*Official* Denon 5308 Thread - Page 54 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1591 of 4994 Old 06-09-2008, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
no-nonsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bambam View Post

I went from Denon (5805) to the Yamaha Z11. If anything, I feel the Z11 is much stronger than the Denon for movies - and on par for music. In fact, the numerous DSP options on the Z11 far outweigh the Denon - and are implented very, very well.

The avr5308ci is a totally different animal from the 5805, that's like comparing Apples with Bananas, the avr5308ci is second to none (receivers that is) you are not likely to see a better picture, nor a better implementation of Audyssey
no-nonsense is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1592 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 01:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
john barlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lansing Michigan
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by no-nonsense View Post

The avr5308ci is a totally different animal from the 5805, that's like comparing Apples with Bananas, the avr5308ci is second to none (receivers that is) you are not likely to see a better picture, nor a better implementation of Audyssey

No Nonsense, is the 5308 an apple or is it a banana?
john barlow is offline  
post #1593 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
CadmanDigital4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by john barlow View Post

No Nonsense, is the 5308 an apple or is it a banana?

As far as I'm concerned, it's the "Big Cheese" !!!

More Afraid of Liberals than Terrorists.
CadmanDigital4U is offline  
post #1594 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Doobieedoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CadmanDigital4U View Post

As far as I'm concerned, it's the "Big Cheese" !!!


mmmm CHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESE
Doobieedoo is offline  
post #1595 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 10:36 AM
Member
 
ROSSO Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 5308CI is actually an orange. The previous poster was comparing apples and oranges.

My latest Willie Nelson SACD on my 5308CI via Denon Link from my 3930CI is nothing short of amazing. I had friends over and they couldn't believe the sound mix/quality.

ROSSO Z is offline  
post #1596 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 01:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
john barlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lansing Michigan
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CadmanDigital4U View Post

As far as I'm concerned, it's the "Big Cheese" !!!

I was raised in Wisconsin. Now I understand why I love my 5308 so much. I thought it was the spectacular sound and video, and all along it was the cheese.
john barlow is offline  
post #1597 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 03:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
AudioBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Don't flame me for this, I know it must have been discussed here but I can't find it with search nor by reading and reading and reading.

Does the 5308 have Audyssey dynamic volume control? If not, will it get it? Is it something you get with the Audyssey Pro?

Next question. How do you get the Audyssey Pro kit as a consumer? I heard you can buy that for about $500-600 but from who and how?

Sorry for the dumb questions. I am thinking of buying a 5308. Anyone here with regrets?

AudioBear
AudioBear is offline  
post #1598 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
CadmanDigital4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBear View Post

Don't flame me for this, I know it must have been discussed here but I can't find it with search nor by reading and reading and reading.

Does the 5308 have Audyssey dynamic volume control? If not, will it get it? Is it something you get with the Audyssey Pro?

Next question. How do you get the Audyssey Pro kit as a consumer? I heard you can buy that for about $500-600 but from who and how?

Sorry for the dumb questions. I am thinking of buying a 5308. Anyone here with regrets?

Yes, the 5308 does have Audyssey dynamic volume control.

You can get the Audyssey Pro kit from your Denon Dealer.

I'm not sure about the price.

G.C.

More Afraid of Liberals than Terrorists.
CadmanDigital4U is offline  
post #1599 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
no-nonsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by john barlow View Post

No Nonsense, is the 5308 an apple or is it a banana?

It doesn't matter, the point is, you can't compare them, Oranges and Apples are both round, therefor you can make a comparison, so Apples/Oranges are out, however a nice Wisconsin Cheese, is a good choice, sweet, yet tart, sharp, yet mild, and an aroma that's a pure delight to the senses, yeah, that's the 5308ci in a nutshell, and no more wizecracks from the peanut gallery already
no-nonsense is offline  
post #1600 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
no-nonsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBear View Post

Don't flame me for this, I know it must have been discussed here but I can't find it with search nor by reading and reading and reading.

