Harman Kardon AVR 247 & 347 discussion thread. - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 5256 Old 07-19-2007, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MLKstudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had a 347 for two weeks now and am very pleased with it. No problems at all.
MLKstudios is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 5256 Old 07-19-2007, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarcoptic View Post

Well the last straw with the 247 was last night....I went to try out a SACD through the PS3 and it sounds like a garbled encoded MP3. I noticed on the 247 post someone had the same issues and HK said there was an issue with the first receivers that went out. The 247 is now going back to Amazon....oh well I already ordered the V661 so time to move on...

When playing the SACD (I assume it is coming as PCM through HDMI), what was the sample rate. Was it 176.4 kHz. When I had the 247, the SACD worked beautifully. I got my 247 back in March. I have not heard of SACD problems. Weird.
bommai is offline  
post #93 of 5256 Old 07-19-2007, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Travis M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Renton, Wa
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI, I'll be matching my 347 up with the CS 480. I get a screaming deal on JBL and HK stuff, so I figured this should be a good combo for my application.

I have a website, but apparently I can't put it here. WTF?
Travis M is offline  
post #94 of 5256 Old 07-19-2007, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Sarcoptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
It was Nine Inch Nails - The Downward Spiral SACD...the PS3 saw the 3 layers, one 5.1, two was 2 channel, 3 was normal. The normal would play fine, however both the 5.1 and 2 channel SACD would play back like a garbled mp3...
Sarcoptic is offline  
post #95 of 5256 Old 07-19-2007, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I am wondering if the sampling rate was too much to handle for the 247. Did you try changing the sampling rate from 176.4 kHz to 88.2 kHz. Hmm. I three classical SACDs, Dire Straits Money for Nothing and Pink Floyd Dark side of the moon. All of them played fine.
bommai is offline  
post #96 of 5256 Old 07-19-2007, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Sarcoptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I had to change the same rate all the way down to 88.2 to get it to play right...thats kinda disappointing...
Sarcoptic is offline  
post #97 of 5256 Old 07-19-2007, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Sam1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bommai View Post

I am wondering if the sampling rate was too much to handle for the 247. Did you try changing the sampling rate from 176.4 kHz to 88.2 kHz. Hmm. I three classical SACDs, Dire Straits Money for Nothing and Pink Floyd Dark side of the moon. All of them played fine.

Bommai:
Did you have to change the sampling rate when you had 247? That would be disappointing. I got my PS3 couple of days ago and I can not use it because of home remodeling project for a month
One of the reason I bought PS3 was to play SACD. If I have to change the sampling rate, I would be sad.
To the OP, did you contact HK support for this??

Speakers: Pioneer/TAD S-1EX, S-7EX, Ascend with RAAL upgrade
Pre/Pro: Onkyo PR-SC5508,Bel Canto Pre-6, Sherwood 972
Amp: Outlaw 770
Source:Oppo 105, Ciunas DAC, SB Touch
Sam1000 is offline  
post #98 of 5256 Old 07-19-2007, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Sarcoptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Sam1000...I confirmed for myself tonight I have to change the sample rate down to 88.2khz to get my NIN SACD to play 5.1....176khz would cause a sound similar to a garbled mp3...
Sarcoptic is offline  
post #99 of 5256 Old 07-21-2007, 10:27 AM
Member
 
thelemming47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I took the plunge yesterday and picked up my 247 from BB (on special less10%) and picked up some boston acoustic speakers and sub (CR57B's x 2, CRC7B and XB2) from CC. Total for my DIY HTIB came to $900 ish plus tax and so far I'm almost happy.

Very easy set up but I did almost make a huge mistake by not unplugging the setup mic. then trying to play a DVD, "hmmm, no sound, I know I'll crank the volume up a little, i.e max., still no sound, bear in mind that I had to get it running before the wife got home, anyway, I did turn down the volume before realizing my mistake and all is well apart from the fact that my motorola stb,3416 I think , doesn't support HDMI repeaters so that's back to component for now.

BTW, anyone else had remote problems? The HK remote won't adjust the volume, no great problem since I'm using a harmony but was a little annoying.
thelemming47 is offline  
post #100 of 5256 Old 07-21-2007, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
thelemming47 - make sure you press the AVR button on the 247 remote before you adjust the volume. It is a universal remote and it thinks you are controlling some other component. Weird huh!
bommai is offline  
post #101 of 5256 Old 07-21-2007, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam1000 View Post

Bommai:
Did you have to change the sampling rate when you had 247? That would be disappointing. I got my PS3 couple of days ago and I can not use it because of home remodeling project for a month
One of the reason I bought PS3 was to play SACD. If I have to change the sampling rate, I would be sad.
To the OP, did you contact HK support for this??

