"The" Onkyo TX-SR875 Thread - Page 203 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6061 of 6067 Old 02-26-2015, 01:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
has anyone ever tryed using the 4X I2S PCM/DSD audio stream inputs thats on the 10pin connector going from the HDMI board NAHDM-9114 to the DSP board NADSP-9072 ?
the 10 pin connector has the following names for each connection,

1. HDSPDIR (i think this is the digital S/PDIF from the SIL9135 an also go's to SIL9134)
2. GNDHD Ground
3. PCMLR/DSDFL (I2S data for main Left & Right/DSD front Left
4. PCMBCK/DSDCLK (I2S/DSD Clock Signal)
5. PCMLRCK/DSDFR (I2S LR Clock/DSD front Right)
6. PCMCSW/DSDSW (I2S Center+Sub/DSDsub
7. hdmi clk
8. hdmi rst (go's high to reset the hdmi mpu ?)
9. vsp rst
10. CEC IO (CEC in/out data ?)
11. vsp rxd/vsp scl
12. vsp txd/ vsp sda
13. hdmi stb
14 rx mute (think this go's high to mute the audio I2S input stream i am trying to get working from hdmi board ?)
15. hdmi sdi

now can anyone help me please ? what signal's out of them 15 do i need to work out in order to get the I2S buses working please, any ideas ?

if only we could get the 4X I2S and DSD audio input bus's working the TX-SR875 would be one hell of a DIY project

it look's possible to mod the power supply's to,

the DAC board from separate highly regulated pure noise free power source along with analog input board

it seem's there's also 3 separate secondary winding's on the transformer for the power output stage but they each pass through a rectifying diode then coupled all all together but could split that up using extra filtering cap's then change how the powe output stage is powered, may be split it up like 2 of the winding's powering 2 channel's each then the other powering 3

the DSP board also has what i think is a JTag connection so may be possible to try and work with the 3 DSP chip's and re-program them as digital Xovers then you could use the amp as a 3 way stereo amp leaving a channel for sub making a basic 4 way with stereo top/mid/bass an shared mono sub channel's plus loads of other possibilities there for future development if only we can sort this I2S bus out first
as the Onkyo TX-SR875's with the HDMI problem are really cheap and a grate could be a really good DIY Gold Mine if its possible to activate the I2S and DSD bus coming from that hdmi board

ps, i have a raspi could i try to get the i2s bus working with that by any chance pls or is there any cheap usb to 4X i2s/6 ch dsd or anything thats really cheap and easy to get hold of here in the uk to start trying things out please ?

im also waiting for a single trace Oscilloscope i got cheap off ebay locally along with other stuff im slowly getting together for my new hobby, DIY Audio so expect to see knocking about on this forum more and moe as time go's on

please any help at all

thanks
paulflan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6062 of 6067 Old 03-19-2015, 02:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Picture seems better bypassing 875

Hi, I'm a new member and need some advice. My left front speaker no longer works, have checked everything and there is definitely no output from the amp.

Anyway, I've plugged my blueray (Sony PS2) directly into my tv via HDMI so I can put the 875 in to be updated and fixed, and have noticed the picture is much better than when it was previously running through the TX-SR875. Is this normal? The PS2 has no real video output settings so don't know the reason why.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Johno1972 is offline  
post #6063 of 6067 Old 06-02-2015, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tspeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johno1972 View Post
Hi, I'm a new member and need some advice. My left front speaker no longer works, have checked everything and there is definitely no output from the amp.

Anyway, I've plugged my blueray (Sony PS2) directly into my tv via HDMI so I can put the 875 in to be updated and fixed, and have noticed the picture is much better than when it was previously running through the TX-SR875. Is this normal? The PS2 has no real video output settings so don't know the reason why.

Thanks in advance for your help.
It sounds like the upconversion on the Onkyo might be set to output at 720p or 480p, or perhaps the output from the ps3 was set to 720p before, and it now at 1080p. It's also possible that the tv has a better upconverter, but that shouldn't matter if the output is 1080 to start with. Just check the video settings all through the chain, starting at the player. You can disable all upconversion in the onkyo as well and compare.

I Bet You Wish You Could! - Roger Wilco

Directions for updating your Onkyo xx5 receivers firmware. **Newly updated 7-22-2009**Re-uploaded 2-23-2015**

Something from damninteresting.com
Tspeer is online now  
post #6064 of 6067 Old 08-30-2015, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scsiraid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tspeer, what firmware versions are represented in your iso image (and in which folder)? Im trying to locate version 1.05. I currently have 1.07 installed and am having the ee2prom error after loss of power. Ive tried the full reset followed by save settings but the store 'fails'. Would greatly appreciate any pointers to firmware 1.05 or any ideas as to how to fix the ee2prom error.

