Outlaw Amps Owners Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 103 Old 04-25-2015, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 638
I have a little issue and need advice.

I swapped over to a Marantz AV7702, Klipsch RF7II fronts and the 7500 at the same time. XT32 is setting my center bottomed out at -12, and the fronts at -9db. Before, with my XPA-3 and smaller towers (one step down from RF7's) my fronts were -4 and the center was -9.

I am currently using RCA's, would the difference in gain on the XLR (34db vs 28db) have any affect here? Or is my only option an attenuator on the RCA's? I guess this is just the product of a highly efficient speaker and a powerful amp. I'll also admit I do not understand a lot about that difference in gain.
gadgtfreek is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 103 Old 04-25-2015, 07:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,241
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I have a little issue and need advice.

I swapped over to a Marantz AV7702, Klipsch RF7II fronts and the 7500 at the same time. XT32 is setting my center bottomed out at -12, and the fronts at -9db. Before, with my XPA-3 and smaller towers (one step down from RF7's) my fronts were -4 and the center was -9.

I am currently using RCA's, would the difference in gain on the XLR (34db vs 28db) have any affect here? Or is my only option an attenuator on the RCA's? I guess this is just the product of a highly efficient speaker and a powerful amp. I'll also admit I do not understand a lot about that difference in gain.
Sounds like it may be an issue with the sub's level control. How is the sub channel being set in comparison to the fronts?
rdgrimes is online now  
post #93 of 103 Old 04-25-2015, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 638
I set them individually in the menu at 74-75db (I have two), and then when complete the subs were -9.0, a little less than the fronts.

Are you thinking bring the gain down on the sub, to say 70db, and then running. For reason I did not think they affected each other, being audyssey does what it can to set each one at 75db individually.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #94 of 103 Old 04-25-2015, 07:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,241
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I set them individually in the menu at 74-75db (I have two), and then when complete the subs were -9.0, a little less than the fronts.

Are you thinking bring the gain down on the sub, to say 70db, and then running. For reason I did not think they affected each other, being audyssey does what it can to set each one at 75db individually.
I'd let Audyssey set the levels as a starting point and see what happens. But I'd also turn the sub's gain down first. Do that at the sub, not in the Marantz. I've found that auto setup routines seem to work best when the sub is set so that it winds up close to 0db in the results.

Anyhow, let Audyssey set levels and try using that for a while, see if you like the results. Put the db meter away for now. Levels are relative, so it doesn't really mater what they are as long as they are correctly adjusted in relation to each other.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #95 of 103 Old 04-25-2015, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
I'd let Audyssey set the levels as a starting point and see what happens. But I'd also turn the sub's gain down first. Do that at the sub, not in the Marantz. I've found that auto setup routines seem to work best when the sub is set so that it winds up close to 0db in the results.

Anyhow, let Audyssey set levels and try using that for a while, see if you like the results. Put the db meter away for now. Levels are relative, so it doesn't really mater what they are as long as they are correctly adjusted in relation to each other.
I actually went up on the sub gain because audyssey gave me an error and said to get them higher. I can override that and put each back down a little. Maybe that will solve the issue.

My only concern here is -12 is as far as it can go down, so the new center (if it needs more adjustment) won't be able to do it. Center being 2 db higher than fronts would be a little issue.

Thanks for the input, the sub adjustment is an easy try, and its free!
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #96 of 103 Old 04-25-2015, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cavchameleon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,839
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I actually went up on the sub gain because audyssey gave me an error and said to get them higher. I can override that and put each back down a little. Maybe that will solve the issue.

My only concern here is -12 is as far as it can go down, so the new center (if it needs more adjustment) won't be able to do it. Center being 2 db higher than fronts would be a little issue.

Thanks for the input, the sub adjustment is an easy try, and its free!
Yes, this is a product of having a mix of very efficient speakers with some that are not as efficient. Audyssey can only go down to -12 (and yours may need -18 or so). The best way since you're using outboard amps is to and an attenuator in line with the speakers (your center in this case). Harrison Labs makes several, not sure which one you'll need (-3db, -6db, and -12db).

