Harman Kardon AVR 247 & 347 discussion thread. - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 5256 Old 08-07-2007, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MLKstudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by freejak13 View Post

Can anyone suggest the best way to get sound out to my tv from the 247? I had to throw out my old advent speakers since the foam around the woofers rotted away (pair of energy rc-10's on the way). I don't think the 247 passes audio through the hdmi out. Tried connecting rca cables to the pre-amp front LR jacks to the tv but got nothing. Any ideas?

The pre-outs will be regulated by the receiver's volume control. You could also try using the tape monitor outs which bypass the volume control.
MLKstudios is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 5256 Old 08-07-2007, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
freejak13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLKstudios View Post

The pre-outs will be regulated by the receiver's volume control. You could also try using the tape monitor outs which bypass the volume control.

thanks. will give that a shot.
freejak13 is offline  
post #183 of 5256 Old 08-07-2007, 01:22 PM
Member
 
destrekor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
got a little bit of a problem here...

when using my ps3 connected by hdmi, playing a game (and I think its a problem with movies, will check on that later), the sub is not used. At least, let me describe this:
I have the sub on the OSD set as 'Sub(LFE)', and my speakers as large, and the crossover at 40hz for the front (as high as 80hz on my rears). When I leave the settings like that, I get no sub usage during playback from the PS3, yet I do if I use the CD input (that is hooked up to my computer as the moment for mp3 playback, and I set 5ch stereo mode when listening to my mp3's).
I can get the sub to engage if I change the sub setting to 'Sub(L/R + LFE)', however I am worried that means the low-frequency effects that should be going to my fronts are now only going to my sub. I don't want large towers if they aren't going to be fully utilized. Is that what is happening? Or, is all the spectrum that is supposed to be played on the towers still getting played, just rather the lower bass effects are being sent to both the towers and the sub?

anyone got an idea of what I should do to fix this, if it even needs fixed?
Thanks

btw: its an AVR-247, with a Paradigm PDR-10 hooked up to it, if that were to matter at all
destrekor is offline  
post #184 of 5256 Old 08-08-2007, 08:49 AM
Newbie
 
scarey1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And lastly on the 347 and 247 I believe...

You can use ALL the inputs, optical and/or coaxial. None share anything with each other... so, you could use all the optical and all the coaxial at the same time if you like. That was my last question to myself on these 2...lol
scarey1 is offline  
post #185 of 5256 Old 08-08-2007, 09:08 AM
Member
 
kevHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
finally, i got my 247.. can't wait to set it up my speakers are on its way.
kevHD is offline  
post #186 of 5256 Old 08-08-2007, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Travis M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Renton, Wa
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bommai,

It wouldn't let me switch to the different modes. It strictly stayed dobly digital so it never let me change to logic 7.

I have a website, but apparently I can't put it here. WTF?
Travis M is offline  
post #187 of 5256 Old 08-08-2007, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by destrekor View Post

got a little bit of a problem here...

when using my ps3 connected by hdmi, playing a game (and I think its a problem with movies, will check on that later), the sub is not used. At least, let me describe this:
I have the sub on the OSD set as 'Sub(LFE)', and my speakers as large, and the crossover at 40hz for the front (as high as 80hz on my rears). When I leave the settings like that, I get no sub usage during playback from the PS3, yet I do if I use the CD input (that is hooked up to my computer as the moment for mp3 playback, and I set 5ch stereo mode when listening to my mp3's).
I can get the sub to engage if I change the sub setting to 'Sub(L/R + LFE)', however I am worried that means the low-frequency effects that should be going to my fronts are now only going to my sub. I don't want large towers if they aren't going to be fully utilized. Is that what is happening? Or, is all the spectrum that is supposed to be played on the towers still getting played, just rather the lower bass effects are being sent to both the towers and the sub?

anyone got an idea of what I should do to fix this, if it even needs fixed?
Thanks

btw: its an AVR-247, with a Paradigm PDR-10 hooked up to it, if that were to matter at all

It isn't a problem and doesn't need fixed unless it doesn't sound right to you.