**** EDIT - Well, Ive answered my own question. The iso contains 1.04 and 1.07. I can go back to 1.04 and get rid of the e2prom error but the audio resync is soooo slow I hate it.

I really need to get version 1.05. As I recall, it sped up the audio resync.... Else I just need a new receiver.

Thanks, Don

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tspeer View Post
It sounds like the upconversion on the Onkyo might be set to output at 720p or 480p, or perhaps the output from the ps3 was set to 720p before, and it now at 1080p. It's also possible that the tv has a better upconverter, but that shouldn't matter if the output is 1080 to start with. Just check the video settings all through the chain, starting at the player. You can disable all upconversion in the onkyo as well and compare.

Last edited by scsiraid; 08-30-2015 at 05:21 PM.
scsiraid is offline  
post #6065 of 6067 Old 08-30-2015, 08:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tspeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The ISO has 1.04 and 1.08. I've never found 1.05, and I believe there was a 1.09 as well. But getting to 1.08 fixes all the major bugs.

The ee2prom error we suspect means a bad part in the system. There are a few things to try. There is a text file in the ISO that is a clip from some ancient forum post, this might help you:

Quote:
After the main unit firmware update, you get a COMPLETE message on the display, then CLEAR appears and then the unit goes into standby. I found that this doesn't completely clear the receiver, I found that network settings & internet radio stations remain intact after a firmware update... so the next thing to do is a full factory reset:

Press and hold the "VCR/DVR" button on the front panel down and then press the "Standby/On" button. This clears EVERYTHING!

Next, On the front panel, press and hold the "Setup" button and press the "Enter" button. "Setup Store ?" will appear on the display. While still holding down the "Setup" button, press the "Enter" button again. You will then see "Setup Storing" on the display. I found this was the magical step that made the dreaded E2PROM ERROR go away.

Until I completed the Setup Store, virtually every time I pulled the plug on the receiver, I would get an E2PROM ERROR message upon restoration of power and my settings would vanish.
I found this only needed to be done once, right after the full factory reset. Even after changing settings on the receiver, it would still remember what I had changed, even if I didn't do the "Setup Store ?" procedure afterwards.
My theory is that the "Setup Store" somehow formats the E2PROM memory to the requirements of the newly flashed firmware.
If you haven't downloaded the ISO yet, I would. I keep having to re-upload it every year or so... the freebie file hosting sites delete files after so long apparently. If the above works for you, you might want to just get it to 1.08. After flashing it to 1.08, follow the above steps to do the full resets and then the setup store step.

I Bet You Wish You Could! - Roger Wilco

Directions for updating your Onkyo xx5 receivers firmware. **Newly updated 7-22-2009**Re-uploaded 2-23-2015**

Something from damninteresting.com

Last edited by Tspeer; 08-30-2015 at 08:44 PM.
Tspeer is online now  
post #6066 of 6067 Old Yesterday, 06:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scsiraid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks... I had already tried the full reset and 'save' steps. The store settings step 'fails'. With 1.04 the e2prom error goes away but the store settings still fails.

I have downloaded the iso. I found 1.04 and 1.07... not 1.08. Ill dig around some more and see if I can find it. Would you recall where in the structure it is?

Thanks!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tspeer View Post
The ISO has 1.04 and 1.08. I've never found 1.05, and I believe there was a 1.09 as well. But getting to 1.08 fixes all the major bugs.

The ee2prom error we suspect means a bad part in the system. There are a few things to try. There is a text file in the ISO that is a clip from some ancient forum post, this might help you:



If you haven't downloaded the ISO yet, I would. I keep having to re-upload it every year or so... the freebie file hosting sites delete files after so long apparently. If the above works for you, you might want to just get it to 1.08. After flashing it to 1.08, follow the above steps to do the full resets and then the setup store step.
scsiraid is offline  
post #6067 of 6067 Old Today, 04:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tspeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's right in the TX-SR875 Folder in the ISO. You can unzip it, or burn the image to cd using imgburn (its free just google it).

From the sounds of it, since the setup-store fails, there's likely a defective component in the unit. The only way to really get around it will be to take it an authorized service center. If you happen to live in a big city that has one, it might be worth doing. If you will have to ship it in, the shipping costs might push the repair cost over the line of being worth it.

I Bet You Wish You Could! - Roger Wilco

Directions for updating your Onkyo xx5 receivers firmware. **Newly updated 7-22-2009**Re-uploaded 2-23-2015**

Something from damninteresting.com
Tspeer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off