To be honest, I don't remember. It was back in March and my memory is fading!! I don't think I had to but I am not sure. With the H/K 745, the auto HDMI setup in PS3 does not even select the 176.4kHz 5.1 channel. It does however select 176.4kHz for 2 channel. I played my SACDs using 88.2kHz and they sound great. I manually selected the 176.4kHz 5.1 channel on the PS3 and tried an SACD, the 745 actually played it fine but once in a while I would have a little glitch (almost like the bitrate could not keep up) but then it was only momentary.

H/K advertised only 24 bit 96kHz for the 645 and 745. However, they advertised 192kHz for the 247/347, so I recommend contacting H/K support. Also, have you guys tried different HDMI cables.

Finally, to my ears, the 88.2kHz vs 176.4kHz did not make a difference.
bommai is offline  
post #102 of 5256 Old 07-25-2007, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Travis M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Renton, Wa
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't get the AVR 347 to pass 1080p/24 to my TV. Bug perhaps? Bommai, do you have a contact you can ask about this to?

I just talked to a rep at HK. We are going to work on this issue. We'll see where the problem lies soon enough.

I have a website, but apparently I can't put it here. WTF?
Travis M is offline  
post #103 of 5256 Old 07-25-2007, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
atlienzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: KCMO
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the HK247 yesterday and am having a video issue.

I have just one HDMI cable going to my TV from the HDMI out from the receiver. I have a comcast motorala HD DVR box hooked via DVI-HDMI to the back of the receiver. When I try to watch my cable programming it flashes colors at me and tells me I have to hook it up via component cables? What gives?

360 GT = Atlienzz
PS3 GT = Atlienzz1979
atlienzz is offline  
post #104 of 5256 Old 07-25-2007, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Cable boxes and HDMI/DVI seem to be a real thorny issue. There are all kinds of questions similar to this in every receivers discussions.

The bottom line is that the cable box mfgs did a pee poor job of implementing HDMI and DVI.

That said. If you take component video from your cable box to the 247, you can output 720p from the 247 to the TV. And with all the compression and stuff the cable guys do, 720p will be much more than good enough. Add either a coax or optical digital cable for sound and you should be good to go.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #105 of 5256 Old 07-25-2007, 10:17 AM
Senior Member
 
atlienzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: KCMO
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So basically if I hook it up via component, the receiver will output the component signal from my cable box via HDMI to my TV? That would be a relief. I have absolutely no problems with my audio, and I must say the sound of the 247 absolutely blows away any amp I've ever owned.

360 GT = Atlienzz
PS3 GT = Atlienzz1979
atlienzz is offline  
post #106 of 5256 Old 07-25-2007, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yes, that's right. BUT change the output resolution of your cable box to 720p first. It may not make a difference on your particular box, but with my Sat receiver it sure did. It just would not let me change the output resolution from 1080i to 720p (or anything else), while connected to the component ins on the 247.

I did a quick hdmi hookup to the TV, changed the output res and then changed the connection back to component in to the 247. Voila` great 720p picture via HDMI to the TV.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #107 of 5256 Old 07-25-2007, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
atlienzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: KCMO
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great, thanks for the quick replies!

360 GT = Atlienzz
PS3 GT = Atlienzz1979
atlienzz is offline  
post #108 of 5256 Old 07-25-2007, 10:44 AM
Member
 
Polish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This likely a silly question but does the 247 have built in cross overs?

For instance when playing a movie it automatically high passes the main speakers only lets low pass through the LFE output?

If so are they adjustable.

I ask because the main speakers I may get are not capable of dealing with low frequencys and the amp for my Sub will not have a built in crossover. So the receiver will have to do it all.

Corey
Polish is offline  
post #109 of 5256 Old 07-25-2007, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yes, crossovers are there. In fact, the EZsetEQ setup routine will set them for you. Most reports are that the EZsetEQ setup works fine for the crossover, and that was my experience also.

You can also do it manually.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #110 of 5256 Old 07-25-2007, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Polish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome, thats what I wanted to hear.

However just spoke with my supplier they have none in stock. They have to order them and it takes 10 days. Ugh...

Of course they have a 347 in stock but it's $195.00 more.

Corey
Polish is offline  
post #111 of 5256 Old 07-25-2007, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
atlienzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: KCMO
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anybody recommend some good speakers that will work well with the 247? I currently have some floor standing KLH's with 15' subwoofers that used to sound good with my sony amp, but with this HK I believe my sound is being held back due to these cruddy cheap speakers. If I remember I only payed about 100 or 150 per speaker a few years back.

I have a sony center channel and sony surrounds as well. Currently I do not have a separate sub. So, seeing as how I think this amp sounds good on these cruddy speakers, I can't imagine how good this amp would sound with decent speakers with a separate sub for true 5.1 or 7.1 surround.

I would like to stay under $1000, and at this time, my room would not suit surround backs, so 5.1 is all I need.

