Are either of these recievers really bad? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 07-17-2007, 01:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello.
We are getting a new HT setup by some company and I went to talk to the guy a couple days ago (I am not a expert on HT--hence I come here). I was just updating some of the units since we talked to him 8 months ago to get a estimate...and now that its time to order some of the things, I wanted to get some newer tech.

Anyways, I wanted something with HDMI for sure, and the ones they currently had where the:
Yamamha RXV861B
and the
Integra DTR 7.8
Both of these are roughly the same price ($1000). Which one of the two would you get? I think I might be order some other recievers if you can supply me with some model numbers (wanting to keep around the same price). But first are any of these recievers really bad?

I think each comes with 3 HDMI spots, I was wondering in the future if I needed more would I have to get a new reciever or if I could buy some that splits a signal or something like that (Sat. TV, Projector, Video Game, is all I am using for HDMI now, not sure what I might need later on)

-------------------------------------------------
Thats the actual reciever question. I also had a question about projectors, I am not sure how much you guys know about that in the reciever section, but if you could answer I would appreciate it, if not, I will post on the projector area instead.

Also, what type of projector should I get? We are getting a PS3 for bluray...and naturally 1080p would be ideal to display the full quality of the dvds.