The "Official" Yamaha RX-V1800/RX-V3800 Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 8660 Old 11-03-2007, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oldcband's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcs476 View Post

Actually I used my wifes nano. I am not sure of the generation but it's the newest one. I tried my 3rd gen 15g, but the battery on it was dead (yes the yamaha dock charges the ipod while on) and it doesn't even connect to a computer properly... so I can't say how well it works with the older ipod, sorry if my post was misleading.

No you didn't mislead. Luis F cleared it up. Theres nothing wrong with the docking station, its Apple that won't allow video to pass through it.

These are just my opinions.
oldcband is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 8660 Old 11-04-2007, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
hifi59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
For those of you debating between Yammy,Denon,Onkyo or Pioneer receivers , keep in mind that the Yammy's Parametric EQ will let you adjust for frequencies below 63hz. I do not believe the others do this. Unless you have an outboard unit to do this for you, I would think we want the bass freqs eq'd as well as the rest! This was the deal breaker for me. I used to have the Yammy 4600. Great receiver except couldn't eq below 63 hz. Tubby bass. Bought the 2700 and now after professional calibration of audio, the bass is superb.

Having said that, I just replaced my rx-v2700 with the 3800. I applied the 2700's audio parameters to the 3800 exactly as professionaly calibrated by Umr (30 year audio engineer). My immediate impression is the 3800 is for some reason more open and airer. Not night and day,but most definite! I returned to familiar music and movies the next day. Again, more open and airer. I re-checked all my audio settings in the parametric eq along with sound level and spkr distance settings,etc. All are set the same as they were with the 2700. This is how I felt when I replaced my 4600 with the 2700. I guess they just keep getting better. I am confident that this is not my imagination in order to justify my new purchase. I know my system too well! This is all my (strong) opinion and nothing more.

If you're talkin, you ain't learnin.
hifi59 is offline  
post #63 of 8660 Old 11-04-2007, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BobL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
The 3800s EQ is not the best for subwoofers. To cut peaks from room modes the EQ needs greater resolution. Currently, it is a graphic EQ with an adjustable Q of about 1/6th octave. Ideally, you should be able to center the EQ on the exact frequency and have a Q of 1/12th octave or better. The Z11 has 1/12octave resolution but you still can't pick the exact frequency you want but with that resolution it is much closer and more likely to solve bass problems.

This isn't really a big criticism as the Yamaha does give you more flexibility than most other receivers in this regard. I am just pointing out it might not solve bass issues in your room and separate sub EQ might still be needed.

Bob
BobL is offline  
post #64 of 8660 Old 11-04-2007, 08:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
hifi59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobL View Post

The 3800s EQ is not the best for subwoofers. To cut peaks from room modes the EQ needs greater resolution. Currently, it is a graphic EQ with an adjustable Q of about 1/6th octave. Ideally, you should be able to center the EQ on the exact frequency and have a Q of 1/12th octave or better. The Z11 has 1/12octave resolution but you still can't pick the exact frequency you want but with that resolution it is much closer and more likely to solve bass problems.

This isn't really a big criticism as the Yamaha does give you more flexibility than most other receivers in this regard. I am just pointing out it might not solve bass issues in your room and separate sub EQ might still be needed.

Bob

I completely agree. I am stating that for my room, the control that it DOES give over the bass was very effective. I have 2 SVS cylinder subs and Umr effectively tamed the bass well between setting one of the subs to filter below 25hz and leaving the other set to 16hz. This, along with the Yammy's bass eq adjustment, made for much improved bass versus doing nothing at all.

If you're talkin, you ain't learnin.
hifi59 is offline  
post #65 of 8660 Old 11-04-2007, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
The Natural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Woah you guys always blow me away with how much many of you know about home theatre sound setups. So having your subwoofer set to the lowest mhz setting gets better performance out of it?
The Natural is offline  
post #66 of 8660 Old 11-04-2007, 09:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,021
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 504
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifi59 View Post

For those of you debating between Yammy,Denon,Onkyo or Pioneer receivers , keep in mind that the Yammy's Parametric EQ will let you adjust for frequencies below 63hz. I do not believe the others do this. Unless you have an outboard unit to do this for you, I would think we want the bass freqs eq'd as well as the rest! This was the deal breaker for me. I used to have the Yammy 4600. Great receiver except couldn't eq below 63 hz. Tubby bass. Bought the 2700 and now after professional calibration of audio, the bass is superb.