Any recommendations? I realize I'm limited at this price range and I'm willing to wait on the powered sub since I don't even have one now and save up for that. I'm thinking about saving up for one of the nicer velodyne or HSU powered subs.

So should I buy the sub first and then save for the rest of the speakers? Or vice versa. Any recommendations would be appreciated.

360 GT = Atlienzz
PS3 GT = Atlienzz1979
atlienzz is offline  
post #112 of 5256 Old 07-25-2007, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Here's my setup, keep in mind I only use this for TV/Movie watching/listening.

Cerwin-Vega VE Series bookshelf speakers (3 pair)
Cerwin-Vega VE Series Center (1)
Velodyne VRP-1200 Subwoofer

My room is 12x20x8, hard walls. I think the sound is wonderful for the purpose I bought these for. Total cost including the sub was a bit over $600.

I also considered the Venue line from JBL but my preferred supplier couldn't get me the ones I wanted in a reasonable timeframe. Also, HK has speakers and since they own JBL, you can guess who manufactures them...

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #113 of 5256 Old 07-25-2007, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Get the X-series from Onix. http://www.**********/products_catego...akers&brand=55

These got a rating of 99 from Home Theater magazine. It is very very rare for any product to get a 99.

Make sure the fronts and center are the same brands and have similar sonic characteristics. This is very important.
bommai is offline  
post #114 of 5256 Old 07-26-2007, 08:05 AM
Member
 
Polish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I ordered the 247 today. It will be here August 10th.

I could have got it sooner but I would have had to pay retail, so I'll wait.

Hopefully by then I can have an HDDVD Player and new TV as well.

Corey
Polish is offline  
post #115 of 5256 Old 07-27-2007, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
eightninesuited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to let you guys know, I returned my 247. It sounded good and didn't give me much problem but I'm trying to set up a 7.1 system, something that I can't do with the 247 as it won't accept 7.1 PCM.

Even though it was past the 30 day return, my dealer let me trade it in for a open box Yamaha 6060 that was in new condition (and gave me the difference I paid).

I am aware of a possible 7.1 update but I'm not waiting.

No animals were harmed in the creation of this sentence.
eightninesuited is offline  
post #116 of 5256 Old 07-27-2007, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
stsrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I set up using a 247, the output of an HD DVD player HDMI to HDMI input and output to component?
My projector is set up component from the 247 and is physically impossible to rewire with an HDMI hookup.
So can I go from HDMI in to component out
I'm sure this has been asked before but I haven't been able to find the answer.
stsrep is offline  
post #117 of 5256 Old 07-27-2007, 10:38 AM
Member
 
Polish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It says it's a 7.1 receiver though? Thats odd. Is it a certain format of 7.1 you are talking about? I am trying to catch up on new technology, I've been out of the game for many years now.

Corey
Polish is offline  
post #118 of 5256 Old 07-27-2007, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The limit of the HK 247/347 for 7.1 LPCM is via the 6/8 multi=channel analog inputs. You can't get it via HDMI. I have been assured that a firmware upgrade is coming to fix that issue, but no timeframe.

Because of my dawdling around, I ended up with both the AVR247 and Yamaha RX-V661, so I am making use of the flexibility that gives me until/unless someone comes along wanting to buy the Yamaha.

I'm taking HDMI from by BluRay player to the Yammy, then using the 8 channel pre-outs to the 6/8 channel inputs on the HK. That way I am getting 7.1 LPCM and can layer over 5.1 LPCM because the Yammy is now a pre-processor. Works quite well too.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #119 of 5256 Old 07-27-2007, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
eightninesuited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lparsons, can you highlight what the sound differences are between the 661 and the 247? I haven't gotten around to setting mine up yet (have to go to work).

Also, do you feel the surround modes on the Yamaha are superior to the 247 or does it even matter?

No animals were harmed in the creation of this sentence.
eightninesuited is offline  
post #120 of 5256 Old 07-27-2007, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by eightninesuited View Post

Lparsons, can you highlight what the sound differences are between the 661 and the 247? I haven't gotten around to setting mine up yet (have to go to work).

Also, do you feel the surround modes on the Yamaha are superior to the 247 or does it even matter?

The Yamaha is a crisper sound to me. Very good and clear.

The HK is a fuller, sweeter sound. I like it better and it has been said that it is because of the emphasis on mid-bass, mid-range that this is the case. I don't pretend to know why, I just know that I prefer it.

As to all the different sound modes on the Yamaha, they are excellent and Yamaha is a leader in this. But I found that after playing around a bit with them, I ended up doing only layering of Dolby IIx over 5.1 LPCM. I don't even do that on many discs because the purity of many 5.1 LPCM tracks is just so much better than with the addition of the 2 back tracks matrixed out (basically faking it!).

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off