The "Official" Yamaha RX-V1800/RX-V3800 Thread - Page 289 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8641 of 8660 Old 04-27-2014, 10:52 AM
Newbie
 
waldodamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

That's very interesting.  I wonder then where the stutter is coming from?  When I first went through the "all HDMI" process I had tried several different cables by several different manufacturers (even the Home Depot cheapos I had from a couple years back with my stand alone units...) and they all produced the same effect, but again only when passed through the receiver. 

 

I also tried swapping which HDMI input I used, there are 4 so who knows right?  They all produced the same effect.  As I stated earlier, I don't really notice it now, I think it's just kind of "settled" in with me.  If I ran the HDMI direct to the TV as it was for years before, for about a week, then swapped back through the receiver, I would be curious to see if I noticed the difference again.  I suspect I should have someone else observe for me, as I would "expect" to see the difference and therefore my conscious would automatically see it as truth.  If I had someone come in and not tell them anything about what to look for, just have them watch a movie for 15 minutes through the TV, then the same 15 minutes again through the receiver, ask them if they saw a difference, it would be more of a level playing field. 

 

It's kind of like having two of the same top quality HDMI cables, but one with no markings, looking like a generic.  You plug the generic in and then the good quality cable in and people say "WOW, WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!!"  when in fact they are both the same cable.  I love how the brain works.  :)

 

The TV is native 1920x1080.  I saw that mod a couple pages back in my research but I wanted to attempt at least the "factory" upgrade and "win" before I attempted to flash any modified firmware.  I always keep a back up of "stock" firmware just in case.  I had flashed my NVidia to over volt the card about a year ago and I fudged up the settings, ended up with over 2.2 volts to the card because I did not double check my coding, almost had a $420 brick....fortunately I had the stock firmware on the same USB stick so I was able to reboot real quick like and reverse that debacle.  :) 

 

One always needs a fail safe in this line of work.  I will definitely give that mod utility a look and see what's in store there.  Thank you for the depth of information and the quick replies, much appreciated! 

waldodamon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8642 of 8660 Old 05-02-2014, 08:55 AM
Member
 
wyattroa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Curious how would I go about figuring out the reference level volume with the 1800
<--- newb:D

Receiver -Yamaha RX-V1800
Center - JBL LC2
Mains - JBL L820
Surrounds - JBL L820
Sub - orb super 8-->Updating to Duals with UXL-18"s A bit different
wyattroa is online now  
post #8643 of 8660 Old 05-02-2014, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyattroa View Post

Curious how would I go about figuring out the reference level volume with the 1800
<--- newb:D

When I owned the 1800 reference was when the volume bar was at half way in my room. I found this out by using a SPL meter.


Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is offline  
post #8644 of 8660 Old 05-02-2014, 07:34 PM
Member
 
wyattroa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometheatergeek View Post

When I owned the 1800 reference was when the volume bar was at half way in my room. I found this out by using a SPL meter.

Did you do it with the test tone to check with the spl meter and adjust to 85dbs for each speaker? Just wondering how it works.

Receiver -Yamaha RX-V1800
Center - JBL LC2
Mains - JBL L820
Surrounds - JBL L820
Sub - orb super 8-->Updating to Duals with UXL-18"s A bit different
wyattroa is online now  
post #8645 of 8660 Old 05-03-2014, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometheatergeek View Post

When I owned the 1800 reference was when the volume bar was at half way in my room. I found this out by using a SPL meter.

The volume bar is way too imprecise to use for anything.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #8646 of 8660 Old 05-03-2014, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyattroa View Post

Curious how would I go about figuring out the reference level volume with the 1800

Adjust each speaker level so that the manual test tones measure 75dB on your SPL meter with the master volume at 0dB. The meter should be in slow, C-weighted mode. Note that you want 75dB, not 85, for Yamaha test tones.

When playing a movie you will then (theoretically) be listening at reference level when the master volume is at 0dB. However, you'll almost certainly find that too loud, and there's also quite a variation in the way movie sound tracks are mastered. Many are 5dB or more too hot, meaning that the master volume should only be at -5 (or less) to achieve reference level for that particular movie.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #8647 of 8660 Old 05-03-2014, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post


The volume bar is way too imprecise to use for anything.

Well at half way it reads 0 so that was what I was referring to.


Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is offline  
post #8648 of 8660 Old 05-03-2014, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 139
It's just that you cad add or subtract a few dB and the volume bar still looks like it's halfway.

But I'm overly sensitive to that **** volume bar. I couldn't believe they replaced the volume number with the stupid bar, leaving only a tiny dB number that I couldn't read from a normal seating distance. Fixing that took quite a few weeks' of my time.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #8649 of 8660 Old 05-03-2014, 02:48 PM
Member
 
wyattroa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

Adjust each speaker level so that the manual test tones measure 75dB on your SPL meter with the master volume at 0dB. The meter should be in slow, C-weighted mode. Note that you want 75dB, not 85, for Yamaha test tones.

When playing a movie you will then (theoretically) be listening at reference level when the master volume is at 0dB. However, you'll almost certainly find that too loud, and there's also quite a variation in the way movie sound tracks are mastered. Many are 5dB or more too hot, meaning that the master volume should only be at -5 (or less) to achieve reference level for that particular movie.
Thanks so put my receiver so it is reading volume 0db and then adjust with the meter

Receiver -Yamaha RX-V1800
Center - JBL LC2
Mains - JBL L820
Surrounds - JBL L820
Sub - orb super 8-->Updating to Duals with UXL-18"s A bit different
wyattroa is online now  
post #8650 of 8660 Old 05-03-2014, 02:50 PM
Member
 
wyattroa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyattroa View Post

Thanks so put my receiver so it is reading volume 0db and then adjust with the meter
Side note, my yamaha has never had an update. Still need to figure out how to do this. Bought it new when it came out and its been running strong. Have I been missing out?