Does the 5308 have Audyssey dynamic volume control? If not, will it get it? Is it something you get with the Audyssey Pro?

Next question. How do you get the Audyssey Pro kit as a consumer? I heard you can buy that for about $500-600 but from who and how?

Sorry for the dumb questions. I am thinking of buying a 5308. Anyone here with regrets?

Audyssey Pro Multi Eq, is available from Audyssey all by itself, however the list price is $2500.00 (google it) I think that you are basically asking the converted how they like the 5308ci, it's fantasatic in almost every way, almost, as there are some things that drive me nuts, but some of it is because of the poorly written instruction manual, and some of it is HDMI issues, that I need to check with Denon Jeff about, however I can't find his e-mail address anymore
no-nonsense is offline  
post #1601 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 06:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
AudioBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What I was referring to is the feature Denon calls Audyssey MultEQ Pro calibration installer ready. There is supposed to be a Audyssey kit for $500-600 that includes the software that allows you to do what the installer would have done.

Anybody?

AudioBear
AudioBear is offline  
post #1602 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 6,905
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBear View Post

Does the 5308 have Audyssey dynamic volume control? If not, will it get it? Is it something you get with the Audyssey Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CadmanDigital4U View Post

Yes, the 5308 does have Audyssey dynamic volume control.

There are no products on the market with Aud. Dynamic Volume, including the 5308.. it is a brand new tech, and will first appear on the new Denon receivers coming out this summer (the 9/09 series)...
FilmMixer is offline  
post #1603 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 10:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post

There are no products on the market with Aud. Dynamic Volume, including the 5308.. it is a brand new tech, and will first appear on the new Denon receivers coming out this summer (the 9/09 series)...

I think everyone is mixing up Audyssey Dynamic EQ with Audyssey Dynamic Volume.
As FM says, no one has Volume yet. New receivers will get it (and I heard a rumor on the Pre/Pro thread that they and us will get it).

The 5308 has EQ already installed. Other receivers can get it, but it requires the Pro Audyssey thingy.
shamus is offline  
post #1604 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 10:53 PM
Senior Member
 
CadmanDigital4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post

There are no products on the market with Aud. Dynamic Volume, including the 5308.. it is a brand new tech, and will first appear on the new Denon receivers coming out this summer (the 9/09 series)...

I had this confused with "Audyssey dynamic EQ". The description on page 95 of the users manual sounds very much like it does the same thing except for cutting out the dynamic range of the volume levels.

A quote from the AVR-5308 users manual page 95:

"Audyssey Dynamic EQ solves the problem of deteriorating sound quality as the volume is decreased by taking into account human perception and room acoustic. Dynamic EQ selects the best possible frequency responce and surround levels moment-by-moment as volume is changed. The result is bass response, tonal balance and surround impression that remain constant despite changes in volume. This is the first technology to combine information from incoming source levels with actual output sound levels in the room, a prerequisite for delivering a loudness correction solution. Audyssey Dynamic EQ works in tandem with Audyssey MultEQ to provide well-balanced sound for every listener at any volume level."

It may not be named exactly as noted above, but it does a lot of the same things.

Audyssey dynamic Volume is kind of like the night time setting on some DVD players that evens out the loud and soft passages of a sound track, plus, it sounds like it does what Audyssey dynamic EQ does as well.

I for one have no use for evening out the sound levels like this. I want the dynamic range of the volume to be as wide as possible.

I have no neighbors within earshot and my media room is almost completely underground. I have no WAF to worry about either.

More Afraid of Liberals than Terrorists.
CadmanDigital4U is offline  
post #1605 of 4994 Old 06-10-2008, 11:46 PM
Senior Member
 
no-nonsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBear View Post

What I was referring to is the feature Denon calls Audyssey MultEQ Pro calibration installer ready. There is supposed to be a Audyssey kit for $500-600 that includes the software that allows you to do what the installer would have done.

