The "Official" Denon 4308ci Owners Thread - Page 172 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5131 of 5146 Old 02-03-2015, 06:53 AM
Member
 
mckeand13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Manual tuning HD Radio?

I just moved and haven't located my Harmony One yet.

I was trying to figure out how to manually tune in an HD Radio station. It seems as though you can only move through presets on the receiver itself, and no manual tuning is available. It can be done from the remote only.

Can anyone confirm? That seems ridiculous if that's true.

Thanks.
mckeand13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5132 of 5146 Old 02-03-2015, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mckeand13 View Post
I just moved and haven't located my Harmony One yet.

I was trying to figure out how to manually tune in an HD Radio station. It seems as though you can only move through presets on the receiver itself, and no manual tuning is available. It can be done from the remote only.

Can anyone confirm? That seems ridiculous if that's true.

Thanks.
We have done this by moving over to Apple TV and using the HDMI port. It sounds amazing and much better quality and interface. The only issue with my 4308 now is the triggers for the amp. When I turn on the amp both trigger power my two external Emotiva amps but for some reason when I select DVD, its the only HDMI setting that does not power one of my external amps. When I swithed the cable it would not power up the other amp so I have localized it to the DVD setting only. I am out of HDMI slots so I have the issue with whatever item is now plugged into that DVD setting! I guess if this is the only issue with my amp after this many years that's not too bad.
DenonLover is offline  
post #5133 of 5146 Old 02-23-2015, 07:32 AM
Member
 
ROSSO Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs down What causes popping sound when playing DVD?

I was playing a concert DVD and heard this loud intermittent abrupt popping sound.

Ideas?

Thanks
ROSSO Z is offline  
post #5134 of 5146 Old 02-23-2015, 07:47 AM
Member
 
ROSSO Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Loud popping sound from DVD???

OOPS! duplicate....
ROSSO Z is offline  
post #5135 of 5146 Old 02-23-2015, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 32
My unit recently stopped triggering one of the amps and I isolated it to one of the two triggers. Then my unit has been powering down. The first power down was about 30 days ago and it has slowly gotten worse every day and now it will power down 10 times while the movie is playing. I think its time for a new unit.
DenonLover is offline  
post #5136 of 5146 Old 02-23-2015, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 43
^ Save your settings and reset the microprocessor. No guarantees, but it's worth a try.
DenonLover likes this.

OPPO BDP-103, Comcast DVR, Sony FMP-X1 4K server
Marantz AV8801 pre/pro, Yamaha MX-A5000 amp
Sony VPL-VW600ES projector, Stewart StudioTek130 103" diag screen
7 Thiel speakers (3 SCS4, 2 PowerPoint, 2 PowerPlane), 2 JL Audio E110 subs
Harmony Ultimate remote
bweissman is offline  
post #5137 of 5146 Old 02-23-2015, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
^ Save your settings and reset the microprocessor. No guarantees, but it's worth a try.
Not sure how to save my setting but I will download the manual and check it out. As far as resetting the microprocessor, I have unfortunately had to do that a few times.
DenonLover is offline  
post #5138 of 5146 Old 02-23-2015, 05:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Save settings via the web interface Setup menu.

OPPO BDP-103, Comcast DVR, Sony FMP-X1 4K server
Marantz AV8801 pre/pro, Yamaha MX-A5000 amp
Sony VPL-VW600ES projector, Stewart StudioTek130 103" diag screen
7 Thiel speakers (3 SCS4, 2 PowerPoint, 2 PowerPlane), 2 JL Audio E110 subs
Harmony Ultimate remote
bweissman is offline  
post #5139 of 5146 Old 02-23-2015, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
Save settings via the web interface Setup menu.
So far so good, fingers crossed it keeps working so I do not end up needing to buy the Marantz 7702.
DenonLover is offline  
post #5140 of 5146 Old 03-29-2015, 05:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Docj04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok guys, New and frustrating issue.


Lately, My 4308ci won't play back hi def audio formats from blurays over my PS3. Two examples are that:


on the Jewel BD concert which has DTS-MA, the display on the 4308, (and sound quality) only indicate "DTS Surround"
Nine inch nails beside you in time has Dolby true HD, but will only playback in Dolby digital. The same holds true with polar express and it's soundtrack.


In both examples, the display will read "multi channel in", up until the concert actually plays--at which point it "dumbs down" to the inferior format.


Oddly, Pink Floyd dark side of the moon SACD, and the Pentattone SACD playback in HI def (multi channel in) format...just not my bluray discs.




Can't determine if this is a PS3 issue, or with the 4308ci. HELP
Docj04 is offline  
post #5141 of 5146 Old 03-29-2015, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Docj04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well--borrowed my neighbors Samsung BD player, and the lossless formats play just fine. Sooo, apparently its my gen 1 PS3....?
Docj04 is offline  
post #5142 of 5146 Old 03-30-2015, 02:47 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,702
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3382 Post(s)
Liked: 2086
^^
Correct. The "fat" PS3 cannot bitstream HD codecs, rather you must set the PS3 to LPCM instead to play BDs with HD codecs.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5143 of 5146 Old 03-30-2015, 05:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
longbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Bayfield County, Wisconsin
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
JD a question.

My 4308 has worked perfectly with a Wii plugged into the Component 1 and Stereo in using the HDP/iPod connection. I run an HDMI out to the TV. I just had it in for a repair and upon return I cannot get video now from the Wii. All the HDMI inputs are fine. I get sound just no video. When I am on the HDP setting I get a blank TV and sound from the speakers.

I am probably missing something simple. The settings I had were reset to factory when I got it back.

any ideas?

Thanks!

Eric

EricN
"You are in a maze of twisty passages, all alike"

 

HT: Denon 4311CI, Denon DVD-5900, M&K S-150's LCR & ss-150's SL & SR, SVS PB12+, Oppo-BDP-83, Sony Cineza LCD, Stewart StudioTek 130 92"

2 Ch: MacMini,W4S DAC2 DSDse,VPI Scout 1.1&Dynavector 10X5,Cary SLI-80&Vandersteen 2Ce Signatures II's

longbow is offline  
post #5144 of 5146 Old 03-30-2015, 05:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,702
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3382 Post(s)
Liked: 2086
^^
Ensure "i/p Scaler" is set to "A to H" (p. 30 Owner's manual); "Video Convert" = ON for that source (p. 39) as well as ensuring the correct Component input is assigned (p. 40) noting Component 1 defaults to DVD.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5145 of 5146 Unread Yesterday, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Docj04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jd., so by setting my ps3 to output lpcm, should I expect to see the 4308 display read the codec being played, or "multi ch in"?
Docj04 is offline  
post #5146 of 5146 Unread Today, 02:41 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,702
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3382 Post(s)
Liked: 2086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Docj04 View Post
Jd., so by setting my ps3 to output lpcm, should I expect to see the 4308 display read the codec being played, or "multi ch in"?
Correct. The PS3 has already "unzipped" the file so the AVR has no idea of the original "zipped" format, only that it is now simply PCM. Audio quality will be the same.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4308ci Receiver , Denon
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off