"The" Onkyo TX-SR875 Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
ryarber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by svalley View Post

OK, I set the XBOX360 output to 1080p, and the 875 did "NOT" pass it to my TV.
When I set XBOX360 1080p, I have a blank screen, oucch, not good.

I look thru the OSD again, and there is nothing to tweak the Reon. The only video
stuff I didn't mentioned before is I can en/disable xvYCC.
I tried to enter "hidden menu" by pressing Power and AUX at the same time, but
nothing happened, it either power on or power down my 875. There are 2 AUX (AUX1
and AUX2) buttons, I tired both.

I am still having problem with HDMI handshaking, both the HDA1 and Directv HR20.
I tried to power cycle all 3 units (875, HDA1, and HR20), but 875 always display no
signal. The only fix I know is turn on my PS3, might be a HDMI1.3a problem with 875?

To my "eyes" the SD DVD does look better with 875, but SD TV is hit and miss. See attached
DVD pictures, and next one for SD TV pics. DVD is played from HDA1 set to 480p out,
and SD TV is 480i

Did you hold down the AUX and then press power or did you just try to press them simultaneously?
ryarber is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
ryarber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

Film and video detection with appropriate deinterlace would be "automatic" on the Onkyo. There wouldn't be an option for it.

But, wouldn't you need to tell the Reon that it can output at 24p if you have a 120Hz set? Wouldn't it just apply a 3:2 pulldown by default if it didn't know your set was capable of showing 24p without applying the appropriate cadence? Forgive my ignorance, I'm still learning.
ryarber is offline  
post #93 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
svalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBRhee View Post

Svalley, can you please post a picture of the receiver from the front with it powered on?

Here you go.
LL
LL
svalley is offline  
post #94 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
eulogytool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will someone please explain to the layman what HDMI "handshaking" is?
eulogytool is offline  
post #95 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stangs55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Are your issues outputting the 1080p from your 360 via HDMI or component?

XBOX - Hyperplasia | PS4 - Hyperplasia
Stangs55 is offline  
post #96 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
svalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryarber View Post

Did you hold down the AUX and then press power or did you just try to press them simultaneously?

OK, this is what I needed to do "hold down the AUX1 and then press power"
and a hidden manu did came out.













No OSD, just 1 field on the AVR, Deep Color: Yes or no. That all.
svalley is offline  
post #97 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
ryarber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eulogytool View Post

Will someone please explain to the layman what HDMI "handshaking" is?

Did you ever have a modem that you used to dial in to an internet service provider? You remember the annoying sounds that your modem would make before you could log on to the internet? That was a handshake between modems.

Basically before the data can be transmitted, both of the devices have to communicate with each other and establish the criteria they will use to communicate. If there is a conflict between the devices, further communication will be impaired or even impossible.
ryarber is offline  
post #98 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 06:05 PM
Senior Member
 
ryarber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by svalley View Post

OK, this is what I needed to do "hold down the AUX1 and then press power"
and a hidden manu did came out.

No OSD, just 1 field on the AVR, Deep Color: Yes or no. That all.

Bummer.
ryarber is offline  
post #99 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
svalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stangs55 View Post

Are your issues outputting the 1080p from your 360 via HDMI or component?

Component.


I think you asked about 1080p down convert this morning, I just tried it and
it didn't work.

Set 875 HDMI out to 720p, source 480i/p, 720p, 1080i, my DLP display 720p as expected.
Send Bluray video 1080p, my DLP recieved 1080p from 875, so 875 pass thru
1080p signal even I set it to output 720p
svalley is offline  
post #100 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
ryarber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by svalley View Post

OK, this is what I needed to do "hold down the AUX1 and then press power"
and a hidden manu did came out.

No OSD, just 1 field on the AVR, Deep Color: Yes or no. That all.

When you go to the hidden menu, can you pop down the face plate and try using the buttons there to see if it will allow you to scroll to other selections?
ryarber is offline  
post #101 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dildatonr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dutchess County NY
Posts: 1,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A slight b ummer but I'm holding out for some actual bench tests of what we do get with the reon in the 875 - before I jump back on the Denon ship.
dildatonr is offline  
post #102 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 06:59 PM
Member
 
California Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello svalley. Just wanted to say congratz on your purchase.
May it bring you days of non stop questions and years of non stop pleasure.

Thanks for doing all the hard work for us. Much appreciated.
California Joe is offline  
post #103 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 07:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 113
The XBOX 360 ELITE has a hard time passing 1080p to a number of displays and components out there. MS is working on a new firmware to help with this issue. Hopefully to be released by the end of the summer or early Fall. It won't send it to my crystalio II either...

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #104 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pclausen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by svalley View Post

Here you go.

You forgot to take off those God awful stickers from the face plate.
pclausen is online now  
post #105 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
svalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryarber View Post

When you go to the hidden menu, can you pop down the face plate and try using the buttons there to see if it will allow you to scroll to other selections?

