The "Official" Yamaha RX-V1800/RX-V3800 Thread - Page 297 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 37Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8881 of 8899 Old 08-29-2017, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
PoorSignal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
The amplifiers in the RX-V 1800 and 3800 are excellent IMO (and better than the Denon X4300H I have now, also IMO).

These Yamahas make for very cost effective multi-ch amps. I still have my 1800 but I sold my 3800 to a using a Marantz Atmos preamp and a Z9 alongside the 3800 for amplification. I think I sold for $150 via AVS Classifieds.
I think the 3800 only have 5.1 input. Can you get 7 or 9 input from a preamp to it?
PoorSignal is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8882 of 8899 Old 08-29-2017, 12:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Redoryx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pickering,On
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Im keeping My 1800.
It has been sitting in a box for 4 years as my Aventage has taken over surround duties.
I will be bringing it back out when I get my new Aventage to help power the 7.2.4 system!


This receiver was bullet proof when it was my everyday work horse
Redoryx is offline  
post #8883 of 8899 Old 08-29-2017, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
PoorSignal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redoryx View Post
Im keeping My 1800.
It has been sitting in a box for 4 years as my Aventage has taken over surround duties.
I will be bringing it back out when I get my new Aventage to help power the 7.2.4 system!


This receiver was bullet proof when it was my everyday work horse
What are you using to decode 7.x.4?
PoorSignal is online now  
 
post #8884 of 8899 Old 08-29-2017, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 9,829
Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2707 Post(s)
Liked: 2547
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoorSignal View Post
I think the 3800 only have 5.1 input. Can you get 7 or 9 input from a preamp to it?
7.1 and yes to 7.1 input not to 9.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #8885 of 8899 Old 08-29-2017, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Redoryx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pickering,On
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoorSignal View Post
What are you using to decode 7.x.4?
Currently using an RX-A2030. Not Atmos or HDR compliant.
Will be getting next years RX-A3080.
I plan to Run the .4 through the 1800. The 7.2 through the Aventage.
This way, if Atmos is not enabled, I can turn off some of the speakers By keeping the 1800 turned off. Plus, it makes it easier to use for the less tech savvy in the home
Redoryx is offline  
post #8886 of 8899 Old 08-29-2017, 06:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,726
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1401 Post(s)
Liked: 1942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redoryx View Post
Currently using an RX-A2030. Not Atmos or HDR compliant.
Will be getting next years RX-A3080.
I plan to Run the .4 through the 1800. The 7.2 through the Aventage.
This way, if Atmos is not enabled, I can turn off some of the speakers By keeping the 1800 turned off. Plus, it makes it easier to use for the less tech savvy in the home
Exactly how I've set up my RX-A3050 for Atmos/DTS:X
Using my old RX-V3900 to power my 4 Height/Presence speakers.

I still have my old RX-V1800 too, in the process of setting it up for a 2CH system in another zone.
My old Yamaha's never die, they just get re-purposed or handed down to family.

Marc Alexander likes this.

Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge
JVC-DLA X750R | 120" Drop Down Screen | LG 65" OLED 65B6P| Panasonic DMP-UB900 | Oppo UPD-203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3050 + RX-V3900 | Atmos 7.4.4 | Mission M3i Speakers x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS-5000R x2
PioManiac is offline  
post #8887 of 8899 Old 08-29-2017, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
PoorSignal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I am not sure why you guys think the receiver should die at this age.. granted these days nothing is built like they used to build.. I have my pioneer with dolby surround receiver bought in 1994 still putting out good powerful analog sound. fairly honest 100W to left and right
PoorSignal is online now  
post #8888 of 8899 Old 08-30-2017, 05:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Redoryx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pickering,On
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 41
agree,
I currently have 3 receivers.
RX-V1000 currently being used as a 2 ch setup.
RX-V1800 to be used as an Atmos .4 channel amp.
RX-A2030 my main...
eventually, RX-A3080? whatever next years iteration will be.
Redoryx is offline  
post #8889 of 8899 Old 08-30-2017, 06:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,726
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1401 Post(s)
Liked: 1942
Thumbs up

You just have to change the Remote ID to 2 on the old unit
so you can power it on/off without affecting the new AVR.

