The "Official" Yamaha RX-V1800/RX-V3800 Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 8661 Old 12-22-2007, 09:13 AM
Member
 
cos54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iknown View Post

Sorry. It was NOT my intention to act as a marketing person for any dealer. I was just trying to help other forum members for getting this product at a lower cost.

I can understand AVS forum's policy and I don't want to violate that.

It was just for helping others to get the reciver for a lower cost...

And help you did... I was all set to order an rx-v1800 until I saw your post. I can't pass up the 3800 at that price. With only a 200 dollar difference I want the networking and front usb port for my flash drive. THANKS!
cos54 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 8661 Old 12-22-2007, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
eric102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by iknown View Post

6VE is selling RX-V3800 for $1098. This is a very good deal !!!!

1) Go to www.6ave.com

2) Select Yamaha RX-V3800 and add it to the cart.

3) In the coupon code section, enter AFLYAM1098 and update the price

4) The new price will be $1098. They offer free shipping too.

This offer is only valid until 01/03/2008.


Oh man, I just bought another receiver I didn't really need, thanks for the tip
eric102 is offline  
post #633 of 8661 Old 12-22-2007, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
Semaca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by interpol View Post

I'm confused by your second question. Are you trying to use the surround back terminals to bi-amp front speakers? I don't recommend this, and it won't work correctly anyway.

If you look in the 1800 manual, page 19, you will see that this is exactly what it is supposed to do for bi-amping front speakers. I only don't know if for 1800 surround back out is used for high frequencies and front out for low ones, as I usually find out that it happens, or the other way arround..

If you have look at Onkyo 705 manual, will see that for bi-amping they specify this tiny detail
Semaca is offline  
post #634 of 8661 Old 12-22-2007, 12:16 PM
 
interpol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Semaca View Post

If you look in the 1800 manual, page 19, you will see that this is exactly what it is supposed to do for bi-amping front speakers. I only don't know if for 1800 surround back out is used for high frequencies and front out for low ones, as I usually find out that it happens, or the other way arround..

If you have look at Onkyo 705 manual, will see that for bi-amping they specify this tiny detail

Sorry, you are correct. After reading your original post again, I now understand what you're asking. I also mistook the surround back speaker connections for the presence speaker connections, which should NOT be used for bi-amping.

Anyway, the answer remains - it doesn't make a difference which speaker posts you connect each output to. The signal is the same with either output.
interpol is offline  
post #635 of 8661 Old 12-22-2007, 03:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Erik Tracy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I made the change today with my subwoofer connections to the V1800:
* disconnected LFE input at the sub going to the sub out on the back of the V1800.
* ran parallel connections from L/R Front outputs on the back of the V1800 to the L/R speaker level inputs on the sub.
* set the speakers to Front only on the V1800
* adjusted the crossover on the sub to about 90Hz, volume about 1/2 up

Now, when I go to "Pure Direct" I get a sweet blending of sub and mains on the front that I used to have with my separate setup.

And I still get the LFE effects for 5.1 Surround.

Life is sweet again!

The V1800 sounds really nice!!

Erik
Erik Tracy is offline  
post #636 of 8661 Old 12-22-2007, 06:18 PM
Member
 
wickedbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedbob View Post

Anybody know how 3D Cinema DSP changes the sound? I understand it adds a vertical component to the sound field. What sort of difference does it make to your ears? Or is it simply 5.1/7.1 + presence speakers?

Also does 3D Cinema DSP only come on 3800 or also the 1800?
There seem to be conflicting reports online.

Well just in case anyone else is trying to find information on this.
I have recently purchased a Yamaha RX-V3800 and have been playing with it's settings.

Cinema DSP 3D is only available on the 3800.

The manual describes it as "creates the intensive and accurate stereoscopic sound field in the listening room". ( Love the grammar. )

The difference my ears notice when flicking between DSP 3D on and off is the space between the rear speakers and the presence speakers (eg, most of the ceiling) becomes filled with sound. As soon as you turn the DSP off, a very audible "gap" returns to that area and audio from the rear speakers sounds like it is coming directly from them.

Why Yamaha marketing didn't just say "Cinema DSP 3D makes your ceiling disappear!" is beyond me.
wickedbob is offline  
post #637 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 03:38 AM
Member
 
smullen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those of you with the 3800, what speaker placements do you have set up?

7.1

6.1

5.1

2Ch Stereo

If you use 7.1 or 6.1 do you use the surround back or presence speakers???
smullen is offline  
post #638 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 03:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacksmyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smullen View Post

Those of you with the 3800, what speaker placements do you have set up?

7.1

6.1

5.1

2Ch Stereo

If you use 7.1 or 6.1 do you use the surround back or presence speakers???

7.1 here. I don't have presence speakers installed, but I'll probably put them in. I have some Mirage Omnisat v2 sats not being used right now, so I'll use a pair for the presence speakers.
Jacksmyname is offline  
post #639 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 07:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
bembol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: gta|brampton
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the HTR-6190B (aka RX-V1800) and having problem Programming the Code for my Scientific Atlanta (Roger 8300HD-PVR). I tried all four codes in the manual.



