The "Official" Denon 4308ci Owners Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 12:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVRDude View Post

Arrrgh...Cockpit Error!!! Internet Radio works great on the 4308ci. The reason that I could not get it working before is that I missed a digit when I put in my router IP in the receiver.

Once the initial connection is completed, a list of genre/stations is available in the GUI. You then go to the radiodenon.com site and login with your receiver's MAC address. From there you can create your own groups that will appear under your favorites. You then add stations to your favorites from the list. It looks like about 1800 stations are available. As you update your station choices on radiodenon.com, it pushes the changes to the 4308. I added a few 128Kb streams to my favorites, and they sound fantastic on the receiver.

Thank you DVRDude. I really want to get this working so I am only going to work on this tomorrow. This is one of the main resons why I bought the 4308. Has anyone tried PIP yet and does it work. If you only have 1 HDMI cable going to your TV then can you have say a DVD and the TV playing at the same time or would you need to run 2 HDMI ports to the TV for this?
DenonLover is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 12:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikk View Post

have you tried doing anything else? Streaming from your computer? Etc? Because there's probably no firmware update on the denon server (if the server is even set up at all yet) and depending on how the receiver has been set up by denon the error messages may not be very explanatory.

Thanks Eric, you are right I need to focus on something like streaming rather than looking for new firmware on the denon site.
DenonLover is offline  
post #183 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 01:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DVRDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CARRAM View Post

If anybody has the time would they mind posting the size of the box. Need to work out if it will fit in my car.

Many thanks

Ron

The box is about 21" square x 14" Tall
DVRDude is offline  
post #184 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 01:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DVRDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenonLover View Post

Thank you DVRDude. I really want to get this working so I am only going to work on this tomorrow. This is one of the main resons why I bought the 4308. Has anyone tried PIP yet and does it work. If you only have 1 HDMI cable going to your TV then can you have say a DVD and the TV playing at the same time or would you need to run 2 HDMI ports to the TV for this?

I don't know of a way to select two video sources to play through the same output connection. If you find a way, that would be a good feature. Otherwise, you would have to run two connections to the TV like you mentioned. I haven't played with the second HDMI output at all yet. I pretty much have everything dialed-in now, so I guess I will experiment with the extra outputs.
DVRDude is offline  
post #185 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 01:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 23
PIP is a function/option of a TV, not a AVR.
Johnla is offline  
post #186 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 02:08 AM
Newbie
 
cazzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've only begun to scratch the surface with the 4308 so far...and because of the gf in the other room, I haven't even taken her for a real drive. I have been setting up all my video sources and everything appears to be upscaling to 1080P and pass-throughing okay. I have my cable box hooked up through it at as well, but I am a little dissapointed with delays when changing channels. It can take up to 10 seconds to display a channel if I go from an HD channel to a non-HD channel. Is this normal? Outside of that, so far so good and I will report back more findings later on today!
cazzy is offline  
post #187 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 07:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnla View Post

PIP is a function/option of a TV, not a AVR.

But the PIP needs to be sent data from the AVR? The question is can the AVR send 2 data streams at a time through 1 HDMI cable or does it need to have a 2nd HDMI cable plugged into the TV?
DenonLover is offline  
post #188 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
erikk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnla View Post

PIP is a function/option of a TV, not a AVR.

So is video scaling and color manipulation. More and more video work is being done in the receiver and since receivers are trying their best to make sure there's only one cable going to the TV this is definitely a feature that makes sense for them to offer. It may not be something that the Denon does now but I guarantee that we'll see an AVR that does this in either the next generation of receivers or the one after that at worst.

Erik

erikk is offline  
post #189 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 11:34 AM
Member
 
JBRhee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenonLover View Post

Thanks Eric, you are right I need to focus on something like streaming rather than looking for new firmware on the denon site.

Hey Denonlover,

Any luck with your wireless connection? It still doesn't work for me.

When I search for a connection, it identifies my wireless connection and asks me to enter my WEP. But when I enter the correct WEP, it doesn't connect and i keep getting a connection failed message.

Argh.
JBRhee is offline  
post #190 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 11:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You are I are having the same exact problem JBRhee. I am pretty good at networking but I asked my buddy (Network Guru at Experian) to come by and he also could not seem to get it up and running? We tried setting it up in every possible combination? I even took down my WPA and tried a WEP just in case that might have been the problem. This thing will nto log in no matter what.
DenonLover is offline  
post #191 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 11:54 AM
Member
 
JBRhee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenonLover View Post

You are I are having the same exact problem JBRhee. I am pretty good at networking but I asked my buddy (Network Guru at Experian) to come by and he also could not seem to get it up and running? We tried setting it up in every possible combination? I even took down my WPA and tried a WEP just in case that might have been the problem. This thing will nto log in no matter what.

Damn. I'll try calling them tonight if i get home early enough. If i get it to work, i'll let you know.

