The "Official" Yamaha RX-V1800/RX-V3800 Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8664 Old 08-10-2007, 08:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yuimyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver WA
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.yamaha.com/yec/products/p...6&CTID=5000300

http://www.yamaha.com/yec/products/p...1&CTID=5000300

All right, who is ganna buy one of those?

Any sound processor upgrade since RX-V2700???

Looks like they have added 3D Cinema DSP mode creates direct reflect sound from ceiling and floor, so it has height of surround sound.

It is neat. I wanna hear the real 3D sound!

Source: http://www.yamaha.co.jp/news/2007/07080901.html

P.S. I am from Japan and am Japanese, so I can read the link above. Any question, ask me.
yuimyt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8664 Old 08-10-2007, 10:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
talbain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1800 is mine. when is it expected in stores?

---Mr. Met---

J-E-T-S-JETS JETS JETS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO DE-VILS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO METS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO NETS!!!!!!!
talbain is offline  
post #3 of 8664 Old 08-11-2007, 10:24 AM
Member
 
TobyR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comes down to the 1800 vs 2808 (and anything Marantz may toss out in the next 45 days).

Music is key.

Toby

You can't take the sky from meÂ
TobyR is offline  
post #4 of 8664 Old 08-11-2007, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HiHoStevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas & Cedar Hills
Posts: 3,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any information on whose/which chipset is being used for scaling and de-interlacing?

There are just two theories for successfully quarreling with a woman -- neither one works!
The Barn - Use Password = AVSForum
HiHoStevo is offline  
post #5 of 8664 Old 08-11-2007, 02:19 PM
Member
 
thorn5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiHoStevo View Post

Any information on whose/which chipset is being used for scaling and de-interlacing?

Isn't it the Anchor Bay Technologies' ABT1010 scaler engine?
thorn5 is offline  
post #6 of 8664 Old 08-11-2007, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HiHoStevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas & Cedar Hills
Posts: 3,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Don't know...... I thought the ABT1010 was used in the 2700..... if it is the same chip they must have tweaked it so that it can now do 1080p.

There are just two theories for successfully quarreling with a woman -- neither one works!
The Barn - Use Password = AVSForum
HiHoStevo is offline  
post #7 of 8664 Old 08-11-2007, 04:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
itigap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: DC area
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know with these receivers whether the presence speakers can be used concurrently with the surround back channels? I believe you may need to supply an external amp that's OK as long as the processor & DACs support 9.1 channels.

Also does anyone have experience with the effect the presence speakers have on the presentation? In what way have you heard them contribute and did you think it was significant?

Cheers,

Gary
itigap is offline  
post #8 of 8664 Old 08-11-2007, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yuimyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver WA
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Japanese version will be on sale in October, according to the their web site.

So, in the US maybe about same?

About the video chips, the company names are same, but they don't say which chip it is(model #).
yuimyt is offline  
post #9 of 8664 Old 08-11-2007, 10:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by itigap View Post

Does anyone know with these receivers whether the presence speakers can be used concurrently with the surround back channels? I believe you may need to supply an external amp that's OK as long as the processor & DACs support 9.1 channels.

They are not in any way 9.1 receivers. even though they have a presence channel option when you are running a 5.1 setup. If they are like every other 7.1 receiver that Yamaha has made priced below the RX-Z9, then even with a external amp you can not run the presence channels and a 7.1 setup at the same time. The only Yamaha receiver where you can do this, is the RX-Z9, and also the new RX-Z11 will allow you to do it also, and even with 2 more additional presence channels.
Johnla is offline  
post #10 of 8664 Old 08-12-2007, 02:54 AM
Newbie
 
pnbwoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yuimyt, can you tell me if you know how good the scaler is compare to the onkyo's reon chip.
pnbwoman is offline  
post #11 of 8664 Old 08-12-2007, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HiHoStevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas & Cedar Hills
Posts: 3,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If it is the same chip as last year, I seem to recall that the reviews of it's upscaling abilities were not very exciting.

