The "Official" Yamaha RX-V1800/RX-V3800 Thread - Page 291 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8701 of 8725 Old 01-03-2015, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks! The only thing I wish is that it had a coax digital out (like the 3067 I now have in my cabin home theater 11.4 system, but which is soon to be tested as an 11.4.6 Atmos setup with two 3040 receivers), then I could use the HK soundbar's digital input. But it's not a biggie. It would proably be a tiny bit clearer, but I only use this setup for news and winter sports anyway. Besides I'm mostly setting up this for the next owner of the house (whoever that may be), I'm selling the far too big for two persons house next spring, when my youngest daughter moves out to go to the university!

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8702 of 8725 Old 01-17-2015, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Another question: Is there a sneaky way to know if the main zone is active? I want to use the trigger outputs for zone 2 and 3 (kitchen and one living room) while zone 1 is the tv/media/livingroom. And I had no problems setting the two trigger outputs so the correct setting for those two rooms. But I would like to have the ability to see if the main zone is on as well. Of course I could use a master/slave plug, but the problem is that it will of course also react if one or two of the other rooms are active. So is there another dirty trick I could use for that?

Edit: Come to think of it isn't it kind of a contradiction to have three zones and only two trigger outputs? It's the same on my 3067.

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
post #8703 of 8725 Old 01-18-2015, 03:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
One more: I now have serial control of this thing running from Girder. But does anybody have the full list of serial commands? I only have the basics, and I would like to control bass for zone 2 and zone 3. I assume that since it can be done with the receiver manager it must be possible with serial commands from anything. If I have understood it correctly the receiver manager program in real-time mode is sending regular serial commands to the receiver and then uses the feedback to show in the program that the change has happened.

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
post #8704 of 8725 Old 01-18-2015, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastiff View Post
One more: I now have serial control of this thing running from Girder. But does anybody have the full list of serial commands? I only have the basics, and I would like to control bass for zone 2 and zone 3. I assume that since it can be done with the receiver manager it must be possible with serial commands from anything. If I have understood it correctly the receiver manager program in real-time mode is sending regular serial commands to the receiver and then uses the feedback to show in the program that the change has happened.

Here are the serial commands: link.

There might be some additional ones not covered in that PDF, but it should get you started. It does include tone control commands for zone 2 and 3.

And yes, Receiver Manager uses the serial commands and serial feedback.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #8705 of 8725 Old 01-19-2015, 01:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks a lot! Found exactly what I needed! Weird thing that it doesn't have commands to adjust the main zone bass and treble, though. It only has them for zone 2 and 3, on page 18. And strangely enough it doesn't have the main volume either, but I know that's 07a1a for volume up and 07a1b for volume down. The main volume is there in the data structure chapter, but that is way beyond what I can understand. Do you know if the data structure stuff can be converted to operation commands in any way?

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
post #8706 of 8725 Old 01-19-2015, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastiff View Post
Thanks a lot! Found exactly what I needed! Weird thing that it doesn't have commands to adjust the main zone bass and treble, though. It only has them for zone 2 and 3, on page 18. And strangely enough it doesn't have the main volume either, but I know that's 07a1a for volume up and 07a1b for volume down. The main volume is there in the data structure chapter, but that is way beyond what I can understand. Do you know if the data structure stuff can be converted to operation commands in any way?

Main volume up/down is at the top of page 14.
Main volume direct setting is on page 9.

Main zone tone control is an extended command and covered in another document. I have it somewhere and I'll upload it tonight.

The "data structure of configuration command" just tells you how to interpret the large block of feedback the receiver sends in response to the ready command. It has nothing to do with sending commands to the receiver.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #8707 of 8725 Old 01-19-2015, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Aha, thanks! I understand. And I'd really appreciate the extended set as well, thanks!

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
post #8708 of 8725 Old 01-19-2015, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
By the way, do you know if these will work on newer models as well? I have a 3067 that I would like to control the bass and treble on as well.

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
post #8709 of 8725 Old 01-19-2015, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 184
^ No, the serial commands are completely different on new models. The upside is that the new commands are easier to use and are the same as the new network commands.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #8710 of 8725 Old 01-19-2015, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Interesting! You don't have those as well? I could try to control bass on my 3067 as well. My wife and I have quite different opinions on what's the proper amount of bass when we listen to our separate music forms (she's not very big on metal...)!

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
post #8711 of 8725 Old 01-19-2015, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 184
^ I look them out this evening.

