The "Official" VSX-94TXH Thread...:0) - Page 166 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2014, 08:09 PM
Newbie
 
shawn474's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys. Spoke to a friend who installs home theaters. The deep color setting shouldn't be noticeable according to him. I tried to change the power on settings but that didn't fix the problem. The 94 has no volume limiter upon poet on - it simply is what you left it on at power off. The input skip function is not available.

I did however fix the Harmon to control the home media gallery. Pretty cool feature and one that I can see myself using often. All in all, very happy with the 94.
shawn474 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-07-2014, 07:42 PM
Newbie
 
shawn474's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another question guys; apologies for redundancy. Seems that there have been quite a. Few firmware updates on this avr. I just checked the version on mine and it says 3.5.16.6650

My question is what is the latest firmware version and I read a couple places that pioneer would pay for the update even on ought if warranty avr's. Is this correct?
shawn474 is offline  
Old 05-08-2014, 09:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,901
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Read the thread. There are ways to update firmware yourself.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Old 03-04-2015, 07:12 AM
Member
 
johnchabin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know how to remove the volume knob?
johnchabin is offline  
Old 03-04-2015, 07:29 AM
Member
 
trx250r87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Pull!




Quote:
Originally Posted by johnchabin View Post
anyone know how to remove the volume knob?
trx250r87 is offline  
Old 03-11-2015, 02:23 PM
Member
 
johnchabin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That was the right answer. Took a pretty good tug!


The knob was wobbly. I pulled it off, tightened the nut, and all is well. Thanks trx250r87!


As an aside, I've has this unit for a lot of years now, and I'm still quite satisfied. There aren't many purchases you can say that about year after year...
johnchabin is offline  
Old 09-11-2015, 06:27 PM
Newbie
 
derekofbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
8 years later, and the receiver is still going strong.

I see goodies on sale now and then and get tempted to replace it, but then I come to my senses and take a vacation instead!
derekofbass is offline  
Old 09-11-2015, 10:23 PM
Member
 
mrdunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewread View Post
I'm another 'newb' that apparently didn't even know the firmware could be updated.. so I'll give it a crack, just before I sell the 94
 
My new TV needs HDMI 1.4 so that I can pass through 3D content from my PS3.
 
Does anyone have another solution to this issue? If not, does anyone have recommendations on a similar receiver that will pass 3D BluRay?
 
Thanks!
I have a Panasonic blueray player with two HDMI outputs, one for 1.4 for my 3d TV and audio only to my receiver, works great, not sure if this helps you. My 94 works great so I see no reason to buy a new one.
mrdunn is offline  
Old 09-12-2015, 09:28 PM
Newbie
 
derekofbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdunn View Post
I have a Panasonic blueray player with two HDMI outputs, one for 1.4 for my 3d TV and audio only to my receiver, works great, not sure if this helps you. My 94 works great so I see no reason to buy a new one.
I do the same with my Oppo 103.
derekofbass is offline  
Old 11-11-2015, 08:06 PM
Member
 
divesafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@Foxbat121 Thanks for this post! It solved a problem for me that was driving me absolutely crazy. Now, its fixed!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
For me the 'not supported' issue is a HDMI hand shake issue. If you let your TV turn on first, wait a few second for it to fully initialized, then turn on the receiver, then other devices, it will work fine. The problem seems to be that the receiver needs to perform handshake right when it powers up. If the TV is not ready to do that, the receiver will not output 1080p and fall back to safe mode which max out @ 10080i.

Also, whenever you encounter 'not supported' issue, turn off the receiver and turn it back on will usually resolve the issue.

On my Harmony remote, I asked Logitech support to create a special TV power on sequence for me so that the receiver won't receive power on command until TV powers up for certain time.
divesafe is offline  
Old 12-23-2015, 09:12 AM
Member
 
flynnk31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Hey everyone, I'm a proud new owner of a (new to me) VSX-94TXH. I bought from a friend as a package deal, but he didn't have the remote to go along. He was using a Logitech Harmony 670 for everything, and gave that to me as well.

My question is, should I reset to factory settings before getting everything setup? Also, will I be losing out on anything by not having the original remote for the unit?

Thanks!
flynnk31 is offline  
Old 12-28-2015, 02:13 PM
Newbie
 
vectormaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bristow, VA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynnk31 View Post
Hey everyone, I'm a proud new owner of a (new to me) VSX-94TXH. I bought from a friend as a package deal, but he didn't have the remote to go along. He was using a Logitech Harmony 670 for everything, and gave that to me as well.

My question is, should I reset to factory settings before getting everything setup? Also, will I be losing out on anything by not having the original remote for the unit?

Thanks!
There are so many features of this receiver that you are unlikely to even know they exist without the original remote; however, Harmony does an adequate job of rendering a usable remote control for the VSX-94TXH. I would NOT reset to original factory settings IF your friend has updated the firmware. If he has not updated the firmware then research this forum for how to update it so your speakers don't fall victim to the DTS bomb.
vectormaker is offline  
Old 12-29-2015, 01:26 PM
Member
 
flynnk31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by vectormaker View Post
There are so many features of this receiver that you are unlikely to even know they exist without the original remote; however, Harmony does an adequate job of rendering a usable remote control for the VSX-94TXH. I would NOT reset to original factory settings IF your friend has updated the firmware. If he has not updated the firmware then research this forum for how to update it so your speakers don't fall victim to the DTS bomb.
Well, it looks like he didn't do much of anything to the receiver. Here are the version and almost all of them look out-of-date from searching in this thread:

M 1.004
E 1.002
D 1.002
H 1.006
f 2.004
S 1.000

I also think I read that you need to update these one at a time (2.004-.005, then .005-.006), is that correct? If so, I'm going to have a LOT of updating to do If that's the case, which ones should I start with?

Front L&R: Paradigm Studio 60 v3
Center: Paradigm CC-590
Subwoofer: Paradigm Seismic 12
Receiver: Pioneer VSX-94TXH
flynnk31 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off