The "Official" Onkyo TX-NR905 Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 8818 Old 08-07-2007, 11:02 PM
Newbie
 
tiago422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have the same question... im looking by the Denon 4008ci and this one
i think the Onkyo will sound better, its have better Dacs, but i don't know it all

If anyone can confirm, Thankz a lot...

o/tt, my english its not good, sory
tiago422 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 03:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I did have the HDMI NO SIGNAL issue with my 875. And strangely enough using the same unit with the same HDMI cable I did not have it with the 805. Dude2006 are you still experiencing HDMI trouble? I should have mine today or tomorrow and I want to hit it with as many HDMI sources as I can...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #273 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 03:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suzook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
So in order to stream music to this from a PC you will need a bridge of some sort correct?
Suzook is offline  
post #274 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 03:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I will say this (or post it), if I have any issues (or a major one) I will gladly go back to the 805!

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #275 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 04:22 AM
Member
 
overthehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all

I have read all 200+ pages of this forum plus millions of pages from the 805,875,905 forum and I thought I could do the following with my 905 until I get a new tv with hdmi inputs:

I have connected the hdmi outs from the cable box and the Samsung 1200 to the 905 but I cannot get a video out via the component to my tv.

I get sound but no video. The only way I got video was to use the component inputs instead of the HDMI ones.

I could of swore that I had read that I could use the the HDMI inputs and it would provide a component output. I have tried all of the combinations of settings I can think of on the 905.

Any thoughts will be GREATLY appreciated.

By the way, no popping with these two connections, HD FM works, rear of unit does get to hot to hold hand on it for more than about 5 seconds but not hot enough to burn you. Unit is in free air on top of cabinet. Not much else to say yet.

Please tell me I can have HDMI ins and component out :-)
overthehill is offline  
post #276 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 04:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry but no. If you could convert HDMI 1080p to component, every pirate on the 7 seas would own one of these. Its a no-no, although I understand there are some black boxes floating around.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #277 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 04:55 AM
Member
 
wim06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me if the 905 doing smart-stretch or lineair-stretch with 4x3 image?
Thanks.
wim06 is offline  
post #278 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 04:55 AM
Member
 
overthehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgribbles View Post

Sorry but no. If you could convert HDMI 1080p to component, every pirate on the 7 seas would own one of these. Its a no-no, although I understand there are some black boxes floating around.

Thanks for the quick reply even if it is

You know, now you have said that, I do remember that I did read that too. Its that darn HDCP anti theft thing.

I guess I was in a dream world. Maybe that's why I named myself "Overthehill"

Oh well, now I have to get really serious about a new tv. I was holding out for the new Sony 70 "XBR5 but also thought of the Samsung 72 in DLP (in stock) might be jsut as good
overthehill is offline  
post #279 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 05:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
lienly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so any one of those 6 cables list on HomeTheaterHiFi >12m benchmark should be good.

benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by bass addict View Post

That's a whole lot of bad HDMI cables floating around out there.

lienly is offline  
post #280 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 05:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
dude2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I did have the HDMI NO SIGNAL issue with my 875. And strangely enough using the same unit with the same HDMI cable I did not have it with the 805. Dude2006 are you still experiencing HDMI trouble? I should have mine today or tomorrow and I want to hit it with as many HDMI sources as I can...


Nope, the only HDMI issue was with the DVD but it's working now, the only other source I have connected via HDMI is a Series 3 Tivo and that's working fine. By the way, I'm not experiencing ANY sync issues with audio in any of my sources
dude2006 is offline  
post #281 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 05:52 AM
Member
 
pjdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by overthehill View Post

Hi all

I have read all 200+ pages of this forum plus millions of pages from the 805,875,905 forum and I thought I could do the following with my 905 until I get a new tv with hdmi inputs:

I have connected the hdmi outs from the cable box and the Samsung 1200 to the 905 but I cannot get a video out via the component to my tv.

I get sound but no video. The only way I got video was to use the component inputs instead of the HDMI ones.

I could of swore that I had read that I could use the the HDMI inputs and it would provide a component output. I have tried all of the combinations of settings I can think of on the 905.

Any thoughts will be GREATLY appreciated.

By the way, no popping with these two connections, HD FM works, rear of unit does get to hot to hold hand on it for more than about 5 seconds but not hot enough to burn you. Unit is in free air on top of cabinet. Not much else to say yet.

Please tell me I can have HDMI ins and component out :-)


I purchased an item on ebay (VisionFC4 HDMI to VGA YPbPr Component Adapter Converter) that does what you want. It was $187.95. If you look around on the forums, there are discussions about these things. Supposedly there is one that is better than the one I got.