There are just two theories for successfully quarreling with a woman -- neither one works!
The Barn - Use Password = AVSForum
HiHoStevo is offline  
post #12 of 8664 Old 08-12-2007, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eightninesuited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pnbwoman View Post

yuimyt, can you tell me if you know how good the scaler is compare to the onkyo's reon chip.

It's crap. This is why I want to know whether or not I can turn it off. My Projector has the HQV Reon so that's where I want all the scaling to be done at.

No animals were harmed in the creation of this sentence.
eightninesuited is offline  
post #13 of 8664 Old 08-12-2007, 10:50 AM
Member
 
indecision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
eightninesuited,

What projector do you use that has the Reon?
indecision is offline  
post #14 of 8664 Old 08-12-2007, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eightninesuited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BenQ W500 720p.

No animals were harmed in the creation of this sentence.
eightninesuited is offline  
post #15 of 8664 Old 08-12-2007, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yuimyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver WA
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All I know is

http://www.anchorbaytech.com/company...s/PR110706.php

http://www.anchorbaytech.com/product...rs/abt1010.php

vs

http://www.hqv.com/technology/index1...TOKEN=11943568

http://www.hqv.com/products.cfm


Quote:
Originally Posted by pnbwoman View Post

yuimyt, can you tell me if you know how good the scaler is compare to the onkyo's reon chip.

yuimyt is offline  
post #16 of 8664 Old 08-12-2007, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's already a thread on these receivers...

The "Official" Yamaha RX-Vn800--and Z11! anticipation thread (with HDMI 1.3)

And the scaling chip debate has already been beat to death. Funny, nobody complained about the 1010 chip when it was released in the 2700

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #17 of 8664 Old 08-12-2007, 06:47 PM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eightninesuited View Post

It's crap. This is why I want to know whether or not I can turn it off. My Projector has the HQV Reon so that's where I want all the scaling to be done at.

Just curious as to what actual phisical experience you have with this chip. And also, what was the source, receiver (if applicable), and display you were using to come up with such a technical term as "crap"?

Sorry for the sarchasm, but to answer your question, you should be able to pass the signal through without any scaling or processing.

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #18 of 8664 Old 08-12-2007, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HiHoStevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas & Cedar Hills
Posts: 3,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

Funny, nobody complained about the 1010 chip when it was released in the 2700

Actually the way I remember it was that was one of the big disappointments with the 2700 is that the scaling did not live up to the pre-production hype. That and the overheating problems that folks were having with the 2700.

There are just two theories for successfully quarreling with a woman -- neither one works!
The Barn - Use Password = AVSForum
HiHoStevo is offline  
post #19 of 8664 Old 08-12-2007, 10:29 PM
Member
 
shanemcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a link to the first "official" thread for these. Lots of info...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=882051
shanemcr is offline  
post #20 of 8664 Old 09-20-2007, 11:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth, Australia formerly Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just installed my 3800 last night, replacing my 2700. Not much difference in operation, but will have an indepth session with it this weekend to see if/where improvemenst have been made.

MY HT BUILD BLOG

http://www.soundadvice.net.au/MarkH

MY THEATRE ROOM, LIVING ROOM and BEDROOM SYSTEMS THREAD

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1105927
MarkH is offline  
post #21 of 8664 Old 09-21-2007, 08:18 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
I thought anticipation threads would end when product actually started getting into homes, and that these new threads would then start.

No sense in keeping a thread full of speculation when a new thread with actual real life info can be made; no need to read through 30 pages of guesses.
cybrsage is offline  
post #22 of 8664 Old 10-16-2007, 07:57 AM
Newbie
 
fala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someboby tell me what I big mistake I made by purchasing the 2700 about four months ago? What I am missing for jumping the gun (1080p Vs 1080i; 4 vs 4 HDMI; HDMI 1.3a Vs HDMI 1.2; etc.)
fala is offline  
post #23 of 8664 Old 10-16-2007, 03:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
mahdlokg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can do a direct comparison on the Yamaha site.

