The "Official" Onkyo TX-NR905 Thread - Page 295 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8821 of 8844 Old 09-27-2014, 04:50 PM
Newbie
 
pieczonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anybody help me I did a factory reset on my receiver, and now I cannot remember how to get my Sirius radio working again?
pieczonka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8822 of 8844 Old 12-03-2014, 11:02 PM
Member
 
PeterPL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I lost Ethernet and USB working in my TX-NR905, I tried Hard reset VCR+Standby = Net Clear skip [ent] then push Enter and display show "Clear" nothing helped.
Network settings in Menu is unselectable, receiver is connected to router, also not any blinking port behind receiver and router.

EDIT

I checked firmware versions and looks like it lost firmware for Net because shows "?"

Main 9....1.08 / 08223A
SR8051...08214A
SR8052...07518A
SR8053...07820B
HDMI......1.01 / 07706A
Video......07606E00924
Net........?
Net usr...blank
Net rfs...blank
Net krn....blank
Net ipl...blank

How to fix that ? Which firmware contain soft for Net ? Main or DSP ? Please help

Last edited by PeterPL; 12-05-2014 at 09:24 PM.
PeterPL is offline  
post #8823 of 8844 Old 01-25-2015, 04:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Romania
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Nadsp-9072

Hi, I'm new on sait I have a question, where can I find a NADSP - 9072 boards for ONKYO TX- nr905 ? Thanks.
felix33 is offline  
post #8824 of 8844 Old 03-22-2015, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
originalsnuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For those of us still using this receiver I have a question. Is it common for the photo inputs on this receiver to get "funky"? Specifically the left phono input seems to have a bad connection. If I jiggle the cord I can get it to work for a bit then it goes out again. It is the receiver not the connecting cable. I am using a rca extender cable and I did replace the cable and had the exact same problem.

I suppose I could just get a phono preamp and come in via another input as a workaround. Open to some thoughts.
originalsnuffy is offline  
post #8825 of 8844 Old 03-28-2015, 05:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
sdlehman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: St. Charles, Missouri
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by originalsnuffy View Post
For those of us still using this receiver I have a question. Is it common for the photo inputs on this receiver to get "funky"? Specifically the left phono input seems to have a bad connection. If I jiggle the cord I can get it to work for a bit then it goes out again. It is the receiver not the connecting cable. I am using a rca extender cable and I did replace the cable and had the exact same problem.

I suppose I could just get a phono preamp and come in via another input as a workaround. Open to some thoughts.
It almost sounds like a build up of dust? I haven't had any issues with the phono inputs on my 905. Since you posted this did you get a chance to try the work around?

Stace
sdlehman is offline  
post #8826 of 8844 Old 03-30-2015, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
originalsnuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have not tried the workaround. I do not currently have a phono preamp unit.

If the problem is dust, is there a way to clean it out without opening the unit? Otherwise are there any suggestions for opening the unit without hurting the unit or myself?
originalsnuffy is offline  
post #8827 of 8844 Old 04-23-2015, 10:43 AM
Newbie
 
Wisiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

Lurker - several years the owner of a second-hand TX-NR905 and very happy with it. I've read through much of this thread and have noted the issue with the HDMI board and the 85 deg caps going out and causing problems. There is mention of a thread that provides instruction on how to change them. I'v found the thread on "how-to for dummys", but it is for a different model and the images of the HDMI board look different from what I have.

Is there another thread that walks through this cap replacement? I have searched for the last 30 min for this information both here and the web, maybe not keying the right key words. I'd appreciate if anyone knows the pertinent thread, hopefully with pics, and can point me at the specific caps that need replacing.

Thanks again..

110" homemade Spandex grey-screen, Pan AE8000U, Onkyo TX-NR905


edit: Going back through threads one post at a time, I think I've found what I need in a post by Jon S number 663 in the "How to DIY ; TX-SR576/TX-SR606/etc HDMI daughterboard repair (for dummies?)" found here: How to DIY ; TX-SR576/TX-SR606/etc HDMI daughterboard repair (for dummies?)