It is supposedly illegal, but I don't consider allowing myself to view material on my television a crime (I do not use it to copy DVDs or anything else). In fact, I think it is a crime that I had to go out and find a black market device, and pay $187.95, just because my television does not have an HDMI input....

EDIT ---------

I read somewhere that the HD Fury worked betther than the VisionFC4. Here is a link:

http://www.curtpalme.com/CRTforSale_..._products.shtm


Here is where there was some discussion on the topic:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=791916
pjdick is offline  
post #282 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 05:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Digitally challe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I, for one, will be glad when ADI and other cable suppliers implement the DPL(Digital Performance Level) rating system. It should eliminate a lot of cnfusion and problems for the consumer.
Digitally challe is offline  
post #283 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 08:17 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjdick View Post


It is supposedly illegal, but I don't consider allowing myself to view material on my television a crime (I do not use it to copy DVDs or anything else). In fact, I think it is a crime that I had to go out and find a black market device, and pay $187.95, just because my television does not have an HDMI input....

I agree with you absolutely! The movie and recording industries are responsible for HDMI and all its problems just so someone cannot easily circumvent their copy protection. The entire point is that you can, no matter what (if you're willing to pay extra), because it's digital... look at cd or dvd ripping software. What a load!

If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.

grubavs is offline  
post #284 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 08:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,168
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by borg.cube View Post

Twice this evening the 905 lost sync over HDMI while my Tivo S3 HD was playing a recorded program. (the tivo is set constant 1080i output). You could see the screen on the 905 drop its audio designation and then return after about 5 seconds...the tv went black as well.


On top of this earlier today the same thing happened while playing a game on the PS3...also connected via HDMI.

I was also getting a lot of popping when setting up to play a bluray movie on the PS3.

These are very bad omens for the 905 & HDMI.

At this point I would not recommend purchase until we see if others get HDMI dropouts.

BTW--I'm using HDMI inputs for both video AND audio.

This is not a good sign since one of the major reasons for me getting any of these 1.3 receivers is to use the HDMI switching capability. Like you I would be using HDMI for both video and audio. The Reon processing means little if you can't get the basic HDMI functions to work.

It may be on to Denon for me at this point.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #285 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Will the 905 allow for diferent HDMI inputs to be displayed on different HDMI Outputs at the same time independently? If I have two displays connect to the each of HDMI outs, can I have one display using my PS3 (running to 905) and another display(running to 905) using my HDDVD at the same time? Or is this just wishful thinking?
stepmback is offline  
post #286 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
palehorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by stepmback View Post

Will the 905 allow for diferent HDMI inputs to be displayed on different HDMI Outputs at the same time independently? If I have two displays connect to the each of HDMI outs, can I have one display using my PS3 (running to 905) and another display(running to 905) using my HDDVD at the same time? Or is this just wishful thinking?

I believe that is not possible with current receivers, as it would require two separate processors for both audio and video.

You'd essentially need a "dual-core" receiver of some sort...

right?
palehorse is offline  
post #287 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Johnsteph10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 4,259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

This is not a good sign since one of the major reasons for me getting any of these 1.3 receivers is to use the HDMI switching capability. Like you I would be using HDMI for both video and audio. The Reon processing means little if you can't get the basic HDMI functions to work.

It may be on to Denon for me at this point.

..though people are also reporting the same problems with the 4308ci.

John

Loganed...finally. 6/6/08
My 3.0 HT Build Thread
Johnsteph10 is offline  
post #288 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
rkgriffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnsteph10 View Post

..though people are also reporting the same problems with the 4308ci.

Denon has already released a firmware upgrade that has been resolving a lot of the issues. However, there are some that haven't been able to upgrade their's yet so we will have to see what happens. Though, I will be doubtfdul if Onkyo or Denon will be able to resolve all the issues.

How good is Onkyo at releasing firmwares?

There also seems to be a lot of issues with HDMI-DVI cables with most receivers. I wish all these HDMI issues would go away.
rkgriffin is offline  
post #289 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
lorelevitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnsteph10 View Post

..though people are also reporting the same problems with the 4308ci.

I am seeing the same problems over HDMI (audio + video). I also am getting sync drops from a Tivo HD and since I have a Sony PS3-- I've tried that as well and am getting sync drops. I have lots of HDMI cables to try and that doesn't appear to be the problem. We need to gather data from more 905 users who are doing both audio & video over HDMI to see if we can convince Onkyo to consider firmware changes. This all reminds me of the problems I have seen over HDMI and the various high end video processors.
lorelevitt is offline  
post #290 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DPlettner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 2,744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have any of you with HDMI issues contacted Onkyo tech support? I am wondering what they have to say. Also, they need to hear from people with problems for them to realize how important it is to work on a firmware update.

I am still waiting for my 905 to ship from J&R.