Having said that, I just replaced my rx-v2700 with the 3800. I applied the 2700's audio parameters to the 3800 exactly as professionaly calibrated by Umr (30 year audio engineer). My immediate impression is the 3800 is for some reason more open and airer. Not night and day,but most definite! I returned to familiar music and movies the next day. Again, more open and airer. I re-checked all my audio settings in the parametric eq along with sound level and spkr distance settings,etc. All are set the same as they were with the 2700. This is how I felt when I replaced my 4600 with the 2700. I guess they just keep getting better. I am confident that this is not my imagination in order to justify my new purchase. I know my system too well! This is all my (strong) opinion and nothing more.

When you say 'open and airier', I'm assuming you don't mean 'brighter' with less overall bass output.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #67 of 8660 Old 11-04-2007, 10:51 AM
Member
 
pjrvero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcs476 View Post

The ipod dock works extremely well with the 1800. You can use the yamaha's remote to control the ipod. You can also set the receiver to display the ipod's interface on your television. Controlling it with the display on the tv is perfect. I just purchased an 1800 and the ipod dock tonight and couldn't be happier. The dock is worth it.

How did you get the ipod to display on the TV? Where is that in the manual. Haven't been able to get that working yet.
pjrvero is offline  
post #68 of 8660 Old 11-04-2007, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
hifi59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

When you say 'open and airier', I'm assuming you don't mean 'brighter' with less overall bass output.

Absolutely not! The bass,if anything is tighter and every bit as strong. As for the highs, open and airer are the best words I can think of to describe the sound. Not brighter at all. I hate a hot high end. So much so that I had my audio professionally calibrated (along with my video) as I described in my original post. Made a big difference. My speakers are all Polk Lsi series with Vifa tweeters.

Btw, I just came across this review of the 3800. Seems he heard the same as I did. Unbelievable!

http://www.eastwoodhifi.com.au/rx-v3800.htm

If you're talkin, you ain't learnin.
hifi59 is offline  
post #69 of 8660 Old 11-04-2007, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
OldCodger73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjrvero View Post

How did you get the ipod to display on the TV? Where is that in the manual. Haven't been able to get that working yet.

Note that it's the iPod's interface that displays on the TV. Check page 64 in your manual.
OldCodger73 is offline  
post #70 of 8660 Old 11-04-2007, 11:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,021
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 504
One thing that I like about the 3800 is the trim adjustments per input. It's amazes me how few high-end receivers have this.

The Sony 5300, even though it's HDMI 1.3, lacks auto lip synch which the Yammy has.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #71 of 8660 Old 11-04-2007, 07:22 PM
Member
 
trek5200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some of you are wondering why there isn't more people here talking about the 1800/3800. It's because there are a ton of us still over in the anticipation thread.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=882051

We really should be over here now and someone recently brought that up. I'm not sure how that gets done but wanted you all to know there is a lot more conversation going on regarding these receivers.
trek5200 is offline  
post #72 of 8660 Old 11-04-2007, 08:35 PM
Member
 
GCanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone try the Toshiba a2 or any other hd-dvd players with the 3800? My 2700 is having problems with it via hdmi. The video will flicker on and off and the audio will cut in and out. Any other connection is fine.
GCanada is offline  
post #73 of 8660 Old 11-05-2007, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
hifi59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCanada View Post

Anyone try the Toshiba a2 or any other hd-dvd players with the 3800? My 2700 is having problems with it via hdmi. The video will flicker on and off and the audio will cut in and out. Any other connection is fine.

I have the xa2 with the 2700 and 3800. Of the two receivers, the 2700 is a bit better. It syncs the audio quicker. No video issues with either receiver though. Did not have any issues with my previous XA1 with the 2700 either.It could be your cable or the length of it. Try an Hdmi cable with 24awg wire instead of 28awg (assuming you have cheap Hdmi cables)

If you're talkin, you ain't learnin.
hifi59 is offline  
post #74 of 8660 Old 11-05-2007, 05:23 PM
Member
 
Luis F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone tell me what is the use of the AUDIO button #18 (picture of the control)in the control remote of the 3800. I could not find a word about it in the manual.
Luis F is offline  
post #75 of 8660 Old 11-05-2007, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth, Australia formerly Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luis F View Post

Could someone tell me what is the use of the AUDIO button #18 (picture of the control)in the control remote of the 3800. I could not find a word about it in the manual.