Yes, I did that still only 1 field.

I just finished watching 1 bluray movie with my PS3.
There were some popping when the PS3 was booting up the Bluray,
once the movie started I didn't heard any popping or clicks throught the movie.
svalley is offline  
post #106 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
svalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

The XBOX 360 ELITE has a hard time passing 1080p to a number of displays and components out there. MS is working on a new firmware to help with this issue. Hopefully to be released by the end of the summer or early Fall. It won't send it to my crystalio II either...

Hopefully it is MS faults (its usually is ), too bad I have no other device that does 1080p component out.
svalley is offline  
post #107 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 08:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
svalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclausen View Post

You forgot to take off those God awful stickers from the face plate.

I will peel it off when I decided not to return it
svalley is offline  
post #108 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
ryarber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

Film and video detection with appropriate deinterlace would be "automatic" on the Onkyo. There wouldn't be an option for it.

Members will have to test for that capability with the HD HQV test disk. If you have a HD-DVD player and a DVD burner, burn the HD-DVD compatible test disk (zipped) on this site. I would like to see a member test and confirm whether the 875/905:
  1. outputs the correct YCbCr 4:2:2 or 4:4:4 colorspace
  2. has no pixel cropping on 4:3 or 16:9 sources
  3. has no peak white or BTB clipping
  4. passes full luma resolution, i.e. no roll off in vertical or horizontal Nyquist
  5. passes full chroma resolution, i.e. no roll off in vertical or horizontal Nyquist
  6. does not suffer from chroma bug, aka CUE
  7. correctly deinterlaces 480i film sources
  8. correctly deinterlaces 480i video sources
  9. correctly deinterlaces 1080i film sources
  10. correctly deinterlaces 1080i video sources
I would also like to see a member confirm whether any of the following options are present in the hidden menu:
  1. adjustable color space - YCbCr for those with HDMI, RGB for those with DVI
  2. adjustable noise reduction levels for SD
  3. adjustable block/mosquito reduction levels for SD
  4. adjustable detail enhancement levels for SD
  5. adjustable color settings
  6. option to switch between zoom, stretch, use black bars, or grey bars for 4:3 SD material
  7. adjustable overscan (default 0, but configurable)

I think the main thing that we'd like to know now is how the Reon is handling the issues outlined by bfdtv above. Can you burn the disk and try it out?
ryarber is offline  
post #109 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 08:18 PM
Newbie
 
d280c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Svalley,

Did you try scrolling down the options with the remote since the 605 gives many options :

"Hold down AUX and the power button on the amp and you'll be presented with the hidden menu. The first option allows you to upscales non-HDMI inputs to 720p. It works, although on my SKY+ you end up with a 4:3 picture. Scrolling down with the remote gives you the brightness, contrast and saturation controls. I turned the first 2 down by 5 and the saturation down by 10."

Also can you try holding down another button such as AUX2 to see if there are more options?

Thanks
d280c is offline  
post #110 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 08:34 PM
Member
 
Peterhew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think if the potential owner of 875 did bother to read Integra DTC 9.8 Manual, they wouldnt have asked that much questions. Obviously even top of the line pre pro doesnt offer any other adjustment to the video except for the output resolution can be set. Of course, there might be a secret menu which nobody know.

What is my real concern is, the improvement of the SDTV and sd dvds by using the Reon.

I think a very straight forward comparison can be made for the 875 to HDA1 and PS3.

1) Feed the same SD DVD to HD A1 and set A1 output at 1080i(in this case A1 do upscaling) and compare to A1 output at 480i(in this case 875 do upscaling, I dont know whether A1 can output 480i or not though. If it cant, then please set to 480p to compare.)

2) Feed the same SD DVD to PS3 and set PS3 output at 1080p(in this case ps3 do upscaling). Then compare to PS3 output at 480i(in this case Reon do the upscaling).

Let us know in 1), you prefer A1 do upscaling or 875. In 2) you prefer PS3 do upscaling or 875.

Peter
Peterhew is offline  
post #111 of 6053 Old 07-18-2007, 09:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Great suggestion, Peterhew. I agree that the effectiveness of the Reon chip in the 875 is the most imp thing to find out about it.
millerwill is online now  
post #112 of 6053 Old 07-19-2007, 02:43 AM
Senior Member
 
MonkeyGoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by millerwill View Post

Great suggestion, Peterhew. I agree that the effectiveness of the Reon chip in the 875 is the most imp thing to find out about it.

I also would like to know if the 875 suffers from the same type of audio delay as the 805.

Some have speculated that the cause could be the AudysseyXT multiEQ processing. IF this is the case, then the 875 may have this problem too.

Please refer to this thread http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=875039
MonkeyGoD is offline  
post #113 of 6053 Old 07-19-2007, 03:50 AM
Member
 
wim06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the following questions, can someone help me.