-Dave
DPlettner is offline  
post #291 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
jcp2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Just outside Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just got off the phone with J&R cs and she confirmed that the 905's are in. She guaranteed me that I am in the first allotment (I ordered June 21) and It will ship out maybe today or tomorrow. Apparently there is some flooding in NY and so it is causing a lot of problems with the transportation infrastructure. But, THEY ARE IN I will have mine next week. I'll post some reviews as far as component as My pj doesn't have hdmi.
jcp2 is offline  
post #292 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 10:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
lorelevitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DPlettner View Post

Have any of you with HDMI issues contacted Onkyo tech support? I am wondering what they have to say. Also, they need to hear from people with problems for them to realize how important it is to work on a firmware update.

I am still waiting for my 905 to ship from J&R.

-Dave

I don't have my serial number at work. I'll write it down and give them a call tomorrow.
lorelevitt is offline  
post #293 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
 
cluelesspa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was told they were expecting 200 units on their first allotment. did they get all 200?

Clueless In Pittsburgh, PA :)
JVC 56" D-ILA 1080p HDTV & Toshiba HD-XA1
Model - HD-56FH96 All Black
cluelesspa is offline  
post #294 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
jcp2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Just outside Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
she didn't specify an exact # of units received. When she told me I was definitely in the first allotment, TBH I didn't think to ask.
jcp2 is offline  
post #295 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 10:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Babel_Fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lol... Abt just called me and said their shipment came in today.. they want me to pick it up.. Now I have a Denon 4308 AND an Onkyo 905 at that store.. uhg.. which one to get?!?!?!?!

-------------------------------
My Setup Slideshow
Babel_Fish is offline  
post #296 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 10:55 AM
Member
 
cuibap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just called j&r and checked my order as well. the csr told me that they just received the 905s last night and will ship mine out this afternoon or tomorrow at the latest.
cuibap is offline  
post #297 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DPlettner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 2,744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcp2 View Post

she didn't specify an exact # of units received. When she told me I was definitely in the first allotment, TBH I didn't think to ask.

Well I also ordered on June 21. My agent won't be in for a few hours, but I spoke with a different agent. I asked her if I would be in the first allotment, and she said she had no way of knowing.

Then I asked her how many they received, and she said around 30. However, some of these would be allocated to the J&R storefront in New York. I figure they can probably get close to list price in the store, so who knows how many they will allocate to the store. When I ordered on June 21 (in the evening), I was told that I was around #30 on the list, so it does not look good.

I also asked when the next shipment would arrive, and she had no idea.

I will probably call back in 3-4 hours when I can talk to my agent.

-Dave
DPlettner is offline  
post #298 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 11:02 AM
Member
 
bbwebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got off the phone with J&R and they gave me a tracking number for my 905! She said it shipped out today and I'll have it no later than Friday!

-Bill

Be good...and you will be lonesome
- Mark Twain

Finished Home Theater - For Now
Home Theater Build
bbwebb is offline  
post #299 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
fresno1232001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here we go already with f++++king firmware updates on the new Onkyos!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WTF? They were at the factory 3 week ago. What were they doing then, playing with themselves? If I read on here that they are shot thru with firmware updates, I won't buy one. Hear that Onkyo? I won't buy one. Suggest you turn the ships around in mid-Pacific and get them back and do the updates in your factory. When they are right, ship them out. Let's all do this right, people. If we are reading about firmware updates, which is just criminal fraud by Onkyo, let's all boycott them for a year until we are seeing they DON'T need firmware upgrades to work right. Show them where to get off!!! Hey Onkyo, why not release about 100 of these to people on these forums to field test for 6 months. Then, as they find the bugs, as these poor suckers are now, fix the problem at the factory. When they are right, ship them out. You deserve to go down in flames releasing these fraudulent units onto the market needing a bunch of firmware updates.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DPlettner View Post

Have any of you with HDMI issues contacted Onkyo tech support? I am wondering what they have to say. Also, they need to hear from people with problems for them to realize how important it is to work on a firmware update.

I am still waiting for my 905 to ship from J&R.

-Dave

fresno1232001 is offline  
post #300 of 8818 Old 08-08-2007, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stevesns69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I listened to J&R excuses for too long. I wouldn't hold my breath on getting that 905 too quick. I also was told that I was going to be the first to get the 875, but when everybody else was getting their receiver, I knew something was up. I placed my order 5/10, which means nothing to them when somebody calls in August and is promised a receiver. Well I never got the 875, so I cancelled and went some where else and ordered the 905 instead. That's better than starting all over again with J&R, which is what they said would happen. J&R will spout out dates and estimates without anything to back it up. They will lie to keep you from cancelling your order. I don't know about everybody else, but I don't like being lied to. Just my opinion.
stevesns69 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off