The "Official" Yamaha RX-Vn800 anticipation thread (with HDMI 1.3) - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 784 Old 08-08-2007, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian81 View Post

Some of us have TVs that do a lousy at upscaling SD sources, and for this reason, good video processing would be appreciated. I just don't understand how Yammy could skimp out and put a processing chip that is aimed at "low cost DVD players" (meaning, garbage) in a $2K product.

This was mentioned before. I don't think they mean it's a cheap processing chip. What they are trying to say is that if you have a "low cost DVD player", it will do a very good job at cleaning up that "garbage" image. I could be wrong, but I think that's what they mean. And as stated before, Arcam uses this chip in some of their DVD players which would not fall into the "garbage" catagory.

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 784 Old 08-09-2007, 12:39 AM
Member
 
fastek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

This was mentioned before. I don't think they mean it's a cheap processing chip. What they are trying to say is that if you have a "low cost DVD player", it will do a very good job at cleaning up that "garbage" image. I could be wrong, but I think that's what they mean. And as stated before, Arcam uses this chip in some of their DVD players which would not fall into the "garbage" catagory.

Completely Agree that "low cost" is used the wrong way... I have installed many of the RX-V2700 and have never had any issues with them in relation to the scaling... Have any reviewer posted that the RX-V2700 that uses the ABT1010 state that this receiver did a poor Job??? I dont recall seeing one.

After reviewing the infi my dealer left. I see that Yamaha is using 2 chip instead of one Realta like the Onkyo and Denon...In talking with the sales rep he mentioned that they chose to use 2 chips, one used for HD scaling and one for SD scaling to get maximum performance..can anyone confirm this...the 2 chipsets on the RX-Z11 (iChip IP00C772 is used for SD I/P conversion, and ABT1018 is used for HD I/P conversion)

I know we are intrigued by the reasons that Yamaha did not just use the one chip. But if you guys have more info on this pls share..
fastek is offline  
post #183 of 784 Old 08-09-2007, 01:02 AM
Member
 
opticnads's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: miami, Fl
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how big of a deal is it if a A/V isnt networked enabled. I am looking into a new reveiver my self and i am deciding between a Denon, Pioneer elite and a yamaha. So are future firmware upgrades that important? IF they are then i might have to opt for a cheaper Denon or Pioneet Elite.
opticnads is offline  
post #184 of 784 Old 08-09-2007, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigW View Post

Are any of the new Yamahas THX certified? Or has Yamaha abandoned THX?

Yamaha decided not to do THX last year when they released the 1700, and 2700. They felt the money could be spent better elsewhere. Though they did bring it back for the Z-11. Personally I don't mind that my 2700 isn't THX certified.

Oh man, I can hear it now. "They should have put the money into a better processing chip"

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #185 of 784 Old 08-09-2007, 11:17 AM
Member
 
iodine23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastek View Post

After reviewing the infi my dealer left. I see that Yamaha is using 2 chip instead of one Realta like the Onkyo and Denon...In talking with the sales rep he mentioned that they chose to use 2 chips, one used for HD scaling and one for SD scaling to get maximum performance..can anyone confirm this...the 2 chipsets on the RX-Z11 (iChip IP00C772 is used for SD I/P conversion, and ABT1018 is used for HD I/P conversion)

The 1018 appears to only be a scaler according to the DVDO/ABT website, same with the 1010. So my guess is the iChip would be the deinterlacer then the ABT chip would be the scaler.

http://www.anchorbaytech.com/product...rs/abt1018.php
iodine23 is offline  
post #186 of 784 Old 08-09-2007, 04:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
kulims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to yamaha.com/yec the RX-V1800 is a network receiver but there is no port that would make it so.
kulims is offline  
post #187 of 784 Old 08-09-2007, 07:44 PM
Member
 
fastek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulims View Post

According to yamaha.com/yec the RX-V1800 is a network receiver but there is no port that would make it so.

V1800 is not a network receiver...BTW look on the site and did not see where it mentioned that it was a network receiver...See attached
http://www.yamaha.com/yec/products/p...ETYP=ATTRIBUTE
fastek is offline  
post #188 of 784 Old 08-09-2007, 08:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
kulims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastek View Post

V1800 is not a network receiver...BTW look on the site and did not see where it mentioned that it was a network receiver...See attached
http://www.yamaha.com/yec/products/p...ETYP=ATTRIBUTE

It is at the very to of the page (in the title itself) and it is pasted below. Additionally engadget also claims this to be a network AVR ( I'm sorry I dont have a link).