Are you referring to the AUDIO SELECT button on the fron of the unit behind the trad door? If so, this allows you to cycle audio priority:- Auto, HDMI, Opt/Coax, Analog.

MY HT BUILD BLOG

http://www.soundadvice.net.au/MarkH

MY THEATRE ROOM, LIVING ROOM and BEDROOM SYSTEMS THREAD

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1105927
MarkH is offline  
post #76 of 8660 Old 11-05-2007, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HiHoStevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas & Cedar Hills
Posts: 3,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCanada View Post

Anyone try the Toshiba a2 or any other hd-dvd players with the 3800? My 2700 is having problems with it via hdmi. The video will flicker on and off and the audio will cut in and out. Any other connection is fine.

I gave my brother one of the A-2's for a birthday present and he has the 2700. We are connected to his Sony SXRD television via HDMI through his 2700 and it has no problems at all... either video or audio.

There are just two theories for successfully quarreling with a woman -- neither one works!
The Barn - Use Password = AVSForum
HiHoStevo is offline  
post #77 of 8660 Old 11-05-2007, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Luis F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No.. Is the button on the remote control to the rigth side in the middle of the control that says AUDIO (in between the pure direct and straight)
Luis F is offline  
post #78 of 8660 Old 11-05-2007, 09:09 PM
Member
 
MARTINIGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: LasVegas
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I finally did it. Opened up and started hooking up my 3800, to replace my "boo hoo" RX-Z1. That receiver brought me so much enjoyment. Oh well, new technology is the way to go!! I am very impressed with the audio for music. Power is incrediable!! I have not setup the audio with the mic beause I'm afraid I'll mess it up. Should I just set it up myself with a sound meter or use the auto setup?? Thanks for any help!!!
MARTINIGUY is offline  
post #79 of 8660 Old 11-06-2007, 03:46 AM
Senior Member
 
tatanka01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Auto-setup is half the fun! Go for it.
tatanka01 is offline  
post #80 of 8660 Old 11-06-2007, 03:48 AM
Senior Member
 
tatanka01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luis F View Post

Could someone tell me what is the use of the AUDIO button #18 (picture of the control)in the control remote of the 3800. I could not find a word about it in the manual.

Been wondering that myself. The 1800 has it too.
tatanka01 is offline  
post #81 of 8660 Old 11-06-2007, 05:30 PM
Newbie
 
digitalBeatnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am planning to compare this myself, but has anyone compared the IQ of sending component to the receiver's scaler vs. using a player with Faroudja Dcdi 1080p up-conversion? I am guessing the receiver may do a better job, but at the cost of going D/A - A/D instead of maintaining an all-digital signal.

I recently hooked-up my RX-V1800 - so far the only adjustment I've made is to set audio processing to "straight", this receiver sounds great out-of-the-box and works great as an HDMI switcher.
digitalBeatnik is offline  
post #82 of 8660 Old 11-06-2007, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
JKR1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Not sure if this has been posted yet but it is a good review of the 3800. The reviewer says that it was the equal to his Denon 4806CI (probably one of the best receivers ever made) when watching the Blu-ray PCM track on Black Hawk Down.

http://www.guidetohometheater.com/av...s/1107yam3800/

Maybe it is time for me to open my 3800 box that has been sitting on my floor for 9 days now!
JKR1963 is offline  
post #83 of 8660 Old 11-07-2007, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jvillain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
9 days? I walked in the front door, didn't take my shoes off went straight to the basement and started opening the box.
jvillain is offline  
post #84 of 8660 Old 11-07-2007, 09:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
studdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
not that many comments on this thread, so the unit must be performing as advertised. I have the 661 but am looking at an upgrade. Have been considering the 1800 and the Onkyo 875, but with the Onkyo's problems (although they do have a fw upgrade that just came out), and the disappointing performance of the Reon, I think this may be the best choice.

