The "Official" Denon 4308ci Owners Thread - Page 171 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5101 of 5130 Old 09-18-2014, 10:17 AM
Newbie
 
Agility dobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks, I'll give rebooting a try. Microprocessor reset per p 60 in manual ? Thanks
Agility dobe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5102 of 5130 Old 09-20-2014, 03:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agility dobe View Post
Thanks, I'll give rebooting a try. Microprocessor reset per p 60 in manual ? Thanks
Yes, that's the one. Good luck and please share the outcome. Do it twice if you need too.
DenonLover is offline  
post #5103 of 5130 Old 10-30-2014, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Even though it is a 7-year old model the only thing that is "outdated" is there is no "Audio return Channel" (ARC) on any of the HDMIs, does anyone know of an aftermarket option that might work?
DenonLover is offline  
post #5104 of 5130 Old 10-30-2014, 07:19 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,004
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2616 Post(s)
Liked: 1897
^^
Yep .. it's called "optical."

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5105 of 5130 Old 10-30-2014, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Yep .. it's called "optical."
It will be on my next amp so I will just need to wait a little longer. Cant do optical.
DenonLover is offline  
post #5106 of 5130 Old 10-31-2014, 06:23 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,004
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2616 Post(s)
Liked: 1897
^^
Huh? All current TVs have an optical audio output and the 4308 has (3) optical inputs.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5107 of 5130 Old 11-02-2014, 08:56 AM
Member
 
pemarsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
out of date?

Does the 4308 Denon still compete against all the new 2013 amps and their technology in terms of video processing and audio quality and options??? I feel like mine is getting a bit old, but I just dont have the knowledge base to know if its outdated or not compared to the new amps. Looking for suggestions and comments.
Thank you

Perry
pemarsh is offline  
post #5108 of 5130 Old 11-02-2014, 05:44 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,004
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2616 Post(s)
Liked: 1897
^^
Video chip is certainly outdated, but Audyssey XT is still the 3rd highest available version second only to XT32 which would be an upgrade in audio quality.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5109 of 5130 Old 11-09-2014, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
Agility dobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenonLover View Post
Personally I would reboot the system a few times and try again. I have had anomalies over the years and its fixed it for me.
Well I finally got some time (takes a while to re-input) and after 2 resets, everything works fine now. Thanks for the help.
Agility dobe is offline  
post #5110 of 5130 Old 12-25-2014, 08:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: São Paulo _ Brazil
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello , i'm from Brazil and this is my first message . I attend a Brazilian forum for 10 years and plan on increasing my knowledge and share my experiences I decided to sign up here.
I ask early apologize for any error or written vacabulario because 60% ​​use google translator time.

Well, I have a problem between my Denon AVR 4308 and Oppo BDP 93, bought this week the Oppo used from a friend with the intention of having HD audio and 3D image in the same player. Before had a pioneer BDP 140 and he could not HD audio for not having two HDMI outputs , this was the biggest reason for the up

The settings is: Oppo HDMI 1 Output connect to TV for 3D image and the HDMI 2 output in Denon for HD audio.

The problem happens in 3D image, the image on the TV blinks 4 times before stabilizing , it is very annoying.

I found that the problem is between Denon and Oppo because when I turn off HDMI input of the receiver the image does not flash on TV, and when I do the reverse process the problem returns .

Surely the problem is caused because the Denon not be compatible with 3D and strange signal causing interference in the HDMI 1 this on TV. Ideal would be that the Oppo only send audio to the HDMI 2 , but did not find how to do this .

Someone suggests an alternative to eliminate this problem ? Using optical output does not solve because I want hd audio ( dts hd master , Dolby TrueHD , etc .. ) is there any configuration I know nothing ?
I am afraid that these image flashes affect the TV and the receiver.

Ps. Already reseted Denon microprocessor and both devices are with the latest firmware version.