Last edited by Wisiwyg; 04-23-2015 at 11:18 AM.
Wisiwyg is offline  
post #8828 of 8844 Old 05-19-2015, 10:12 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Albator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St-Cesaire,Quebec
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello guys, i am pretty sure it has been talked about but this thread is so HUGE!!!! Here is my problem...

For the last week when i turn it on i hear the sound but no pictures!! I've tried with dvd player, blue ray or cable provider and i hear the sound pefectly but no pictures at all!!! I did try a factory reset and it didnt work out... Has my receiver's life already over?

If you could tell me if it's normal after 8 years....i'm kinda upset of not being able to watch tv anymore...

thanks
Albator is offline  
post #8829 of 8844 Old 06-01-2015, 08:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albator View Post
Hello guys, i am pretty sure it has been talked about but this thread is so HUGE!!!! Here is my problem...

For the last week when i turn it on i hear the sound but no pictures!! I've tried with dvd player, blue ray or cable provider and i hear the sound pefectly but no pictures at all!!! I did try a factory reset and it didnt work out... Has my receiver's life already over?

If you could tell me if it's normal after 8 years....i'm kinda upset of not being able to watch tv anymore...

thanks
Exact same thing happen for me yesterday when I started it! If I press the setup button I see the ONKYO logo but nothing else so it doesn't go into the setup menu. After doing everything (had it unplugged for a awhile also) it worked again! Today after I started it it also worked but after about 2 hours the screen froze but sound continue. I unplugged it and after about 20 minutes it started working again. So seems like some overheating..

I did find some things to try, replacing resistors from the small board in the front from post 17338 in the "The" Onkyo TX-SR805 Thread" and the thing linked just 2 posts up from my post in this thread. (Sorry can't post links to few posts) and just replacing the HDMI board.

So what should we do!? The first thing seems like simplest (even though I suck at soldering) but don't seem like its the right place (far from hdmi ports). I have opened it hoping to find lots of dust but where very little, used some compressed air anyway but very little hope of that.
manderlore is offline  
post #8830 of 8844 Old 06-01-2015, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
*update to above*

Everything was working fine, and then I put the Onkyo in standby a shot while, and after that I got no signal = no video and no sound. Try on off several times but the same. So I pulled the power cord and after that I got sound but still no picture. So it might not be overheating but some handshake or other issue I guess.
manderlore is offline  
post #8831 of 8844 Old 06-01-2015, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albator View Post
Hello guys, i am pretty sure it has been talked about but this thread is so HUGE!!!! Here is my problem...

For the last week when i turn it on i hear the sound but no pictures!! I've tried with dvd player, blue ray or cable provider and i hear the sound pefectly but no pictures at all!!! I did try a factory reset and it didnt work out... Has my receiver's life already over?

If you could tell me if it's normal after 8 years....i'm kinda upset of not being able to watch tv anymore...

thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by manderlore View Post
Exact same thing happen for me yesterday when I started it! If I press the setup button I see the ONKYO logo but nothing else so it doesn't go into the setup menu. After doing everything (had it unplugged for a awhile also) it worked again! Today after I started it it also worked but after about 2 hours the screen froze but sound continue. I unplugged it and after about 20 minutes it started working again. So seems like some overheating..

I did find some things to try, replacing resistors from the small board in the front from post 17338 in the "The" Onkyo TX-SR805 Thread" and the thing linked just 2 posts up from my post in this thread. (Sorry can't post links to few posts) and just replacing the HDMI board.

So what should we do!? The first thing seems like simplest (even though I suck at soldering) but don't seem like its the right place (far from hdmi ports). I have opened it hoping to find lots of dust but where very little, used some compressed air anyway but very little hope of that.

Chances are the capacitors on the HDMI board have gone bad due to heat failure. This is a known issue with Onkyos because they used low rated parts on the board. You can try and replace the caps on the HDMI board, but with its age, I would consider buying a new (non-Onkyo IMHO) receiver with the latest tech.