52" Samsung 750, finally satisfaction
studdad is offline  
post #85 of 8660 Old 11-07-2007, 11:04 PM
Newbie
 
fginneba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having some difficulty with the downconversion of component video signals to s-video. Reading the manual, it seems that any standard type of component video signal (480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i) can be downconverted to a s-video signal at the monitor output. I am finding that only the 480i signal seems to work though when the "convert" setting is on in the video menu of the gui. All other signals give a blank screen. Am I doing something wrong?

(480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i) -----> S-video, can it work?

Thanks, I'll hand up and listen...
fginneba is offline  
post #86 of 8660 Old 11-08-2007, 12:02 AM
Member
 
GCanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How is the hdmi working with heat? With my 2700 unless I have a fan blowing on it the hdmi will cut out after about 30 min of use if connected via hdmi.
GCanada is offline  
post #87 of 8660 Old 11-08-2007, 12:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oldcband's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCanada View Post

How is the hdmi working with heat? With my 2700 unless I have a fan blowing on it the hdmi will cut out after about 30 min of use if connected via hdmi.

This was my biggest concern before buying the 1800. I was assured by owners that it works well with a cable STB W/HDMI. I own a cablecard TV now but with the lack of cablecards in the new LCD TV's, if I buy one I'll have to use a STB. Hopefully 2008 will see the return of cablecards/EPG or OCAP devices.

Now to your question? The 2700 had HDMI issues (read the 2700 thread) and from what the local Magnolia salesman told me. Funny thing he told me to buy Denon because he didn't have customers with HDMI issues. Now I read about current Denon's with these issues. I haven't had an issue yet with my 1800 and hopefully the HDMI and STB will work flawlessly. Plus it runs warm to touch not hot.

Also I have two Sony 400 mega changer DVD players and they upconvert to 1080i and look great. FYI

These are just my opinions.
oldcband is offline  
post #88 of 8660 Old 11-08-2007, 06:48 AM
Member
 
kiddocious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone tried to pass Dolby TrueHD bitstream from an A-35 to the 3800 yet and can say how it performs?
kiddocious is offline  
post #89 of 8660 Old 11-08-2007, 02:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
hifi59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCanada View Post

How is the hdmi working with heat? With my 2700 unless I have a fan blowing on it the hdmi will cut out after about 30 min of use if connected via hdmi.

It feels just as hot as the 2700 did. I have mine on a shelve with a glass door. Have'nt had any shutdowns ,even at high volumes.

If you're talkin, you ain't learnin.
hifi59 is offline  
post #90 of 8660 Old 11-08-2007, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
tatanka01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifi59 View Post

It feels just as hot as the 2700 did. I have mine on a shelve with a glass door. Have'nt had any shutdowns ,even at high volumes.

FWIW... I've got my 1800 in a homebrew rack -- no front, but less than an inch of side/top clearance. The back panel of the receiver "slot" has two fans that I run at pretty low speed just to circulate some air. A temp sensor sits on top of the 1800 that speeds the fans up a bit as things get warmer (also homebrew).

I bought a cheap indoor/outdoor digital thermometer (you can get these at any Walmart / Target / home improvement place for under $10) and put the outdoor probe on top of the receiver.

So far, the highest temperature I've seen is about 110 degrees F, and the 1800 handles it with no problem at all. Running it at high volume doesn't appear to have a big effect, but maybe it would if you ran it loud all day. The receiver does run "warm" just being powered up. I don't imagine the 3800 is any different.

The manual says:
Quote:


Install this sound system in a well ventilated, cool, dry, clean place - away from direct sunlight, heat sources, vibration, dust, moisture, and/or cold. Allow ventilation space of at least 30cm on the top, 20 cm on the left and right and 20cm on the back of this unit.

20cm is almost 8 inches, and 30cm is almost a foot, so any kind of enclosed space will require special considerations for ventilation, if one believes Yamaha.

Just some thoughts... If you're concerned about the temperature, "invest" in the cheapie thermometer and keep an eye on it. I have no idea what the upper limit might be (and don't really want to test it), but I've had zero problems at 110F.
tatanka01 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V1800 Receiver , Yamaha Rx V3800bl Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off