Thanks.
bembol is offline  
post #640 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth, Australia formerly Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
5.1 here.

MY HT BUILD BLOG

http://www.soundadvice.net.au/MarkH

MY THEATRE ROOM, LIVING ROOM and BEDROOM SYSTEMS THREAD

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1105927
MarkH is offline  
post #641 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Carey P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by smullen View Post

Those of you with the 3800, what speaker placements do you have set up?

7.1

6.1

5.1

2Ch Stereo

If you use 7.1 or 6.1 do you use the surround back or presence speakers???

Using 7.1 with Presence speakers and surround back.
Carey P is online now  
post #642 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 12:26 PM
Member
 
wickedbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
7.1 here with presence speakers.
They are cool.
wickedbob is offline  
post #643 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 03:59 PM
Member
 
smullen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did I read that right that no matter what mode (5.1, 6.1, 7.1) if you run the presence speakers, you can't run the Surround Backs? Which are more needed? I guess that mostly depends on ones tastes, but I wondered what you guys thought....
smullen is offline  
post #644 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 04:01 PM
Member
 
smullen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW, Merry Christmas too me, I picked up the 3800 from American TV...
smullen is offline  
post #645 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobpaule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: US
Posts: 1,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carey P View Post

Using 7.1 with Presence speakers and surround back.

7.1 a must, now with more and more DTSHD-MA 7.1 native titles coming out.
bobpaule is offline  
post #646 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
etzeppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using the 1800 in a multi zone configuration and would like to use the remote in a room other than the location of the 1800. I see that the 1800 allows the connection of IR sensors but I'm having a tough time finding info on how to hook this up and what equipment is required. The IR receiver and repeater equipment I have found does not look like the right thing.

I would be interested in any tips from someone who has hooked up IR sensors in other rooms for use with the 1800/3800.
etzeppy is offline  
post #647 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jpco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 1,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedbob View Post

7.1 here with presence speakers.
They are cool.

So when do you find 7.1 preferable over 5.1 with presence? I'm getting the 1800 for Christmas and will be starting with 5.1 + presence. Adding the two rear surrounds won't be a problem if I choose, but I'm unsure how much I'll use them instead of the presence. Dolby EX is not something that interests me much.
jpco is offline  
post #648 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jpco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 1,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobpaule View Post

7.1 a must, now with more and more DTSHD-MA 7.1 native titles coming out.

What are those titles, and is true 7.1 only available through DTSHD-MA?
jpco is offline  
post #649 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacksmyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smullen View Post

Did I read that right that no matter what mode (5.1, 6.1, 7.1) if you run the presence speakers, you can't run the Surround Backs? Which are more needed? I guess that mostly depends on ones tastes, but I wondered what you guys thought....

Correct, it's one or the other. You can have both wired to your receiver, and select which you want to use.
I'd say rear surrounds with movies that make really make use of surround effects, presence with films that don't but that's a guess until I get mine installed.
Jacksmyname is offline  
post #650 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 08:05 PM
Member
 
smullen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacksmyname View Post

Correct, it's one or the other. You can have both wired to your receiver, and select which you want to use.
I'd say rear surrounds with movies that make really make use of surround effects, presence with films that don't but that's a guess until I get mine installed.

Too bad its not Auto Sensing....
smullen is offline  
post #651 of 8661 Old 12-23-2007, 09:30 PM
Member
 
wickedbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpco View Post

So when do you find 7.1 preferable over 5.1 with presence? I'm getting the 1800 for Christmas and will be starting with 5.1 + presence. Adding the two rear surrounds won't be a problem if I choose, but I'm unsure how much I'll use them instead of the presence. Dolby EX is not something that interests me much.

Sorry I meant 7.1 (5.1 plus 2x presence).

My lounge is small and the seating is right up against the back wall.
This makes it impractical to have back surrounds - esp considering that most of the "back wall" is actually window.

I am projecting a 100" image onto the opposite wall and the one thing I love about the presence speakers is that they grab people's voices when they are speaking and put them at their mouths instead of underneath them.
Without the presence speakers, it can be very distracting once you become aware of the distance between sound and image - it just doesn't seem "right" to me.

The other benefits are the "wall of sound" which they provide by additional sound image placement via Cinema DSP. On titles like King Kong the Yamaha actually places some sounds deep within the screen.
And now with the 3800, the wall of sound has extended onto my ceiling using Cinema DSP 3D.

Some people think DSPs are gimmicky.
I find the Yamaha Cinema DSPs make my walls disappear.
In a dark room, it can really take you away into a movie.
Reminds me of the cinema when I was a kid.
wickedbob is offline  
post #652 of 8661 Old 12-24-2007, 01:01 AM
Member
 
smullen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those that are running ""presence speakers", what are they???