I had three Onkyos and all three had failed due to one reason or another after a year or two. I would not recommend staying with Onkyo because their reliability is pretty bad...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is online now  
post #8832 of 8844 Old 06-01-2015, 11:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver Island, BC - Canada
Posts: 16,401
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6721 Post(s)
Liked: 3324
I agree with the poster just above (Jon S). ...If shopping for a new receiver, look @ the flagship from Yamaha (RX-A3040*), and/or Denon (AVR-X7200W).
...For a pre/pro; look @ Marantz top gun, the AV8802A.

* The Yamaha A3040 will not get a DTS:X firmware update/upgrade. ...Then wait for its replacement this Summer/Fall.

~ Bob
"And it stoned me to my soul"
- Van Morrison
NorthSky is offline  
post #8833 of 8844 Old 02-20-2016, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Dano_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recently it seems my 905 is not consistently sending a signal to my TV through HDMI, thought maybe it was my TV but hooked up different receiver and it has worked fine for about a month. Is there a fix for this issue? I read something about a faulty board with these receivers. I baught this new years ago and am hoping to get more life out it. Any help would be appreciated.
Dano_1 is offline  
post #8834 of 8844 Old 02-20-2016, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
isisyodin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Take your losses and get a new AVR. My 905 is still working like a champ, but I decommissioned from my main home theater and it is now my second AVR relocated to my bedroom. I did it because I relocated my gear to an AV rack in a closet space. The 905 wouldn't have survived am sure.
Indeed the HDMI board is probably going bad or has gone bad. The problem is not the board itself but the overall design IMHO. If the 905 is a toaster oven and if it doesn't get enough ventilation, it will damage the HDMI circuit board and possibly other circuitry.
Mine has always been on a shelf on its on with plenty of air flow. It still gets hot to the touch but I suppose within the designed limits.
You can get a pretty good AVR with non-active amps (cooler operational temp) for less than $500.

I wish I had more time to enjoy my gear
isisyodin is offline  
post #8835 of 8844 Old 02-20-2016, 11:04 AM
Member
 
Dano_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by isisyodin View Post
Take your losses and get a new AVR. My 905 is still working like a champ, but I decommissioned from my main home theater and it is now my second AVR relocated to my bedroom. I did it because I relocated my gear to an AV rack in a closet space. The 905 wouldn't have survived am sure.
Indeed the HDMI board is probably going bad or has gone bad. The problem is not the board itself but the overall design IMHO. If the 905 is a toaster oven and if it doesn't get enough ventilation, it will damage the HDMI circuit board and possibly other circuitry.
Mine has always been on a shelf on its on with plenty of air flow. It still gets hot to the touch but I suppose within the designed limits.
You can get a pretty good AVR with non-active amps (cooler operational temp) for less than $500.
Any suggestions on a new pre? I have an Emotiva 5 channel amp at 200watts a channel. Think I would want to upgrade to Atmos if I buy again but want something with better quality then the Onkyo as I think I am done with their products. I can always pick up extra amps if needed.
Dano_1 is offline  
post #8836 of 8844 Old 02-22-2016, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Marantz's pre-amp processor is very highly rated...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is online now  
post #8837 of 8844 Old 02-22-2016, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
isisyodin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I also went with separates. A Marantz AV8001 and 2x5 channel Emotivas. My current setup is a 9.2, and I couldn't be happier.

I wish I had more time to enjoy my gear
isisyodin is offline  
post #8838 of 8844 Old 03-30-2016, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just today acquired a used 905 for $175 and its firmware is ver 1.07 looking to get to 1.09 .....Anyone have have the files and or any advice?

Thanks
Rick
HemiRick is offline  
post #8839 of 8844 Old 03-31-2016, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 227
I hope you checked it before you bought it... This model is plagued by the faulty caps issue on the HDMI board....

Finding firmware for this is nigh impossible now... All the links are dead...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is online now  
post #8840 of 8844 Old 03-31-2016, 10:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It works GREAT

It works GREAT, someone has to have a copy of the firmware files........PLEASE ! And besides caps are easy to replace.