This also allows you to adjust the volume of the .4 speakers relative to the bed layer channels separately
as some Atmos/DTS:X titles can be a bit weak in the height channels and benefit from a 2dB-3dB bump in output.


Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge
JVC-DLA X750R | 120" Drop Down Screen | LG 65" OLED 65B6P| Panasonic DMP-UB900 | Oppo UPD-203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3050 + RX-V3900 | Atmos 7.4.4 | Mission M3i Speakers x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS-5000R x2

Last edited by PioManiac; 08-30-2017 at 09:31 AM.
PioManiac is offline  
post #8890 of 8899 Old 08-30-2017, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
PoorSignal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 22
So n order for the .4 to be powered by Yamaha, do you suggest even if I get a denon 4300, for 5.1.4, only use the 5 on the denon, even though the denon could power 9 speakers?
Do you set the distance (delay) in the yamaha to 0 and adjust the distance on the denon/atmos processor? Is that possible to do?
PoorSignal is online now  
post #8891 of 8899 Old 08-30-2017, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,726
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1401 Post(s)
Liked: 1942
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoorSignal View Post
So n order for the .4 to be powered by Yamaha, do you suggest even if I get a denon 4300, for 5.1.4, only use the 5 on the denon, even though the denon could power 9 speakers?
Do you set the distance (delay) in the yamaha to 0 and adjust the distance on the denon/atmos processor? Is that possible to do?
The main processor sets all levels, distances and delays, bass management etc. for ALL speakers
The AVR acting as a separate Amp works just like an external Amp.

All you are doing is offloading the power duties of the height pre-outs to the multi-channel inputs of your amp.
The .4 speakers get wired to the amp, set the remote code, set to multi-ch input, set initial on volume to 80-90% of max.

One pair of RCA jacks go from Pre-Out front presence on New AVR to my Front L+R inputs on the old AVR
One pair of RCA jacks go from Pre-Out rear presence on New AVR to my Surround L+R inputs on the old AVR

Then run room correction software in the main AVR only

Multi-Channel inputs do no get room correction on the old AVR when used as an amp.
All room correction and bass management is handled through your new "Main" processor only.

Most AVR's require an additional amp to do 7.1.4,
So many choose to buy a smaller 50wx2 unit to power the rear presence speakers.
No need if you have an old AVR sitting around doing nothing. (Free!)

If you have an AVR capable of playing all the speakers you have, just stick with that.

Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge
JVC-DLA X750R | 120" Drop Down Screen | LG 65" OLED 65B6P| Panasonic DMP-UB900 | Oppo UPD-203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3050 + RX-V3900 | Atmos 7.4.4 | Mission M3i Speakers x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS-5000R x2

Last edited by PioManiac; 08-30-2017 at 10:22 AM.
PioManiac is offline  
post #8892 of 8899 Old 08-30-2017, 10:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
7.1 and yes to 7.1 input not to 9.
I was hoping to one day use the power-amp section of my 3800 for Atmos, but I'm almost positive it only has a 5.1 input, which makes absolutely zero sense.
Roctopuss is offline  
post #8893 of 8899 Old 08-30-2017, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,726
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1401 Post(s)
Liked: 1942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roctopuss View Post
I was hoping to one day use the power-amp section of my 3800 for Atmos, but I'm almost positive it only has a 5.1 input, which makes absolutely zero sense.

There is a setting to enable 8 ch, the manual (page 29 and 80) reads the same as my RX-V3900







...when in doubt, RTFM

..but personally, I see no benefit over using just the 4 channels for the .4 Atmos speakers,
and letting the main AVR run the 7 bed layer (ear level) speakers.

