The "Official" Onkyo TX-NR905 Thread - Page 295 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8821 of 8828 Old 09-27-2014, 04:50 PM
Newbie
 
pieczonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anybody help me I did a factory reset on my receiver, and now I cannot remember how to get my Sirius radio working again?
pieczonka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8822 of 8828 Old 12-03-2014, 11:02 PM
Member
 
PeterPL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I lost Ethernet and USB working in my TX-NR905, I tried Hard reset VCR+Standby = Net Clear skip [ent] then push Enter and display show "Clear" nothing helped.
Network settings in Menu is unselectable, receiver is connected to router, also not any blinking port behind receiver and router.

EDIT

I checked firmware versions and looks like it lost firmware for Net because shows "?"

Main 9....1.08 / 08223A
SR8051...08214A
SR8052...07518A
SR8053...07820B
HDMI......1.01 / 07706A
Video......07606E00924
Net........?
Net usr...blank
Net rfs...blank
Net krn....blank
Net ipl...blank

How to fix that ? Which firmware contain soft for Net ? Main or DSP ? Please help

Sony 46HX850 | Sony 46Z4500 | Onkyo 905, Monitor Audio RX8 + RX LCR | Logitech Z-680 | HTPC: (Core i5 4570S, Asus H87M-PRO, 4GB, Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, WD20EARS, Pionner BDC-202, Antec Fusion Remote Black)

Last edited by PeterPL; 12-05-2014 at 09:24 PM.
PeterPL is offline  
post #8823 of 8828 Old 01-25-2015, 04:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Romania
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Nadsp-9072

Hi, I'm new on sait I have a question, where can I find a NADSP - 9072 boards for ONKYO TX- nr905 ? Thanks.
felix33 is offline  
post #8824 of 8828 Old 03-22-2015, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
originalsnuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For those of us still using this receiver I have a question. Is it common for the photo inputs on this receiver to get "funky"? Specifically the left phono input seems to have a bad connection. If I jiggle the cord I can get it to work for a bit then it goes out again. It is the receiver not the connecting cable. I am using a rca extender cable and I did replace the cable and had the exact same problem.

I suppose I could just get a phono preamp and come in via another input as a workaround. Open to some thoughts.
originalsnuffy is offline  
post #8825 of 8828 Old 03-28-2015, 05:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
sdlehman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: St. Charles, Missouri
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by originalsnuffy View Post
For those of us still using this receiver I have a question. Is it common for the photo inputs on this receiver to get "funky"? Specifically the left phono input seems to have a bad connection. If I jiggle the cord I can get it to work for a bit then it goes out again. It is the receiver not the connecting cable. I am using a rca extender cable and I did replace the cable and had the exact same problem.

I suppose I could just get a phono preamp and come in via another input as a workaround. Open to some thoughts.
It almost sounds like a build up of dust? I haven't had any issues with the phono inputs on my 905. Since you posted this did you get a chance to try the work around?

Stace
sdlehman is offline  
post #8826 of 8828 Old 03-30-2015, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
originalsnuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have not tried the workaround. I do not currently have a phono preamp unit.

If the problem is dust, is there a way to clean it out without opening the unit? Otherwise are there any suggestions for opening the unit without hurting the unit or myself?
originalsnuffy is offline  
post #8827 of 8828 Old 04-23-2015, 10:43 AM
Newbie
 
Wisiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

Lurker - several years the owner of a second-hand TX-NR905 and very happy with it. I've read through much of this thread and have noted the issue with the HDMI board and the 85 deg caps going out and causing problems. There is mention of a thread that provides instruction on how to change them. I'v found the thread on "how-to for dummys", but it is for a different model and the images of the HDMI board look different from what I have.

Is there another thread that walks through this cap replacement? I have searched for the last 30 min for this information both here and the web, maybe not keying the right key words. I'd appreciate if anyone knows the pertinent thread, hopefully with pics, and can point me at the specific caps that need replacing.

Thanks again..

110" homemade Spandex grey-screen, Pan AE8000U, Onkyo TX-NR905


edit: Going back through threads one post at a time, I think I've found what I need in a post by Jon S number 663 in the "How to DIY ; TX-SR576/TX-SR606/etc HDMI daughterboard repair (for dummies?)" found here: How to DIY ; TX-SR576/TX-SR606/etc HDMI daughterboard repair (for dummies?)

Last edited by Wisiwyg; 04-23-2015 at 11:18 AM.
Wisiwyg is offline  
post #8828 of 8828 Old Today, 10:12 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Albator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St-Cesaire,Quebec
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello guys, i am pretty sure it has been talked about but this thread is so HUGE!!!! Here is my problem...

For the last week when i turn it on i hear the sound but no pictures!! I've tried with dvd player, blue ray or cable provider and i hear the sound pefectly but no pictures at all!!! I did try a factory reset and it didnt work out... Has my receiver's life already over?

If you could tell me if it's normal after 8 years....i'm kinda upset of not being able to watch tv anymore...

thanks
Albator is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off