Thanks
Rick
HemiRick is offline  
post #8841 of 8844 Old 04-01-2016, 09:05 PM
Senior Member
 
JimProuty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Tigard, Oregon
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Lightbulb Firmware Download

Quote:
Originally Posted by HemiRick View Post
It works GREAT, someone has to have a copy of the firmware files........PLEASE ! And besides caps are easy to replace.

Thanks
Rick
Check my signature for a link to the latest firmware. The 100MB .zip file contains instructions and firmware.

It was a long time ago when I used these, I'm no expert.

Go easy on my server, please.
JimProuty is offline  
post #8842 of 8844 Old 04-01-2016, 10:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver Island, BC - Canada
Posts: 16,401
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6721 Post(s)
Liked: 3324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dano_1 View Post
Any suggestions on a new pre? I have an Emotiva 5 channel amp at 200watts a channel. Think I would want to upgrade to Atmos if I buy again but want something with better quality then the Onkyo as I think I am done with their products. I can always pick up extra amps if needed.
Anthem AVM 60, Marantz AV7702MKII, Marantz AV8802A, Yamaha CX-A5100.
Emotiva XMC-1 (no Atmos, no DTS:X, but Dirac Live system EQ for 7.1-channel).

Quote:
Originally Posted by HemiRick View Post
I just today acquired a used 905 for $175 and its firmware is ver 1.07 looking to get to 1.09 .....Anyone have have the files and or any advice?

Thanks
Rick
I don't know if it can help: http://www.lecombatdupeuple.com/imag...pdate-109.html

~ Bob
"And it stoned me to my soul"
- Van Morrison

Last edited by NorthSky; 04-04-2016 at 12:12 AM.
NorthSky is offline  
post #8843 of 8844 Old 04-03-2016, 10:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimProuty View Post
Check my signature for a link to the latest firmware. The 100MB .zip file contains instructions and firmware.

It was a long time ago when I used these, I'm no expert.

Go easy on my server, please.
Thank you Jim I knew someone had to have these files.
Now to gather up the courage to use them. LOL
Thanks
Rick
HemiRick is offline  
post #8844 of 8844 Old 06-29-2016, 10:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Onkyo TX-NR905 issues

Hi,
I downloaded the attached ISO files with the firmwares. Thank you very much to Jim Prouty. When I open the TX-NR905 directory I see 2 subdirectories there - App Updater 905 and Setup Updater8.8E. It seems that there are some firmwares in each directory. Can someone specify what exactly each directory contains please? I own an european model of Onkyo TX-NR905. I decided to upgrade because my AVReceiver does not recognize the playing format DTS-MA correctly. My AVR is connect with the Oppo BDP-93 (set to bitstream) via HDMI cable. On my display appears wrong information PCM 5.1 or PCM 7.1 instead of DTS-MA 5.1/7.1. Some movies are recognized properly other movies dont like PCM. I tried different HDMI cables and the same results all the time. Other problem are pop-nois issues with playing DTS-MA sources like Taken 1 US version (unrated cut 1:20:17) or Taken 2 US version (unrated cut 1:20:??) and european releases of Jurassic Park 1 (1:20:56/1:57:24), Jurassic Park 2 (1:53:10). These pop-noises ar not so big as I have red on this forum called as DTS HD-MA "bomb" but it bothers me. I am going to upgrade DSP too.
My AV receiver has these versions of FWs:
Main: 9 1.05/07927A
DSP 1st: SR8051 07601A
DSP 2nd: SR8052 07518A
DSP 3rd: SR8053 07820B
Net ipl: 070723/123459
Net krn: 070723/145423
Net rfs: 070731/095118
Net usr: 070731/095118
Net: 1.01/070731z
Video: 07606E00924
HDMI: 1.01/07706A

Can I upgrade directly from 1.05 to 1.09 or I have to upgrade gradually from 1.05 to 1.08 and from 1.08 to 1.09?
Thank you.
Rabanik is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off