12db: http://www.parts-express.com/harriso...-pair--266-244

6db: http://www.parts-express.com/harriso...-pair--266-242
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	harrison labs.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	72.9 KB
ID:	685209  
gadgtfreek likes this.

Ray

 

"Listen with an open heart and mind."

 

cavchameleon is offline  
post #97 of 103 Old 04-25-2015, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavchameleon View Post
Yes, this is a product of having a mix of very efficient speakers with some that are not as efficient. Audyssey can only go down to -12 (and yours may need -18 or so). The best way since you're using outboard amps is to and an attenuator in line with the speakers (your center in this case). Harrison Labs makes several, not sure which one you'll need (-3db, -6db, and -12db).

12db: http://www.parts-express.com/harriso...-pair--266-244

6db: http://www.parts-express.com/harriso...-pair--266-242
Thanks!

learning a lot this week.

At the advice of audyssey I used my checkmate SPL meter for some testing. I found the fronts to both be right around 75db, and the center was mayb 1/2db to a db louder. I am gonna go with the 6db model.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #98 of 103 Old 04-25-2015, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Another issue I want to report is my 7500, as my 7125 did, is going thru waves of hum. The 7125 wasnt that loud but the 7500 can be VERY loud in a quiet room.

Thru testing, I found it to be directly related to whether the plasma was on or not, and the brighter the scene (more power consumption) the worse the hum. Doing more reading, it seems plasmas, especially pannys, can introduce DC voltage into the line. Using a multimeter I found this to be the case when the plasma was on, and it really went wonky on bright scenes.

I ordered a CMX-2 from emotiva since it is high current and is supposed to directly address the DC issue.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #99 of 103 Old 04-26-2015, 06:29 AM
Member
 
ss3740's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Zanesville Ohio 43701
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Another issue I want to report is my 7500, as my 7125 did, is going thru waves of hum. The 7125 wasnt that loud but the 7500 can be VERY loud in a quiet room.

Thru testing, I found it to be directly related to whether the plasma was on or not, and the brighter the scene (more power consumption) the worse the hum. Doing more reading, it seems plasmas, especially pannys, can introduce DC voltage into the line. Using a multimeter I found this to be the case when the plasma was on, and it really went wonky on bright scenes.

I ordered a CMX-2 from emotiva since it is high current and is supposed to directly address the DC issue.

I have everything( Amp, Subs, TV..Sony KDL 55W900A,Oppo, B&O Turntable, Marantz 8801, Time Warner Cisco Box) going through a Furman Elite 15-DM... Its dead silent.
ss3740 is offline  
post #100 of 103 Old 04-26-2015, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss3740 View Post
I have everything( Amp, Subs, TV..Sony KDL 55W900A,Oppo, B&O Turntable, Marantz 8801, Time Warner Cisco Box) going through a Furman Elite 15-DM... Its dead silent.
That thing is badass. Wonder if it works on the DC voltage as well. If the Emotiva doesnt workout the DC issue like it claims, itll be going back...
ss3740 likes this.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #101 of 103 Old 04-26-2015, 07:00 AM
Member
 
ss3740's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Zanesville Ohio 43701
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 27
[QUOTE=gadgtfreek;33782857]That thing is badass. Wonder if it works on the DC voltage as well. If the Emotiva doesnt workout the DC issue like it claims, itll be going back...[/QUOTE


The Furman saved my system a few years back. After a huge electrical storm ,I noticed the blue light on the the main face was real bright. I had "tripped".. I was walking past it on my way to work and forgot all about it. Several days later I went to fire up the system and nothing would come on...Just had to power it down and it re-set itself. There was no damage done to any appliances or such in my home, but at any rate, the Furman did its job..
ss3740 is offline  
post #102 of 103 Old 04-26-2015, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 638
I have heard good things about their stuff.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #103 of 103 Old 04-27-2015, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 638
gadgtfreek is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off