI 1.4, it should pass 1080p video, both 2D and 3D. Note the "quality" of HDMI cables are not all equal, however, you will mitigate any issues by buying from forum sponsors Monoprice or Blue Jeans Cable.

The explanation to the question you provided above is exactly right (as you well know).

Now a new question. Given that my supplier says his distributer can no longer get AVR-5308As (I don't even know about the upgrade kit) and I need the interconnects on the back of the 5308A (since I would be upgrading from a 5803A), what is the consensus opinion of where I should head? I've thought of...

1) Find a refurbed 5308A (D--Mart) - a used 5803A would be too much of a leap
2) Start moving to Integra
3) Keep using the 5803A until Denon works out their issues in x years
4) Pre / Pro (Denon, Integra or otherwise)
5) Other
alk3997 is offline  
post #4554 of 4994 Old 03-01-2012, 08:42 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,914
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2164 Post(s)
Liked: 1786
Can't answer the question but would suggest Accessories4Less over Dakmart if you go the refurb route.

http://www.accessories4less.com/make...eceiver/1.html

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4555 of 4994 Old 03-01-2012, 04:50 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Thanks for the quick response and the reference. If I went that route, it's good to have a reference from someone who knows the companies.

Did I read somewhere that Jeff T is no longer with Denon?
alk3997 is offline  
post #4556 of 4994 Old 03-02-2012, 06:48 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,914
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2164 Post(s)
Liked: 1786
^^
Yup ... in fact D&M has let a number of key employees go as they reorganize. Jeff is working for NAD (Canada) from his home office.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4557 of 4994 Old 03-02-2012, 07:13 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
I spent a good amount of time last night looking for currently manufactured receivers or pre/pro's that have roughly the same amount of interfaces (specifically S/PDIF and legacy I/O) that the 5308A and the AVP-A1HD has and couldn't find a single one. The Integra 80.3 seemed to be closest.

I guess the industry really has moved away, in general, from this segment of the market.
alk3997 is offline  
post #4558 of 4994 Old 03-02-2012, 07:50 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,914
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2164 Post(s)
Liked: 1786
^^
You might also want to consider adding external S/PDIF and analog switches.

Yes, as Denon is discontinuing the 5308CI and AVP, Denon's new flagship will be the new 4X13CI (as yet to be numbered) that will replace both the 4311CI and 4810CI.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4559 of 4994 Old 03-04-2012, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
darthsmiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question: does my updated 5308 support arc?
I was trying to hook my sony h929 up and I get video and hdmi control buy no sound.
I believe it is connected right now to monitor 1...maybe I need to connect the arc out to tv in and another hdmi from tv out 2 and monitor 1...or i just hook up a digital out to the receiver.
Any help would be most appreciated.
darthsmiley is offline  
post #4560 of 4994 Old 03-04-2012, 08:44 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,914
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2164 Post(s)
Liked: 1786
^^
AFAIK, ARC is not a supported as part of the upgrade (ie. not listed in the upgrade manual); however, note that this feature is easily replicated connecting the TV optical audio out to the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 5308ci Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off