Anybody?

$325.00 sold only to PRO installers, Audioholics.com/Audyssey PRO EQ Software Setup but if you buy an avr5308ci, all of that is installed in the receiver to begin with, including the mic. that's calibrated to match the $8000.00 Bruel-Kjer (excuse the B-K spelling, didn't copy that part) so what would you do with it?, it can be used with an avr5805 and a few other receivers that don't have it built in, read the review, you will need to do some work with a computer to utilize it, and it doesn't look easy (most likely that's why it's only available to Pro Installers, most likely with some training in it's installation and use)
no-nonsense is offline  
post #1606 of 4994 Old 06-11-2008, 02:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
AudioBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You are right that the capacity is installed but somebody has to calibrate it. And you are right that that aint easy which is exactly why many of us want to do this for ourselves. I will soon be retired and I can think of few things that will be more fun than trying to figure out how to do a pro calibration (except bedroom sports, skiing, sailing, fishing, photography). Oh never mind, you're right. I don't need it.

AudioBear
AudioBear is offline  
post #1607 of 4994 Old 06-11-2008, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
CadmanDigital4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by no-nonsense View Post

$325.00 sold only to PRO installers, Audioholics.com/Audyssey PRO EQ Software ....... you will need to do some work with a computer to utilize it, and it doesn't look easy (most likely that's why it's only available to Pro Installers, most likely with some training in it's installation and use)

Another thing about the Pro version is that the DSP chips in the AVR aren't powerful enough to do all of the computations required with more than 8 listening positions; a more powerful processor is required so using a pc is necessary.

More Afraid of Liberals than Terrorists.
CadmanDigital4U is offline  
post #1608 of 4994 Old 06-11-2008, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
no-nonsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did some more checking, First off, you need to be a certified installer (want to go to Denons/Audyssey custom installer class?) second, you need not only to purchase the kit, but a KEY CARD for each Reciever you would use it on, have no idea how much that costs, third, only a small number of Receivers are designed to take advantage of the kit, which consists of a mic. stand, the mic. many cables, and the installer CD, each CD and mic. are calibrated to each other, so you can't use the CD with different mics. and vice versa, I do wonder if someone is contimplating a Home Theater the size of a real Theater (small one anyway) to require more than 8 mic. positions, I use a Crown Realtime Analizer, and Crown 20 slider/knob paragraphic equalizers, and have graphed out as many as 16 positions, but that was in a huge room, in the average HT rooms I have worked on (18' by 23' aprox) 8 or 9 positions has been about the ideal, so the Audyssey Pro sounded like my kind of thing until I looked further into it
no-nonsense is offline  
post #1609 of 4994 Old 06-11-2008, 04:47 PM
Senior Member
 
no-nonsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioBear View Post

You are right that the capacity is installed but somebody has to calibrate it. And you are right that that aint easy which is exactly why many of us want to do this for ourselves. I will soon be retired and I can think of few things that will be more fun than trying to figure out how to do a pro calibration (except bedroom sports, skiing, sailing, fishing, photography). Oh never mind, you're right. I don't need it.

Yeah, I wanted to do the same thing, until I found out I would need to pay for schooling, and purchasing the kit would only be a part of everything involved, Schooling, Laptop computer (mine isn't portable) Key Cards, and lots and lots of time to do it correctly, it was so much easier to just shell out for the avr5308ci
no-nonsense is offline  
post #1610 of 4994 Old 06-12-2008, 07:06 AM
Newbie
 
darthsmiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Originally Posted by calvin c
Quote:


Well I may need to do factory update. The last 3 times I have been watching movies (different titles) my 3800 connected to 6010, I seem to lose my video signal for a few seconds and then reappear. It would have snow (sound continues) and then black screen and then come back on. Anyone else ever have this happen?

It may also be because I have the 6010 switched to the "Advanced" settings. Maybe I should leave it at standard.