Already changed the HDMI cable position.
gujanuario is offline  
post #5111 of 5130 Old 12-26-2014, 07:34 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,004
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2616 Post(s)
Liked: 1897
The Oppo is able to send audio only to HDMI 2. Set it up that way and your problem is gone.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5112 of 5130 Old 12-26-2014, 07:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: São Paulo _ Brazil
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The Oppo is able to send audio only to HDMI 2. Set it up that way and your problem is gone.
Thanks buddy but oppo 93 dont offer this config
gujanuario is offline  
post #5113 of 5130 Old 12-27-2014, 05:28 PM
Newbie
 
decarden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help - my 4308CI may have kicked the bucket. Any suggestions as to a comparable replacement in the Denon family? Maybe the AVR-X5200W?? Or comparable outside the Denon family?
decarden is offline  
post #5114 of 5130 Old 12-28-2014, 05:40 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,004
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2616 Post(s)
Liked: 1897
Quote:
Originally Posted by gujanuario View Post
Thanks buddy but oppo 93 dont offer this config
Please refer to p. 18 in the Oppo 93 Owner's manual if you need assistance in setting up HDMI 1 (Video) and HDMI 2 (Audio).

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	130
Size:	38.5 KB
ID:	445554  

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5115 of 5130 Old 12-28-2014, 05:44 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,004
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2616 Post(s)
Liked: 1897
Quote:
Originally Posted by decarden View Post
Help - my 4308CI may have kicked the bucket. Any suggestions as to a comparable replacement in the Denon family? Maybe the AVR-X5200W?? Or comparable outside the Denon family?
Depending on what features/inputs you require, although the X7200W is the current successor to your 4308CI, all of the new Denon Atmos models (X4100W/X5200W/X7200W) feature the more advanced Audyssey MultEQ XT32 and so would provide better audio quality. Note the new flagship X7200W is the only model that features multi analog inputs (eg. SACD player).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5116 of 5130 Old 12-28-2014, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
decarden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Depending on what features/inputs you require, although the X7200W is the current successor to your 4308CI, all of the new Denon Atmos models (X4100W/X5200W/X7200W) feature the more advanced Audyssey MultEQ XT32 and so would provide better audio quality. Note the new flagship X7200W is the only model that features multi analog inputs (eg. SACD player).

Thanks for your help. I will start doing some homework!
decarden is offline  
post #5117 of 5130 Old 12-28-2014, 06:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: São Paulo _ Brazil
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Please refer to p. 18 in the Oppo 93 Owner's manual if you need assistance in setting up HDMI 1 (Video) and HDMI 2 (Audio).
Ok friend, is already configured so , but the Oppo HDMI 2 transmits audio and video , it is not possible to only transmit audio .

In oppo 103 was made ​​available to Blank Video HDMI 2 function that serves precisely for this case , but the 93 is not capable . I'm hoping the Oppo make available this function in the 93 model .

When 3D video on Denon he gets mad , flashes image HDMI 1 4 times before stabilizing . In HDMI 2 show white screen

Someone has both Denon 4308 + Oppo 93 and have the same experience ?
gujanuario is offline  
post #5118 of 5130 Old 12-29-2014, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question guys,

My 4308 has had problems with the right front channel cutting out and then back in when you crank the volume. This has happened on and off for a couple years even when I run the Auddesey setup. Now I find the right rear surround cuts in and out and the left front does a similar thing. The volume has to be cranked to over -22 to get the amp channels to turn on.

I have tried different speakers and wire and it seems to be the receiver. Does anyone know what this could be? I was thinking a bad solder joint, but now I don't know. I live in Midland, MI and through the Denon website the closest service center is 2 and a half hours away in detroit.

Please inform me my options, thanks!!
knever3 is offline  
post #5119 of 5130 Old 12-29-2014, 09:43 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,004
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2616 Post(s)
Liked: 1897
^^
Other than resetting the microprocessor (p. 60 Owner's manual), shipping off for repair would be the next option if you don't want to put the money into a newer Atmos model.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5120 of 5130 Old 12-29-2014, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Other than resetting the microprocessor (p. 60 Owner's manual), shipping off for repair would be the next option if you don't want to put the money into a newer Atmos model.
Ok, I'm a noob when it comes to this complicated thing. It's a little over my head actually or I really haven't had time to tinker with it. If I reset it then I will need to setup all the imputs and such again?

If it's something simple like this will getting a newer model be that much of an advantage? The only thing I use is a 5.1 channel surround system and an Ipad dock for Pandora. I have a Plasma tv and a Denon Bluray player and a Dish reciever plugged into it. Pretty straight forward.