RX-V1800
7.1 Channel Network Home Theater Receiver


$1,299.95

Offers the highest levels of sound and video quality and convenience for total home theater enjoyment with features including Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio decoders, latest HDMI 1.3a specification support, video upscaling to 1080p, iPod compatibility,YPAO Auto Setup with Quick Start, and multi-zone custom installation support.
kulims is offline  
post #189 of 784 Old 08-09-2007, 11:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
lienly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
then will 2 > 1? say 1018+ iChip is better than Reon?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iodine23 View Post

The 1018 appears to only be a scaler according to the DVDO/ABT website, same with the 1010. So my guess is the iChip would be the deinterlacer then the ABT chip would be the scaler.

lienly is offline  
post #190 of 784 Old 08-10-2007, 09:24 AM
Newbie
 
MrKayMrKay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulims View Post

It is at the very to of the page (in the title itself) and it is pasted below. Additionally engadget also claims this to be a network AVR ( I'm sorry I dont have a link).


RX-V1800
7.1 Channel Network Home Theater Receiver


$1,299.95

Offers the highest levels of sound and video quality and convenience for total home theater enjoyment with features including Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio decoders, latest HDMI 1.3a specification support, video upscaling to 1080p, iPod compatibility,YPAO Auto Setup with Quick Start, and multi-zone custom installation support.


Yamaha web guys have just inverted titles of 1800 and 3800 models, thats all...
MrKayMrKay is offline  
post #191 of 784 Old 08-10-2007, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
kulims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody have ideas on how to make the RS-232C port useful. Any devices out there that plug into a Yamaha RS-232C port. Any application.
kulims is offline  
post #192 of 784 Old 08-10-2007, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulims
Does anybody have ideas on how to make the RS-232C port useful. Any devices out there that plug into a Yamaha RS-232C port. Any application.
It's intention was to be able to communicate with whole home systems such as Elan, Crestron, etc. I like to use it with Yamahas "receiver manager" software. Nice way to tweak the receiver from your laptop. You can do it stand alone and then upload configurations, or do it in real time. Great tool for CIs. I'll attach the version for the 2700. It's also available for the 1500/2500, 1600/2600, 1700 and 4600.

 

RcvMgr2700.v1.0.zip 447.59765625k . file

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #193 of 784 Old 08-10-2007, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKayMrKay View Post

Yamaha web guys have just inverted titles of 1800 and 3800 models, thats all...

Emailed the webmaster last night. Descriptions are accurate now.

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #194 of 784 Old 08-10-2007, 01:39 PM
Member
 
iodine23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lienly View Post

then will 2 > 1? say 1018+ iChip is better than Reon?

Doubtful. I don't see anything on the ABT website that mentions any of the more advanced capabilities of the Reon, such as mosquito or block noise reduciton. These features are in the ABT2010 but not the 1010 or 1018.

As far as the iChips chip is concerned, I'm not sure what it can and can't do.
iodine23 is offline  
post #195 of 784 Old 08-10-2007, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eightninesuited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10



4 HDMI inputs. Come to Papa. I don't care about the processor sicne my Projector has the REON chip. Can you turn off the ABT scaler on the 1800?

No animals were harmed in the creation of this sentence.
eightninesuited is offline  
post #196 of 784 Old 08-10-2007, 06:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shanemcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It'll pass any HDMI signals straight through. I haven't looked at the manual to see whether you can force it to not upscale 480 composite or other inputs.
shanemcr is offline  
post #197 of 784 Old 08-10-2007, 11:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
bboncorr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yup i have decided on the 1800 for my living room 100%. nice to see that many hdmi inputs. i just wish it had HDRADIO. maybe i will just buy an adapter.

Pioneer 5010FD, Sony 60A3000, Panny 42PZ85U, Yamaha RX-V3800, Denon 4308, B&W 600's, HSU VTF-3 MK3, Def. Tech. bp7004, 2002, 1.2x, 2x, TivoHD, Samsung 1200, harmony 1000, ps3, xbox360, Sony BDP S350
bboncorr1 is offline  
post #198 of 784 Old 08-11-2007, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dark_Wizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver, NC
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bboncorr1 View Post

yup i have decided on the 1800 for my living room 100%. nice to see that many hdmi inputs. i just wish it had HDRADIO. maybe i will just buy an adapter.

Looking into the 1800 as well as I can't see spending an xtra $400 for the network and GUI...everything else is the same.
Dark_Wizard is offline  
post #199 of 784 Old 08-11-2007, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
lienly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do you mean such RS232C port on any brand amp is for that kind of control system?


any other brand offers such similar receiver manager SW?


Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

It's intention was to be able to communicate with whole home systems such as Elan, Crestron, etc. I like to use it with Yamahas "receiver manager" software. Nice way to tweak the receiver from your laptop. You can do it stand alone and then upload configurations, or do it in real time. Great tool for CIs. I'll attach the version for the 2700. It's also available for the 1500/2500, 1600/2600, 1700 and 4600.

lienly is offline  
post #200 of 784 Old 08-11-2007, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dark_Wizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver, NC
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

It's intention was to be able to communicate with whole home systems such as Elan, Crestron, etc. I like to use it with Yamahas "receiver manager" software. Nice way to tweak the receiver from your laptop. You can do it stand alone and then upload configurations, or do it in real time. Great tool for CIs. I'll attach the version for the 2700. It's also available for the 1500/2500, 1600/2600, 1700 and 4600.

I assume this will be available for the 1800/3800 as well? Can you get these versions?
Dark_Wizard is offline  
post #201 of 784 Old 08-11-2007, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dark_Wizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver, NC
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whoa! Anyone see this yet? And the prices?
Dark_Wizard is offline  
post #202 of 784 Old 08-11-2007, 12:26 PM
Member
 
opticnads's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: miami, Fl
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if Magnolia best buy will have the 1800?
opticnads is offline  
post #203 of 784 Old 08-11-2007, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kemiza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Circle City
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 90
I don't understand all the hype revolving around the video scalers in the new AV receivers this year. Not that I don't undrstand what a video scaler does, I just don't beleive the true need for it. I assume 95% of the people who upgraded to a HDMI receiver this year did it because they own a HDDVD player or BLURAY player. The video quality is 1080i or 1080p. You can have high quality scaler in the player and the receiver BUT once the video signal gets to the television, another scaler will affect the video signal. Not that its a bad thing but the television is the final link in the chain. I'm totally aware that the scaler is for non HD signals. But lets be honest you upgraded your receiver for HD sound & picture not SD sound and picture.

Panasonic TC-P50ST60 plasma HD television, Onkyo TX-SR805 and PIONEER ELITE VSX-47TX receivers, Klipsch RB-75(2 pair) and RB-61 bookshelf speakers, Klipsch RSW-10, RSW-12(2), Velodyne HGS-12, HGS-18 subwoofers, OPPO BDP-103, PS3 80G, PIONEER DV-525 dvd player, Klipsch RS-42 surrounds, Klipsch RC-52 center channel
kemiza is offline  
post #204 of 784 Old 08-11-2007, 10:20 PM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by opticnads View Post

Does anyone know if Magnolia best buy will have the 1800?

I believe that Magnolia will carry the 1800 and 3800 and BB will carry the RX-Vx61 series.

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #205 of 784 Old 08-11-2007, 10:23 PM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Wizard View Post

Whoa! Anyone see this yet? And the prices?

There's a thread on this site dedicated to it.

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #206 of 784 Old 08-11-2007, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lienly View Post

do you mean such RS232C port on any brand amp is for that kind of control system?


any other brand offers such similar receiver manager SW?

There are multiple applications for RS232. As for other manufacturers using RCVR MGR SW, I can't speak for that. Anyone??

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #207 of 784 Old 08-12-2007, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shanemcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

There's a thread on this site dedicated to it.

There's also info on the first post of this thread.
shanemcr is offline  
post #208 of 784 Old 08-13-2007, 07:04 PM
Member
 
siobhan06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bboncorr1 View Post

this is why yamaha does not announce all the years models. remember yamaha releases models all through the year not just the ones they announce early. most manufacturers do this so they can switch things up to be competitive. i bet the 4800 when announced will be feature packed and be a better comparison to the denon 4308 and onkyo 905. i just cant wait that long because i know yamaha will wait until at least early next year to drop that model. kinda makes me wonder why they wouldnt announce the top models and work there way down the models.

I noticed you have the 7004 and quite familiar with the boston rock station. I am looking to buy the the 7004 and would be happy to hear your assessment and if you leave in MA,which retailer did you get them from. I am hoping they will work with either the 3808CI or the V3800 which ever comes out as the winner in terms of sound quality. I am more of a sound fan and not big into this caler/processor war.
siobhan06 is offline  
post #209 of 784 Old 08-14-2007, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
steady teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yamaha already announced the release date for the RX-Z11, but no announcement yet for the 3800?
steady teddy is offline  
post #210 of 784 Old 08-14-2007, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
hifiboy24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I send email at Yamaha Canada for about when the RXV 3800 release in store and i receive, The RXV 3800 is expected availability in store in November.

I really expected the release is earlier then that
hifiboy24 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off