Anyone have any ideas or thoughts? (3800 on 1080p24)

I am having this issue also with my 5308, on ps3 hdmi and sagetv/hauppauge old media extender via rca
Anyone else having this issue?
darthsmiley is offline  
post #1611 of 4994 Old 06-15-2008, 10:51 AM
Member
 
jappleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok have been looking at all the spec on all three. What i see is that the Onkyo models look very nice for the price. Seem to have the same thing that the Denon has. One thing that is bugging me is that the price on both Onkyo models have dropped alot in price. I see alot Onkyo owers talking about over heating. I am not seeing alot of bad reviews on the 5308ci .Well you pay for what you get . i do understand that owners of both brands on these AVS FORUM are customers with a problem or need help on setups. So i am going with the 5308, I can get a great price from Dave at 6AVE still alot of money. I also understand that alot of people do not have that kind of money Yours turely is with you.I am on a hold for the next year for buying anything more.
jappleboy is offline  
post #1612 of 4994 Old 06-15-2008, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
CadmanDigital4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jappleboy View Post

Ok have been looking at all the spec on all three. What i see is that the Onkyo models look very nice for the price. Seem to have the same thing that the Denon has. One thing that is bugging me is that the price on both Onkyo models have dropped alot in price. I see alot Onkyo owers talking about over heating. I am not seeing alot of bad reviews on the 5308ci .Well you pay for what you get . i do understand that owners of both brands on these AVS FORUM are customers with a problem or need help on setups. So i am going with the 5308, I can get a great price from Dave at 6AVE still alot of money. I also understand that alot of people do not have that kind of money Yours turely is with you.I am on a hold for the next year for buying anything more.

You won't regret it!!

More Afraid of Liberals than Terrorists.
CadmanDigital4U is offline  
post #1613 of 4994 Old 06-15-2008, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
jnelson2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by no-nonsense View Post

I did some more checking, First off, you need to be a certified installer (want to go to Denons/Audyssey custom installer class?) second, you need not only to purchase the kit, but a KEY CARD for each Reciever you would use it on, have no idea how much that costs, third, only a small number of Receivers are designed to take advantage of the kit, which consists of a mic. stand, the mic. many cables, and the installer CD, each CD and mic. are calibrated to each other, so you can't use the CD with different mics. and vice versa, I do wonder if someone is contimplating a Home Theater the size of a real Theater (small one anyway) to require more than 8 mic. positions, I use a Crown Realtime Analizer, and Crown 20 slider/knob paragraphic equalizers, and have graphed out as many as 16 positions, but that was in a huge room, in the average HT rooms I have worked on (18' by 23' aprox) 8 or 9 positions has been about the ideal, so the Audyssey Pro sounded like my kind of thing until I looked further into it

The key to unlock the receiver to be used with Audyssey Pro is $150.00. The kit you buy from Audyssey is 325.00.

I bought a kit from Chris (Audyssey) and have a 5308. I have to say the Pro calibration is night and day compared to the end-user calibration out of the box with the supplied MIC. For the first time in 6 months I have my 80Hz chest thump back. The MultiEQ calibration couldn't do this nor could a THX installer using manual.

100% worth it!
jnelson2000 is offline  
post #1614 of 4994 Old 06-15-2008, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DreamCatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jappleboy View Post

Ok have been looking at all the spec on all three. What i see is that the Onkyo models look very nice for the price. Seem to have the same thing that the Denon has. One thing that is bugging me is that the price on both Onkyo models have dropped alot in price. I see alot Onkyo owers talking about over heating. I am not seeing alot of bad reviews on the 5308ci .Well you pay for what you get . i do understand that owners of both brands on these AVS FORUM are customers with a problem or need help on setups. So i am going with the 5308, I can get a great price from Dave at 6AVE still alot of money. I also understand that alot of people do not have that kind of money Yours turely is with you.I am on a hold for the next year for buying anything more.