Dolby Digital Plus
DTS HD Master Audio
Dolby TRUE HD
and the HDMI 1.3 are the first things that caught my eye.


http://www.yamaha.com/yec/avreceiver...l?CTID=5000300
mahdlokg is offline  
post #24 of 8664 Old 10-18-2007, 06:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Sonnie Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: L. A. . . . . . . . (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know if the OSD on the V1800 will display over 720p, 1080i, 1080p HDMI, most particularly the volume control?

Thanks!

Sonnie Parker
SVS Customer Service
Sonnie Parker is offline  
post #25 of 8664 Old 10-18-2007, 10:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth, Australia formerly Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonnie Parker View Post

Does anyone know if the OSD on the V1800 will display over 720p, 1080i, 1080p HDMI, most particularly the volume control?

Thanks!

The Yamaha, like most brands, will NOT display the OSD over HDMI. It will however allow you to bring up the GUI.

MY HT BUILD BLOG

http://www.soundadvice.net.au/MarkH

MY THEATRE ROOM, LIVING ROOM and BEDROOM SYSTEMS THREAD

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1105927
MarkH is offline  
post #26 of 8664 Old 10-18-2007, 10:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth, Australia formerly Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Agreed, and Im surprised there isnt more 3800/1800 owners discussing these units!

MY HT BUILD BLOG

http://www.soundadvice.net.au/MarkH

MY THEATRE ROOM, LIVING ROOM and BEDROOM SYSTEMS THREAD

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1105927
MarkH is offline  
post #27 of 8664 Old 10-19-2007, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth, Australia formerly Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Im away from my setup for a couple of days, but was wondering has anybody senf DD+ to one of these units, and has the Yamaha displayed "Dolby Digital +" on its display. I am aware that the bulk of all HD players must decode internally and convert to PCM, but I thought DD+ could be passthrough to the receiver?

MY HT BUILD BLOG

http://www.soundadvice.net.au/MarkH

MY THEATRE ROOM, LIVING ROOM and BEDROOM SYSTEMS THREAD

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1105927
MarkH is offline  
post #28 of 8664 Old 10-19-2007, 11:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eightninesuited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkH View Post

Agreed, and Im surprised there isnt more 3800/1800 owners discussing these units!

Yamaha's RXV1x00 line was once the entry point into the big receivers. That mantle now belongs to the Onkyo 805. Also, the Denon 2808 can be had for much cheaper at authorized retailers than the v1800. Another is the V661. It's such a good mix of value, sound, features, that the higher RX line seems like a ripoff. So there are several factors as to why the interest in the new Yamahas have waned.

No animals were harmed in the creation of this sentence.
eightninesuited is offline  
post #29 of 8664 Old 10-20-2007, 07:56 AM
Newbie
 
sewara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,


I'd like to know if the settings video are personalizze for each HDMI in or the same settings are on every one?
For example if I'm looking the sat TV with video processor on and I switch another source where I'd like to pass-trough should I change settings?
Thanks for help.
sewara is offline  
post #30 of 8664 Old 10-20-2007, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jvillain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I'd like to know if the settings video are personalizze for each HDMI in or the same settings are on every one?

I just got my 3800 yesterday and have a lot to do getting up to speed. But each source has the ability to set Conversion & Component I/P to yes or no. Conversion is whether to pass through or use the converter. I don't remember what Component I/P is but the ability to turn it on or off is only allowed if Conversion is selected. There are other video items in the menu under each source, but none of them are selectable for me right now. I don't know if that is a factor of my current settings or if they are features only available on other models. Like I said it has only been plugged in for less than a day and there is a lot of options in this thing.

Quote:


So there are several factors as to why the interest in the new Yamahas have waned.

I went went with Yamaha because I had such a horrible experience with the Sony I just swapped out. I decided to go with some one I knew I could trust. I had used a lot of Yamaha pro gear from my musician days and trusted it.

In theory a receiver shouldn't make that much of a difference to the sound as they figured out the basics of amplifiers a long time ago. But the difference in the sound between this unit and my old one is jaw dropping even in direct mode. My old Sony was a fairly entry level AVR though.
jvillain is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V1800 Receiver , Yamaha Rx V3800bl Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off