Btw, what do guys have your HDMI video settings set to? A to H or A to H & H to H? And, what's the difference?
JBRhee is offline  
post #192 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 12:07 PM
Member
 
boysmile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just a quick question:

Is the 4308 able to overlay onscreen information like volume settings on incoming hdmi signals (output hdmi as well)?
The manual doesn´t mention that it´s not working with hdmi sources (unlike the manuals of the older models).

Thanks
Stefan
boysmile is offline  
post #193 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone have the phone number for technical help at Denon handy?
DenonLover is offline  
post #194 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 4,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a quick question regarding the wifi encryption options. I read that people have been trying to get WEP as well as WPA to work. I was wondering if WPA2 was also supported.

(Sorry if this has been answered before.)

TIA!
____
Axel

Axel is online now  
post #195 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 01:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
muncey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=boysmile]Just a quick question:

Is the 4308 able to overlay onscreen information like volume settings on incoming hdmi signals (output hdmi as well)?
The manual doesn´t mention that it´s not working with hdmi sources (unlike the manuals of the older models).


Could someone please answer this, I would like to know as well.

Thanks
muncey is offline  
post #196 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 01:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
[quote=muncey]
Quote:
Originally Posted by boysmile View Post

Just a quick question:

Is the 4308 able to overlay onscreen information like volume settings on incoming hdmi signals (output hdmi as well)?
The manual doesn´t mention that it´s not working with hdmi sources (unlike the manuals of the older models).


Could someone please answer this, I would like to know as well.

Thanks

Yes, you see on screen unfo for things such as volume.
DenonLover is offline  
post #197 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
By the way, here are the telephone numbers if you need to call if you r are in North America.

CONTACT US


Thank you for visiting the Denon Electronics (USA) website. If you have specific questions about our products, their operation, or any other inquiries, we invite you to contact us by telephone, fax, or by mail as shown below:

Denon Electronics (USA) LLC is corporately headquartered in Mahwah, New Jersey:

Ship To:
D&M Service Repair
Attn: Denon Customer Service
100 Corporate Drive
Mahwah, NJ 07430-2041

General Office hours of operation:
8:30 AM to 5:30 PM ET, M-F

Tel:
201-762-6500 (Main Office)
Fax:
201-762-6670 (Main Fax)

Phone support is listed as follows:

Customer Service hours of operation:
9:00 AM to 5:00 PM ET, M-F

Tel:
800-497-8921
201-762-6665
Fax:
201-762-6695

Tech and Operational Support hours of operation:
9:00 AM to 5:00 PM ET, M-F

Tel:
800-497-8921
201-762-6665
Fax:
201-762-6695

Repair and Service hours of operation:
9:00 AM to 5:00 PM ET, M-F

Tel:
800-497-8921
201-762-6665
Fax:
888-544-8434
201-762-6686
eFax:
973-215-2887 (Repair Status Only)
DenonLover is offline  
post #198 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 02:06 PM
Member
 
j2clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Foster City, CA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone confirm if WMA Lossless is supported? I think this was asked earlier, but I never saw a response.
j2clark is offline  
post #199 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bwclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Redwood Empire
Posts: 1,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by j2clark View Post

Can anyone confirm if WMA Lossless is supported? I think this was asked earlier, but I never saw a response.


Perhaps this will help? Page 53 of the manual:
Always happy to help a "clark"
LL
bwclark is offline  
post #200 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
How good is HD radio compared to regular FM? Also does HD radio usually require a stronger signal than say what you get with a regular FM antenna that comes with? Is HD radio simular to OTA HD tv; with OTA tv you either get a picture or nothing, no in between.

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #201 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 02:55 PM
Member
 
JBRhee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenonLover View Post

By the way, here are the telephone numbers if you need to call if you r are in North America.

CONTACT US


Thank you for visiting the Denon Electronics (USA) website. If you have specific questions about our products, their operation, or any other inquiries, we invite you to contact us by telephone, fax, or by mail as shown below:

Denon Electronics (USA) LLC is corporately headquartered in Mahwah, New Jersey:

Ship To:
D&M Service Repair
Attn: Denon Customer Service
100 Corporate Drive
Mahwah, NJ 07430-2041

General Office hours of operation:
8:30 AM to 5:30 PM ET, M-F

Tel:
201-762-6500 (Main Office)
Fax:
201-762-6670 (Main Fax)

Phone support is listed as follows:

Customer Service hours of operation:
9:00 AM to 5:00 PM ET, M-F

Tel:
800-497-8921
201-762-6665
Fax:
201-762-6695

Tech and Operational Support hours of operation:
9:00 AM to 5:00 PM ET, M-F

Tel:
800-497-8921
201-762-6665
Fax:
201-762-6695

Repair and Service hours of operation:
9:00 AM to 5:00 PM ET, M-F

Tel:
800-497-8921
201-762-6665
Fax:
888-544-8434
201-762-6686
eFax:
973-215-2887 (Repair Status Only)

All eastern time? I'll never get this fixed.
JBRhee is offline  
post #202 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 03:09 PM
Member
 
JBRhee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Tomaskovic View Post

How good is HD radio compared to regular FM? Also does HD radio usually require a stronger signal than say what you get with a regular FM antenna that comes with? Is HD radio simular to OTA HD tv; with OTA tv you either get a picture or nothing, no in between.