Receiver -Yamaha RX-V1800
Center - JBL LC2
Mains - JBL L820
Surrounds - JBL L820
Sub - orb super 8-->Updating to Duals with UXL-18"s A bit different
wyattroa is online now  
post #8651 of 8660 Old 05-03-2014, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyattroa View Post

Thanks so put my receiver so it is reading volume 0db and then adjust with the meter

Yes, start test tones, set master volume to 0dB, adjust each speaker level until the meter reads 75db (with the meter at the main listening position).
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #8652 of 8660 Old 05-03-2014, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyattroa View Post

Side note, my yamaha has never had an update. Still need to figure out how to do this. Bought it new when it came out and its been running strong. Have I been missing out?

There were a few bug fixes since the original firmware. From memory...
  • Fixed a decoding bug with some DTS-HD MA bitstreams that produced a loud bang with certain Blu-ray discs (the so-called "bitstream bomb" issue).
  • Removed the video clipping that prevented full range HDMI signals from passing through unmodified (video was clipped to the range 16-235).
  • Fixed a bass management bug in a 7.1 setup that threw away the bass below the crossover frequency for surround speakers set as small.

There's also some non-official firmware with all the above fixes plus a larger volume display on the front panel that's easier to read from a distance. You can also modify any firmware version and change text strings (add your own welcome message, for example). See this post.

Remember that when you update, everything is reset to factory defaults so you lose all your settings.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #8653 of 8660 Old 05-03-2014, 03:55 PM
Member
 
wyattroa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

There were a few bug fixes since the original firmware. From memory...
  • Fixed a decoding bug with some DTS-HD MA bitstreams that produced a loud bang with certain Blu-ray discs (the so-called "bitstream bomb" issue).
  • Removed the video clipping that prevented full range HDMI signals from passing through unmodified (video was clipped to the range 16-235).
  • Fixed a bass management bug in a 7.1 setup that threw away the bass below the crossover frequency for surround speakers set as small.

There's also some non-official firmware with all the above fixes plus a larger volume display on the front panel that's easier to read from a distance. You can also modify any firmware version and change text strings (add your own welcome message, for example). See this post.

Remember that when you update, everything is reset to factory defaults so you lose all your settings.
Thanks for being so helpful today! I have a Mac computer, is this alright to use to burn the disc and are there special settings that need to be in place before trying to do this. My fear is i will brick the system and not be able to use it.

Receiver -Yamaha RX-V1800
Center - JBL LC2
Mains - JBL L820
Surrounds - JBL L820
Sub - orb super 8-->Updating to Duals with UXL-18"s A bit different
wyattroa is online now  
post #8654 of 8660 Old 05-03-2014, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 139
You can burn the disc on a Mac, but you have to be sure the burning software doesn't modify the data in any way. If the disc isn't burned correctly you won't permanently brick the receiver, but it might not be usable until you update from a correctly burned disc.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #8655 of 8660 Old 05-14-2014, 07:56 PM
Newbie
 
waldodamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

EUREKA!!! 

 

I have successfully updated my RX-V1800 firmware using my PC!!  I took an awful big risk, but sometimes in life one can sit around and wonder, or one can take a risk, until one takes a risk one will never know! 

 

I had been trying to use the output on my built in audio set to 44100 CD quality.  So, for the heck of it (while crossing fingers) I played the file through Winamp with the volume all the way up in Winamp and on my soundcard and found nothing was happening.  This we knew. 

 

SO, I started "upping" the quality of the sound out of my sound card until, at 24 bits, 44100 (Studio Quality), it read the header and performed the update entirely WITH SUCCESS!!!! 

 

Now, I am using an ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z motherboard, that is, its built in audio.  I am certainly NOT going to say that every mother board is the same NOR will I say that this will work on yours. 

 

I can only say that I took a risk, and for me, the risk paid off. 

 

Cheers! 

waldodamon is offline  
post #8656 of 8660 Old 05-15-2014, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 139
That's good to know. Having to select 24-bit is not very intuitive (the firmware file is 16-bit stereo) but I guess it means "up to 24 bits".

Which version did you update to? If you're feeling adventurous you can try customizing the front panel messages or the menus (FWmod).
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #8657 of 8660 Old 05-18-2014, 07:52 AM
Newbie
 
waldodamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I actually used your custom wav file that you posted some posts back.  The only thing I really wanted changed was the size and location of the dB indicator on the screen, and your update did just that! 

 

I had meant to ask but forgot, did your firmware update include the 1800's "latest" update with it?  Yes I can check the unit to see if all the numbers match up with the Yamaha update manual, which I have not yet done, but I just figured I would ask you. 

waldodamon is offline  
post #8658 of 8660 Old 05-19-2014, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Yes, I started from the latest Yamaha official firmware so the custom firmare also has all the latest fixes.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #8659 of 8660 Old 05-20-2014, 07:41 AM
Member
 
c_nitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a V1800 in a package deal with speakers for $100 I can't get any sound at all but I can get video. Tried to use the mic but only get error code 10 any help or is it trash?
c_nitty is offline  
post #8660 of 8660 Old 05-24-2014, 12:34 PM
3db
Advanced Member
 
3db's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I haven't updated the firmware on my RX-V1800 since I purchased it more tha 5 years ago for fear of bricking the unit.
3db is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V1800 Receiver , Yamaha Rx V3800bl Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off