I would think that the best way, with 'large' speakers is to set the sub as (l/r + LFE) and adjust the crossover manually so only the very low (say 80hz) and below go to the sub and everything else goes to your other speakers. Yes, your big speakers wouldn't be getting it all, but then how efficient would they be compared to your sub at 80hz and below?

Alternatively, you could test setting the speakers as 'small' w/the sub @LFE only and see how that sounds. It might just be a better setting. Remember, it isn't the techie stuff, it is the SOUND!!

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #188 of 5256 Old 08-08-2007, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travis M View Post

Bommai,

It wouldn't let me switch to the different modes. It strictly stayed dobly digital so it never let me change to logic 7.

There seems to be some quirkyness to DD and Logic 7. Some things that indicate DD will let me change to Logic 7 and others won't. I have no clue why.

One thing I've noticed with Logic 7 is that the bass isn't as strong as when using DD 5.1 w/IIx layered in.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #189 of 5256 Old 08-08-2007, 10:59 PM
Member
 
destrekor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post

It isn't a problem and doesn't need fixed unless it doesn't sound right to you.

I would think that the best way, with 'large' speakers is to set the sub as (l/r + LFE) and adjust the crossover manually so only the very low (say 80hz) and below go to the sub and everything else goes to your other speakers. Yes, your big speakers wouldn't be getting it all, but then how efficient would they be compared to your sub at 80hz and below?

Alternatively, you could test setting the speakers as 'small' w/the sub @LFE only and see how that sounds. It might just be a better setting. Remember, it isn't the techie stuff, it is the SOUND!!

the techie stuff drives the quality of the sound
more room filling low-frequencies = better, at least to my eyes. I love deep sounds.

also, the fact that it isn't a problem, except for HDMI, means something is wrong somewhere. I suspect a setting change, but I am not sure what it wouldn't even be.
destrekor is offline  
post #190 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 07:20 AM
Member
 
NCStateFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why does the HK 247 & 347 seem to have such low Surround Power Ratings (50w x 7 and 55w x 7 respectively)? Other similarly priced receivers such as the Marantz SR4001, Denon AVR887, etc... have much higher surround power ratings.
NCStateFan is offline  
post #191 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travis M View Post

Bommai,

It wouldn't let me switch to the different modes. It strictly stayed dobly digital so it never let me change to logic 7.

Hmm. That's weird. Do you have a 5.1 setup or 7.1 setup? Also, were you providing a Dolby Digital 5.1 signal while you were trying to change the sound mode to Logic 7. Also, in the OSD, is there a screen may be called "Surround Setup" where you turn on Logic 7 Global. Is this set to ON?
bommai is offline  
post #192 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCStateFan View Post

Why does the HK 247 & 347 seem to have such low Surround Power Ratings (50w x 7 and 55w x 7 respectively)? Other similarly priced receivers such as the Marantz SR4001, Denon AVR887, etc... have much higher surround power ratings.


Because there is more to a quality amp than just Watts.
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #193 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 10:09 AM
Member
 
kevHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1) if I use a component out from my DVD/cable tv DVR to avr247 for the video, does the avr247 passes the 1080i/1080p video to the hdmi out going to the TV? i use fiber optic for the audio from dvd/cable dvr to avr247.

2) if i use hdmi from DVD/cable tv DVR going to the avr247, will the avr247 pass through the 1080i/1080p video to hdmi out going to the tv?

thanks.
kevHD is offline  
post #194 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 10:29 AM
Member
 
NCStateFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post

Because there is more to a quality amp than just Watts.

Thanks but if you or someone else could provide more information / details that would be great. I'm concerned that the HK 247&347 won't be able to drive my 5.1 setup as good as some of these others with roughly 2x the power ratings.
NCStateFan is offline  
post #195 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 10:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Travis M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Renton, Wa
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCStateFan View Post

Why does the HK 247 & 347 seem to have such low Surround Power Ratings (50w x 7 and 55w x 7 respectively)? Other similarly priced receivers such as the Marantz SR4001, Denon AVR887, etc... have much higher surround power ratings.