***Edit*** Like what make/model, not what are presence speakers... Just wanted to be clear...
smullen is offline  
post #653 of 8661 Old 12-24-2007, 03:14 AM
Senior Member
 
tatanka01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by etzeppy View Post

I am using the 1800 in a multi zone configuration and would like to use the remote in a room other than the location of the 1800. I see that the 1800 allows the connection of IR sensors but I'm having a tough time finding info on how to hook this up and what equipment is required. The IR receiver and repeater equipment I have found does not look like the right thing.

I would be interested in any tips from someone who has hooked up IR sensors in other rooms for use with the 1800/3800.

I have heard good things about the X-10 Powermid (Google it). This is a "generic" solution and not something that plugs into the receiver, but it should work and it's wireless except that each end needs to be plugged into a wall.
tatanka01 is offline  
post #654 of 8661 Old 12-24-2007, 03:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
toby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by etzeppy View Post

I am using the 1800 in a multi zone configuration and would like to use the remote in a room other than the location of the 1800. I see that the 1800 allows the connection of IR sensors but I'm having a tough time finding info on how to hook this up and what equipment is required. The IR receiver and repeater equipment I have found does not look like the right thing.

I would be interested in any tips from someone who has hooked up IR sensors in other rooms for use with the 1800/3800.

Most any IR emitter system will work. I use the following on a RX-V2700
http://www.xantech.com/products/ir_p...29195KITRP.htm

To use discretely (plugged into rear of AVR) just replace one of the "mouse emitters" with a simple straight through cable from any Radio Shack. The small connector is the same on both ends of the cable.

Suggestion: If you do go with any emitter system, I'd suggest the "non-blinking" mouse emitter (unless you like seeing all of the emitters blinking every time you use any remote).
toby10 is offline  
post #655 of 8661 Old 12-24-2007, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
etzeppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by toby10 View Post

Most any IR emitter system will work. I use the following on a RX-V2700
http://www.xantech.com/products/ir_p...29195KITRP.htm

To use discretely (plugged into rear of AVR) just replace one of the "mouse emitters" with a simple straight through cable from any Radio Shack. The small connector is the same on both ends of the cable.

Suggestion: If you do go with any emitter system, I'd suggest the "non-blinking" mouse emitter (unless you like seeing all of the emitters blinking every time you use any remote).

Do you need the connecting block, power supply, etc or just a mini sensor and emitter to plug into the 1800? It seems like these IR "systems" are intended for use with equipment that does not have internal support for add-on IR.
etzeppy is offline  
post #656 of 8661 Old 12-24-2007, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
toby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by etzeppy View Post

Do you need the connecting block, power supply, etc or just a mini sensor and emitter to plug into the 1800? It seems like these IR "systems" are intended for use with equipment that does not have internal support for add-on IR.

There may be single use emitters out there, I don't know. The type I use is intended for multiple IR devices (4 inputs on block can control up to 8 devices if using dual emitters per input).

This type may not be "intended" for internal (direct wire) IR control. But I can tell you it works flawlessly doing so. The cable length from this IR receiver box to my AV components is over 50 foot long, plus the length of the mouse emitters from the block to the individual components, and has no issues controlling six separate devices whatsoever.

Here's a sample of a simple, wired, mono cable from IR block to IR in port:
http://www.enhancedht.com/page/EHT/PROD/IRA/6017450
toby10 is offline  
post #657 of 8661 Old 12-24-2007, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
uni_panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to pick up the 3800 but I was wondering if someone could clear something up for me. When I look on Amazon and put in v3800 I get two different options. One is the standard RX-V3800 which I am familiar with, a second thing pops up as RX-V3800BL which I figured just meant it was black, however the confusing part is they are priced differently like they are two different versions. The real mystery to me is all the specs are the same but on the model listed with the BL coding the picture is of the RX-Z11.

I would hate to pay more for that and get the standard RX-V3800. Obviously it is just the wrong picture however with a near 200 dollar price difference am I missing something?
uni_panther is offline  
post #658 of 8661 Old 12-24-2007, 03:22 PM
Member
 
jjpowell76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to this whole AV thing and have been all over this forum getting the information I needed when purchsing my set up. I have purchased everything and now I want to get it all looking and sounding good. I have a question in regards to sound and hopefully this is the right place to ask.

I have an RX V1800, Dish Vip722, and Toshiba 46lx177. I am connecting everything via HDMI. Vip to 1800 via HDMI, and 1800 to LX177 via HDMI. If I want to get Dolby Digital (or any other high quality sound besides stereo), do I have to connect one of those digital optical cables?
jjpowell76 is offline  
post #659 of 8661 Old 12-24-2007, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
jjpowell76,
Just use the hdmi cable and you are done. Just make sure you set up everything in the receiver to handle all audio.

jsil is online now  
post #660 of 8661 Old 12-24-2007, 03:39 PM
Member
 
jjpowell76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info. When the Dish Network tec came out to set up my HD he said I needed an optical cable or coax to get Digital. I told him I had all HDMI and he said it didn't matter. I will read the manual and make sure I have the 1800 set correct. Any tips?
jjpowell76 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V1800 Receiver , Yamaha Rx V3800bl Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off