Denon has come up with an amazing overlay GUI/Onscreen system that leaves the others in the dust.
After using the 5308 I'm spoiled for anything else... well except maybe Denon's AVP

dc

StayThristyMyFriends
DreamCatcher is offline  
post #1615 of 4994 Old 06-15-2008, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fyzziks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Altadena, CA
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnelson2000 View Post

The key to unlock the receiver to be used with Audyssey Pro is $150.00. The kit you buy from Audyssey is 325.00.

I bought a kit from Chris (Audyssey) and have a 5308. I have to say the Pro calibration is night and day compared to the end-user calibration out of the box with the supplied MIC. For the first time in 6 months I have my 80Hz chest thump back. The MultiEQ calibration couldn't do this nor could a THX installer using manual.

100% worth it!

What did you do differently with the Pro kit setup as opposed to the internal MultEQ setup? More positions?
fyzziks is offline  
post #1616 of 4994 Old 06-15-2008, 08:16 PM
Senior Member
 
no-nonsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnelson2000 View Post

The key to unlock the receiver to be used with Audyssey Pro is $150.00. The kit you buy from Audyssey is 325.00.

I bought a kit from Chris (Audyssey) and have a 5308. I have to say the Pro calibration is night and day compared to the end-user calibration out of the box with the supplied MIC. For the first time in 6 months I have my 80Hz chest thump back. The MultiEQ calibration couldn't do this nor could a THX installer using manual.

100% worth it!

I don't doubt you, however, I not only get gut punched, but my floors and walls shake, and I feel like I'm getting a massage, every time I play The Lord of the Rings boxed set, so something else is going on besides the use of the kit, oh yeah I also feel like I get an Elephant stomping on my chest when I watch Alaxander
no-nonsense is offline  
post #1617 of 4994 Old 06-16-2008, 07:55 AM
Member
 
DaveC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I've owned the 5308CI for about two weeks and have been learning and calibrating the AVR's features. The SQ is outstanding using the Audyssey MultEQ & Dynamic EQ for Blu-Ray or SD DVD Movies. I have been using the Audyssey flat curve for Music (2 channel CD, DVD-A, SACD, OTA/DBS HDTV DD). The only minor issue I have is the SW distance was calculated at 4.3 feet during the auto sound setup when in fact its about 11 feet from the sweet spot. Under the Manual Setup, should I modify the SW distance to the actual distance? Does it make a difference? When I change the distance will the box around MultEQ and Dynamic EQ logo's disappear? What does the elimination of the box around the MultEQ and Dynamic EQ logo's really mean (because I adjusted distance or trim levels, etc)?

Any help would be greatly appreciate.

Dave

Dave

 

Samsung PN64F8500, Marantz AV8801, MM8077, MM7025, OPPO BDP-103, Sony C333ES CD Changer, Thorens TD-190, DirecTV HD DVRs HR44-500 & HR24-100

DaveC56 is offline  
post #1618 of 4994 Old 06-16-2008, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Your sub probably doesnt allow the internal crossover to be defeated (if it has that switch, use it). This causes a delay which Audyssey compensates by shortening the distance. Leave it where its at!
shamus is offline  
post #1619 of 4994 Old 06-16-2008, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fyzziks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Altadena, CA
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shamus View Post

Your sub probably doesnt allow the internal crossover to be defeated (if it has that switch, use it). This causes a delay which Audyssey compensates by shortening the distance. Leave it where its at!

No, lengthening the distance reduces delay to compensate for internal electronic delay. It is very unusual to have MultEQ find the distance to the sub less than the physical distance. It might be worth paying a visit to the official Audyssey thread and asking Chris about this.
fyzziks is offline  
post #1620 of 4994 Old 06-16-2008, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by fyzziks View Post

No, lengthening the distance reduces delay to compensate for internal electronic delay. It is very unusual to have MultEQ find the distance to the sub less than the physical distance. It might be worth paying a visit to the official Audyssey thread and asking Chris about this.

oops... missed that!
shamus is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 5308ci Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off