HK uses all channels driven at the same time. Other companies don't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bommai View Post

Hmm. That's weird. Do you have a 5.1 setup or 7.1 setup? Also, were you providing a Dolby Digital 5.1 signal while you were trying to change the sound mode to Logic 7. Also, in the OSD, is there a screen may be called "Surround Setup" where you turn on Logic 7 Global. Is this set to ON?

I have 5.1. I tried it both ways for the default setup. Perhaps it's different on the 745?
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevhd View Post

1) if I use a component out from my DVD/cable tv DVR to avr247 for the video, does the avr247 passes the 1080i/1080p video to the hdmi out going to the TV? i use fiber optic for the audio from dvd/cable dvr to avr247.

2) if i use hdmi from DVD/cable tv DVR going to the avr247, will the avr247 pass through the 1080i/1080p video to hdmi out going to the tv?

thanks.

1. No
2. Yes

I have a website, but apparently I can't put it here. WTF?
Travis M is offline  
post #196 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 10:56 AM
Member
 
kevHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travis M View Post

HK uses all channels driven at the same time. Other companies don't.



I have 5.1. I tried it both ways for the default setup. Perhaps it's different on the 745?

1. No
2. Yes



Thanks, Travis M!

So, I would need to use hdmi cables from cable/dvd to avr247 and hdmi to tv and don't need anymore fiber optic cable for audio?
kevHD is offline  
post #197 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Megalith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does anyone know if the 247 is going on sale any time soon at BB?

Just got a 12% coupon in the mail...
Megalith is offline  
post #198 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Travis M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Renton, Wa
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kevin,

You got it. That's exactly the way I have mine at home.

I have a website, but apparently I can't put it here. WTF?
Travis M is offline  
post #199 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevHD View Post

Thanks, Travis M!

So, I would need to use hdmi cables from cable/dvd to avr247 and hdmi to tv and don't need anymore fiber optic cable for audio?

Yes.
bommai is offline  
post #200 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCStateFan View Post

Thanks but if you or someone else could provide more information / details that would be great. I'm concerned that the HK 247&347 won't be able to drive my 5.1 setup as good as some of these others with roughly 2x the power ratings.

Even if you assume twice the power is true, that means that the amp with twice the power will be able to drive your speakers louder by just 3 dB. dB is in a log scale. If you have efficient speakers (89db/W/meter and above), the 247 will drive these with ease. The best thing to do is to get it to your room and crank it up!!!
bommai is offline  
post #201 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 03:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Drewbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megalith View Post

Does anyone know if the 247 is going on sale any time soon at BB?

Just got a 12% coupon in the mail...

That coupon is for reg priced items anyway, so use it when you want.

Drew
Drewbert is offline  
post #202 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ahartig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 1,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by destrekor View Post

got a little bit of a problem here...

when using my ps3 connected by hdmi, playing a game (and I think its a problem with movies, will check on that later), the sub is not used. At least, let me describe this:
I have the sub on the OSD set as 'Sub(LFE)', and my speakers as large, and the crossover at 40hz for the front (as high as 80hz on my rears). When I leave the settings like that, I get no sub usage during playback from the PS3, yet I do if I use the CD input (that is hooked up to my computer as the moment for mp3 playback, and I set 5ch stereo mode when listening to my mp3's).
I can get the sub to engage if I change the sub setting to 'Sub(L/R + LFE)', however I am worried that means the low-frequency effects that should be going to my fronts are now only going to my sub. I don't want large towers if they aren't going to be fully utilized. Is that what is happening? Or, is all the spectrum that is supposed to be played on the towers still getting played, just rather the lower bass effects are being sent to both the towers and the sub?

anyone got an idea of what I should do to fix this, if it even needs fixed?
Thanks

btw: its an AVR-247, with a Paradigm PDR-10 hooked up to it, if that were to matter at all




Dont ever set your speakers to large, I have paradigm towers with built in powered subs and still set them to small. Just lower the crossover on your fronts to around 40 hz after you have set them to small, that way your towers still get lower frequencies, but all the LFE from the .1 channel is sent to the sub. The crossover is pointless when you set the tower speakers to large, setting them to large sends the towers the full range......