I have heard that the clarity is much better, though I will never get to test it out since I live in an area where regular fm doesn't even work well.
JBRhee is offline  
post #203 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 03:09 PM
Member
 
j2clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Foster City, CA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwclark View Post

Perhaps this will help? Page 53 of the manual:
Always happy to help a "clark"

Yep, us Clarks have to stick together

Thanks for the link.

So if I am reading this correctly, looks like it does *NOT* support it. Looks like I will have to go with FLAC. Man do I have some work ahead of me!
j2clark is offline  
post #204 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bwclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Redwood Empire
Posts: 1,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
RJ-45 Ethernet Port Third Party Controllers, PC Audio Streaming,
Internet Radio and Web Browser Function Enhanced for WMA
Loseless/
AAC/jpeg Photos, Internet Radio now MP3 and WMA support

There is the above quote from some preliminary lit from back in 2/07.... see attachment pdf.
Right click and new tab.......

 

Denons.pdf 68.69140625k . file
bwclark is offline  
post #205 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
BinaryLinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 4308 has arrived in the store. I won't have it in my hands until next Tuesday! We're in the process of moving to the new house so I can't touch it until then. Figured I be better off not picking it up until I can play with it and make sure it wasn't DOA.

Its killing me................


Mike

------------------------------------------------------
BinaryLinguist
BinaryLinguist is offline  
post #206 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DVRDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Tomaskovic View Post

How good is HD radio compared to regular FM? Also does HD radio usually require a stronger signal than say what you get with a regular FM antenna that comes with? Is HD radio simular to OTA HD tv; with OTA tv you either get a picture or nothing, no in between.

I live in SoCal, so we should have a decent selection of HD Radio stations. With the included loop(AM) and wire(FM) HD antennas, I can hardly get any reception for HD radio. I had been working on setting up other aspects of the receiver, so I have not checked on HD radio since last Friday. I will play a bit more with it tonight and post my results.
DVRDude is offline  
post #207 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 04:29 PM
Member
 
rafal72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone confirm that following scenario would work on 4308...

Main zone 5.1 input HDMI ( watching DVD movie) - no bi-amp

Zone 2 - 2 patio speakers (streaming content from net)

Would I be able to do this and have both things running at the same?
Thx
rafal72 is offline  
post #208 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
muncey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi DVRDude

I live in Chino and work in Orange (Katella & the 57). When I'm driving to and from work I lose most radio stations going through South Diamond Bar/Fullerton. I think it is because of those tall hills North of Lambert.
muncey is offline  
post #209 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 05:11 PM
Member
 
j2clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Foster City, CA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwclark View Post

RJ-45 Ethernet Port - Third Party Controllers, PC Audio Streaming,
Internet Radio and Web Browser Function- Enhanced for WMA
Loseless/
AAC/jpeg Photos, Internet Radio now MP3 and WMA support

There is the above quote from some preliminary lit from back in 2/07.... see attachment pdf.
Right click and new tab.......

This is fantastic! Now if I can just get my hands on one of these things... I pre-orderd through J&R and I think they are the last place on earth to get stock!
j2clark is offline  
post #210 of 5093 Old 07-31-2007, 05:39 PM
Member
 
jkim90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cazzy View Post

I've only begun to scratch the surface with the 4308 so far...and because of the gf in the other room, I haven't even taken her for a real drive. I have been setting up all my video sources and everything appears to be upscaling to 1080P and pass-throughing okay. I have my cable box hooked up through it at as well, but I am a little dissapointed with delays when changing channels. It can take up to 10 seconds to display a channel if I go from an HD channel to a non-HD channel. Is this normal? Outside of that, so far so good and I will report back more findings later on today!

Current 4308 owners - cazzy raises an issue worth feedback from all of you. The recently released Onkyo 875 seems to a delay when changing channels that many owners consider intolerable (3-4 seconds). The delay is the worst when the STB is allowed to pass through at native resolution requiring the AVR to do the scaling and possibly de-interlacing.

All of us can understand some delays as the AVR syncs and begins processing the signal but 4 second delays are a tough WAF factor (trying to be practical here guys) and anything such as a 10 second delay is unacceptable.

I know many of us sit on the Onkyo/Denon fence and implementation of the technology will be the key issue for many including me. If VP is not done well in the AVR, than we will simply have to deal with it outside.

Sorry for the ramble but this is important to me.....
jkim90 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4308ci Receiver , Denon
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off