Share the Load man!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RX-V3800.png
Views:	95
Size:	150.2 KB
ID:	2275354   Click image for larger version

Name:	RX-V3800-2.png
Views:	92
Size:	155.2 KB
ID:	2275356   Click image for larger version

Name:	RX-V3800-3.png
Views:	97
Size:	132.3 KB
ID:	2275362  
Marc Alexander and Roctopuss like this.

Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge
JVC-DLA X750R | 120" Drop Down Screen | LG 65" OLED 65B6P| Panasonic DMP-UB900 | Oppo UPD-203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3050 + RX-V3900 | Atmos 7.4.4 | Mission M3i Speakers x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS-5000R x2

Last edited by PioManiac; 08-30-2017 at 10:56 AM.
PioManiac is offline  
post #8894 of 8899 Old 08-30-2017, 05:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
..but personally, I see no benefit over using just the 4 channels for the .4 Atmos speakers,
and letting the main AVR run the 7 bed layer (ear level) speakers.

Share the Load man!
Awesome, I had no idea!

My thought was to buy a cheap low-watt Denon, with 4k, Atmos, and XT32, and use the amps from the Yamaha to get the 130wpc. But you're saying I could pick and choose how many channels to use from each amp? Could I use the Denon to amp the Atmos channels, while using the Yamaha for the more demanding bed channels? Would a 7 channel reciever be able to decode 7.2.4?

My thought was really to use the 3800 as an amp for 5.1.2, since my small room wouldn't work for surround rears, but 5.1.4 would be cool, too.
Roctopuss is offline  
post #8895 of 8899 Old 08-30-2017, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
 
PoorSignal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roctopuss View Post
Awesome, I had no idea!

My thought was to buy a cheap low-watt Denon, with 4k, Atmos, and XT32, and use the amps from the Yamaha to get the 130wpc. But you're saying I could pick and choose how many channels to use from each amp? Could I use the Denon to amp the Atmos channels, while using the Yamaha for the more demanding bed channels? Would a 7 channel reciever be able to decode 7.2.4?

My thought was really to use the 3800 as an amp for 5.1.2, since my small room wouldn't work for surround rears, but 5.1.4 would be cool, too.
the cheaper denon, 3300 does have 7 channel pre out, but just seems to be standard 7.1 out, not clear if the pre out is atmos, e.g. 5.1.2
the more expensive one 4300 has 11 channel pre out with the atmos, you could hook up to yamaha, though I am not sure how good the yamaha would sound than the denon, if any. It's not "cheap".

if you want to really use pre-out, you can, but you have 2 receivers. The receiver generate some heat even if nothing is playing. heat makes me sweat, unless I run the AC to generate BTUs to neutralize the heat. Seems like a lot of work to off load 4 channels. The speakers are crossed to the sub anyway and are not that demanding about watts per channel

Simply, the cheaper receivers don't give you enough atmos pre-outs, at least not 5.1.4.
PoorSignal is online now  
post #8896 of 8899 Old 08-30-2017, 06:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,726
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1401 Post(s)
Liked: 1942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roctopuss View Post
Awesome, I had no idea!

My thought was to buy a cheap low-watt Denon, with 4k, Atmos, and XT32, and use the amps from the Yamaha to get the 130wpc. But you're saying I could pick and choose how many channels to use from each amp? Could I use the Denon to amp the Atmos channels, while using the Yamaha for the more demanding bed channels? Would a 7 channel reciever be able to decode 7.2.4?

My thought was really to use the 3800 as an amp for 5.1.2, since my small room wouldn't work for surround rears, but 5.1.4 would be cool, too.
For ATMOS 7.2.4 you need processing ability in your Main AVR for 11 Channels and Two sub outs

7 = Bed Layer
2 = Sub Outs
4 = 4 Heights

Only the top Yamaha 3050/3060/3070 can do that,
Sorry not familiar enough with Denon models to say which models have 11 channel processing.

If you're only using 5.1.4, any 9 channel Atmos capable AVR will work.

Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge
JVC-DLA X750R | 120" Drop Down Screen | LG 65" OLED 65B6P| Panasonic DMP-UB900 | Oppo UPD-203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3050 + RX-V3900 | Atmos 7.4.4 | Mission M3i Speakers x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS-5000R x2
PioManiac is offline  
post #8897 of 8899 Old 09-17-2017, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
jaymerkramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Peters, Mo.
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Finally retired my RX-V1800

Just finished pulling out my Yamaha and installing a new Denon X4300H. I can't believe the difference in weight between the two, the Yamaha has to weigh a good 8-10 pounds more than the Denon. My 1800 has served me well through out the years with amazing sound. I would have liked to have purchased a new Yamaha but to get the same features as the 4300H it would have been twice the price with the blowout sales on the Denon's. I think the 1800 definitely has a better sound IMO and sounds more powerful but the Denon really seems to be doing a great job on managing my multiple subs and powered towers in the front. Audyssey really seems to have smoothed out my bass issues. If it wasn't for wanting to upgrade to 4K and Atmos I think I would have kept the 1800 as long as possible, just a great piece of equipment.
I wanted to thank kriktsemaj99 for the custom firmware he did years ago, the large volume mod was such a huge plus to have added to the receiver!!
jaymerkramer is offline  
post #8898 of 8899 Old 09-17-2017, 07:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: east texas
Posts: 1,883
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaymerkramer View Post
Just finished pulling out my Yamaha and installing a new Denon X4300H. I can't believe the difference in weight between the two, the Yamaha has to weigh a good 8-10 pounds more than the Denon. My 1800 has served me well through out the years with amazing sound. I would have liked to have purchased a new Yamaha but to get the same features as the 4300H it would have been twice the price with the blowout sales on the Denon's. I think the 1800 definitely has a better sound IMO and sounds more powerful but the Denon really seems to be doing a great job on managing my multiple subs and powered towers in the front. Audyssey really seems to have smoothed out my bass issues. If it wasn't for wanting to upgrade to 4K and Atmos I think I would have kept the 1800 as long as possible, just a great piece of equipment.
I wanted to thank kriktsemaj99 for the custom firmware he did years ago, the large volume mod was such a huge plus to have added to the receiver!!
Yes, just a few years ago, the mid-range receivers would weigh 35 to 40 pounds and have serious amp sections. My RX-V1800 weighs about 36 pounds and my Onkyo TX-NR809 weighs about 40 pounds. Now days, you have to go to a top of the line receiver to get one with the same "gravitas". My thinking now days is to still go with a mid-range receiver, but make sure it has multi-channel pre-outs and use a separate power amp, at least for the front L/R speakers. I do have a Denon 5200 that is pretty stout, but for some reason, Denon has chosen to drop the 5x00 level receiver.

FAMILY ROOM SYSTEM--Legacy Signature II tower speakers, PSB Image 5T tower speakers, Denon AVR-X5200W, Krell FPB 400cx, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray Player, RCA HD-DVD player, Samsung HL67A 750A TV
MASTER BEDROOM--Dynaudio Audience 82 tower speakers, Outlaw LFM-1 sub, Yamaha RX-V1800 receiver, Sherbourn 5/1500A 5-channel amp, Oppo BDP-83 Universal Disc Player, Panasonic 60-ST60 plasma TV.
mtrot is offline  
post #8899 of 8899 Old 09-18-2017, 08:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 665 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaymerkramer View Post
Just finished pulling out my Yamaha and installing a new Denon X4300H. I can't believe the difference in weight between the two, the Yamaha has to weigh a good 8-10 pounds more than the Denon. My 1800 has served me well through out the years with amazing sound ...

I wanted to thank kriktsemaj99 for the custom firmware he did years ago, the large volume mod was such a huge plus to have added to the receiver!!

Glad to know the effort to customize the firmware was worth it. For anyone interested I wrote up the story of how the firmware was modified, and you can read it here:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1oA...7N3Uw02Pr1KA4A
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V1800 Receiver , Yamaha Rx V3800bl Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off