You might also try setting up different scenes for each user. Tone controls are stored per scene, so you could both use your own scene when playing music.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #8712 of 8725 Old 01-19-2015, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks! Yeah, I thought of that. It's just that I need to adjust it at times to, some recordings just don't have enough bass, even with two 15" subs and one 12"! If no pictures fall down, it's been a slow listening night...

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
post #8713 of 8725 Old 01-19-2015, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 184
^ Here are the extended serial commands for the 1800: http://www.mediafire.com/view/bei6iu...C_Extended.pdf
They are a bit of a pain to use because you have to generate a checksum.

The 1800 PDF is quite short and I usually find the one for the 1700 more useful: http://www.mediafire.com/view/b734y0...C_Extended.pdf

The RS232 and Network commands for new models are here: http://www.mediafire.com/download/97...A_Spec_USA.zip

Unzip everything and then start by opening YNCA\index.html
The docs are for newer models than your 3067, but the commands are 99% the same.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #8714 of 8725 Old Yesterday, 01:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you very much again! That checksum may bite me in the butt since I use a pre-made script for this and I really don't know how to add checksum generation to that. So I'll probably have to find another way for the 1800's main zone. But I looked at the one for the 3067, and I see that I should be able to send the stuff as network commands without any problems!

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
post #8715 of 8725 Old Yesterday, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 184
^ Since the tone control commands set a specific level (they are not up/down commands) you can pre-calculate the checksum and include it as part of the command (and you'll have a separate command for each bass or treble value you want to select).
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #8716 of 8725 Old Yesterday, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Aha! Thanks again! I just need to find a calculator for that. Or perhaps Google can help me. Then I'll use an if-then statement in Girder to run the actual setting (so I'll go if value is 6 then next value is 7, and so on).

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
post #8717 of 8725 Old Yesterday, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 184
If you capture the commands being sent by Receiver Manager they will include the correct checkum.

I also have some code I wrote to calculate the sums, and I'll check how it works tonight (but it's basically documented in the PDF for the extended commands).
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #8718 of 8725 Old Yesterday, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Of course! Thanks for the tip, I can use this one for that:

http://www.eltima.com/products/rs232-data-logger/

That code of yours, what languague is it in?

Edit: Weird, I couldn't use it. Seems like the logger is only for logging stuff that comes in, not that goes out.

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses

Last edited by Mastiff; Yesterday at 07:11 AM.
Mastiff is offline  
post #8719 of 8725 Old Yesterday, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 184
^ You don't need my actual code, I'll just confirm how it's calculating the sum and you can do it by hand with a calculator. It's not much more than a simple sum of all the bytes in a command.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #8720 of 8725 Old Yesterday, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Aha! But I have found a logger that works. Free Serial Port Logger. So if I can understand how that code works that's probably the simplest. And since you seem to know what you're doing (which I obviously don't) I'll try to nag you again. When I send volume up I get this in the log:
Code:
02 32 33 30 38 30 03                              .23080.
I thught that was decimal and tried to convert it to hex, but that gave me 5A28. The result should have been 07a1a. Maybe you see what I did wrong?

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
post #8721 of 8725 Old Yesterday, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 184
23080 looks like main volume direct setting (i.e. requesting a specific dB value, rather than just volume up).

Also remember that only the extended commands use checksums.

And when you see a command like 07a1a, it's not true hex. Each byte is sent as the ASCII code for that character. e.g. "0" is sent as 0x30 (48).

Last edited by kriktsemaj99; Yesterday at 08:35 AM.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #8722 of 8725 Old Yesterday, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I see! Then I will experiment a bit with this code and see what I can get out of it. Oh, and the hex/ASCII is done by the script, so I just put in the correct hex code, and the script does the rest. Thanks for all your help, I'll try the bass now and see what happens!

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
post #8723 of 8725 Old Yesterday, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Success! 24b00-24b14 are the steps for bass in zone 2! And that's the most important part. So I'm going to implement that in a script and then go on to the more advanced stuff.

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
post #8724 of 8725 Old Yesterday, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 184
^ If you do need the extended commands and have any trouble with the checksum, just send me a PM.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #8725 of 8725 Old Today, 12:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Akland, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you very much! I'll let you know if it's necessary. I need to find out if the script I'm using can even use checksums, and I doubt it for now.

i7@ 3.6 - ATI 3870HD - Windows 7 64 bit - FFDShow with dScaler sharpen, AVISynth and Lancoz resize to BG808 with HD-144 lenses
Mastiff is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V1800 Receiver , Yamaha Rx V3800bl Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off