1) hdmi output 4:3 480p-----> hdmi in 875----->hdmi out 1080i to tv----->Is the picture 4:3 or 16:9? panoramic or linear strecht?

2) Can the 875 upscale hdmi input? or only component, s-video, and composite?

Thanks.
wim06 is offline  
post #114 of 6053 Old 07-19-2007, 03:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by svalley View Post

Coming from Yamaha 1400 I hear big difference between the two.
The 875 reminds me the first time I heard TrueHD from my HDA1 thru
Analog out. I hears sound more clearly but I got so used to the Yamaha
I thought it doesn't sounds right Also, I needed to set the
875 to -5db to get the same sound level as the Yamaha 1400 set at -15db.
The Yamaha is rated 110W, and 875 140W per channel, I thought it should
be the other around.

Any chance to elaborate more on the sound comparison with the Yamaha 1400?
Anyone sound more natural? Warmer? Duller? Lighter? Cleaner? Deeper? Louder?
rickardl is offline  
post #115 of 6053 Old 07-19-2007, 05:35 AM
Member
 
sc2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Poor guy wanting to use his new toy and having to answer the masses

From what many others have said the main differentiation of the 875 (and 905) to all the lesser models is the video processing. If that turns out to be gold we will be very interested, if it's just mediocre, then the lesser models will save us lots of money for more BR and HD movies!
sc2005 is offline  
post #116 of 6053 Old 07-19-2007, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
originalsnuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If the video processing turns out to be mediocre; its back to the Denon 3808 for me.
originalsnuffy is offline  
post #117 of 6053 Old 07-19-2007, 05:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
eulogytool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Did you ever have a modem that you used to dial in to an internet service provider? You remember the annoying sounds that your modem would make before you could log on to the internet? That was a handshake between modems.

Basically before the data can be transmitted, both of the devices have to communicate with each other and establish the criteria they will use to communicate. If there is a conflict between the devices, further communication will be impaired or even impossible.


Oh, okay. Thanks for the explanation.
eulogytool is offline  
post #118 of 6053 Old 07-19-2007, 07:54 AM
Senior Member
 
scoombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Baltimore/Washington Corridor
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

Film and video detection with appropriate deinterlace would be "automatic" on the Onkyo. There wouldn't be an option for it.

Members will have to test for that capability with the HD HQV test disk. If you have a HD-DVD player and a DVD burner, burn the HD-DVD compatible test disk (zipped) on this site. I would like to see a member test and confirm whether the 875/905:
  1. outputs the correct YCbCr 4:2:2 or 4:4:4 colorspace
  2. has no pixel cropping on 4:3 or 16:9 sources
  3. has no peak white or BTB clipping
  4. passes full luma resolution, i.e. no roll off in vertical or horizontal Nyquist
  5. passes full chroma resolution, i.e. no roll off in vertical or horizontal Nyquist
  6. does not suffer from chroma bug, aka CUE
  7. correctly deinterlaces 480i film sources
  8. correctly deinterlaces 480i video sources
  9. correctly deinterlaces 1080i film sources
  10. correctly deinterlaces 1080i video sources
I would also like to see a member confirm whether any of the following options are present in the hidden menu:
  1. adjustable color space - YCbCr for those with HDMI, RGB for those with DVI
  2. adjustable noise reduction levels for SD
  3. adjustable block/mosquito reduction levels for SD
  4. adjustable detail enhancement levels for SD
  5. adjustable color settings
  6. option to switch between zoom, stretch, use black bars, or grey bars for 4:3 SD material
  7. adjustable overscan (default 0, but configurable)

bfdtv,

These tests will first need to be done directly to the display, bypassing the receiver, and ensure passing results before they can be done to test the 875, correct?
scoombs is offline  
post #119 of 6053 Old 07-19-2007, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
itigap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: DC area
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobieck1 View Post

What would cause a video delay?

And, in over 100 pages of the 805 thread which I have read, I don't recall "random pops through speakers while watching programs" being a problem ever.

The 875 is basically the same as the 805 with the Reon, they share the same manual.

To the best of my knowledge, the Reon chip performs its motion de-interlacing across four adjacent frames e.g. uses information from four frames to deal with motion. If frames appear at 24fps then it takes (4-1) x 1 24th sec or 3 24th seconds to accumulate the data (frames) to process. That is a bit over a 10th of a sec or 125ms. Video at 30fps would cause 100ms delay. Add to this some latency for the actual processing and you should have the delay. It's enough I would think to cause lip sync without delaying the associated audio. Perhaps the receiver is smart enough to do this automatically, which would be a good design.

Cheers,

Gary
itigap is offline  
post #120 of 6053 Old 07-19-2007, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 4,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by originalsnuffy View Post

If the video processing turns out to be mediocre; its back to the Denon 3808 for me.

Yep, same here for me.
____
Axel

Axel is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off