Thanks for the reply!!
knever3 is offline  
post #5121 of 5130 Old 12-29-2014, 01:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,004
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2616 Post(s)
Liked: 1897
^^
Correct. A reset would return all settings to factory default and erase the Audyssey settings as well. It would be the final troubleshooting step prior to shipping off to a repair center which is likely to cost $200-$300, although best to call for an estimate from an authorized repair facility listed on Denon's website.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5122 of 5130 Old 12-29-2014, 06:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: São Paulo _ Brazil
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Oppo solved my problem , suggested disconnecting the cable hdmi between the receiver and the TV, as there was no thought of that before , it was getting crazy.

Note 10 for oppo , respond quickly and accurately.
gujanuario is offline  
post #5123 of 5130 Old 12-29-2014, 06:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: São Paulo _ Brazil
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by knever3 View Post
Question guys,

My 4308 has had problems with the right front channel cutting out and then back in when you crank the volume. This has happened on and off for a couple years even when I run the Auddesey setup. Now I find the right rear surround cuts in and out and the left front does a similar thing. The volume has to be cranked to over -22 to get the amp channels to turn on.

I have tried different speakers and wire and it seems to be the receiver. Does anyone know what this could be? I was thinking a bad solder joint, but now I don't know. I live in Midland, MI and through the Denon website the closest service center is 2 and a half hours away in detroit.

Please inform me my options, thanks!!
try connecting the front by pre out will an external amplifier to see if the problem persists.
gujanuario is offline  
post #5124 of 5130 Old 01-18-2015, 10:41 AM
Member
 
lorenmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the audio bitstream signals (DTS-MA, Dolby TrueHD, etc) are still present on the HDMI outputs of the AVR-4308? I know you are typically connecting the HDMI outputs to your display and are not interested in having the audio present but I would like to connect one of the outputs to an HDMI headphone processor so I need the audio to be present.

Thanks
lorenmc is online now  
post #5125 of 5130 Old Yesterday, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ingeborgdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't know whether to post here or the audyssey thread so I am just posting here for now but may post there if needed. I just did my upgrade package and then did an audyssey speaker calculation. It now has me set to advanced crossover. It set my fronts, center and side speakers to 40hz because they are good speakers and also large. It set my rears to 90 and my LFE to 120. I had my sub set to 80 crossover but don't know for sure if I should change that now or what??? What settings should I do on my sub and do I leave my speakers set at large like it set them. It knows better than I so if someone could tell me what they have done that would be great. Thanks.
Ingeborgdot is offline  
post #5126 of 5130 Old Yesterday, 07:56 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,004
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2616 Post(s)
Liked: 1897
^^
Reset from LARGE/40Hz to SMALL/80Hz and leave LPF for LFE at 120Hz.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5127 of 5130 Old Yesterday, 07:57 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,004
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2616 Post(s)
Liked: 1897
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorenmc View Post
Does anyone know if the audio bitstream signals (DTS-MA, Dolby TrueHD, etc) are still present on the HDMI outputs of the AVR-4308? I know you are typically connecting the HDMI outputs to your display and are not interested in having the audio present but I would like to connect one of the outputs to an HDMI headphone processor so I need the audio to be present.

Thanks
Only present if the HDMI sink can receive it, otherwise stereo only.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5128 of 5130 Unread Yesterday, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ingeborgdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Reset from LARGE/40Hz to SMALL/80Hz and leave LPF for LFE at 120Hz.
Thanks so much.
Ingeborgdot is offline  
post #5129 of 5130 Unread Today, 08:58 AM
Member
 
lorenmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Only present if the HDMI sink can receive it, otherwise stereo only.
Thanks for that.

I had some time to look into this last night. It appears that I can only get the audio streams to be present on the "Monitor" outputs if I go to Manual Setup -> HDMI Setup -> Audio and then select "TV" instead of "Amp". In which case the audio bypasses the receiver/amp. What I need is audio on the monitor outputs as well as audio being processed by the receiver. My son is hard of hearing and therefore needs to wear the headphones at the same time the rest of us are listening to the output from the speakers. Do you know if this is possible with the 4308?

Thanks
lorenmc is online now  
post #5130 of 5130 Unread Today, 09:02 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,004
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2616 Post(s)
Liked: 1897
^^
It is not. You may want to try using TV Ears.

http://www.amazon.com/TV-Ears-Wirele...sin=B007OQ2SXA

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4308ci Receiver , Denon
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off