XBOX Live ID: HONDEboyMAN
PSN ID: ahartig
ahartig is offline  
post #203 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Insomniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: KS
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travis M View Post

HK uses all channels driven at the same time. Other companies don't.

Does that mean the watts per channel would be higher if you were only driving a 3.1 setup?
Insomniac is offline  
post #204 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
darthrsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Post America America
Posts: 8,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post

Because there is more to a quality amp than just Watts.

Totally agree, my HK is "underpowered" compared to my Pioneer but sounds and feels WAY better. It just sounds awesome in comparison.
darthrsg is online now  
post #205 of 5256 Old 08-09-2007, 10:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Version's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCStateFan View Post

Thanks but if you or someone else could provide more information / details that would be great. I'm concerned that the HK 247&347 won't be able to drive my 5.1 setup as good as some of these others with roughly 2x the power ratings.

As stated by several others. HK rates their amps very differently than almost everyone else. Truth is, they are simply more truthful about it.

I highly doubt there is anything under a grand that can actually drive 100w across 7 channels. HK rates their amps at all channels driven at consistent output. Most other manufacturers rate at one channel driven at peak output times the number of channels.

Pick up an HK and put it in your system for a demo I think you'll be pleasantly surprised at the comparable power.

Note: With the more mellow sound and lower THD of the HKs you may actually find that the volume doesn't "seem" as loud. That's sometimes just because it's easier to listen to. Try talking over it and you might be surprised at how loud an "underpowered" amp can be.
Version is offline  
post #206 of 5256 Old 08-10-2007, 05:15 AM
Member
 
NCStateFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the responses, very helpful.
NCStateFan is offline  
post #207 of 5256 Old 08-10-2007, 07:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Drewbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh and notice that when they rate their power its not at a certain frequency.... compared to others who rate them certain hz ranges....
If you look at the specs that BB has, that is why they are higher than what you find from HK. But both values are in the manual.

Drew
Drewbert is offline  
post #208 of 5256 Old 08-10-2007, 08:30 AM
Member
 
manscott57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all,
Totally new here, and just got my avr 247. I hope you can help me with 2 problems. First, using ezset, it cycles through all the speakers (set in 5.1 mode) till it gets to the sub, the sub hits one short tone, and then it just seems to sit there. The OSD says it's still trying to set the sub but nothing happens and I have to cancel. Second, the unit has started suddenly having no sound. While listening, it will be fine then suddenly like I've pressed the mute button. Shutting it off and back on seems to fix this normally. Could this be a heat issue? I thought the whole receiver would shut down if it was a heat issue.
Thanks for the help.
manscott57 is offline  
post #209 of 5256 Old 08-10-2007, 09:01 AM
Member
 
kevHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by manscott57 View Post

Hey all,
Totally new here, and just got my avr 247. I hope you can help me with 2 problems. First, using ezset, it cycles through all the speakers (set in 5.1 mode) till it gets to the sub, the sub hits one short tone, and then it just seems to sit there. The OSD says it's still trying to set the sub but nothing happens and I have to cancel. Second, the unit has started suddenly having no sound. While listening, it will be fine then suddenly like I've pressed the mute button. Shutting it off and back on seems to fix this normally. Could this be a heat issue? I thought the whole receiver would shut down if it was a heat issue.
Thanks for the help.


what speakers and subw do you use?
kevHD is offline  
post #210 of 5256 Old 08-10-2007, 10:18 AM
Member
 
heinz256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would anyone recommend the avr 247 with a sammy ln-t4665f lcd? Also, what are some good speakers to matchup with this receiver? Thanks.
heinz256 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off